tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/12/2015 : DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard

DEF LEPPARD

Def Leppard

MusicCD
Hard RockPop

[89/100]   

V2
01/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It sounds a bit strange to write it down, but after seven years, Def Leppard is back with a new album. The marketing guys did their best to make you believe that the latest album of this quintet from Sheffield is the most prestigious in their career. And yet, after 14 tracks, you can’t but conclude that the standard-bearers of the new wave of British Metal are still masters in writing down delicious pop-rock songs. The fourteen tracks are just as simple as the title of the CD itself (Def Leppard that is). Rock 'n' roll without frills, straightforward rock pop with the highest sing-along factor.

When opener Let's Go kicks off, you immediately get the feeling the band has never been away. Not one second they try to come up with a hip sound, everything sounds just like in the 80s (e.g. vocoders), and that graces them. Dangerous sounds as simple as the song title, but it is irresistible. Pop rock at its best and only soreheads will say that’s a bad thing! Def Leppard is not even ashamed to include an old-fashioned funk riff in its metal. In Man Enough you hear some Michael Jackson and Queen, but no objection to that either!

Of course, such a record needs a slimy ballad and We Belong is the ideal choice, and suddenly it seems like Sonny Crockett and Ricardo Tubbs are still racing with their Ferrari in the streets of Miami. Invincible sounds a bit like a cover, simply because it feels like you know this irresistible pop song for ages, and the same can be said about Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is a semi-acoustic ballad between Mr. Big and Guns' n Roses. A horrible description, but it sounds pretty good. And if you need to play some air guitar, then Broke 'n' Brokenhearted is the perfect song to do so, and on Forever Young you even forget your age for a moment! The album closes with the Beatles-like Blind Faith, and even though we did not have long to come up with these words: you always can give Def Leppard blind faith. Shamelessly old fashioned, but we rarely heard such a good pop album in 2015 as this one!

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


NL

Het klinkt een beetje vreemd om het neer te schrijven, maar na zeven jaar pauze is Def Leppard terug met een nieuw album. De marketingjongens deden hun best om je te laten geloven dat de nieuwste plaat van dit vijftal uit Sheffield de meest prestigieuze uit hun carrière is. En toch, na 14 nummers kun je niet anders dan besluiten dat de vaandeldragers van de Britse New Wave Of British Metal nog steeds meesters zijn in het neerpennen van heerlijke poprocknummers. De veertien tracks zijn net zo simpel als de titel van de cd zelf (gewoon Def Leppard dus). Rock ’n roll zonder veel franjes, rechttoe-rechtaan rockpop met de allerhoogste meezingbaarheidsfactor.
Bij de opener Let’s Go krijg je onmiddellijk het gevoel alsof de vijf nooit zijn weggeweest. Geen seconde pogen ze om een hip geluid neer te zetten, alles klinkt gewoon zoals dat in de jaren 80 was (het gebruik van bijv. vocoders) en dat siert ze.

Dangerous klinkt even simpel als de songtitel, maar blijft onweerstaanbaar. Poprock van de bovenste plank en alleen azijnpissers kunnen hier iets tegen inbrengen! De mannen schamen zich er zelfs niet voor om in hun metal een ouderwetse funkriff te stoppen zoals bijv. Man Enough. Michael Jackson of Queen zijn nooit veraf, maar ook dat is alweer geen bezwaar!

Natuurlijk heeft een plaat van zo’n kaliber ook al een slijmerige ballade nodig die aan je broek blijft plakken. We Belong is de ideale track, en plots lijkt het wel alsof Sonny Crockett en Ricardo Tubbs nog steeds met hun Ferrari door de straten van Miami razen. Invincible lijkt wat op een cover, gewoonweg omdat je het gevoel hebt dat je dit onweerstaanbaar popnummer kent, en dat geldt even zeer voor Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is een semi-akoestische ballade dat zich ergens tussen Mr. Big en Guns ’n Roses bevindt. Een afschuwelijke beschrijving dus, maar het klinkt best lekker. En mocht je behoefte hebben aan wat luchtgitaar spelen, dan is Broke ‘n’ Brokenhearted daar het perfecte nummer voor, en bij Forever Young vergeet je zelfs eventjes je leeftijd! De plaat sluit af met het Beatlesachtige Blind Faith en ook al hebben we niet lang moeten nadenken over het bedenken van de woorden: blind vertrouwen kun je Def Leppard dus altijd schenken. Schaamteloos ouderwets, maar zelden zo’n goede popplaat gehoord in 2015! 

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes