tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

02/12/2015 : M.O.D. - Broken Machinery

M.O.D.

Broken Machinery

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro RockElectronicsHarsh Electro

[82/100]   

Self-released
02/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Maryhill and Angie Vhelena already are active in the Italian scene for a while. After a demo and a few digital releases through Gothic World, the duo proudly presents itsr new EP Broken Machinery, that is available on both digital and CD form. They intent to mix EBM with experimental electronica, but without losing the sense of melody, and complemented with a high dose of aggressiveness. After listening to this EP, you can only conclude that Mary Hell and Angie Vhelena brilliantly reached their goal.

If we do have to be critical, then it might have been better if the two Italians chose Without Regrets as the main track. Not because the cyber electro punk of Broken Machinery sounds bad (of course not!), but simply because Without Regrets is one of the best harsh electro songs we have heard in a long time. Any DJ who reads this definitely should try the track, because it’ll put every dance floor on fire. Ready Go And Try with the distorted vocals, made us think of Alien Vampires, while Chabby Scary Mind sounds scary funny.

In addition to these four tracks, you also get four remixes of Broken Machinery which are so varied that you hardly notice it is everytime the same track. Of course you have to like harsh electro, but if this genre is your favorite, then you better go in the direction of Italy!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


NL

Maryhell en Angie Vhelena zijn al een tijdje bezig in de Italiaanse scène. Na een demo en een paar digitale releases via Gothic World, presenteert het duo met trots z'n nieuwe ep Broken Machinery, die zowel digitaal als op cd beschikbaar is. Het is de bedoeling om EBM met experimentele electronica te mengen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren, maar wel aangevuld met een hoge dosis agressiviteit. Na het beluisteren van deze ep kan je niet anders dan besluiten dat Maryhell en Angie Vhelena met glans in hun opzet zijn geslaagd.

Als we toch kritisch mogen zijn, dan was het misschien beter geweest indien de twee Italianen Without Regrets als hoofdtrack hadden gekozen. Niet omdat de cyberelectropunk van Broken Machinery slecht zou zijn (natuurlijk niet!), maar gewoon omdat Without Regrets één van de beste nummers is uit de harshelektroscène die wij sinds lang hebben gehoord. Iedere dj die dit leest moet beslist de track uitproberen, want daarmee zet hij zonder twijfel iedere dansvloer in vuur en vlam. Ready Go And Try met zijn vervormde stemmen, deed ons wat denken aan Alien Vampires, terwijl Chabby Scary Mind angstaanjagend grappig klinkt.

Naast deze vier nummers krijg je ook nog vier remixes van Broken Machinery die allen zo gevarieerd zijn dat je nauwelijks merkt dat het telkens om hetzelfde nummer gaat. Natuurlijk moet je van harsh-elektro houden, maar als dit genre je ding is, dan ga je toch maar best in de richting van Italië!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TWICE A MAN • Presence
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
BRUISING • Emo Friends/Honey (Single)
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS • In Motion
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
SYNDRO-SYS • Corporation
DEF LEPPARD • Def Leppard
ELECTRO JAR • Sonic Inception (EP)
DAF, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, ONMENS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (28/11/2015)

 

Other reviews from M.O.D.
M.O.D. • R3M1X AИD R3​-​C0V3R

 

Same genre: EBM
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
ELM • Kampftrinker
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
HOCICO • Ofensor
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)