tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : CHAINREACTOR - Dirt

CHAINREACTOR

Dirt

MusicCD
ElectronicsHarsh Electro

[78/100]   

Dark Dimensions
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

About four years ago, when Peek-A-Boo just was founded, we reviewed the second album by Chainreactor: Insomniac. These days a lot has changed. With some top albums and splendid mixing work for established acts, this duo, that is formed by Jens Minor and Kay Schaeffer, is one of the better bands in the harsh electro genre. The music is still intended to set the (alternative) dance floor on fire, but the sound of Chainreactor has become clearly more mature, and has a personal style.

On Dirt, there are thirteen tracks. Everything begins with Seize The Day, in which a voice whispers that you better enjoy life, because it could be the last day. And yes, before we realize it, the apocalyptic atmosphere degenerates in a hellish dance party that lasts twelve tracks. The beats pass at a lunatic speed, the sounds are heavy and every song seems like a (heavenly) assault on your eardrums without loosing the melody. There are some real club hits on this album (The Danger, Sicko Cell or Torpedo), but the best (and most unusual) track is D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., which is obviously a tribute to Kraftwerk, and also (what did you expect?) sounds like Kraftwerk.

Even if Dirt is made for the better dance clubs, it also is a must for lonely souls who want to transform their living room in a dance hall. Pump up the volume and raise the middle finger to your neighbors!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Zo’n vier jaar geleden, toen Peek-A-Boo nog in zijn kinderschoenen stond, recenseerden wij het tweede album van Chainreactor: Insomniac. Anno 2015 is er heel wat veranderd, want dit duo, dat wordt gevormd door Jens Minor en Kay Schaeffer, is door andere topalbums en heel wat mixwerk voor gevestigde acts erin geslaagd om één van de betere bands in het harsh electro genre te worden.

De muziek is nog altijd voor de (alternatieve) dansvloer bestemd, maar het geluid van Chainreactor is duidelijk volwassener geworden, en het heeft vooral een eigen stijl.

Op Dirt staan dertien tracks. Alles wordt ingeleid met Seize The Day, waarin een stem de luisteraar toefluistert dat hij maar beter van het leven geniet, want het zou wel eens de laatste dag kunnen zijn. En jawel, voor we het goed en wel beseffen ontaardt het apocalyptisch sfeertje in een hels dansfeestje dat twaalf nummers lang volgehouden wordtt. De beats zijn nauwelijks te tellen, de geluiden loodzwaar en iedere nummer lijkt wel een (hemelse) aanval op je trommelvliezen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren. Er staan een paar echte clubhits op deze plaat (The Danger, Sicko Cell of Torpedo), maar de leukste (en meest ongewone) track is toch D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., dat uiteraard een ode is aan Kraftwerk, en ook (wat had je anders verwacht?) als Kraftwerk klinkt.

Ook al is Dirt een plaat die vooral uit de hoes zal worden gehaald in de betere discotheken, is dit tevens een aanrader voor eenzame zielen die in hun huiskamer graag een feestje bouwen. Zet de stoelen aan de kant en jaag de buren maar lekker in de gordijnen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination