tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

02/12/2015 : M.O.D. - Broken Machinery

M.O.D.

Broken Machinery

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro RockElectronicsHarsh Electro

[82/100]   

Self-released
02/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Maryhill and Angie Vhelena already are active in the Italian scene for a while. After a demo and a few digital releases through Gothic World, the duo proudly presents itsr new EP Broken Machinery, that is available on both digital and CD form. They intent to mix EBM with experimental electronica, but without losing the sense of melody, and complemented with a high dose of aggressiveness. After listening to this EP, you can only conclude that Mary Hell and Angie Vhelena brilliantly reached their goal.

If we do have to be critical, then it might have been better if the two Italians chose Without Regrets as the main track. Not because the cyber electro punk of Broken Machinery sounds bad (of course not!), but simply because Without Regrets is one of the best harsh electro songs we have heard in a long time. Any DJ who reads this definitely should try the track, because it’ll put every dance floor on fire. Ready Go And Try with the distorted vocals, made us think of Alien Vampires, while Chabby Scary Mind sounds scary funny.

In addition to these four tracks, you also get four remixes of Broken Machinery which are so varied that you hardly notice it is everytime the same track. Of course you have to like harsh electro, but if this genre is your favorite, then you better go in the direction of Italy!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


NL

Maryhell en Angie Vhelena zijn al een tijdje bezig in de Italiaanse scène. Na een demo en een paar digitale releases via Gothic World, presenteert het duo met trots z'n nieuwe ep Broken Machinery, die zowel digitaal als op cd beschikbaar is. Het is de bedoeling om EBM met experimentele electronica te mengen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren, maar wel aangevuld met een hoge dosis agressiviteit. Na het beluisteren van deze ep kan je niet anders dan besluiten dat Maryhell en Angie Vhelena met glans in hun opzet zijn geslaagd.

Als we toch kritisch mogen zijn, dan was het misschien beter geweest indien de twee Italianen Without Regrets als hoofdtrack hadden gekozen. Niet omdat de cyberelectropunk van Broken Machinery slecht zou zijn (natuurlijk niet!), maar gewoon omdat Without Regrets één van de beste nummers is uit de harshelektroscène die wij sinds lang hebben gehoord. Iedere dj die dit leest moet beslist de track uitproberen, want daarmee zet hij zonder twijfel iedere dansvloer in vuur en vlam. Ready Go And Try met zijn vervormde stemmen, deed ons wat denken aan Alien Vampires, terwijl Chabby Scary Mind angstaanjagend grappig klinkt.

Naast deze vier nummers krijg je ook nog vier remixes van Broken Machinery die allen zo gevarieerd zijn dat je nauwelijks merkt dat het telkens om hetzelfde nummer gaat. Natuurlijk moet je van harsh-elektro houden, maar als dit genre je ding is, dan ga je toch maar best in de richting van Italië!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TWICE A MAN • Presence
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
BRUISING • Emo Friends/Honey (Single)
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS • In Motion
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
SYNDRO-SYS • Corporation
DEF LEPPARD • Def Leppard
ELECTRO JAR • Sonic Inception (EP)
DAF, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, ONMENS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (28/11/2015)

 

Other reviews from M.O.D.
M.O.D. • R3M1X AИD R3​-​C0V3R

 

Same genre: EBM
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
ELM • Penetrator
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
HOCICO • HyperViolent
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face