tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

LUSTS

Illuminations

MusicCD
Indie RockNew wavePopPost Punk

[88/100]   

1965 Records/ PIAS
02/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A good debut is of vital importance to put a band on the musical map, as the first impression always will be remembered. The British band Lusts has certainly reached that goal, as their first album Illuminations is a winner on many fronts.

The band consists of two brothers from Leicester who make wave pop with echoing guitars, often reminiscent of William Sergeant of Echo & The Bunnymen, while the singing reminds you of The Stone Roses. The influences from the Manchester scene, like say New Order, are never far away, influences that you hear a lot in other bands nowadays. Fortunately, this duo found a personal style and that results in 12 catchy songs that are dangerously addictive.

Temptation, Mouthwash and The Waves already were singles, but actually most of the songs on this debut could be singles. It must be said that everything is done well. If you want to know if they can do this on stage too, then you can check it with your own eyes and ears on October 19 at the Trix in Antwerp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


NL

Een goed debuut is van levensbelan. Het zet een groep op de muzikale kaart en de eerste indruk blijft altijd lang hangen. De Britse band Lusts is daarin geslaagd, want hun eerste plaat Illuminations mag er gerust wezen.

De band bestaat uit twee broers uit Leicester die wavepop maken met galmende gitaren die je vaak aan William Sergeant van Echo & The Bunnymen doen denken, terwijl de zang wel iets van The Stone Roses heeft. De invloeden uit de Manchester-scene zoals bijv. New Order, zijn dan ook nooit veraf, invloeden die je tegenwoordig trouwens bij heel wat bands hoort. Gelukkig maakt dit duo er wel een eigen stijl mee, wat in 12 catchy nummers resulteert die gevaarlijk verslavend zijn.

Temptation, Moutwash en The Waves waren al singles, maar eigenlijk kunnen de meeste songs op dit debuut dat zijn. Het moet worden gezegd: alles aan dit plaatje klopt. Het heeft de goede benadering en productie gekregen. Als je wil weten of ze dit ook live kunnen waarmaken, rep je dan op 19 oktober naar de TRIX in Antwerpen om het met je eigen ogen/oren te checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations 02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

 

Next reviews
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NEW ORDER • Music Complete
WAND • 1000 Days
THE HARROW • Silhouettes
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
MOA PILLAR • Humanity
JACK • The Jazz Age
TERRY BICKERS (THE HOUSE OF LOVE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones

 

Other reviews from LUSTS
LUSTS • Moutwash

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation