tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/12/2015 : DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard

DEF LEPPARD

Def Leppard

MusicCD
Hard RockPop

[89/100]   

V2
01/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It sounds a bit strange to write it down, but after seven years, Def Leppard is back with a new album. The marketing guys did their best to make you believe that the latest album of this quintet from Sheffield is the most prestigious in their career. And yet, after 14 tracks, you can’t but conclude that the standard-bearers of the new wave of British Metal are still masters in writing down delicious pop-rock songs. The fourteen tracks are just as simple as the title of the CD itself (Def Leppard that is). Rock 'n' roll without frills, straightforward rock pop with the highest sing-along factor.

When opener Let's Go kicks off, you immediately get the feeling the band has never been away. Not one second they try to come up with a hip sound, everything sounds just like in the 80s (e.g. vocoders), and that graces them. Dangerous sounds as simple as the song title, but it is irresistible. Pop rock at its best and only soreheads will say that’s a bad thing! Def Leppard is not even ashamed to include an old-fashioned funk riff in its metal. In Man Enough you hear some Michael Jackson and Queen, but no objection to that either!

Of course, such a record needs a slimy ballad and We Belong is the ideal choice, and suddenly it seems like Sonny Crockett and Ricardo Tubbs are still racing with their Ferrari in the streets of Miami. Invincible sounds a bit like a cover, simply because it feels like you know this irresistible pop song for ages, and the same can be said about Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is a semi-acoustic ballad between Mr. Big and Guns' n Roses. A horrible description, but it sounds pretty good. And if you need to play some air guitar, then Broke 'n' Brokenhearted is the perfect song to do so, and on Forever Young you even forget your age for a moment! The album closes with the Beatles-like Blind Faith, and even though we did not have long to come up with these words: you always can give Def Leppard blind faith. Shamelessly old fashioned, but we rarely heard such a good pop album in 2015 as this one!

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


NL

Het klinkt een beetje vreemd om het neer te schrijven, maar na zeven jaar pauze is Def Leppard terug met een nieuw album. De marketingjongens deden hun best om je te laten geloven dat de nieuwste plaat van dit vijftal uit Sheffield de meest prestigieuze uit hun carrière is. En toch, na 14 nummers kun je niet anders dan besluiten dat de vaandeldragers van de Britse New Wave Of British Metal nog steeds meesters zijn in het neerpennen van heerlijke poprocknummers. De veertien tracks zijn net zo simpel als de titel van de cd zelf (gewoon Def Leppard dus). Rock ’n roll zonder veel franjes, rechttoe-rechtaan rockpop met de allerhoogste meezingbaarheidsfactor.
Bij de opener Let’s Go krijg je onmiddellijk het gevoel alsof de vijf nooit zijn weggeweest. Geen seconde pogen ze om een hip geluid neer te zetten, alles klinkt gewoon zoals dat in de jaren 80 was (het gebruik van bijv. vocoders) en dat siert ze.

Dangerous klinkt even simpel als de songtitel, maar blijft onweerstaanbaar. Poprock van de bovenste plank en alleen azijnpissers kunnen hier iets tegen inbrengen! De mannen schamen zich er zelfs niet voor om in hun metal een ouderwetse funkriff te stoppen zoals bijv. Man Enough. Michael Jackson of Queen zijn nooit veraf, maar ook dat is alweer geen bezwaar!

Natuurlijk heeft een plaat van zo’n kaliber ook al een slijmerige ballade nodig die aan je broek blijft plakken. We Belong is de ideale track, en plots lijkt het wel alsof Sonny Crockett en Ricardo Tubbs nog steeds met hun Ferrari door de straten van Miami razen. Invincible lijkt wat op een cover, gewoonweg omdat je het gevoel hebt dat je dit onweerstaanbaar popnummer kent, en dat geldt even zeer voor Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is een semi-akoestische ballade dat zich ergens tussen Mr. Big en Guns ’n Roses bevindt. Een afschuwelijke beschrijving dus, maar het klinkt best lekker. En mocht je behoefte hebben aan wat luchtgitaar spelen, dan is Broke ‘n’ Brokenhearted daar het perfecte nummer voor, en bij Forever Young vergeet je zelfs eventjes je leeftijd! De plaat sluit af met het Beatlesachtige Blind Faith en ook al hebben we niet lang moeten nadenken over het bedenken van de woorden: blind vertrouwen kun je Def Leppard dus altijd schenken. Schaamteloos ouderwets, maar zelden zo’n goede popplaat gehoord in 2015! 

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque