tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : ORANGE OUTLAW - Desert Wolf

ORANGE OUTLAW

Desert Wolf

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
03/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With an orange cover and a group name that refers to this colour, you’d swear they’re Dutch, right? And yes sir, they are, although these Amsterdam guys make heavy rock that comes straight from an American desert.

On this DIY-release we hear energetic classic hard rock with pounding riffs, bass lines that are made of iron, powerful drum patterns and intense solos. This is music on steroids. A well built classic sound, a lot of power, the vocals sound strong with the necessary variation and the songs are produced in a more than decent way.

Opener Charger is a great song with a nice melody and a chorus that pretty fast sounds familiar. The ballad Nobody Wants Me Tonight has some good vocals and fine guitar work. To Me You're Done is another piece of decent rock with splendid guitar, rhythm and vocal work.

Actually, there are no bad songs on this album, although some do need a few listening sessions before they reveal their beauty.

Conclusion: a strong debut from a band that undoubtedly blows away the audience when it's on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/10/2015


NL

Met een oranje hoes en een groepsnaam die naar deze kleur verwijst ,moeten dit wel Nederlanders zijn, niet? En jawel, dat klopt, ofschoon deze Amsterdamse jongens als een Amerikaanse heavyrockband klinken die rechtstreeks uit de woestijn komt. Ze hebben alles in eigen beheer gemaakt.

We horen energierijke klassieke hardrock met beukende riffs, ijzeren baslijnen, krachtige drumpatronen en intense solo’s. Dit is muziek op steroïden. Goed opgebouwd, een klassiek geluid, veel power en ook de vocals klinken stevig met de nodige variatie. De songs zijn goed geproduceerd en het geluid zit tevens snor.

Zo is opener Charger een aantrekkelijk nummer met een fijne melodie en een herkenbaar refrein. De ballade Nobody Wants me Tonight bestaat uit goede vocalen en fijn gitaarwerk. To Me You’re Done is een prima stukje rockmuziek met goed gitaar-, ritme- en vocaalwerk.

Eigenlijk staan er geen slechte songs op dit album, alhoewel sommige nummers wel enkele luisterbeurten nodig hebben vooraleer ze hun schoonheid prijsgeven. Zelf verkies ik vooral de songs die wat kalmere passages bevatten omdat je daarin beter de sterke passages hoort.

Conclusie: een krachtig debuut van een band die ongetwijfeld live zijn publiek omverblaast.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
STATES AND EMPIRES • Freedom
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
DOWNLOAD • Eleven Stages

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
19
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
First And Last And Always
18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
Dark Entity | In The Flat Field At Thirty-Eight
20
11
Artificial Adolescents | The X-Ray Spex Masterpiece Turns 40
19
11
New PALAIS IDEAL single and video clip with unique choreography by Burning Bridges!
19
11
'Write When You Get Work' in theaters this weekend!
18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
20
11
JO QUAIL
Gold
19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission