tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/12/2015 : SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS - In Motion

SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS

In Motion

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Out Of Line
02/12/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

The Berlin band Solitary Experiments celebrates its 20th anniversary with the live album In Motion. The recordings were made last year and it is an exquisite selection of their greatest hits and fan favorites. The term 'hit' perhaps is not exactly the right word, because these guys are only popular in their home country Germany.

I have seen this band a lot of times, but they never gave me a sense of satisfaction because the symmetry between the rather catchy and danceable rhythms and the voice of Dennis Schober is an obstacle to have a perfect sound.

One thing we should definitely admit is that this band continues to have its own style and stays loyal to it. They search the electronic boundaries and do that in a fantastic way and after all these years their synthpop remains perfect fodder for the alternative dance floor.

In Motion is a perfect overview of what this German futurepop band has to offer, and songs like Pale Candle Light, Game Over or Rise And Fall are very catchy and danceable tunes that certainly deserve a place in the electropop scene.

This live album is very representative of what you can expect from this band, the Kraftwerk man-machine outfits you get for free, and after 20 years they still have a lot to offer to loyal fans. For them, this is probably a must in their CD collection, but for me, this remains just a release of a nice synthpop band.

In the Dutch review you find the track list.

Peter HESELMANS
02/12/2015


NL

De Berlijnse band Solitary Experiments brengt naar aanleiding van z'n 20e verjaardag de live-cd In Motion uit. De opnames dateren al van vorig jaar en het is een uitgelezen selectie van de grootste hits en de favorieten van fans. De term ‘hits’ is misschien niet echt op zijn plaats, aangezien deze gasten eigenlijk alleen maar populair in thuisland Duitsland zijn.

Zelf heb ik deze band al meermaals live kunnen ‘bewonderen’, maar ze gaven me nooit een voldaan gevoel, want volgens mij is vooral de symmetrie tussen de toch wel catchy en dansbare ritmes en de stem van Dennis Schober een hinderpaal om tot een perfect geluid te komen.

Een ding moeten we deze band zeker nageven, heel z'n bestaan blijft hij z'n eigen stijl trouw. Het aftasten van de elektronische grenzen doen de bandleden meer dan fantastisch en hun synthpopklanken blijven na al die jaren nog steeds buitengewoon voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer.

In Motion geeft dus een perfect overzicht van wat deze Duitse futurepopband te bieden heeft, en toegegeven, nummers als Pale Candle Light, Game Over of Rise And Fall zijn zeer aanstekelijke en dansbare composities, die zeker hun plaats in de electropopscène verdienen.

Dit livealbum is dan ook zeer representatief voor van wat je kan verwachten van deze band, de Kraftwerk man machine-outfits krijg je er gratis bij, en na 20 jaar hebben ze toch heel wat trouwe fans. Voor hen is dit wellicht een mijlpaal in hun cd-collectie, maar voor mij blijft dit gewoon een release van een aangename synthpopband. 

Track Listing:
1. Immortal
2. Point Of View
3. Déjà Vu
4. Homesick
5. Pale Candle Light
6. Delight
7. Odyssey Of Mind
8. Game Over
9. No Salvation
10. Trial And Error
11. Epiphany
12. Rise And Fall
13. Stars

Peter HESELMANS
02/12/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)