tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : MY BABY - Shamanaid

MY BABY

Shamanaid

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[76/100]   

Starman Records
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

For the average music lover, the name My Baby probably sounds obscure. And yet, this Dutch band who took its band name from a Jimi Hendrix-text already reached some goals that many musicians would be jealous of. The trio already played at Glastonbury and Seasick Steve himself asked them to join him on his UK tour. Indeed facts that make the head spin, but Joost, Daniel and Cato stay with their feet on the ground.

Shamanaid is the second album by this trio that is now promoted in Belgium by Starman Records as they hope to conquer this country too. Of course The Netherlands has its charms, nevertheless this CD never sounds one second as if it was recorded in Amsterdam. Their quirky (albeit successful) mix of blues, folk, funk and world music has more the charm of say Louisiana then the land of clogs. But,so what? Shamanaid is an adventurous album with ten songs that show the diversity of the trio.

Right from the opener Seeing Red you can notice how open-minded My Baby is. All styles can fit in one song, with even a touch of dub reggae. Even though the first song can be considered as a gentle middle finger to those who pretend that they have the right to fuck up this planet, My Baby is optimistic. Meet Me At The Wishing Well makes you think of a beach chair, and no: it's not the kind of holiday music that you immediately turn off when it’s coming out of your speakers. Uprising contains some experiment, and reminds us of what Back To The Planet did in the 90s. But it's for one song only, as My Baby (yes, we repeat ourselves) loves diversity. The Doors Of Your Mind or 6X2 could be lifted from Joni Mitchell’s colourful song book. Mary Morgan has a great country guitar that even sounds a tad like Dolly Parton (and no, we write it with respect!)

Shamanaid is an easy album, but also difficult because My Baby doesn’t belong to one category.

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

De naam My Baby zegt de doorsnee muziekliefhebber misschien niet bijster veel, toch heeft deze Nederlandse band die zijn groepsnaam uit een Jimi Hendrix-tekst haalde een parcours afgelegd waar menig muzikant jaloers op woordt. Zo stond het drietal al op Glastonbury of werd het door Seasick Steve in eigen persoon meegevraagd op zijn Britse toer. Het zijn inderdaad feiten je hoofd doen duizelen, gelukkig blijven Joost, Cato en Daniel mooi met hun voeten op de grond staan.

Shamanaid is het tweede album van dit drietal, waarvan Starman Records in België nu de promotie voert en waarmee men hoopt dit landje ook te kunnen veroveren. Nederland heeft natuurlijk zijn charmes, desalniettemin klinkt het allesbehalve alsof deze cd in Amsterdam is opgenomen. Hun eigenzinnige (weliswaar geslaagde) mix van blues, folk, funk en wat wereldmuziek situeer je nu eenmaal eerder met pakweg Louisiana dan met het land van de klompen. Maar, wat zou het? Shamanaid is een avontuurlijke plaat met tien nummers die de diversiteit van het trio tonen.

Meteen in de opener Seeing Red valt het op hoe ruimdenkend dit trio wel is. Alle stijlen moeten in één song kunnen, zelfs een vleugje dubreggae. Ook al is het eerste nummer een middelvinger naar mensen die vinden dat zij het recht hebben om deze planeet te verkloten, is My Baby optimistisch ingesteld. Bij Meet Me At The Wishing Well denk je alleen aan een strandstoel, en het is niet het soort vakantiemuziek waarbij je de geluidsknop de mond snoert. Uprising is niet vies van enig experiment, en doet wat denken aan wat Back To The Planet in de jaren 90 deed. Maar het is maar voor één nummertje, want My Baby houdt (ja, we vallen in herhaling) vooral van diversiteit. Zo konden The Doors Of Your Mind of 6X2 uit het kleurrijke songboek van Joni Mitchell komen. Mary Morgan heeft een lekker countrygitaartje dat zelfs een tikkeltje naar Dolly Parton neigt (en neen, we schrijven dit met respect!)

Shamanaid is weliswaar een gemakkelijke plaat, maar anderzijds een moeilijke omdat My Baby niet past in één hokje. 

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia
GOLDEN EARRING • Five Zero (Antwerpen, De Roma, 09/12/2015)
ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Other reviews from MY BABY
MY BABY • Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: RIOT GRRRL
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
DILLY DALLY • Sore
NOTS • We Are Nots
PIQUET • Heywawisze
SHIT PRESENT • Shit Present
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice