tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE DUKE SPIRIT - Kin

THE DUKE SPIRIT

Kin

MusicCD
ElectroIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Ex Voto Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Duke Spirit is an English rock/indie band, formed in 2003. Kin is the fourth release and the successor to Bruiser (2011). That album got a lot of critical acclaim, but the big breakthrough was yet to come. It gave the band the opportunity to tour and to open for bands like The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stoneage... Leila Moss (vocals) and Butler (bass) also form the electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Now there is Kin, an album that sounds pretty electronically and atmospheric. We hear some very nice songs which leave you speechless and quiet. Wounded Wing is a good example: a simple piano with synths underneath, accompanying the beautiful voice of Leila Moss. Some songs are very well made, like Hands or Anola, true indie rock songs with guitar, bass, drums and synths. But I find The Duke Spirit quite strong when the music hovers between electro and indie rock. The hushed and cold sounds (Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour) correlate very well with the warm and sometimes thin voice of Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit has a new album that deserves your attention, especially if you like a mix of hushed and stylized electro and indie rock, wrapped in pop songs. In addition, there is the pleasure of Leila Moss' vocals and guest appearances by Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards... All ingredients are present to become important in the music bussiness.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Duke Spirit is een Engelse rock/indie formatie dat sedert 2003 bestaat. Kin is de vierde release, vijf jaar na Bruiser (2011). Dat album kreeg veel goede kritiek, maar de grote doorbraak kwam er vooralsnog niet. Het gaf de band wel de mogelijkheid om te toeren in het voorprogramma van bands als The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stone Age… Leila Moss (zang) en Butler (bass) vormen ook het electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Nu is er dus Kin, een album dat electronisch en atmospherisch klinkt. We horen een aantal hele mooie luistersongs waar je stil van wordt. Wounded Wing is een mooi voorbeeld: een eenvoudig piano met synths eronder die de mooi weidse stem van Leila Moss begeleiden. Een aantal songs gaat goed vooruit, zoals Hands of Anola, echte indierocksongs met gitaar, bas, drums en synths. Maar ik vind The Duke Spirit vrij sterk als hij de ruimte tussen electro en indierock opzoekt. De verstilde en koude sounds zoals in Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour matchen heel goed met de warme en soms ijle stem van Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit heeft een nieuw album dat je aandacht verdient, vooral als je houdt van een mengeling van verstilde en gestyleerde electro en indie-rock, verpakt in popsongs. Daarnaast is er nog het plezier van Leila Moss' vocals en gastoptredens van o.a. Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards… Alle ingrediënten zijn aanwezig om een versnelling hoger te schakelen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless