tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/10/2015 : PIQUET - Heywawisze

PIQUET

Heywawisze

MusicCD (EP)
KrautrockNoisePost PunkRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Fons Records
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re living in Belgium then a term like Limburg (a part of the country) noise rock doesn’t sound that obvious, but when hearing the EP Heywawisze (we don’t know what it means either!), you just want more! Lien Moris, Jan Viggria, Senne Driesen and Mattias Jonniaux are already in the local spotlight since 2013. After reaching the final in Limbomania (an important rock contest in Belgium) and a single, the time has come for an EP that includes five songs, mixed by Micha Volders and produced by Christophe Dexters, the guitarist of The Rott Childs.

Although the foursome thinks that the lyrics are important, it is hard to understand a word of it. Maybe it's the dialect, but it's mainly the wall of noise that completely covers Lien’s message. We assume that Parkiet is about a bird, but with a song called Lala, you can go in all directions!

But so what? Piquet is fantastic, wonderful, sublime noise rock with a generous portion of Steve Albini and the punk attitude of The Fall. The songs are powerful, melodic, sexy and above all irresistible. We look forward to hear their debut album! And nah, the language isn’t important at all, music is universal!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

Een term als Limburgse noiserock klinkt allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend (laat staan overtuigend), maar wie de ep Heywawisze (neen, wij weten het ook niet!) hoort, wil nadien meer! Lien Moris, Jan Viggria, Senne Driesen en Mattias Jonniaux lopen al sinds 2013 in de kijker. Na het behalen van een finaleplaats in Limbomania (zeg maar de Limburgse Rock Rally) en een single (Zijn we d’er bijna), is de tijd rijp voor een ep met daarop vijf nummers die zijn gemixt door Micha Volders en geproduceerd door Christophe Dexters, de gitarist van The Rott Childs.

Ook al vindt het viertal dat z'n teksten belangrijk zijn, is het moeilijk om er ook maar een woord van te begrijpen. Misschien ligt het aan het dialect, maar het is vooral de geluidsmuur die Liens boodschap onverstaanbaar maakt. We veronderstellen dat Parkiet over een vogel gaat, maar met een nummer dat Lala heet, kan je natuurlijk alle kanten uit!

Maar wat zou het? Piquet is fantastisch, heerlijke snedige noise rock met een flinke portie Steve Albini en de punkattitude van The Fall. De songs zijn krachtig, melodisch, sexy en vooral onweerstaanbaar. Wedden dat er na rap uit Izegem in de Belpop nu ook plaats is voor Limburgs poplawaai? Wij kijken alvast uit naar de te verschijnen debuutplaat!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MAIA VIDAL • You're the Waves
TORUL • Difficult To Kill
NEW ORDER • Restless (Agoria Remix)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More

 

Same genre: RIOT GRRRL
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
L7 • Scatter The Rats
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
DILLY DALLY • Sore
MY BABY • Shamanaid
NOTS • We Are Nots
SHIT PRESENT • Shit Present
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets