tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : CHAINREACTOR - Dirt

CHAINREACTOR

Dirt

MusicCD
ElectronicsHarsh Electro

[78/100]   

Dark Dimensions
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

About four years ago, when Peek-A-Boo just was founded, we reviewed the second album by Chainreactor: Insomniac. These days a lot has changed. With some top albums and splendid mixing work for established acts, this duo, that is formed by Jens Minor and Kay Schaeffer, is one of the better bands in the harsh electro genre. The music is still intended to set the (alternative) dance floor on fire, but the sound of Chainreactor has become clearly more mature, and has a personal style.

On Dirt, there are thirteen tracks. Everything begins with Seize The Day, in which a voice whispers that you better enjoy life, because it could be the last day. And yes, before we realize it, the apocalyptic atmosphere degenerates in a hellish dance party that lasts twelve tracks. The beats pass at a lunatic speed, the sounds are heavy and every song seems like a (heavenly) assault on your eardrums without loosing the melody. There are some real club hits on this album (The Danger, Sicko Cell or Torpedo), but the best (and most unusual) track is D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., which is obviously a tribute to Kraftwerk, and also (what did you expect?) sounds like Kraftwerk.

Even if Dirt is made for the better dance clubs, it also is a must for lonely souls who want to transform their living room in a dance hall. Pump up the volume and raise the middle finger to your neighbors!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Zo’n vier jaar geleden, toen Peek-A-Boo nog in zijn kinderschoenen stond, recenseerden wij het tweede album van Chainreactor: Insomniac. Anno 2015 is er heel wat veranderd, want dit duo, dat wordt gevormd door Jens Minor en Kay Schaeffer, is door andere topalbums en heel wat mixwerk voor gevestigde acts erin geslaagd om één van de betere bands in het harsh electro genre te worden.

De muziek is nog altijd voor de (alternatieve) dansvloer bestemd, maar het geluid van Chainreactor is duidelijk volwassener geworden, en het heeft vooral een eigen stijl.

Op Dirt staan dertien tracks. Alles wordt ingeleid met Seize The Day, waarin een stem de luisteraar toefluistert dat hij maar beter van het leven geniet, want het zou wel eens de laatste dag kunnen zijn. En jawel, voor we het goed en wel beseffen ontaardt het apocalyptisch sfeertje in een hels dansfeestje dat twaalf nummers lang volgehouden wordtt. De beats zijn nauwelijks te tellen, de geluiden loodzwaar en iedere nummer lijkt wel een (hemelse) aanval op je trommelvliezen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren. Er staan een paar echte clubhits op deze plaat (The Danger, Sicko Cell of Torpedo), maar de leukste (en meest ongewone) track is toch D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., dat uiteraard een ode is aan Kraftwerk, en ook (wat had je anders verwacht?) als Kraftwerk klinkt.

Ook al is Dirt een plaat die vooral uit de hoes zal worden gehaald in de betere discotheken, is dit tevens een aanrader voor eenzame zielen die in hun huiskamer graag een feestje bouwen. Zet de stoelen aan de kant en jaag de buren maar lekker in de gordijnen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo