tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : BRUISING - Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

BRUISING

Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

MusicVinyl
DreampopRock

[80/100]   

Beach Coma
02/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Beach Coma releases the first single of Bruising, a duo that was formed about a year ago by Naomi Bagluley and Ben Lewis. This is their first production, an AA single with two compositions.

Dream pop is perhaps the best description for what Bruising has to offer. Naomi Buaguley has a velvety voice and Ben Lewis creates a firm Pixies-esque guitar sound allowing Emo Friends to become a lot more dangerous than you might suspect. Initially, Naomi’s beautiful voice dominates the soundscape in a nice and bouncy melody, but then heavy guitars resound to provide a firm basis for the dreamy and sweet vocals. The warm guitar sound is slightly distorted, later it sounds sharper, more layered and quite a lot darker. A heavenly track.

Honey is the rerecording of a demo track and the first song written by Naomi and Ben: a bedroom demo that has been upgraded to a pop-punk ballad. Again pure dream pop with an edge, because Lewis' guitar sounds naive, low-key but not harmless, then pushy, loud and squeaky. Naomi Baguley’s vocals provide the song with an almost fairytale atmosphere.

The track are quiet similar to each other, but the strong melodies are attractive, with different and beautiful guitar playing, combined with a wonderful, warm and captivating voice.

Tracklisting:
1 Emo Friends
2 Honey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXwjXTR6fKc
http://beechcoma.com

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


NL

Beech Coma gooit de eerste single van Bruising op de markt, een duo dat nauwelijks een jaar geleden het daglicht zag, maar voor Naomi Bagluley en Ben Lewsis is dat geen bezwaar om er met volle kracht tegenaan te gaan en dat maken ze duidelijk op deze AA-single die twee composities bevat.

Dreampop is wellicht de beste omschrijving voor wat Bruising te bieden heeft. Naomi Buaguley heeft een fluwelen stem, maar Ben Lewis zorgt voor en stevig Pixies-achtig gitaargeluid waardoor Emo Friends een stuk gevaarlijker is dan je zou vermoeden. Aanvankelijk houdt Lewis het vrij rustig en geeft hij de prachtige stem van Naomi de vrije baan op een prettig huppelende melodie, maar dat duurt maar even, want vervolgens rolt stevig gitaargeluid uit de boxen dat de dromerige en lieflijke vocalen van een stevige onderlaag voorziet. Aanvankelijk is het warme gitaargeluid lichtjes distorted, vervolgens klinkt het scherper, gelaagder en een flink stuk donkerder. Een hemelse track.

Honey is de rerecording van een demotrack van Bruising en tegelijk is het de eerste song die Naoli en Ben samen schreven: een slaapkamerdemo die is opgewaardeerd tot een pop-punkballade. Opnieuw pure dreampop met een scherp kantje, want Lewis’ gitaar klinkt naïef, ingehouden en ongevaarlijk en vervolgens drammerig, luid en piepend. De vocalen van Naomi Baguley wikkelen de song opnieuw in een bijna sprookjesachtige sfeer.

De tracks wijken qua geluid misschien niet erg veel van elkaar af, maar de stevige melodieën zijn aanstekelijk en zeer verschillend en het mooie gitaarspel, gecombineerd met een prachtige en warme vrouwenstem, bekoort ons heel erg.

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money