tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/12/2015 : DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard

DEF LEPPARD

Def Leppard

MusicCD
Hard RockPop

[89/100]   

V2
01/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It sounds a bit strange to write it down, but after seven years, Def Leppard is back with a new album. The marketing guys did their best to make you believe that the latest album of this quintet from Sheffield is the most prestigious in their career. And yet, after 14 tracks, you can’t but conclude that the standard-bearers of the new wave of British Metal are still masters in writing down delicious pop-rock songs. The fourteen tracks are just as simple as the title of the CD itself (Def Leppard that is). Rock 'n' roll without frills, straightforward rock pop with the highest sing-along factor.

When opener Let's Go kicks off, you immediately get the feeling the band has never been away. Not one second they try to come up with a hip sound, everything sounds just like in the 80s (e.g. vocoders), and that graces them. Dangerous sounds as simple as the song title, but it is irresistible. Pop rock at its best and only soreheads will say that’s a bad thing! Def Leppard is not even ashamed to include an old-fashioned funk riff in its metal. In Man Enough you hear some Michael Jackson and Queen, but no objection to that either!

Of course, such a record needs a slimy ballad and We Belong is the ideal choice, and suddenly it seems like Sonny Crockett and Ricardo Tubbs are still racing with their Ferrari in the streets of Miami. Invincible sounds a bit like a cover, simply because it feels like you know this irresistible pop song for ages, and the same can be said about Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is a semi-acoustic ballad between Mr. Big and Guns' n Roses. A horrible description, but it sounds pretty good. And if you need to play some air guitar, then Broke 'n' Brokenhearted is the perfect song to do so, and on Forever Young you even forget your age for a moment! The album closes with the Beatles-like Blind Faith, and even though we did not have long to come up with these words: you always can give Def Leppard blind faith. Shamelessly old fashioned, but we rarely heard such a good pop album in 2015 as this one!

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


NL

Het klinkt een beetje vreemd om het neer te schrijven, maar na zeven jaar pauze is Def Leppard terug met een nieuw album. De marketingjongens deden hun best om je te laten geloven dat de nieuwste plaat van dit vijftal uit Sheffield de meest prestigieuze uit hun carrière is. En toch, na 14 nummers kun je niet anders dan besluiten dat de vaandeldragers van de Britse New Wave Of British Metal nog steeds meesters zijn in het neerpennen van heerlijke poprocknummers. De veertien tracks zijn net zo simpel als de titel van de cd zelf (gewoon Def Leppard dus). Rock ’n roll zonder veel franjes, rechttoe-rechtaan rockpop met de allerhoogste meezingbaarheidsfactor.
Bij de opener Let’s Go krijg je onmiddellijk het gevoel alsof de vijf nooit zijn weggeweest. Geen seconde pogen ze om een hip geluid neer te zetten, alles klinkt gewoon zoals dat in de jaren 80 was (het gebruik van bijv. vocoders) en dat siert ze.

Dangerous klinkt even simpel als de songtitel, maar blijft onweerstaanbaar. Poprock van de bovenste plank en alleen azijnpissers kunnen hier iets tegen inbrengen! De mannen schamen zich er zelfs niet voor om in hun metal een ouderwetse funkriff te stoppen zoals bijv. Man Enough. Michael Jackson of Queen zijn nooit veraf, maar ook dat is alweer geen bezwaar!

Natuurlijk heeft een plaat van zo’n kaliber ook al een slijmerige ballade nodig die aan je broek blijft plakken. We Belong is de ideale track, en plots lijkt het wel alsof Sonny Crockett en Ricardo Tubbs nog steeds met hun Ferrari door de straten van Miami razen. Invincible lijkt wat op een cover, gewoonweg omdat je het gevoel hebt dat je dit onweerstaanbaar popnummer kent, en dat geldt even zeer voor Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is een semi-akoestische ballade dat zich ergens tussen Mr. Big en Guns ’n Roses bevindt. Een afschuwelijke beschrijving dus, maar het klinkt best lekker. En mocht je behoefte hebben aan wat luchtgitaar spelen, dan is Broke ‘n’ Brokenhearted daar het perfecte nummer voor, en bij Forever Young vergeet je zelfs eventjes je leeftijd! De plaat sluit af met het Beatlesachtige Blind Faith en ook al hebben we niet lang moeten nadenken over het bedenken van de woorden: blind vertrouwen kun je Def Leppard dus altijd schenken. Schaamteloos ouderwets, maar zelden zo’n goede popplaat gehoord in 2015! 

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked