tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : BRUISING - Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

BRUISING

Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

MusicVinyl
DreampopRock

[80/100]   

Beach Coma
02/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Beach Coma releases the first single of Bruising, a duo that was formed about a year ago by Naomi Bagluley and Ben Lewis. This is their first production, an AA single with two compositions.

Dream pop is perhaps the best description for what Bruising has to offer. Naomi Buaguley has a velvety voice and Ben Lewis creates a firm Pixies-esque guitar sound allowing Emo Friends to become a lot more dangerous than you might suspect. Initially, Naomi’s beautiful voice dominates the soundscape in a nice and bouncy melody, but then heavy guitars resound to provide a firm basis for the dreamy and sweet vocals. The warm guitar sound is slightly distorted, later it sounds sharper, more layered and quite a lot darker. A heavenly track.

Honey is the rerecording of a demo track and the first song written by Naomi and Ben: a bedroom demo that has been upgraded to a pop-punk ballad. Again pure dream pop with an edge, because Lewis' guitar sounds naive, low-key but not harmless, then pushy, loud and squeaky. Naomi Baguley’s vocals provide the song with an almost fairytale atmosphere.

The track are quiet similar to each other, but the strong melodies are attractive, with different and beautiful guitar playing, combined with a wonderful, warm and captivating voice.

Tracklisting:
1 Emo Friends
2 Honey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXwjXTR6fKc
http://beechcoma.com

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


NL

Beech Coma gooit de eerste single van Bruising op de markt, een duo dat nauwelijks een jaar geleden het daglicht zag, maar voor Naomi Bagluley en Ben Lewsis is dat geen bezwaar om er met volle kracht tegenaan te gaan en dat maken ze duidelijk op deze AA-single die twee composities bevat.

Dreampop is wellicht de beste omschrijving voor wat Bruising te bieden heeft. Naomi Buaguley heeft een fluwelen stem, maar Ben Lewis zorgt voor en stevig Pixies-achtig gitaargeluid waardoor Emo Friends een stuk gevaarlijker is dan je zou vermoeden. Aanvankelijk houdt Lewis het vrij rustig en geeft hij de prachtige stem van Naomi de vrije baan op een prettig huppelende melodie, maar dat duurt maar even, want vervolgens rolt stevig gitaargeluid uit de boxen dat de dromerige en lieflijke vocalen van een stevige onderlaag voorziet. Aanvankelijk is het warme gitaargeluid lichtjes distorted, vervolgens klinkt het scherper, gelaagder en een flink stuk donkerder. Een hemelse track.

Honey is de rerecording van een demotrack van Bruising en tegelijk is het de eerste song die Naoli en Ben samen schreven: een slaapkamerdemo die is opgewaardeerd tot een pop-punkballade. Opnieuw pure dreampop met een scherp kantje, want Lewis’ gitaar klinkt naïef, ingehouden en ongevaarlijk en vervolgens drammerig, luid en piepend. De vocalen van Naomi Baguley wikkelen de song opnieuw in een bijna sprookjesachtige sfeer.

De tracks wijken qua geluid misschien niet erg veel van elkaar af, maar de stevige melodieën zijn aanstekelijk en zeer verschillend en het mooie gitaarspel, gecombineerd met een prachtige en warme vrouwenstem, bekoort ons heel erg.

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa