tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : CHAINREACTOR - Dirt

CHAINREACTOR

Dirt

MusicCD
ElectronicsHarsh Electro

[78/100]   

Dark Dimensions
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

About four years ago, when Peek-A-Boo just was founded, we reviewed the second album by Chainreactor: Insomniac. These days a lot has changed. With some top albums and splendid mixing work for established acts, this duo, that is formed by Jens Minor and Kay Schaeffer, is one of the better bands in the harsh electro genre. The music is still intended to set the (alternative) dance floor on fire, but the sound of Chainreactor has become clearly more mature, and has a personal style.

On Dirt, there are thirteen tracks. Everything begins with Seize The Day, in which a voice whispers that you better enjoy life, because it could be the last day. And yes, before we realize it, the apocalyptic atmosphere degenerates in a hellish dance party that lasts twelve tracks. The beats pass at a lunatic speed, the sounds are heavy and every song seems like a (heavenly) assault on your eardrums without loosing the melody. There are some real club hits on this album (The Danger, Sicko Cell or Torpedo), but the best (and most unusual) track is D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., which is obviously a tribute to Kraftwerk, and also (what did you expect?) sounds like Kraftwerk.

Even if Dirt is made for the better dance clubs, it also is a must for lonely souls who want to transform their living room in a dance hall. Pump up the volume and raise the middle finger to your neighbors!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Zo’n vier jaar geleden, toen Peek-A-Boo nog in zijn kinderschoenen stond, recenseerden wij het tweede album van Chainreactor: Insomniac. Anno 2015 is er heel wat veranderd, want dit duo, dat wordt gevormd door Jens Minor en Kay Schaeffer, is door andere topalbums en heel wat mixwerk voor gevestigde acts erin geslaagd om één van de betere bands in het harsh electro genre te worden.

De muziek is nog altijd voor de (alternatieve) dansvloer bestemd, maar het geluid van Chainreactor is duidelijk volwassener geworden, en het heeft vooral een eigen stijl.

Op Dirt staan dertien tracks. Alles wordt ingeleid met Seize The Day, waarin een stem de luisteraar toefluistert dat hij maar beter van het leven geniet, want het zou wel eens de laatste dag kunnen zijn. En jawel, voor we het goed en wel beseffen ontaardt het apocalyptisch sfeertje in een hels dansfeestje dat twaalf nummers lang volgehouden wordtt. De beats zijn nauwelijks te tellen, de geluiden loodzwaar en iedere nummer lijkt wel een (hemelse) aanval op je trommelvliezen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren. Er staan een paar echte clubhits op deze plaat (The Danger, Sicko Cell of Torpedo), maar de leukste (en meest ongewone) track is toch D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., dat uiteraard een ode is aan Kraftwerk, en ook (wat had je anders verwacht?) als Kraftwerk klinkt.

Ook al is Dirt een plaat die vooral uit de hoes zal worden gehaald in de betere discotheken, is dit tevens een aanrader voor eenzame zielen die in hun huiskamer graag een feestje bouwen. Zet de stoelen aan de kant en jaag de buren maar lekker in de gordijnen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell