tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : RATS REST - On The Eastside

RATS REST

On The Eastside

Music7 inch

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Punk is back. Not that the genre was dead, it was just that too many popular acts thought punk was about wearing a safety pin and a mohawk. A good example of how things should be is Cocaine Piss from Belgium, although worldwide hundreds (in fact thousands) other bands know what true punk values stands for. It is only a matter of discovering them, and for that we have good record labels which separate the wheat from the chaff.

Peter Out Records from Gothenburg does so, even if punk is not their usual style, because this label is more the home of death rock and goth bands. However, when they heard Rats Rest from Kansas, the label immediately decided to release the third single from these American punks.

You'll find four tracks on it with a dirty sound. It's pretty messy, very loud and sometimes it seems as if Lemmy is jamming from heaven (or is it hell?). Rats Rest might not be the most original band on earth, but the lads sound honest and energetic and they overwhelm you with their punk energy. Grab a bottle of booze, turn the amplifier to the right, play some air guitar, cry and live! This is punk at its best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Punk is terug. Niet dat het genre ooit dood was, wel werd het net iets te veel tam geknuffeld door populaire acts die dachten dat punk niet meer voorstelt dan het dragen van een veiligheidsspeld en een hanenkam als haartooi. Een mooi voorbeeld van hoe het wel moet is bijv. Cocaine Piss uit België, hoewel er natuurlijk wereldwijd nog honderden (wellicht duizenden) anderen zijn die trouw zweren aan de echte punkwaarden. Het is alleen een kwestie van ze te ontdekken, en daarvoor hebben we gelukkig goede platenlabels die voor ons het koren van het kaf scheiden.

Peter Out Records uit Gothenburg bijv., ofschoon punk niet echt hun vertrouwde stijl is, want dit label hoort meer thuis in de death rock en goth. Toen ze deze punkband uit Kansas hoorden, was de verleiding te groot en brachten ze zonder talmen de derde single van deze Amerikaanse punkers uit.

Je vindt er vier tracks op die allemaal ontzettend vuil klinken. Het is vrij rommelig, zeer luid en soms lijkt het wel alsof Lemmy vanuit de hemel (of is het de hel) aan het meejammen is. Rats Rest is misschien niet de origineelste groep op aarde, maar klinkt zo eerlijk en energiek dat je er in opgaat. Pure punkenergie zonder dat je er veel vragen hoeft bij te stellen. Grijp die fles drank, draai de versterker naar rechts, speel wat luchtgitaar, schreeuw en leef! Dit is punk op zijn best!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real