tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : RATS REST - On The Eastside

RATS REST

On The Eastside

Music7 inch

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Punk is back. Not that the genre was dead, it was just that too many popular acts thought punk was about wearing a safety pin and a mohawk. A good example of how things should be is Cocaine Piss from Belgium, although worldwide hundreds (in fact thousands) other bands know what true punk values stands for. It is only a matter of discovering them, and for that we have good record labels which separate the wheat from the chaff.

Peter Out Records from Gothenburg does so, even if punk is not their usual style, because this label is more the home of death rock and goth bands. However, when they heard Rats Rest from Kansas, the label immediately decided to release the third single from these American punks.

You'll find four tracks on it with a dirty sound. It's pretty messy, very loud and sometimes it seems as if Lemmy is jamming from heaven (or is it hell?). Rats Rest might not be the most original band on earth, but the lads sound honest and energetic and they overwhelm you with their punk energy. Grab a bottle of booze, turn the amplifier to the right, play some air guitar, cry and live! This is punk at its best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Punk is terug. Niet dat het genre ooit dood was, wel werd het net iets te veel tam geknuffeld door populaire acts die dachten dat punk niet meer voorstelt dan het dragen van een veiligheidsspeld en een hanenkam als haartooi. Een mooi voorbeeld van hoe het wel moet is bijv. Cocaine Piss uit België, hoewel er natuurlijk wereldwijd nog honderden (wellicht duizenden) anderen zijn die trouw zweren aan de echte punkwaarden. Het is alleen een kwestie van ze te ontdekken, en daarvoor hebben we gelukkig goede platenlabels die voor ons het koren van het kaf scheiden.

Peter Out Records uit Gothenburg bijv., ofschoon punk niet echt hun vertrouwde stijl is, want dit label hoort meer thuis in de death rock en goth. Toen ze deze punkband uit Kansas hoorden, was de verleiding te groot en brachten ze zonder talmen de derde single van deze Amerikaanse punkers uit.

Je vindt er vier tracks op die allemaal ontzettend vuil klinken. Het is vrij rommelig, zeer luid en soms lijkt het wel alsof Lemmy vanuit de hemel (of is het de hel) aan het meejammen is. Rats Rest is misschien niet de origineelste groep op aarde, maar klinkt zo eerlijk en energiek dat je er in opgaat. Pure punkenergie zonder dat je er veel vragen hoeft bij te stellen. Grijp die fles drank, draai de versterker naar rechts, speel wat luchtgitaar, schreeuw en leef! Dit is punk op zijn best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap