tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/10/2015 : PIQUET - Heywawisze

PIQUET

Heywawisze

MusicCD (EP)
KrautrockNoisePost PunkRiot Grrrl

[82/100]   

Fons Records
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re living in Belgium then a term like Limburg (a part of the country) noise rock doesn’t sound that obvious, but when hearing the EP Heywawisze (we don’t know what it means either!), you just want more! Lien Moris, Jan Viggria, Senne Driesen and Mattias Jonniaux are already in the local spotlight since 2013. After reaching the final in Limbomania (an important rock contest in Belgium) and a single, the time has come for an EP that includes five songs, mixed by Micha Volders and produced by Christophe Dexters, the guitarist of The Rott Childs.

Although the foursome thinks that the lyrics are important, it is hard to understand a word of it. Maybe it's the dialect, but it's mainly the wall of noise that completely covers Lien’s message. We assume that Parkiet is about a bird, but with a song called Lala, you can go in all directions!

But so what? Piquet is fantastic, wonderful, sublime noise rock with a generous portion of Steve Albini and the punk attitude of The Fall. The songs are powerful, melodic, sexy and above all irresistible. We look forward to hear their debut album! And nah, the language isn’t important at all, music is universal!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

Een term als Limburgse noiserock klinkt allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend (laat staan overtuigend), maar wie de ep Heywawisze (neen, wij weten het ook niet!) hoort, wil nadien meer! Lien Moris, Jan Viggria, Senne Driesen en Mattias Jonniaux lopen al sinds 2013 in de kijker. Na het behalen van een finaleplaats in Limbomania (zeg maar de Limburgse Rock Rally) en een single (Zijn we d’er bijna), is de tijd rijp voor een ep met daarop vijf nummers die zijn gemixt door Micha Volders en geproduceerd door Christophe Dexters, de gitarist van The Rott Childs.

Ook al vindt het viertal dat z'n teksten belangrijk zijn, is het moeilijk om er ook maar een woord van te begrijpen. Misschien ligt het aan het dialect, maar het is vooral de geluidsmuur die Liens boodschap onverstaanbaar maakt. We veronderstellen dat Parkiet over een vogel gaat, maar met een nummer dat Lala heet, kan je natuurlijk alle kanten uit!

Maar wat zou het? Piquet is fantastisch, heerlijke snedige noise rock met een flinke portie Steve Albini en de punkattitude van The Fall. De songs zijn krachtig, melodisch, sexy en vooral onweerstaanbaar. Wedden dat er na rap uit Izegem in de Belpop nu ook plaats is voor Limburgs poplawaai? Wij kijken alvast uit naar de te verschijnen debuutplaat!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MAIA VIDAL • You're the Waves
TORUL • Difficult To Kill
NEW ORDER • Restless (Agoria Remix)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Same genre: RIOT GRRRL
L7 • Scatter The Rats
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
DILLY DALLY • Sore
MY BABY • Shamanaid
NOTS • We Are Nots
SHIT PRESENT • Shit Present
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR