tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE DUKE SPIRIT - Kin

THE DUKE SPIRIT

Kin

MusicCD
ElectroIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Ex Voto Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Duke Spirit is an English rock/indie band, formed in 2003. Kin is the fourth release and the successor to Bruiser (2011). That album got a lot of critical acclaim, but the big breakthrough was yet to come. It gave the band the opportunity to tour and to open for bands like The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stoneage... Leila Moss (vocals) and Butler (bass) also form the electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Now there is Kin, an album that sounds pretty electronically and atmospheric. We hear some very nice songs which leave you speechless and quiet. Wounded Wing is a good example: a simple piano with synths underneath, accompanying the beautiful voice of Leila Moss. Some songs are very well made, like Hands or Anola, true indie rock songs with guitar, bass, drums and synths. But I find The Duke Spirit quite strong when the music hovers between electro and indie rock. The hushed and cold sounds (Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour) correlate very well with the warm and sometimes thin voice of Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit has a new album that deserves your attention, especially if you like a mix of hushed and stylized electro and indie rock, wrapped in pop songs. In addition, there is the pleasure of Leila Moss' vocals and guest appearances by Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards... All ingredients are present to become important in the music bussiness.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Duke Spirit is een Engelse rock/indie formatie dat sedert 2003 bestaat. Kin is de vierde release, vijf jaar na Bruiser (2011). Dat album kreeg veel goede kritiek, maar de grote doorbraak kwam er vooralsnog niet. Het gaf de band wel de mogelijkheid om te toeren in het voorprogramma van bands als The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stone Age… Leila Moss (zang) en Butler (bass) vormen ook het electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Nu is er dus Kin, een album dat electronisch en atmospherisch klinkt. We horen een aantal hele mooie luistersongs waar je stil van wordt. Wounded Wing is een mooi voorbeeld: een eenvoudig piano met synths eronder die de mooi weidse stem van Leila Moss begeleiden. Een aantal songs gaat goed vooruit, zoals Hands of Anola, echte indierocksongs met gitaar, bas, drums en synths. Maar ik vind The Duke Spirit vrij sterk als hij de ruimte tussen electro en indierock opzoekt. De verstilde en koude sounds zoals in Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour matchen heel goed met de warme en soms ijle stem van Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit heeft een nieuw album dat je aandacht verdient, vooral als je houdt van een mengeling van verstilde en gestyleerde electro en indie-rock, verpakt in popsongs. Daarnaast is er nog het plezier van Leila Moss' vocals en gastoptredens van o.a. Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards… Alle ingrediënten zijn aanwezig om een versnelling hoger te schakelen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion