tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : ORANGE OUTLAW - Desert Wolf

ORANGE OUTLAW

Desert Wolf

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
03/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With an orange cover and a group name that refers to this colour, you’d swear they’re Dutch, right? And yes sir, they are, although these Amsterdam guys make heavy rock that comes straight from an American desert.

On this DIY-release we hear energetic classic hard rock with pounding riffs, bass lines that are made of iron, powerful drum patterns and intense solos. This is music on steroids. A well built classic sound, a lot of power, the vocals sound strong with the necessary variation and the songs are produced in a more than decent way.

Opener Charger is a great song with a nice melody and a chorus that pretty fast sounds familiar. The ballad Nobody Wants Me Tonight has some good vocals and fine guitar work. To Me You're Done is another piece of decent rock with splendid guitar, rhythm and vocal work.

Actually, there are no bad songs on this album, although some do need a few listening sessions before they reveal their beauty.

Conclusion: a strong debut from a band that undoubtedly blows away the audience when it's on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/10/2015


NL

Met een oranje hoes en een groepsnaam die naar deze kleur verwijst ,moeten dit wel Nederlanders zijn, niet? En jawel, dat klopt, ofschoon deze Amsterdamse jongens als een Amerikaanse heavyrockband klinken die rechtstreeks uit de woestijn komt. Ze hebben alles in eigen beheer gemaakt.

We horen energierijke klassieke hardrock met beukende riffs, ijzeren baslijnen, krachtige drumpatronen en intense solo’s. Dit is muziek op steroïden. Goed opgebouwd, een klassiek geluid, veel power en ook de vocals klinken stevig met de nodige variatie. De songs zijn goed geproduceerd en het geluid zit tevens snor.

Zo is opener Charger een aantrekkelijk nummer met een fijne melodie en een herkenbaar refrein. De ballade Nobody Wants me Tonight bestaat uit goede vocalen en fijn gitaarwerk. To Me You’re Done is een prima stukje rockmuziek met goed gitaar-, ritme- en vocaalwerk.

Eigenlijk staan er geen slechte songs op dit album, alhoewel sommige nummers wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig hebben vooraleer ze hun schoonheid prijsgeven. Zelf verkies ik vooral de songs die wat kalmere passages bevatten omdat je daarin beter de sterke passages hoort.

Conclusie: een krachtig debuut van een band die ongetwijfeld live zijn publiek omverblaast.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
STATES AND EMPIRES • Freedom
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
DOWNLOAD • Eleven Stages

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth