tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : ALICE COOPER - Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)

ALICE COOPER

Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)

Concert
GlamrockHard RockHeavy Metal 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

So far 2016 was a really bad year for rock 'n roll, why are all our rock heroes dying? David Bowie, Lemmy Kilmister, Glenn Frey, Prince,... and then I've not even mentioned them all. Who's the next legend biting the dust? But on the bright side: The Rolling Stones are still around, Beatle Paul McCartney, who just turned 74 is touring the globe and Neil Young (70) seems to have found his second youth nowadays.

Another true rock 'n roll surviver is the unstopable king of shock rock, Mr. Alice Cooper! Only last year Coop was one of the revelations at Graspop Metal Meeting 2015. Tuesday june 21st, one year and one day later, Alice Cooper brought his The Wild Party Tour to the Cirque Royale in Brussels, playing a brilliant show. The setlist contained really nice surprises such as Long Way To Go (Love it to Death, 1971), Public Animal #9 (School's Out, 1972) and Woman of Mass Distraction (Dirty Diamonds, 2005).

No support act that tuesday night, the concept was Spend The Night with Alice Cooper. From the first note of set opener The Black Widow (Welcome to my Nightmare, 1975) to the bitter end the audience got a splendid rock and roll show which nearly lasted two hours. Coop delivered, and how! With gems such as Under My Wheels and a sublime Halo of Flies (both from from Killer, 1971), a superb No More Mr. Nice Guy and the great title track from the Billion Dollar Babies album (1973), an excellent and majestic Ballad of Dwight Fry (Love it to Death, 1971) and a really strong Only Women Bleed (Welcome to My Nightmare, 1975) where Alice proved he's still one of rock and roll's best crooners too. There you already have a small list of absolute high lights in the set!

No hanging, no deathly injections, no electric chair, no guillotine, I hear you think? During the first ten songs one would almost believe this was going to be 'just' a truly great rock 'n roll show, which it was of course, with some brilliant guitar solo's by Nita Straus.

After an inevitable drumsolo, Feed My Frankenstein (Hey Stoopid, 1991) followed and it was nearly time for Coopers many ways to die! The Frankenstein monster walked up on the stage. Alice performed a grand Cold Ethyl (Welcome to my Nightmare, 1975) whilst beating poor Ethyl. Then Coop was forced into a straight jacquet whilst singin' If you call me guilty, well I guess I am, wonderful version of Guilty (Goes To Hell, 1976). During The Ballad of Dwight Fry a nurse tried to give Alice a (deathly?) injection but The Coop strangled her. There was the guillotine a head had to roll. Alice's head. When Cooper's executioner showed the audience Alice's head, Coop sang I Love the Dead (Billion Dollar Babies, 1973).

Very nice was the set wherein Alice payed tribute to some of his and our rock heroes. First Keith Moon (The Who) and Jimi Hendrix, and then legends who left us recently: David Bowie and Lemmy Kilmister. The Coop respecfully and excellently covered Pinball Wizzard, Fire, Sufragette City and Ace of Spades!

Respecting the tradition School's Out (School's Out, 1972), preceeded by the school bell ringing, was the set's finale song, combined with Pink Floyd's Another Brick In The Wall. Great!

Coop & co didn't wait that long to return to the stage for one encore. Alice told us to start a new political party, The Wild Party. Coop: That includes you, and you, and you – no, not you – and you, and you... And a brilliant Elected was played, whilst giant dolls of Donald Trump and Hilary Clinton were fighting with each other on stage. Hilarious!

If it's up to me, the Alice Cooper circus is very welcome to return next year. And Alice can die as many deaths as he wants on stage, but in the here and now Cooper isn't ready yet to blow his final breathe, that's for sure. The king of shock rock, is called Alice Cooper, long live the king!

Setlist:
Vincent Price Intro Tape / The Black Widow / No More Mr. Nice Guy / Under My Wheels / Public Animal #9 / Billion Dollar Babies / Long Way to Go / Woman of Mass Distraction / Poison / Halo of Flies / Feed My Frankenstein / Cold Ethyl / Only Women Bleed / Guilty / Ballad of Dwight Fry / I Love the Dead / Pinball Wizard (The Who) / Fire (Jimi Hendrix) / Suffragette City (David Bowie) / Ace of Spades (Mötorhead) / I'm Eighteen / School's Out - Another Brick in the Wall (Pink Floyd) - School's Out.

Encore:
Elected

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

2016 staat nu al geboekstaafd als het droeve jaar waarin teveel muziekhelden het tijdige met het eeuwige inwisselden. David Bowie, Lemmy Kilmister, Prince, Glenn Frey,... En dat zijn ze niet eens allemaal en het is haast bang afwachten wie de volgende gaat worden. En toch. The Rolling Stones zijn er nog, Beatle Paul McCartney, net 74 geworden, tourt de wereld rond en ook Neil Young (70) doet zijn achternaam eer aan en speelt moeiteloos de jeugdige concurrentie naar huis. Nog zo'n absolute overlever is de onstopbare koning van de shock rock, podiumbeest Alice Cooper!

Coop schitterde vorig jaar nog op de weide van Graspop Metal Meeting, dinsdag 21 juni 2016, exact een jaar plus een dag later streek Alice met zijn 'The Wild Party Tour' neer in het Koninklijk Circus in Brussel, waar Cooper en de zijnen een schitterende performance neerzetten. De setlist bevatte een aantal aangename verrassingen, zoals Long Way To Go (Love It To Death, 1971), Public Animal #9 (School's Out, 1972) en Woman of Mass Distraction (Dirty Diamonds, 2005).

In het Spend The Night with Alice Cooper-concept was geen plaats voor een voorprogramma, de 'wachtmuziek' bevatte niets dan Alice Cooper-songs. Vanaf de eerste noot van The Black Widow (Welcome to my Nightmare, 1975) tot aan het bittere einde, ruim anderhalf uur later was genieten van een wervelende show. Met een lekker rockend Under My Wheels en een ronduit subliem Halo of Flies (Killer, 1971), een super No More Mr. Nice Guy en een erg fijn Billion Dollar Babies (Billion Dollar Babies, 1973), een magistraal en uitmuntend The Ballad of Dwight Fry (Love it to Death,1971)en een heel sterk Only Women Bleed (Welcome to my Nightmare, 1975) dat aantoonde dat Alice nog steeds croont als de besten. Om maar meteen een paar absolute hoogtepunten in de set te noemen dus.

Een aangename verrassing was de set waarin Alice eer betuigde aan Keith Moon (The Who) en Jimi Hendrix en de ons pas ontvallen helden David Bowie en Lemmy Kilmister met uitstekende covers van respectievelijk Pinball Wizzard, Fire, Sufragette City en Ace of Spades!

U heeft nog niets gelezen over ophangingen, onthoofdingen of elektrocutie? Het zag er eerst haast naar uit dat dat ook niet zou gebeuren. De eerste 10 nummers in de set waren puur hard rock 'n roll van de bovenste plank, met behalve een geweldige Alice heerlijke gitaarsoli van Nita Straus. Wanneer na een iets te lange drumsolo dan Feed My Frankenstein (Hey Stoopid, 1991) ingezet werd, werden alsnog alle kunstjes bovengehaald. De show was begonnen. Alice in de stoel, het reusachtige monster dat op het podium wandelde, Coop die tijdens Cold Ethyl (Welcome to my Nightmare, 1975) de dame in kwestie mishandelde. Alice, gevangen in dwangbuis die het uitroept If you call me guilty, well I guess I am prachtige versie van Guilty (Goes To Hell, 1976). Het eerder vermelde Ballad of Dwight Fry ging gepaard met de zuster die alles een injectie gaf, Coop die de jongedame poogde te wurgen waarop de Guillotine op het podium gereden werd. En Alice 's hoofd dat eraf ging, of wat dacht u? Wanneer de beul Cooper's hoofd toonde hoorden we Alice I Love The Dead (Billion Dollar Babies, 1973) zingen. Ah ja. Rock 'n Roll, theater van dood en verderf. De echte shock rocker heet Alice Cooper, alle Marylin Mansons ten spijt.

School's Out (School's Out, 1972), schoolbel incluis, was naar aloude traditie dé afsluiter van de set, gekoppeld aan Pink Floyd's Another Brick in the Wall. Knap!

Heel lang wachtte Cooper & Co niet om terug te keren voor een bis. Alice riep op om een nieuwe partij op te richten, The Wild Party. That includes you, and you, and you, - no, not you! -..., and you and you. Waarop Alice een meesterlijk Elected in zette terwijl reusachtige Donald Trump en Hilary Clinton-poppen het podium op wandelden om om het vervolgens op een robbertje vechten te zetten. Hilarisch!

Alice Cooper mag wat mij betreft elk jaar terugkeren met zijn circus, doodgaan zoveel hij wil op het podium. Maar dat hij nog lang niet van plan is om écht de pijp aan Maarten te geven, dat is wel duidelijk! De koning van de shock rock is in bloedvorm, leve de koning!


Setlist:
Vincent Price Intro Tape / The Black Widow / No More Mr. Nice Guy / Under My Wheels / Public Animal #9 / Billion Dollar Babies / Long Way to Go / Woman of Mass Distraction / Poison / Halo of Flies / Feed My Frankenstein / Cold Ethyl / Only Women Bleed / Guilty / Ballad of Dwight Fry / I Love the Dead / Pinball Wizard (The Who) / Fire (Jimi Hendrix) / Suffragette City (David Bowie) / Ace of Spades (Mötorhead) / I'm Eighteen / School's Out - Another Brick in the Wall (Pink Floyd) - School's Out.

Encore:
Elected

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BLACK MOUNTAIN • IV
AUTOGEN • Antigen
SIEGFRIED K • Part II
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
OPPENHEIMER MKII • Another Nightmare
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
CLAUDIA BRUCKEN • Combined
GARBAGE • Strange Little Birds
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)

 

Same combination of genres: GLAMROCK + HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

 

Same genre: GLAMROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
GHOST • Popestar
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
JACK • The Jazz Age
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Futurology

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)