tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : RATS REST - On The Eastside

RATS REST

On The Eastside

Music7 inch

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Punk is back. Not that the genre was dead, it was just that too many popular acts thought punk was about wearing a safety pin and a mohawk. A good example of how things should be is Cocaine Piss from Belgium, although worldwide hundreds (in fact thousands) other bands know what true punk values stands for. It is only a matter of discovering them, and for that we have good record labels which separate the wheat from the chaff.

Peter Out Records from Gothenburg does so, even if punk is not their usual style, because this label is more the home of death rock and goth bands. However, when they heard Rats Rest from Kansas, the label immediately decided to release the third single from these American punks.

You'll find four tracks on it with a dirty sound. It's pretty messy, very loud and sometimes it seems as if Lemmy is jamming from heaven (or is it hell?). Rats Rest might not be the most original band on earth, but the lads sound honest and energetic and they overwhelm you with their punk energy. Grab a bottle of booze, turn the amplifier to the right, play some air guitar, cry and live! This is punk at its best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Punk is terug. Niet dat het genre ooit dood was, wel werd het net iets te veel tam geknuffeld door populaire acts die dachten dat punk niet meer voorstelt dan het dragen van een veiligheidsspeld en een hanenkam als haartooi. Een mooi voorbeeld van hoe het wel moet is bijv. Cocaine Piss uit België, hoewel er natuurlijk wereldwijd nog honderden (wellicht duizenden) anderen zijn die trouw zweren aan de echte punkwaarden. Het is alleen een kwestie van ze te ontdekken, en daarvoor hebben we gelukkig goede platenlabels die voor ons het koren van het kaf scheiden.

Peter Out Records uit Gothenburg bijv., ofschoon punk niet echt hun vertrouwde stijl is, want dit label hoort meer thuis in de death rock en goth. Toen ze deze punkband uit Kansas hoorden, was de verleiding te groot en brachten ze zonder talmen de derde single van deze Amerikaanse punkers uit.

Je vindt er vier tracks op die allemaal ontzettend vuil klinken. Het is vrij rommelig, zeer luid en soms lijkt het wel alsof Lemmy vanuit de hemel (of is het de hel) aan het meejammen is. Rats Rest is misschien niet de origineelste groep op aarde, maar klinkt zo eerlijk en energiek dat je er in opgaat. Pure punkenergie zonder dat je er veel vragen hoeft bij te stellen. Grijp die fles drank, draai de versterker naar rechts, speel wat luchtgitaar, schreeuw en leef! Dit is punk op zijn best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis