tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE DUKE SPIRIT - Kin

THE DUKE SPIRIT

Kin

MusicCD
ElectroIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Ex Voto Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Duke Spirit is an English rock/indie band, formed in 2003. Kin is the fourth release and the successor to Bruiser (2011). That album got a lot of critical acclaim, but the big breakthrough was yet to come. It gave the band the opportunity to tour and to open for bands like The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stoneage... Leila Moss (vocals) and Butler (bass) also form the electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Now there is Kin, an album that sounds pretty electronically and atmospheric. We hear some very nice songs which leave you speechless and quiet. Wounded Wing is a good example: a simple piano with synths underneath, accompanying the beautiful voice of Leila Moss. Some songs are very well made, like Hands or Anola, true indie rock songs with guitar, bass, drums and synths. But I find The Duke Spirit quite strong when the music hovers between electro and indie rock. The hushed and cold sounds (Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour) correlate very well with the warm and sometimes thin voice of Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit has a new album that deserves your attention, especially if you like a mix of hushed and stylized electro and indie rock, wrapped in pop songs. In addition, there is the pleasure of Leila Moss' vocals and guest appearances by Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards... All ingredients are present to become important in the music bussiness.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Duke Spirit is een Engelse rock/indie formatie dat sedert 2003 bestaat. Kin is de vierde release, vijf jaar na Bruiser (2011). Dat album kreeg veel goede kritiek, maar de grote doorbraak kwam er vooralsnog niet. Het gaf de band wel de mogelijkheid om te toeren in het voorprogramma van bands als The Black Motor Rebel Cycle Club, Supergrass, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Queens of the Stone Age… Leila Moss (zang) en Butler (bass) vormen ook het electro-rock duo Roman Remains.

Nu is er dus Kin, een album dat electronisch en atmospherisch klinkt. We horen een aantal hele mooie luistersongs waar je stil van wordt. Wounded Wing is een mooi voorbeeld: een eenvoudig piano met synths eronder die de mooi weidse stem van Leila Moss begeleiden. Een aantal songs gaat goed vooruit, zoals Hands of Anola, echte indierocksongs met gitaar, bas, drums en synths. Maar ik vind The Duke Spirit vrij sterk als hij de ruimte tussen electro en indierock opzoekt. De verstilde en koude sounds zoals in Pacific, Wounded Wings, Here Comes The Vapour matchen heel goed met de warme en soms ijle stem van Leila Moss.

The Duke Spirit heeft een nieuw album dat je aandacht verdient, vooral als je houdt van een mengeling van verstilde en gestyleerde electro en indie-rock, verpakt in popsongs. Daarnaast is er nog het plezier van Leila Moss' vocals en gastoptredens van o.a. Mark Lanegan, Mara Caryle, Terry Edwards… Alle ingrediënten zijn aanwezig om een versnelling hoger te schakelen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell