tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : CHAINREACTOR - Dirt

CHAINREACTOR

Dirt

MusicCD
ElectronicsHarsh Electro

[78/100]   

Dark Dimensions
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

About four years ago, when Peek-A-Boo just was founded, we reviewed the second album by Chainreactor: Insomniac. These days a lot has changed. With some top albums and splendid mixing work for established acts, this duo, that is formed by Jens Minor and Kay Schaeffer, is one of the better bands in the harsh electro genre. The music is still intended to set the (alternative) dance floor on fire, but the sound of Chainreactor has become clearly more mature, and has a personal style.

On Dirt, there are thirteen tracks. Everything begins with Seize The Day, in which a voice whispers that you better enjoy life, because it could be the last day. And yes, before we realize it, the apocalyptic atmosphere degenerates in a hellish dance party that lasts twelve tracks. The beats pass at a lunatic speed, the sounds are heavy and every song seems like a (heavenly) assault on your eardrums without loosing the melody. There are some real club hits on this album (The Danger, Sicko Cell or Torpedo), but the best (and most unusual) track is D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., which is obviously a tribute to Kraftwerk, and also (what did you expect?) sounds like Kraftwerk.

Even if Dirt is made for the better dance clubs, it also is a must for lonely souls who want to transform their living room in a dance hall. Pump up the volume and raise the middle finger to your neighbors!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Zo’n vier jaar geleden, toen Peek-A-Boo nog in zijn kinderschoenen stond, recenseerden wij het tweede album van Chainreactor: Insomniac. Anno 2015 is er heel wat veranderd, want dit duo, dat wordt gevormd door Jens Minor en Kay Schaeffer, is door andere topalbums en heel wat mixwerk voor gevestigde acts erin geslaagd om één van de betere bands in het harsh electro genre te worden.

De muziek is nog altijd voor de (alternatieve) dansvloer bestemd, maar het geluid van Chainreactor is duidelijk volwassener geworden, en het heeft vooral een eigen stijl.

Op Dirt staan dertien tracks. Alles wordt ingeleid met Seize The Day, waarin een stem de luisteraar toefluistert dat hij maar beter van het leven geniet, want het zou wel eens de laatste dag kunnen zijn. En jawel, voor we het goed en wel beseffen ontaardt het apocalyptisch sfeertje in een hels dansfeestje dat twaalf nummers lang volgehouden wordtt. De beats zijn nauwelijks te tellen, de geluiden loodzwaar en iedere nummer lijkt wel een (hemelse) aanval op je trommelvliezen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren. Er staan een paar echte clubhits op deze plaat (The Danger, Sicko Cell of Torpedo), maar de leukste (en meest ongewone) track is toch D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., dat uiteraard een ode is aan Kraftwerk, en ook (wat had je anders verwacht?) als Kraftwerk klinkt.

Ook al is Dirt een plaat die vooral uit de hoes zal worden gehaald in de betere discotheken, is dit tevens een aanrader voor eenzame zielen die in hun huiskamer graag een feestje bouwen. Zet de stoelen aan de kant en jaag de buren maar lekker in de gordijnen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination