tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : RATS REST - On The Eastside

RATS REST

On The Eastside

Music7 inch

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Punk is back. Not that the genre was dead, it was just that too many popular acts thought punk was about wearing a safety pin and a mohawk. A good example of how things should be is Cocaine Piss from Belgium, although worldwide hundreds (in fact thousands) other bands know what true punk values stands for. It is only a matter of discovering them, and for that we have good record labels which separate the wheat from the chaff.

Peter Out Records from Gothenburg does so, even if punk is not their usual style, because this label is more the home of death rock and goth bands. However, when they heard Rats Rest from Kansas, the label immediately decided to release the third single from these American punks.

You'll find four tracks on it with a dirty sound. It's pretty messy, very loud and sometimes it seems as if Lemmy is jamming from heaven (or is it hell?). Rats Rest might not be the most original band on earth, but the lads sound honest and energetic and they overwhelm you with their punk energy. Grab a bottle of booze, turn the amplifier to the right, play some air guitar, cry and live! This is punk at its best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Punk is terug. Niet dat het genre ooit dood was, wel werd het net iets te veel tam geknuffeld door populaire acts die dachten dat punk niet meer voorstelt dan het dragen van een veiligheidsspeld en een hanenkam als haartooi. Een mooi voorbeeld van hoe het wel moet is bijv. Cocaine Piss uit België, hoewel er natuurlijk wereldwijd nog honderden (wellicht duizenden) anderen zijn die trouw zweren aan de echte punkwaarden. Het is alleen een kwestie van ze te ontdekken, en daarvoor hebben we gelukkig goede platenlabels die voor ons het koren van het kaf scheiden.

Peter Out Records uit Gothenburg bijv., ofschoon punk niet echt hun vertrouwde stijl is, want dit label hoort meer thuis in de death rock en goth. Toen ze deze punkband uit Kansas hoorden, was de verleiding te groot en brachten ze zonder talmen de derde single van deze Amerikaanse punkers uit.

Je vindt er vier tracks op die allemaal ontzettend vuil klinken. Het is vrij rommelig, zeer luid en soms lijkt het wel alsof Lemmy vanuit de hemel (of is het de hel) aan het meejammen is. Rats Rest is misschien niet de origineelste groep op aarde, maar klinkt zo eerlijk en energiek dat je er in opgaat. Pure punkenergie zonder dat je er veel vragen hoeft bij te stellen. Grijp die fles drank, draai de versterker naar rechts, speel wat luchtgitaar, schreeuw en leef! Dit is punk op zijn best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido