tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SWITCHBLADE - “2016”

SWITCHBLADE

“2016”

MusicCD
DoomHard RockMetal

[70/100]   

Denovali Records
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

“2016” is the seventh album of the Swedish band Switchblade (founded in 1997). The core duo - Tim Bertilsson (drums) and Johan Folkesson (guitars) - again collaborates with sound wizard Karl Daniel Lidén for an album with 40 minutes of minimalist doom. The pace is a lot higher than on the most recent album (“2012”), with more melodies and a more detailed texture. Of course it sounds dark and fatalistic again, but musically, the album is more accessible. It contains four songs.

The more than ten minutes long P.O.G. begins pretty quietly with drums and synths, followed by a long guitar intro that we associate with Vander Graaf Generator, but after 3 minutes, dark and menacing sounding guitars are added, a voice with a metal-like quality and organ-like sounds in the background (another typical attribute of VDG). Halfway through, the sound is temporarily dimmed, then the loud guitars return as rattling machine guns, topped with emphatic vocals that sound like hard rock.

Third Burden begins as a loud guitar track. After half a minute, the typical Switchblade voice that winds between metal and hard rock is added. The instrumental part of the track is an accumulation of tempo changes, loud and quieter guitar fragments and occasionally some electronics. The Cressent has a solo guitar in the intro, joined by dark guitars and good sounding drums after barely 40 seconds: a guitar track that definitely will be appreciated by fans of heavy guitar music, but which is also closely related to what we have heard before. Variety is not the strongest merit of this kind of music, but that's most probably not the intention, nor what the fans are waiting for.

Surprisingly, Death Walks Behind remains relatively quiet with intelligible vocals for almost four minutes, while the melodic character is maintained in the second part as well, despite the heavy guitar wall. It is the best track of the album, due to a broad accessibility and a less oppressive atmosphere.

Tracklist:
1 P.O.G.
2 Third Burden
3 The Cresset
4 Death Walks Behind You

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Het Zweedse Switchblade (opgericht in 1997) is met “2016” aan z’n zevende album toe. Het kernduo Tim Bertilsson (drums) and Johan Folkesson (gitaren) werkt opnieuw samen met geluidstovenaar Karl Daniel Lidén voor een album met 40 minuten minimalistische doom waarvan het tempo flink wat hoger ligt dan op de meest recente release (“2012”), met meer melodieën en een uitgebreidere textuur. Uiteraard klinkt het opnieuw donker en fatalistisch, maar muzikaal is er sprake van meer toegankelijkheid, al is dat zeer relatief als het Switchblade betreft. Het album bevat vier composities.

Het meer dan tien minuten durende P.O.G. komt vrij rustig op gang met slagwerk en synths en vervolgens een lange gitaarintro die we met Vander Graaf Generator associëren, maar na 3 minuten stort de hemel in, klinken de gitaren donker en dreigend en wordt een stem toegevoegd met een metalachtige kwaliteit en orgelachtige klanken op de achtergrond (weer zo’n typisch VDG-attribuut). Halfweg wordt het geluid tijdelijk getemperd, nadien keren de gitaren terug als ratelende machinegeweren met bovenop de nadrukkelijke vocalen, die eerder klinken als van een hardrockband.

Third Burden begint als een luide gitaartrack en krijgt pas na anderhalve minuut de voor Switchblade typische stem die slingert tussen metal en hardrock. Het instrumentale gedeelte van de track is een opeenhoping van tempowisselingen, luide en stillere gitaarfragmenten en af en toe wat elektronica, waarna de stem terugkeert en de gitaren langzaam wegdeemsteren. The Cressent krijgt een sologitaar in de intro, na nauwelijks 40 seconden bijgetreden door donkere gitaren en goed klinkend slagwerk: een gitaartrack die beslist in de smaak valt bij liefhebbers van ruige gitaarmuziek, maar die ook nauw aansluit bij wat we eerder hebben gehoord. Variatie is niet het sterkste punt van dit soort muziek, maar dat is wellicht niet de bedoeling, noch waarop de fans zitten te wachten.

Death Walks Behind You laat niet veel goeds vermoeden, maar verrassend genoeg blijft de track bijna vier minuten lang vrij rustig met verstaanbare vocalen, terwijl het melodieuze karakter ook in het tweede deel overeind blijft, ondanks de loodzware gitaarmuur. De beste track van het album wegens een ruimere toegankelijkheid en een minder drukkende sfeer.

Tracklist:
1 P.O.G.
2 Third Burden
3 The Cresset
4 Death Walks Behind You

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : SWITCHBLADE - “2016” 10/12/2016 : SWITCHBLADE - “2016” 10/12/2016 : SWITCHBLADE - “2016”

 

Next reviews
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)
EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY • Brussels, AB (08/06/2016)
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)