tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE DUKE SPIRIT - Kin

THE DUKE SPIRIT

Kin

MusicCD
ElectroIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Ex Voto Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Duke Spirit is an English rock/indie band, formed in 2003. Kin is the fourth release and the successor to Bruiser (2011). That album got a lot of critical acclaim, but the big breakthrough was yet to come. It gave the band the opportunity to tour and to open for bands like The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stoneage... Leila Moss (vocals) and Butler (bass) also form the electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Now there is Kin, an album that sounds pretty electronically and atmospheric. We hear some very nice songs which leave you speechless and quiet. Wounded Wing is a good example: a simple piano with synths underneath, accompanying the beautiful voice of Leila Moss. Some songs are very well made, like Hands or Anola, true indie rock songs with guitar, bass, drums and synths. But I find The Duke Spirit quite strong when the music hovers between electro and indie rock. The hushed and cold sounds (Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour) correlate very well with the warm and sometimes thin voice of Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit has a new album that deserves your attention, especially if you like a mix of hushed and stylized electro and indie rock, wrapped in pop songs. In addition, there is the pleasure of Leila Moss' vocals and guest appearances by Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards... All ingredients are present to become important in the music bussiness.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Duke Spirit is een Engelse rock/indie formatie dat sedert 2003 bestaat. Kin is de vierde release, vijf jaar na Bruiser (2011). Dat album kreeg veel goede kritiek, maar de grote doorbraak kwam er vooralsnog niet. Het gaf de band wel de mogelijkheid om te toeren in het voorprogramma van bands als The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stone Age… Leila Moss (zang) en Butler (bass) vormen ook het electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Nu is er dus Kin, een album dat electronisch en atmospherisch klinkt. We horen een aantal hele mooie luistersongs waar je stil van wordt. Wounded Wing is een mooi voorbeeld: een eenvoudig piano met synths eronder die de mooi weidse stem van Leila Moss begeleiden. Een aantal songs gaat goed vooruit, zoals Hands of Anola, echte indierocksongs met gitaar, bas, drums en synths. Maar ik vind The Duke Spirit vrij sterk als hij de ruimte tussen electro en indierock opzoekt. De verstilde en koude sounds zoals in Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour matchen heel goed met de warme en soms ijle stem van Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit heeft een nieuw album dat je aandacht verdient, vooral als je houdt van een mengeling van verstilde en gestyleerde electro en indie-rock, verpakt in popsongs. Daarnaast is er nog het plezier van Leila Moss' vocals en gastoptredens van o.a. Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards… Alle ingrediënten zijn aanwezig om een versnelling hoger te schakelen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)