tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

LUSTS

Illuminations

MusicCD
Indie RockNew wavePopPost Punk

[88/100]   

1965 Records/ PIAS
02/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A good debut is of vital importance to put a band on the musical map, as the first impression always will be remembered. The British band Lusts has certainly reached that goal, as their first album Illuminations is a winner on many fronts.

The band consists of two brothers from Leicester who make wave pop with echoing guitars, often reminiscent of William Sergeant of Echo & The Bunnymen, while the singing reminds you of The Stone Roses. The influences from the Manchester scene, like say New Order, are never far away, influences that you hear a lot in other bands nowadays. Fortunately, this duo found a personal style and that results in 12 catchy songs that are dangerously addictive.

Temptation, Mouthwash and The Waves already were singles, but actually most of the songs on this debut could be singles. It must be said that everything is done well. If you want to know if they can do this on stage too, then you can check it with your own eyes and ears on October 19 at the Trix in Antwerp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


NL

Een goed debuut is van levensbelan. Het zet een groep op de muzikale kaart en de eerste indruk blijft altijd lang hangen. De Britse band Lusts is daarin geslaagd, want hun eerste plaat Illuminations mag er gerust wezen.

De band bestaat uit twee broers uit Leicester die wavepop maken met galmende gitaren die je vaak aan William Sergeant van Echo & The Bunnymen doen denken, terwijl de zang wel iets van The Stone Roses heeft. De invloeden uit de Manchester-scene zoals bijv. New Order, zijn dan ook nooit veraf, invloeden die je tegenwoordig trouwens bij heel wat bands hoort. Gelukkig maakt dit duo er wel een eigen stijl mee, wat in 12 catchy nummers resulteert die gevaarlijk verslavend zijn.

Temptation, Moutwash en The Waves waren al singles, maar eigenlijk kunnen de meeste songs op dit debuut dat zijn. Het moet worden gezegd: alles aan dit plaatje klopt. Het heeft de goede benadering en productie gekregen. Als je wil weten of ze dit ook live kunnen waarmaken, rep je dan op 19 oktober naar de TRIX in Antwerpen om het met je eigen ogen/oren te checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations 02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

 

Next reviews
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NEW ORDER • Music Complete
WAND • 1000 Days
THE HARROW • Silhouettes
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
MOA PILLAR • Humanity
JACK • The Jazz Age
TERRY BICKERS (THE HOUSE OF LOVE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones

 

Other reviews from LUSTS
LUSTS • Moutwash

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning