tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/12/2015 : DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard

DEF LEPPARD

Def Leppard

MusicCD
Hard RockPop

[89/100]   

V2
01/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It sounds a bit strange to write it down, but after seven years, Def Leppard is back with a new album. The marketing guys did their best to make you believe that the latest album of this quintet from Sheffield is the most prestigious in their career. And yet, after 14 tracks, you can’t but conclude that the standard-bearers of the new wave of British Metal are still masters in writing down delicious pop-rock songs. The fourteen tracks are just as simple as the title of the CD itself (Def Leppard that is). Rock 'n' roll without frills, straightforward rock pop with the highest sing-along factor.

When opener Let's Go kicks off, you immediately get the feeling the band has never been away. Not one second they try to come up with a hip sound, everything sounds just like in the 80s (e.g. vocoders), and that graces them. Dangerous sounds as simple as the song title, but it is irresistible. Pop rock at its best and only soreheads will say that’s a bad thing! Def Leppard is not even ashamed to include an old-fashioned funk riff in its metal. In Man Enough you hear some Michael Jackson and Queen, but no objection to that either!

Of course, such a record needs a slimy ballad and We Belong is the ideal choice, and suddenly it seems like Sonny Crockett and Ricardo Tubbs are still racing with their Ferrari in the streets of Miami. Invincible sounds a bit like a cover, simply because it feels like you know this irresistible pop song for ages, and the same can be said about Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is a semi-acoustic ballad between Mr. Big and Guns' n Roses. A horrible description, but it sounds pretty good. And if you need to play some air guitar, then Broke 'n' Brokenhearted is the perfect song to do so, and on Forever Young you even forget your age for a moment! The album closes with the Beatles-like Blind Faith, and even though we did not have long to come up with these words: you always can give Def Leppard blind faith. Shamelessly old fashioned, but we rarely heard such a good pop album in 2015 as this one!

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


NL

Het klinkt een beetje vreemd om het neer te schrijven, maar na zeven jaar pauze is Def Leppard terug met een nieuw album. De marketingjongens deden hun best om je te laten geloven dat de nieuwste plaat van dit vijftal uit Sheffield de meest prestigieuze uit hun carrière is. En toch, na 14 nummers kun je niet anders dan besluiten dat de vaandeldragers van de Britse New Wave Of British Metal nog steeds meesters zijn in het neerpennen van heerlijke poprocknummers. De veertien tracks zijn net zo simpel als de titel van de cd zelf (gewoon Def Leppard dus). Rock ’n roll zonder veel franjes, rechttoe-rechtaan rockpop met de allerhoogste meezingbaarheidsfactor.
Bij de opener Let’s Go krijg je onmiddellijk het gevoel alsof de vijf nooit zijn weggeweest. Geen seconde pogen ze om een hip geluid neer te zetten, alles klinkt gewoon zoals dat in de jaren 80 was (het gebruik van bijv. vocoders) en dat siert ze.

Dangerous klinkt even simpel als de songtitel, maar blijft onweerstaanbaar. Poprock van de bovenste plank en alleen azijnpissers kunnen hier iets tegen inbrengen! De mannen schamen zich er zelfs niet voor om in hun metal een ouderwetse funkriff te stoppen zoals bijv. Man Enough. Michael Jackson of Queen zijn nooit veraf, maar ook dat is alweer geen bezwaar!

Natuurlijk heeft een plaat van zo’n kaliber ook al een slijmerige ballade nodig die aan je broek blijft plakken. We Belong is de ideale track, en plots lijkt het wel alsof Sonny Crockett en Ricardo Tubbs nog steeds met hun Ferrari door de straten van Miami razen. Invincible lijkt wat op een cover, gewoonweg omdat je het gevoel hebt dat je dit onweerstaanbaar popnummer kent, en dat geldt even zeer voor Sea Of Love.

Battle Of My Own is een semi-akoestische ballade dat zich ergens tussen Mr. Big en Guns ’n Roses bevindt. Een afschuwelijke beschrijving dus, maar het klinkt best lekker. En mocht je behoefte hebben aan wat luchtgitaar spelen, dan is Broke ‘n’ Brokenhearted daar het perfecte nummer voor, en bij Forever Young vergeet je zelfs eventjes je leeftijd! De plaat sluit af met het Beatlesachtige Blind Faith en ook al hebben we niet lang moeten nadenken over het bedenken van de woorden: blind vertrouwen kun je Def Leppard dus altijd schenken. Schaamteloos ouderwets, maar zelden zo’n goede popplaat gehoord in 2015! 

Didier BECU
01/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)