tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/10/2015 : PIQUET - Heywawisze

PIQUET

Heywawisze

MusicCD (EP)
KrautrockNoisePost PunkRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Fons Records
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re living in Belgium then a term like Limburg (a part of the country) noise rock doesn’t sound that obvious, but when hearing the EP Heywawisze (we don’t know what it means either!), you just want more! Lien Moris, Jan Viggria, Senne Driesen and Mattias Jonniaux are already in the local spotlight since 2013. After reaching the final in Limbomania (an important rock contest in Belgium) and a single, the time has come for an EP that includes five songs, mixed by Micha Volders and produced by Christophe Dexters, the guitarist of The Rott Childs.

Although the foursome thinks that the lyrics are important, it is hard to understand a word of it. Maybe it's the dialect, but it's mainly the wall of noise that completely covers Lien’s message. We assume that Parkiet is about a bird, but with a song called Lala, you can go in all directions!

But so what? Piquet is fantastic, wonderful, sublime noise rock with a generous portion of Steve Albini and the punk attitude of The Fall. The songs are powerful, melodic, sexy and above all irresistible. We look forward to hear their debut album! And nah, the language isn’t important at all, music is universal!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

Een term als Limburgse noiserock klinkt allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend (laat staan overtuigend), maar wie de ep Heywawisze (neen, wij weten het ook niet!) hoort, wil nadien meer! Lien Moris, Jan Viggria, Senne Driesen en Mattias Jonniaux lopen al sinds 2013 in de kijker. Na het behalen van een finaleplaats in Limbomania (zeg maar de Limburgse Rock Rally) en een single (Zijn we d’er bijna), is de tijd rijp voor een ep met daarop vijf nummers die zijn gemixt door Micha Volders en geproduceerd door Christophe Dexters, de gitarist van The Rott Childs.

Ook al vindt het viertal dat z'n teksten belangrijk zijn, is het moeilijk om er ook maar een woord van te begrijpen. Misschien ligt het aan het dialect, maar het is vooral de geluidsmuur die Liens boodschap onverstaanbaar maakt. We veronderstellen dat Parkiet over een vogel gaat, maar met een nummer dat Lala heet, kan je natuurlijk alle kanten uit!

Maar wat zou het? Piquet is fantastisch, heerlijke snedige noise rock met een flinke portie Steve Albini en de punkattitude van The Fall. De songs zijn krachtig, melodisch, sexy en vooral onweerstaanbaar. Wedden dat er na rap uit Izegem in de Belpop nu ook plaats is voor Limburgs poplawaai? Wij kijken alvast uit naar de te verschijnen debuutplaat!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MAIA VIDAL • You're the Waves
TORUL • Difficult To Kill
NEW ORDER • Restless (Agoria Remix)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: RIOT GRRRL
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
L7 • Scatter The Rats
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
DILLY DALLY • Sore
MY BABY • Shamanaid
NOTS • We Are Nots
SHIT PRESENT • Shit Present
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men