tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/12/2015 : SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS - In Motion

SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS

In Motion

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Out Of Line
02/12/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

The Berlin band Solitary Experiments celebrates its 20th anniversary with the live album In Motion. The recordings were made last year and it is an exquisite selection of their greatest hits and fan favorites. The term 'hit' perhaps is not exactly the right word, because these guys are only popular in their home country Germany.

I have seen this band a lot of times, but they never gave me a sense of satisfaction because the symmetry between the rather catchy and danceable rhythms and the voice of Dennis Schober is an obstacle to have a perfect sound.

One thing we should definitely admit is that this band continues to have its own style and stays loyal to it. They search the electronic boundaries and do that in a fantastic way and after all these years their synthpop remains perfect fodder for the alternative dance floor.

In Motion is a perfect overview of what this German futurepop band has to offer, and songs like Pale Candle Light, Game Over or Rise And Fall are very catchy and danceable tunes that certainly deserve a place in the electropop scene.

This live album is very representative of what you can expect from this band, the Kraftwerk man-machine outfits you get for free, and after 20 years they still have a lot to offer to loyal fans. For them, this is probably a must in their CD collection, but for me, this remains just a release of a nice synthpop band.

In the Dutch review you find the track list.

Peter HESELMANS
02/12/2015


NL

De Berlijnse band Solitary Experiments brengt naar aanleiding van z'n 20e verjaardag de live-cd In Motion uit. De opnames dateren al van vorig jaar en het is een uitgelezen selectie van de grootste hits en de favorieten van fans. De term ‘hits’ is misschien niet echt op zijn plaats, aangezien deze gasten eigenlijk alleen maar populair in thuisland Duitsland zijn.

Zelf heb ik deze band al meermaals live kunnen ‘bewonderen’, maar ze gaven me nooit een voldaan gevoel, want volgens mij is vooral de symmetrie tussen de toch wel catchy en dansbare ritmes en de stem van Dennis Schober een hinderpaal om tot een perfect geluid te komen.

Een ding moeten we deze band zeker nageven, heel z'n bestaan blijft hij z'n eigen stijl trouw. Het aftasten van de elektronische grenzen doen de bandleden meer dan fantastisch en hun synthpopklanken blijven na al die jaren nog steeds buitengewoon voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer.

In Motion geeft dus een perfect overzicht van wat deze Duitse futurepopband te bieden heeft, en toegegeven, nummers als Pale Candle Light, Game Over of Rise And Fall zijn zeer aanstekelijke en dansbare composities, die zeker hun plaats in de electropopscène verdienen.

Dit livealbum is dan ook zeer representatief voor van wat je kan verwachten van deze band, de Kraftwerk man machine-outfits krijg je er gratis bij, en na 20 jaar hebben ze toch heel wat trouwe fans. Voor hen is dit wellicht een mijlpaal in hun cd-collectie, maar voor mij blijft dit gewoon een release van een aangename synthpopband. 

Track Listing:
1. Immortal
2. Point Of View
3. Déjà Vu
4. Homesick
5. Pale Candle Light
6. Delight
7. Odyssey Of Mind
8. Game Over
9. No Salvation
10. Trial And Error
11. Epiphany
12. Rise And Fall
13. Stars

Peter HESELMANS
02/12/2015


Music reviews

13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope