tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/12/2016 : VICTORIENT - The Old Curiosity Shop

VICTORIENT

The Old Curiosity Shop

MusicDigital
DoomGothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two men, one with a doom metal background and one with an ethereal background, find each other and decide to make music together. The result is music that includes goth, doom and post-punk influences. At times you hear music reminiscent of Faith & The Muse or Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is exactly what the title says. A dark ode to the festival of darkness, topped with synths. The whispering voice of Tansy Dunham Carter completes the picture. In Camden, the music takes on an Sisters of Mercy/Cure attitude (especially during the intro). The mixing of the vocals could be better, but it remains an enjoyable song. Croydon Beckenham Zombies and Vampires is their favorite theme, should you still have doubts, with an attractive goth/post-punk guitar sound. The alternation between the voices of Sam and Tamsy works well. Flower of Pain is an uptempo track with fun elements: guitar, drums... Siren is a nice poppy song that starts slowly and sounds familiar. The guitar at the end sounds pretty doomy. Storm Within and Boleyn were singles. Both are delicious goth rock tracks. Voodoo Girl is slow and toe-curling and could be omitted. I feel that I know that song, but I can not remember where from.

The Old Curiosity Shop contains some beautiful tracks (Storm Within, Boleyn, a celebration of Halloween, Camden...), but could be better with a decent production and mix. Lovers of dark, occult music will find their liking here. Available from March through Bandcamp (you decide at what price). The single can be downloaded free of charge.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Twee mensen, eentje met een doommetalachtergrond en eentje met een etherische achtergrond, vinden elkaar en besluiten om samen muziek te maken. Het resultaat is muziek die gothic, doom- en postpunkinvloeden bevat. Bij momenten hoor je muziek die doet denken aan Faith & The Muse of Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is precies wat de titel zegt. Een donkere ode aan het feest van de duisternis,overgoten met synths. De fluisterende stem van Tansy Dunham-Carter maakt het plaatje compleet. Op Camden meet de muziek zich een Sisters of Mercy/Cure-attitude aan (vooral tijdens de intro). De zang kon beslist beter worden gemixt, maar het blijft wel een genietbare song. Croydon Zombies and Beckenham Vampires is hun lievelingsthema, mocht je nog twijfelen, met een aantrekkelijke goth/postpunkgitaarsound. De afwisseling tussen de stemmen van Sam en Tamsy werkt hier goed. Flower of Pain is een uptempotrack die leuke elementen bevat: gitaar, drumpartijtjes… Siren is een leuke poppy song die langzaam op gang komt en herkenbaar klinkt. De gitaar op het einde klinkt vrij doomy. Storm Within was net als Boleyn een single. Beide zijn heerlijke gothrocktracks. Voodoo Girl is traag en tenenkrommend en was beter weggegooid. Ik heb het idee dat ik die song van ergens ken, maar ik kan me niet meteen herinneren van waar.

The Old Curiosity Shop bevat enkele mooie tracks ( Storm Within, Boleyn, An Ode to Halloween, Camden…), maar kon met een fatsoenlijke productie en mix nog beter uit verf komen. Liefhebbers van donkere, occulte muziek zullen hier wel hun gading vinden. Vanaf maart via Bandcamp tegen een zelfgekozen bedrag. De single kan je al gratis downloaden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BAABA MAAL • The Traveller
DESTIN FRAGILE • Halfway To Nowhere
VUDUVOX • Vaudou Electrique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

21
11
NITZER EBB
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
LIEBKNECHT
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino St Niklaas
17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
11
EDITORS
All The Kings
21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin