tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/10/2015 : JOHN GRAHAM - Cold Sun

JOHN GRAHAM

Cold Sun

MusicCD
ElectroIndie Rock

[80/100]   

Distinctive Records
20/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This record contains indie rock with electronica and is made by a man called John Graham, a Briton who now lives in America. He began his career in the 90s as a producer and DJ and as Quivver, he became a name in the electronic music world. He also made music for games like Call of Duty or Warfare, and he composed some film music. The songs for this album are written over several years.

Revolution has a bit of a Beck touch, both musically and vocally. It is also quite danceable. Roll The Dice is also available as an EP. The song floats on a fine groove and has a catchy chorus. We Come & Go is a nice piece of pop music with a fragile guitar sound in the intro. Before Long sounds like the heyday of Starsailor. Dust Pipe starts as a rave song, but evolves into a rock pop song with dark synths.

The cover does not really say it all, because you might think that this is singer-songwriter stuff, but this is something completely different.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/10/2015


NL

Deze plaat bevat indierock met veel electronica en is gemaakt door ene John Graham, een Brit die tegenwoordig in Amerika woont. Hij begon in de jaren 90 een carrière als producer en DJ waardoor hij furore maakte in de elektronische muziekwereld. Hij is best bekend onder de naam Quivver en maakte muziek voor spelletjes zoals Call Of Duty of Warfare, en hij werkte ook mee aan filmmuziek. De nummers voor dit album schreef hij over verschillende jaren.

Revolution heeft iets van Beck, zowel muzikaal als vokaal. Het is ook vrij dansbaar. Roll The Dice is ook als ep verkrijgbaar. Het drijft op een fijne groove en heeft een catchy refrein. We Come & Go is een sfeervol stukje popmuziek met een breekbare gitaargeluid in de intro. Before Long doet een beetje de hoogdagen van Starsailor herleven. Dustpipe begint als een rave song en evolueert naar een rock/popnummer met donkere synths.

Het zijn twaalf tracks met gitaar, synth en andere instrumenten, maar het zijn vooral goed opgebouwde songs. De hoes dekt niet echt de lading, omdat je kan denkt een singer-songwriter te zullen horen, maar dit aangename album is toch andere koek.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/10/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag