tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : ORANGE OUTLAW - Desert Wolf

ORANGE OUTLAW

Desert Wolf

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
03/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With an orange cover and a group name that refers to this colour, you’d swear they’re Dutch, right? And yes sir, they are, although these Amsterdam guys make heavy rock that comes straight from an American desert.

On this DIY-release we hear energetic classic hard rock with pounding riffs, bass lines that are made of iron, powerful drum patterns and intense solos. This is music on steroids. A well built classic sound, a lot of power, the vocals sound strong with the necessary variation and the songs are produced in a more than decent way.

Opener Charger is a great song with a nice melody and a chorus that pretty fast sounds familiar. The ballad Nobody Wants Me Tonight has some good vocals and fine guitar work. To Me You're Done is another piece of decent rock with splendid guitar, rhythm and vocal work.

Actually, there are no bad songs on this album, although some do need a few listening sessions before they reveal their beauty.

Conclusion: a strong debut from a band that undoubtedly blows away the audience when it's on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/10/2015


NL

Met een oranje hoes en een groepsnaam die naar deze kleur verwijst ,moeten dit wel Nederlanders zijn, niet? En jawel, dat klopt, ofschoon deze Amsterdamse jongens als een Amerikaanse heavyrockband klinken die rechtstreeks uit de woestijn komt. Ze hebben alles in eigen beheer gemaakt.

We horen energierijke klassieke hardrock met beukende riffs, ijzeren baslijnen, krachtige drumpatronen en intense solo’s. Dit is muziek op steroïden. Goed opgebouwd, een klassiek geluid, veel power en ook de vocals klinken stevig met de nodige variatie. De songs zijn goed geproduceerd en het geluid zit tevens snor.

Zo is opener Charger een aantrekkelijk nummer met een fijne melodie en een herkenbaar refrein. De ballade Nobody Wants me Tonight bestaat uit goede vocalen en fijn gitaarwerk. To Me You’re Done is een prima stukje rockmuziek met goed gitaar-, ritme- en vocaalwerk.

Eigenlijk staan er geen slechte songs op dit album, alhoewel sommige nummers wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig hebben vooraleer ze hun schoonheid prijsgeven. Zelf verkies ik vooral de songs die wat kalmere passages bevatten omdat je daarin beter de sterke passages hoort.

Conclusie: een krachtig debuut van een band die ongetwijfeld live zijn publiek omverblaast.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
STATES AND EMPIRES • Freedom
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
DOWNLOAD (2) • Eleven Stages

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline