tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

02/12/2015 : M.O.D. - Broken Machinery

M.O.D.

Broken Machinery

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro RockElectronicsHarsh Electro

[82/100]   

Self-released
02/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Maryhill and Angie Vhelena already are active in the Italian scene for a while. After a demo and a few digital releases through Gothic World, the duo proudly presents itsr new EP Broken Machinery, that is available on both digital and CD form. They intent to mix EBM with experimental electronica, but without losing the sense of melody, and complemented with a high dose of aggressiveness. After listening to this EP, you can only conclude that Mary Hell and Angie Vhelena brilliantly reached their goal.

If we do have to be critical, then it might have been better if the two Italians chose Without Regrets as the main track. Not because the cyber electro punk of Broken Machinery sounds bad (of course not!), but simply because Without Regrets is one of the best harsh electro songs we have heard in a long time. Any DJ who reads this definitely should try the track, because it’ll put every dance floor on fire. Ready Go And Try with the distorted vocals, made us think of Alien Vampires, while Chabby Scary Mind sounds scary funny.

In addition to these four tracks, you also get four remixes of Broken Machinery which are so varied that you hardly notice it is everytime the same track. Of course you have to like harsh electro, but if this genre is your favorite, then you better go in the direction of Italy!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


NL

Maryhell en Angie Vhelena zijn al een tijdje bezig in de Italiaanse scène. Na een demo en een paar digitale releases via Gothic World, presenteert het duo met trots z'n nieuwe ep Broken Machinery, die zowel digitaal als op cd beschikbaar is. Het is de bedoeling om EBM met experimentele electronica te mengen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren, maar wel aangevuld met een hoge dosis agressiviteit. Na het beluisteren van deze ep kan je niet anders dan besluiten dat Maryhell en Angie Vhelena met glans in hun opzet zijn geslaagd.

Als we toch kritisch mogen zijn, dan was het misschien beter geweest indien de twee Italianen Without Regrets als hoofdtrack hadden gekozen. Niet omdat de cyberelectropunk van Broken Machinery slecht zou zijn (natuurlijk niet!), maar gewoon omdat Without Regrets één van de beste nummers is uit de harshelektroscène die wij sinds lang hebben gehoord. Iedere dj die dit leest moet beslist de track uitproberen, want daarmee zet hij zonder twijfel iedere dansvloer in vuur en vlam. Ready Go And Try met zijn vervormde stemmen, deed ons wat denken aan Alien Vampires, terwijl Chabby Scary Mind angstaanjagend grappig klinkt.

Naast deze vier nummers krijg je ook nog vier remixes van Broken Machinery die allen zo gevarieerd zijn dat je nauwelijks merkt dat het telkens om hetzelfde nummer gaat. Natuurlijk moet je van harsh-elektro houden, maar als dit genre je ding is, dan ga je toch maar best in de richting van Italië!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TWICE A MAN • Presence
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
BRUISING • Emo Friends/Honey (Single)
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS • In Motion
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
SYNDRO-SYS • Corporation
DEF LEPPARD • Def Leppard
ELECTRO JAR • Sonic Inception (EP)
DAF, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, ONMENS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (28/11/2015)

 

Other reviews from M.O.D.
M.O.D. • R3M1X AИD R3​-​C0V3R

 

Same genre: EBM
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
HOCICO • Ofensor

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo