tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : BRUISING - Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

BRUISING

Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

MusicVinyl
DreampopRock

[80/100]   

Beach Coma
02/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Beach Coma releases the first single of Bruising, a duo that was formed about a year ago by Naomi Bagluley and Ben Lewis. This is their first production, an AA single with two compositions.

Dream pop is perhaps the best description for what Bruising has to offer. Naomi Buaguley has a velvety voice and Ben Lewis creates a firm Pixies-esque guitar sound allowing Emo Friends to become a lot more dangerous than you might suspect. Initially, Naomi’s beautiful voice dominates the soundscape in a nice and bouncy melody, but then heavy guitars resound to provide a firm basis for the dreamy and sweet vocals. The warm guitar sound is slightly distorted, later it sounds sharper, more layered and quite a lot darker. A heavenly track.

Honey is the rerecording of a demo track and the first song written by Naomi and Ben: a bedroom demo that has been upgraded to a pop-punk ballad. Again pure dream pop with an edge, because Lewis' guitar sounds naive, low-key but not harmless, then pushy, loud and squeaky. Naomi Baguley’s vocals provide the song with an almost fairytale atmosphere.

The track are quiet similar to each other, but the strong melodies are attractive, with different and beautiful guitar playing, combined with a wonderful, warm and captivating voice.

Tracklisting:
1 Emo Friends
2 Honey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXwjXTR6fKc
http://beechcoma.com

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


NL

Beech Coma gooit de eerste single van Bruising op de markt, een duo dat nauwelijks een jaar geleden het daglicht zag, maar voor Naomi Bagluley en Ben Lewsis is dat geen bezwaar om er met volle kracht tegenaan te gaan en dat maken ze duidelijk op deze AA-single die twee composities bevat.

Dreampop is wellicht de beste omschrijving voor wat Bruising te bieden heeft. Naomi Buaguley heeft een fluwelen stem, maar Ben Lewis zorgt voor en stevig Pixies-achtig gitaargeluid waardoor Emo Friends een stuk gevaarlijker is dan je zou vermoeden. Aanvankelijk houdt Lewis het vrij rustig en geeft hij de prachtige stem van Naomi de vrije baan op een prettig huppelende melodie, maar dat duurt maar even, want vervolgens rolt stevig gitaargeluid uit de boxen dat de dromerige en lieflijke vocalen van een stevige onderlaag voorziet. Aanvankelijk is het warme gitaargeluid lichtjes distorted, vervolgens klinkt het scherper, gelaagder en een flink stuk donkerder. Een hemelse track.

Honey is de rerecording van een demotrack van Bruising en tegelijk is het de eerste song die Naoli en Ben samen schreven: een slaapkamerdemo die is opgewaardeerd tot een pop-punkballade. Opnieuw pure dreampop met een scherp kantje, want Lewis’ gitaar klinkt naïef, ingehouden en ongevaarlijk en vervolgens drammerig, luid en piepend. De vocalen van Naomi Baguley wikkelen de song opnieuw in een bijna sprookjesachtige sfeer.

De tracks wijken qua geluid misschien niet erg veel van elkaar af, maar de stevige melodieën zijn aanstekelijk en zeer verschillend en het mooie gitaarspel, gecombineerd met een prachtige en warme vrouwenstem, bekoort ons heel erg.

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap