tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

02/12/2015 : M.O.D. - Broken Machinery

M.O.D.

Broken Machinery

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro RockElectronicsHarsh Electro

[82/100]   

Self-released
02/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Maryhill and Angie Vhelena already are active in the Italian scene for a while. After a demo and a few digital releases through Gothic World, the duo proudly presents itsr new EP Broken Machinery, that is available on both digital and CD form. They intent to mix EBM with experimental electronica, but without losing the sense of melody, and complemented with a high dose of aggressiveness. After listening to this EP, you can only conclude that Mary Hell and Angie Vhelena brilliantly reached their goal.

If we do have to be critical, then it might have been better if the two Italians chose Without Regrets as the main track. Not because the cyber electro punk of Broken Machinery sounds bad (of course not!), but simply because Without Regrets is one of the best harsh electro songs we have heard in a long time. Any DJ who reads this definitely should try the track, because it’ll put every dance floor on fire. Ready Go And Try with the distorted vocals, made us think of Alien Vampires, while Chabby Scary Mind sounds scary funny.

In addition to these four tracks, you also get four remixes of Broken Machinery which are so varied that you hardly notice it is everytime the same track. Of course you have to like harsh electro, but if this genre is your favorite, then you better go in the direction of Italy!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


NL

Maryhell en Angie Vhelena zijn al een tijdje bezig in de Italiaanse scène. Na een demo en een paar digitale releases via Gothic World, presenteert het duo met trots z'n nieuwe ep Broken Machinery, die zowel digitaal als op cd beschikbaar is. Het is de bedoeling om EBM met experimentele electronica te mengen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren, maar wel aangevuld met een hoge dosis agressiviteit. Na het beluisteren van deze ep kan je niet anders dan besluiten dat Maryhell en Angie Vhelena met glans in hun opzet zijn geslaagd.

Als we toch kritisch mogen zijn, dan was het misschien beter geweest indien de twee Italianen Without Regrets als hoofdtrack hadden gekozen. Niet omdat de cyberelectropunk van Broken Machinery slecht zou zijn (natuurlijk niet!), maar gewoon omdat Without Regrets één van de beste nummers is uit de harshelektroscène die wij sinds lang hebben gehoord. Iedere dj die dit leest moet beslist de track uitproberen, want daarmee zet hij zonder twijfel iedere dansvloer in vuur en vlam. Ready Go And Try met zijn vervormde stemmen, deed ons wat denken aan Alien Vampires, terwijl Chabby Scary Mind angstaanjagend grappig klinkt.

Naast deze vier nummers krijg je ook nog vier remixes van Broken Machinery die allen zo gevarieerd zijn dat je nauwelijks merkt dat het telkens om hetzelfde nummer gaat. Natuurlijk moet je van harsh-elektro houden, maar als dit genre je ding is, dan ga je toch maar best in de richting van Italië!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TWICE A MAN • Presence
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
BRUISING • Emo Friends/Honey (Single)
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS • In Motion
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
SYNDRO-SYS • Corporation
DEF LEPPARD • Def Leppard
ELECTRO JAR • Sonic Inception (EP)
DAF, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, ONMENS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (28/11/2015)

 

Other reviews from M.O.D.
M.O.D. • R3M1X AИD R3​-​C0V3R

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag