tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/12/2016 : VICTORIENT - The Old Curiosity Shop

VICTORIENT

The Old Curiosity Shop

MusicDigital
DoomGothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two men, one with a doom metal background and one with an ethereal background, find each other and decide to make music together. The result is music that includes goth, doom and post-punk influences. At times you hear music reminiscent of Faith & The Muse or Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is exactly what the title says. A dark ode to the festival of darkness, topped with synths. The whispering voice of Tansy Dunham Carter completes the picture. In Camden, the music takes on an Sisters of Mercy/Cure attitude (especially during the intro). The mixing of the vocals could be better, but it remains an enjoyable song. Croydon Beckenham Zombies and Vampires is their favorite theme, should you still have doubts, with an attractive goth/post-punk guitar sound. The alternation between the voices of Sam and Tamsy works well. Flower of Pain is an uptempo track with fun elements: guitar, drums... Siren is a nice poppy song that starts slowly and sounds familiar. The guitar at the end sounds pretty doomy. Storm Within and Boleyn were singles. Both are delicious goth rock tracks. Voodoo Girl is slow and toe-curling and could be omitted. I feel that I know that song, but I can not remember where from.

The Old Curiosity Shop contains some beautiful tracks (Storm Within, Boleyn, a celebration of Halloween, Camden...), but could be better with a decent production and mix. Lovers of dark, occult music will find their liking here. Available from March through Bandcamp (you decide at what price). The single can be downloaded free of charge.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Twee mensen, eentje met een doommetalachtergrond en eentje met een etherische achtergrond, vinden elkaar en besluiten om samen muziek te maken. Het resultaat is muziek die gothic, doom- en postpunkinvloeden bevat. Bij momenten hoor je muziek die doet denken aan Faith & The Muse of Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is precies wat de titel zegt. Een donkere ode aan het feest van de duisternis,overgoten met synths. De fluisterende stem van Tansy Dunham-Carter maakt het plaatje compleet. Op Camden meet de muziek zich een Sisters of Mercy/Cure-attitude aan (vooral tijdens de intro). De zang kon beslist beter worden gemixt, maar het blijft wel een genietbare song. Croydon Zombies and Beckenham Vampires is hun lievelingsthema, mocht je nog twijfelen, met een aantrekkelijke goth/postpunkgitaarsound. De afwisseling tussen de stemmen van Sam en Tamsy werkt hier goed. Flower of Pain is een uptempotrack die leuke elementen bevat: gitaar, drumpartijtjes… Siren is een leuke poppy song die langzaam op gang komt en herkenbaar klinkt. De gitaar op het einde klinkt vrij doomy. Storm Within was net als Boleyn een single. Beide zijn heerlijke gothrocktracks. Voodoo Girl is traag en tenenkrommend en was beter weggegooid. Ik heb het idee dat ik die song van ergens ken, maar ik kan me niet meteen herinneren van waar.

The Old Curiosity Shop bevat enkele mooie tracks ( Storm Within, Boleyn, An Ode to Halloween, Camden…), maar kon met een fatsoenlijke productie en mix nog beter uit verf komen. Liefhebbers van donkere, occulte muziek zullen hier wel hun gading vinden. Vanaf maart via Bandcamp tegen een zelfgekozen bedrag. De single kan je al gratis downloaden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BAABA MAAL • The Traveller
DESTIN FRAGILE • Halfway To Nowhere
VUDUVOX • Vaudou Electrique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse