tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE DUKE SPIRIT - Kin

THE DUKE SPIRIT

Kin

MusicCD
ElectroIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Ex Voto Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Duke Spirit is an English rock/indie band, formed in 2003. Kin is the fourth release and the successor to Bruiser (2011). That album got a lot of critical acclaim, but the big breakthrough was yet to come. It gave the band the opportunity to tour and to open for bands like The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stoneage... Leila Moss (vocals) and Butler (bass) also form the electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Now there is Kin, an album that sounds pretty electronically and atmospheric. We hear some very nice songs which leave you speechless and quiet. Wounded Wing is a good example: a simple piano with synths underneath, accompanying the beautiful voice of Leila Moss. Some songs are very well made, like Hands or Anola, true indie rock songs with guitar, bass, drums and synths. But I find The Duke Spirit quite strong when the music hovers between electro and indie rock. The hushed and cold sounds (Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour) correlate very well with the warm and sometimes thin voice of Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit has a new album that deserves your attention, especially if you like a mix of hushed and stylized electro and indie rock, wrapped in pop songs. In addition, there is the pleasure of Leila Moss' vocals and guest appearances by Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards... All ingredients are present to become important in the music bussiness.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Duke Spirit is een Engelse rock/indie formatie dat sedert 2003 bestaat. Kin is de vierde release, vijf jaar na Bruiser (2011). Dat album kreeg veel goede kritiek, maar de grote doorbraak kwam er vooralsnog niet. Het gaf de band wel de mogelijkheid om te toeren in het voorprogramma van bands als The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stone Age… Leila Moss (zang) en Butler (bass) vormen ook het electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Nu is er dus Kin, een album dat electronisch en atmospherisch klinkt. We horen een aantal hele mooie luistersongs waar je stil van wordt. Wounded Wing is een mooi voorbeeld: een eenvoudig piano met synths eronder die de mooi weidse stem van Leila Moss begeleiden. Een aantal songs gaat goed vooruit, zoals Hands of Anola, echte indierocksongs met gitaar, bas, drums en synths. Maar ik vind The Duke Spirit vrij sterk als hij de ruimte tussen electro en indierock opzoekt. De verstilde en koude sounds zoals in Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour matchen heel goed met de warme en soms ijle stem van Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit heeft een nieuw album dat je aandacht verdient, vooral als je houdt van een mengeling van verstilde en gestyleerde electro en indie-rock, verpakt in popsongs. Daarnaast is er nog het plezier van Leila Moss' vocals en gastoptredens van o.a. Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards… Alle ingrediënten zijn aanwezig om een versnelling hoger te schakelen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string