tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : RATS REST - On The Eastside

RATS REST

On The Eastside

Music7 inch

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Punk is back. Not that the genre was dead, it was just that too many popular acts thought punk was about wearing a safety pin and a mohawk. A good example of how things should be is Cocaine Piss from Belgium, although worldwide hundreds (in fact thousands) other bands know what true punk values stands for. It is only a matter of discovering them, and for that we have good record labels which separate the wheat from the chaff.

Peter Out Records from Gothenburg does so, even if punk is not their usual style, because this label is more the home of death rock and goth bands. However, when they heard Rats Rest from Kansas, the label immediately decided to release the third single from these American punks.

You'll find four tracks on it with a dirty sound. It's pretty messy, very loud and sometimes it seems as if Lemmy is jamming from heaven (or is it hell?). Rats Rest might not be the most original band on earth, but the lads sound honest and energetic and they overwhelm you with their punk energy. Grab a bottle of booze, turn the amplifier to the right, play some air guitar, cry and live! This is punk at its best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Punk is terug. Niet dat het genre ooit dood was, wel werd het net iets te veel tam geknuffeld door populaire acts die dachten dat punk niet meer voorstelt dan het dragen van een veiligheidsspeld en een hanenkam als haartooi. Een mooi voorbeeld van hoe het wel moet is bijv. Cocaine Piss uit België, hoewel er natuurlijk wereldwijd nog honderden (wellicht duizenden) anderen zijn die trouw zweren aan de echte punkwaarden. Het is alleen een kwestie van ze te ontdekken, en daarvoor hebben we gelukkig goede platenlabels die voor ons het koren van het kaf scheiden.

Peter Out Records uit Gothenburg bijv., ofschoon punk niet echt hun vertrouwde stijl is, want dit label hoort meer thuis in de death rock en goth. Toen ze deze punkband uit Kansas hoorden, was de verleiding te groot en brachten ze zonder talmen de derde single van deze Amerikaanse punkers uit.

Je vindt er vier tracks op die allemaal ontzettend vuil klinken. Het is vrij rommelig, zeer luid en soms lijkt het wel alsof Lemmy vanuit de hemel (of is het de hel) aan het meejammen is. Rats Rest is misschien niet de origineelste groep op aarde, maar klinkt zo eerlijk en energiek dat je er in opgaat. Pure punkenergie zonder dat je er veel vragen hoeft bij te stellen. Grijp die fles drank, draai de versterker naar rechts, speel wat luchtgitaar, schreeuw en leef! Dit is punk op zijn best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass