tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/12/2015 : DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard

DEF LEPPARD

Def Leppard

MusicCD
Hard RockPop

[89/100]   

V2
01/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It sounds a bit strange to write it down, but after seven years, Def Leppard is back with a new album. The marketing guys did their best to make you believe that the latest album of this quintet from Sheffield is the most prestigious in their career. And yet, after 14 tracks, you can’t but conclude that the standard-bearers of the new wave of British Metal are still masters in writing down delicious pop-rock songs. The fourteen tracks are just as simple as the title of the CD itself (Def Leppard that is). Rock 'n' roll without frills, straightforward rock pop with the highest sing-along factor.

When opener Let's Go kicks off, you immediately get the feeling the band has never been away. Not one second they try to come up with a hip sound, everything sounds just like in the 80s (e.g. vocoders), and that graces them. Dangerous sounds as simple as the song title, but it is irresistible. Pop rock at its best and only soreheads will say that’s a bad thing! Def Leppard is not even ashamed to include an old-fashioned funk riff in its metal. In Man Enough you hear some Michael Jackson and Queen, but no objection to that either!

Of course, such a record needs a slimy ballad and We Belong is the ideal choice, and suddenly it seems like Sonny Crockett and Ricardo Tubbs are still racing with their Ferrari in the streets of Miami. Invincible sounds a bit like a cover, simply because it feels like you know this irresistible pop song for ages, and the same can be said about Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is a semi-acoustic ballad between Mr. Big and Guns' n Roses. A horrible description, but it sounds pretty good. And if you need to play some air guitar, then Broke 'n' Brokenhearted is the perfect song to do so, and on Forever Young you even forget your age for a moment! The album closes with the Beatles-like Blind Faith, and even though we did not have long to come up with these words: you always can give Def Leppard blind faith. Shamelessly old fashioned, but we rarely heard such a good pop album in 2015 as this one!

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


NL

Het klinkt een beetje vreemd om het neer te schrijven, maar na zeven jaar pauze is Def Leppard terug met een nieuw album. De marketingjongens deden hun best om je te laten geloven dat de nieuwste plaat van dit vijftal uit Sheffield de meest prestigieuze uit hun carrière is. En toch, na 14 nummers kun je niet anders dan besluiten dat de vaandeldragers van de Britse New Wave Of British Metal nog steeds meesters zijn in het neerpennen van heerlijke poprocknummers. De veertien tracks zijn net zo simpel als de titel van de cd zelf (gewoon Def Leppard dus). Rock ’n roll zonder veel franjes, rechttoe-rechtaan rockpop met de allerhoogste meezingbaarheidsfactor.
Bij de opener Let’s Go krijg je onmiddellijk het gevoel alsof de vijf nooit zijn weggeweest. Geen seconde pogen ze om een hip geluid neer te zetten, alles klinkt gewoon zoals dat in de jaren 80 was (het gebruik van bijv. vocoders) en dat siert ze.

Dangerous klinkt even simpel als de songtitel, maar blijft onweerstaanbaar. Poprock van de bovenste plank en alleen azijnpissers kunnen hier iets tegen inbrengen! De mannen schamen zich er zelfs niet voor om in hun metal een ouderwetse funkriff te stoppen zoals bijv. Man Enough. Michael Jackson of Queen zijn nooit veraf, maar ook dat is alweer geen bezwaar!

Natuurlijk heeft een plaat van zo’n kaliber ook al een slijmerige ballade nodig die aan je broek blijft plakken. We Belong is de ideale track, en plots lijkt het wel alsof Sonny Crockett en Ricardo Tubbs nog steeds met hun Ferrari door de straten van Miami razen. Invincible lijkt wat op een cover, gewoonweg omdat je het gevoel hebt dat je dit onweerstaanbaar popnummer kent, en dat geldt even zeer voor Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is een semi-akoestische ballade dat zich ergens tussen Mr. Big en Guns ’n Roses bevindt. Een afschuwelijke beschrijving dus, maar het klinkt best lekker. En mocht je behoefte hebben aan wat luchtgitaar spelen, dan is Broke ‘n’ Brokenhearted daar het perfecte nummer voor, en bij Forever Young vergeet je zelfs eventjes je leeftijd! De plaat sluit af met het Beatlesachtige Blind Faith en ook al hebben we niet lang moeten nadenken over het bedenken van de woorden: blind vertrouwen kun je Def Leppard dus altijd schenken. Schaamteloos ouderwets, maar zelden zo’n goede popplaat gehoord in 2015! 

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm