tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : BRUISING - Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

BRUISING

Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

MusicVinyl
DreampopRock

[80/100]   

Beach Coma
02/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Beach Coma releases the first single of Bruising, a duo that was formed about a year ago by Naomi Bagluley and Ben Lewis. This is their first production, an AA single with two compositions.

Dream pop is perhaps the best description for what Bruising has to offer. Naomi Buaguley has a velvety voice and Ben Lewis creates a firm Pixies-esque guitar sound allowing Emo Friends to become a lot more dangerous than you might suspect. Initially, Naomi’s beautiful voice dominates the soundscape in a nice and bouncy melody, but then heavy guitars resound to provide a firm basis for the dreamy and sweet vocals. The warm guitar sound is slightly distorted, later it sounds sharper, more layered and quite a lot darker. A heavenly track.

Honey is the rerecording of a demo track and the first song written by Naomi and Ben: a bedroom demo that has been upgraded to a pop-punk ballad. Again pure dream pop with an edge, because Lewis' guitar sounds naive, low-key but not harmless, then pushy, loud and squeaky. Naomi Baguley’s vocals provide the song with an almost fairytale atmosphere.

The track are quiet similar to each other, but the strong melodies are attractive, with different and beautiful guitar playing, combined with a wonderful, warm and captivating voice.

Tracklisting:
1 Emo Friends
2 Honey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXwjXTR6fKc
http://beechcoma.com

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


NL

Beech Coma gooit de eerste single van Bruising op de markt, een duo dat nauwelijks een jaar geleden het daglicht zag, maar voor Naomi Bagluley en Ben Lewsis is dat geen bezwaar om er met volle kracht tegenaan te gaan en dat maken ze duidelijk op deze AA-single die twee composities bevat.

Dreampop is wellicht de beste omschrijving voor wat Bruising te bieden heeft. Naomi Buaguley heeft een fluwelen stem, maar Ben Lewis zorgt voor en stevig Pixies-achtig gitaargeluid waardoor Emo Friends een stuk gevaarlijker is dan je zou vermoeden. Aanvankelijk houdt Lewis het vrij rustig en geeft hij de prachtige stem van Naomi de vrije baan op een prettig huppelende melodie, maar dat duurt maar even, want vervolgens rolt stevig gitaargeluid uit de boxen dat de dromerige en lieflijke vocalen van een stevige onderlaag voorziet. Aanvankelijk is het warme gitaargeluid lichtjes distorted, vervolgens klinkt het scherper, gelaagder en een flink stuk donkerder. Een hemelse track.

Honey is de rerecording van een demotrack van Bruising en tegelijk is het de eerste song die Naoli en Ben samen schreven: een slaapkamerdemo die is opgewaardeerd tot een pop-punkballade. Opnieuw pure dreampop met een scherp kantje, want Lewis’ gitaar klinkt naïef, ingehouden en ongevaarlijk en vervolgens drammerig, luid en piepend. De vocalen van Naomi Baguley wikkelen de song opnieuw in een bijna sprookjesachtige sfeer.

De tracks wijken qua geluid misschien niet erg veel van elkaar af, maar de stevige melodieën zijn aanstekelijk en zeer verschillend en het mooie gitaarspel, gecombineerd met een prachtige en warme vrouwenstem, bekoort ons heel erg.

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real