tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2015 : PHANTOM CRUX - Synesthesia

PHANTOM CRUX

Synesthesia

MusicDigital
Avant-gardeDark Electro

[80/100]   

Sacred Realm Records
11/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Synesthesia is the new single that precedes the forthcoming album To Flourish In The Jackal Dawn. Phantom Crux has two members: William Westwater (Fear Incorporated and Voodoo Bible) and Deekstar. Musically, they offer alternative avant-garde music with some dark electronica.

Synesthesia begins with a post-punk intro, but soon gets a rock ‘n roll touch. We recognize the distinctive voice of William, that sounds more mainstream as with Fear Incorporated. The song has a nice flow, a great rhythm and a low bass. All ingredients make this single a stunner.

The Fireblight-Blood Moon Mix is ​​the second track on this EP. A sinister-sounding piano forms the framework. We get fine vocal harmonies in the choruses, and the song is all by all quite melodious.

This EP is a perfect appetizer for the album that will be released next year. The two songs are available as a free download on Bandcamp. Anyone who wants to shudder during those dark winter days, has the appropriate soundtrack with this EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2015


NL

Synesthesia is de nieuwe single die voorafgaat aan het binnenkort te verschijnen album To Flourish In The Jackal Dawn. Phantom Crux bestaat uit twee leden: William Westwater (Fear Incorporated en Voodoo Bible) en Deekstar. Muzikaal brengen ze alternatieve avant-garde muziek omhultd met darkelectronica.

Synesthesia begint met een postpunkintro. Daarna schiet de song via een rock ’n roll-lijntje op gang. We herkennen de karakteristieke stem van William, die op dit nummer toch iets meer mainstream klinkt dan bij Fear Incorporated. De song heeft een mooie flow, een vrij opzwepend ritme, een lage bass en mooie overgangen. Een geslaagde song.

Fireblight-Blood Moon Mix is de tweede track op deze ep. Een sinister klinkende piano vormt het raamwerk. Daarnaast krijgen we fijne vocale harmonieën in de refreinen. Een vrij melodieuze song.

Deze ep doet het beste hopen voor het album dat volgend jaar uitkomt. De twee nummers zijn gratis te downloaden via Bandcamp. Wie wil griezelen tijdens de donkere winterdagen, heeft met deze ep dus de geschikte soundtrack gevonden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2015


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith