tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : CHAINREACTOR - Dirt

CHAINREACTOR

Dirt

MusicCD
ElectronicsHarsh Electro

[78/100]   

Dark Dimensions
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

About four years ago, when Peek-A-Boo just was founded, we reviewed the second album by Chainreactor: Insomniac. These days a lot has changed. With some top albums and splendid mixing work for established acts, this duo, that is formed by Jens Minor and Kay Schaeffer, is one of the better bands in the harsh electro genre. The music is still intended to set the (alternative) dance floor on fire, but the sound of Chainreactor has become clearly more mature, and has a personal style.

On Dirt, there are thirteen tracks. Everything begins with Seize The Day, in which a voice whispers that you better enjoy life, because it could be the last day. And yes, before we realize it, the apocalyptic atmosphere degenerates in a hellish dance party that lasts twelve tracks. The beats pass at a lunatic speed, the sounds are heavy and every song seems like a (heavenly) assault on your eardrums without loosing the melody. There are some real club hits on this album (The Danger, Sicko Cell or Torpedo), but the best (and most unusual) track is D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., which is obviously a tribute to Kraftwerk, and also (what did you expect?) sounds like Kraftwerk.

Even if Dirt is made for the better dance clubs, it also is a must for lonely souls who want to transform their living room in a dance hall. Pump up the volume and raise the middle finger to your neighbors!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Zo’n vier jaar geleden, toen Peek-A-Boo nog in zijn kinderschoenen stond, recenseerden wij het tweede album van Chainreactor: Insomniac. Anno 2015 is er heel wat veranderd, want dit duo, dat wordt gevormd door Jens Minor en Kay Schaeffer, is door andere topalbums en heel wat mixwerk voor gevestigde acts erin geslaagd om één van de betere bands in het harsh electro genre te worden.

De muziek is nog altijd voor de (alternatieve) dansvloer bestemd, maar het geluid van Chainreactor is duidelijk volwassener geworden, en het heeft vooral een eigen stijl.

Op Dirt staan dertien tracks. Alles wordt ingeleid met Seize The Day, waarin een stem de luisteraar toefluistert dat hij maar beter van het leven geniet, want het zou wel eens de laatste dag kunnen zijn. En jawel, voor we het goed en wel beseffen ontaardt het apocalyptisch sfeertje in een hels dansfeestje dat twaalf nummers lang volgehouden wordtt. De beats zijn nauwelijks te tellen, de geluiden loodzwaar en iedere nummer lijkt wel een (hemelse) aanval op je trommelvliezen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren. Er staan een paar echte clubhits op deze plaat (The Danger, Sicko Cell of Torpedo), maar de leukste (en meest ongewone) track is toch D.UE.S.S.E.L.D.O.R.F., dat uiteraard een ode is aan Kraftwerk, en ook (wat had je anders verwacht?) als Kraftwerk klinkt.

Ook al is Dirt een plaat die vooral uit de hoes zal worden gehaald in de betere discotheken, is dit tevens een aanrader voor eenzame zielen die in hun huiskamer graag een feestje bouwen. Zet de stoelen aan de kant en jaag de buren maar lekker in de gordijnen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless