tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

LUSTS

Illuminations

MusicCD
Indie RockNew wavePopPost Punk

[88/100]   

1965 Records/ PIAS
02/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A good debut is of vital importance to put a band on the musical map, as the first impression always will be remembered. The British band Lusts has certainly reached that goal, as their first album Illuminations is a winner on many fronts.

The band consists of two brothers from Leicester who make wave pop with echoing guitars, often reminiscent of William Sergeant of Echo & The Bunnymen, while the singing reminds you of The Stone Roses. The influences from the Manchester scene, like say New Order, are never far away, influences that you hear a lot in other bands nowadays. Fortunately, this duo found a personal style and that results in 12 catchy songs that are dangerously addictive.

Temptation, Mouthwash and The Waves already were singles, but actually most of the songs on this debut could be singles. It must be said that everything is done well. If you want to know if they can do this on stage too, then you can check it with your own eyes and ears on October 19 at the Trix in Antwerp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


NL

Een goed debuut is van levensbelan. Het zet een groep op de muzikale kaart en de eerste indruk blijft altijd lang hangen. De Britse band Lusts is daarin geslaagd, want hun eerste plaat Illuminations mag er gerust wezen.

De band bestaat uit twee broers uit Leicester die wavepop maken met galmende gitaren die je vaak aan William Sergeant van Echo & The Bunnymen doen denken, terwijl de zang wel iets van The Stone Roses heeft. De invloeden uit de Manchester-scene zoals bijv. New Order, zijn dan ook nooit veraf, invloeden die je tegenwoordig trouwens bij heel wat bands hoort. Gelukkig maakt dit duo er wel een eigen stijl mee, wat in 12 catchy nummers resulteert die gevaarlijk verslavend zijn.

Temptation, Moutwash en The Waves waren al singles, maar eigenlijk kunnen de meeste songs op dit debuut dat zijn. Het moet worden gezegd: alles aan dit plaatje klopt. Het heeft de goede benadering en productie gekregen. Als je wil weten of ze dit ook live kunnen waarmaken, rep je dan op 19 oktober naar de TRIX in Antwerpen om het met je eigen ogen/oren te checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations 02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

 

Next reviews
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NEW ORDER • Music Complete
WAND • 1000 Days
THE HARROW • Silhouettes
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
MOA PILLAR • Humanity
JACK • The Jazz Age
TERRY BICKERS (THE HOUSE OF LOVE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones

 

Other reviews from LUSTS
LUSTS • Moutwash

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)