tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : BEYOND THE LABYRINTH - Ghost Melody

BEYOND THE LABYRINTH

Ghost Melody

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Incommunicado B&M
13/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Two years after the single Healer, Beyond The Labyrinth is back. The remarkable new single Ghost Melody is a kind of marriage between goth, cabaret and musical. The song evokes the atmosphere of a circus, but there’s also a Christmas feel. No panic though, as this is not another Last Christmas, thank God for that!

After a first listening, the melody is locked up in your brain, as Ghost Melody is a real catchy and infectious earwig. And to top it all: it makes a human being happy!

Ghost Melody, with its classic theatrical approach and an ¾ arrangement is atypical for Beyond The Labyrinth, and on the other hand: it’s not! The band is often placed between classic rock and progressive rock, but you also hear heavy roots and a poppy influence. No, you never will be able to put Beyond The Labyrinth in a box. The question is whether you need to.

The warm, pleasant voice on Ghost Melody sounds very familiar. But who is he? The band is quite secretive about this mysterious guest vocalist. Anyway, the man is blessed with a beautiful voice. The single with its warm sound and rich instrumentation has actually everything to become a hit. Perhaps because of the atypical sound of Ghost Melod, some listeners may find their way to some other stuff ofthisband.

Ghost Melody is the harbinger of the fourth album by Beyond The Labyrinth. It will feature various guest vocalists. After the album Chapter III: Stories (2011), they released the single Healer, but then it was quiet. The live setup broke up in 2013, but in the meantime they have been working on new material in the studio.

You can listen, stream or purchase Ghost Melody via the popular digital platforms like iTunes, Spotify, Deezer and Emusic.

Facebookpage.

Official site

Mark VAN MULLEM
13/12/2015


NL

Twee jaar na de single Healer, laat Beyond The Labyrinth opnieuw van zich horen. De opmerkelijke nieuwe single Ghost Melody is een soort huwelijk tussen gothic, cabaret en musical. Het nummer roept de sfeer op van een circus, maar evengoed dat van kerstmis. Maar dan niét die van Last Christmas en andere calamiteiten, God zij geloofd!

Na een eerste luisterbeurt zit je nog tot lang met de pakkende melodie in je hoofd. Dat maakt Ghost Melody tot een oorwurm. Erg catchy en aanstekelijk. En wat een niet onaangename bijkomstigheid is: een mens wordt er op slag goedgeluimd van.

Ghost Melody, met zijn klassieke en theatrale aanpak en een arrangement in een ¾-maatsoort, is atypisch voor Beyond The Labyrinth, en eigenlijk ook weer net niét. De band wordt vaak tussen classic en progressieve rock geplaatst, maar heeft evengoed heavy roots als poppy-invloeden. Je kan Beyond The Labyrinth eigenlijk nooit in een vakje plaatsen. Vraag is ook of dat moet.

De warme, bijzonder aangename stem op Ghost Melody klinkt erg bekend in de oren. Maar wie is het dan? De band doet nogal geheimzinnig over deze mysterieuze gastzanger. De man is alleszins gezegend met een fraai stemgeluid. De single met zijn volle warme sound en rijke instrumentatie heeft eigenlijk alles om een hit te worden. Ghost Melody kan een atypisch visitekaartje worden, met de hoop dat luisteraars dan ook de weg naar het andere werk van de band vinden.

Ghost Melody is de voorbode van het vierde Beyond The Labyrinth-album waarop de band met diverse gastvocalisten werkt. Na het album Chapter III: Stories (2011) volgde nog de single Healer maar toen werd het stil rond de band. De livesetup splitte in 2013, maar in tussentijd is in de studio aan nieuw materiaal gewerkt.

Ghost Melody kan beluisterd/gestreamd en aangekocht worden via de populairste digitale platformen als iTunes, Spotify, Deezer en Emusic.

Facebookpagina.

Officiële site.

Mark VAN MULLEM
13/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain