tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

02/12/2015 : M.O.D. - Broken Machinery

M.O.D.

Broken Machinery

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro RockElectronicsHarsh Electro

[82/100]   

Self-released
02/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Maryhill and Angie Vhelena already are active in the Italian scene for a while. After a demo and a few digital releases through Gothic World, the duo proudly presents itsr new EP Broken Machinery, that is available on both digital and CD form. They intent to mix EBM with experimental electronica, but without losing the sense of melody, and complemented with a high dose of aggressiveness. After listening to this EP, you can only conclude that Mary Hell and Angie Vhelena brilliantly reached their goal.

If we do have to be critical, then it might have been better if the two Italians chose Without Regrets as the main track. Not because the cyber electro punk of Broken Machinery sounds bad (of course not!), but simply because Without Regrets is one of the best harsh electro songs we have heard in a long time. Any DJ who reads this definitely should try the track, because it’ll put every dance floor on fire. Ready Go And Try with the distorted vocals, made us think of Alien Vampires, while Chabby Scary Mind sounds scary funny.

In addition to these four tracks, you also get four remixes of Broken Machinery which are so varied that you hardly notice it is everytime the same track. Of course you have to like harsh electro, but if this genre is your favorite, then you better go in the direction of Italy!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


NL

Maryhell en Angie Vhelena zijn al een tijdje bezig in de Italiaanse scène. Na een demo en een paar digitale releases via Gothic World, presenteert het duo met trots z'n nieuwe ep Broken Machinery, die zowel digitaal als op cd beschikbaar is. Het is de bedoeling om EBM met experimentele electronica te mengen zonder dat de melodie uit het oog wordt verloren, maar wel aangevuld met een hoge dosis agressiviteit. Na het beluisteren van deze ep kan je niet anders dan besluiten dat Maryhell en Angie Vhelena met glans in hun opzet zijn geslaagd.

Als we toch kritisch mogen zijn, dan was het misschien beter geweest indien de twee Italianen Without Regrets als hoofdtrack hadden gekozen. Niet omdat de cyberelectropunk van Broken Machinery slecht zou zijn (natuurlijk niet!), maar gewoon omdat Without Regrets één van de beste nummers is uit de harshelektroscène die wij sinds lang hebben gehoord. Iedere dj die dit leest moet beslist de track uitproberen, want daarmee zet hij zonder twijfel iedere dansvloer in vuur en vlam. Ready Go And Try met zijn vervormde stemmen, deed ons wat denken aan Alien Vampires, terwijl Chabby Scary Mind angstaanjagend grappig klinkt.

Naast deze vier nummers krijg je ook nog vier remixes van Broken Machinery die allen zo gevarieerd zijn dat je nauwelijks merkt dat het telkens om hetzelfde nummer gaat. Natuurlijk moet je van harsh-elektro houden, maar als dit genre je ding is, dan ga je toch maar best in de richting van Italië!

Didier BECU
02/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TWICE A MAN • Presence
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
BRUISING • Emo Friends/Honey (Single)
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS • In Motion
GUY GARVEY • Courting The Squall
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
SYNDRO-SYS • Corporation
DEF LEPPARD • Def Leppard
ELECTRO JAR • Sonic Inception (EP)
DAF, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, ONMENS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (28/11/2015)

 

Other reviews from M.O.D.
M.O.D. • R3M1X AИD R3​-​C0V3R

 

Same genre: EBM
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go