tempobet yeni adresi

02/09/2014 : STATES AND EMPIRES - Freedom

STATES AND EMPIRES

Freedom

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[90/100]   

White Russian Records
02/09/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This band was created after the death of Attack! Attack! and what a rise of the phoenix this one is!

The first track opens in style Revolution is heavy shit but with a commercial and melodic sound. The title track has something punky, with some delicious roaring guitars and a catchy chorus.

Paralyzed has a guitar and a vocal part that reminds me strongly of early Nirvana and that isn’t bad at all! Once again I’m very keen on their catchy sound.

This isn't love (would that be a cover version from Jennifer Hudson or Jasmine Villegas, Alan Cumming or J. Marie Cooper?) sounds familiar to me. Somehow I think about a female fronted band, I have it on the tip of my tongue, so frustrating if you can’t find it! Evanescene comes close, but that's not really it.

It's pretty funny to make two versions of the same track and call it the clean and the dirty version (Say anything), but it works fine for me! Is this the end? starts a bit soft and mellow, but explodes fast enough to give us more energy.

A remarkable track is the acoustic and banjo driven one Murder on Neville Street. This tracks shows very clearly the vocal power of the singer, what a blast and oh so pure! It's a nice trick to catch your attention before dealing with that blow named Phonesex.

Yeah, Yeah, Yeah is the perfect last track, putting everything on fire for the last time. The lyrics are also worth mentioning, making a stand. A catchy end for a great trip!

Thank you folks for this great one!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
02/09/2014


 

Next reviews
STEAK • Slab City
LIFE SAVINGS • ENDINGS
PABLO CABEZAS • Tokarev
CECILE TELERMAN • Les Yeux Jaunes Des Crocodiles
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil (Chapter 02) EP
KARMA TO BURN • Arch Stanton
DAS DING • Triffid Farm
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4
ELIO PETRI • L'assassino

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
DOWNLOAD • Eleven Stages
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

20
06
LEIF VOLLEBEKK
Twin Solitude
13
06
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Oceans
12
06
XOSAR
Xymeria
11
06
RULE OF THUMB
Rule Of Thumb
10
06
BLUTENGEL
Leitbild
09
06
IKON
Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
06
Swedish acts ELM and ALVAR complete BIMFEST 2017 line-up!
22
06
Laibach receive the lifetime achievement Golden Whistle award
21
06
NEW SIGNING AND NEW SINGLE/VIDEO - THEN COMES SILENCE - THE DEAD CRY FOR NO ONE
20
06
NATIONAL CRIME HISTORY - A Belgian Industrial Music compilation
20
06
New EP / video and US tour by PIG
17
06
Dark Demons Night 2017 -Tonight!

Concert reviews

09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
04
05
COALESCAREMONIUM
15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’
15
06
REVOLTING COCKS
Big Sexy Land revisited!
14
06
BESTIAL MOUTHS
‘BESTIAL MOUTHS HAS NEVER SOUGHT OUT TO RECREATE A CERTAIN GENRE’
13
06
2ND FACE
‘A FEELING WHICH IS HARD TO PUT INTO WORDS’

PHOTOS

24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ALVAR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
21
06
HYBRYDS WITH SOPHIE DRAKENVLEUGELS
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
24
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
22
06
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
21
06
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
08
06
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
07
06
ALISON MOYET
Reassuring Pinches
06
06
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout