tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/12/2016 : VICTORIENT - The Old Curiosity Shop

VICTORIENT

The Old Curiosity Shop

MusicDigital
DoomGothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two men, one with a doom metal background and one with an ethereal background, find each other and decide to make music together. The result is music that includes goth, doom and post-punk influences. At times you hear music reminiscent of Faith & The Muse or Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is exactly what the title says. A dark ode to the festival of darkness, topped with synths. The whispering voice of Tansy Dunham Carter completes the picture. In Camden, the music takes on an Sisters of Mercy/Cure attitude (especially during the intro). The mixing of the vocals could be better, but it remains an enjoyable song. Croydon Beckenham Zombies and Vampires is their favorite theme, should you still have doubts, with an attractive goth/post-punk guitar sound. The alternation between the voices of Sam and Tamsy works well. Flower of Pain is an uptempo track with fun elements: guitar, drums... Siren is a nice poppy song that starts slowly and sounds familiar. The guitar at the end sounds pretty doomy. Storm Within and Boleyn were singles. Both are delicious goth rock tracks. Voodoo Girl is slow and toe-curling and could be omitted. I feel that I know that song, but I can not remember where from.

The Old Curiosity Shop contains some beautiful tracks (Storm Within, Boleyn, a celebration of Halloween, Camden...), but could be better with a decent production and mix. Lovers of dark, occult music will find their liking here. Available from March through Bandcamp (you decide at what price). The single can be downloaded free of charge.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Twee mensen, eentje met een doommetalachtergrond en eentje met een etherische achtergrond, vinden elkaar en besluiten om samen muziek te maken. Het resultaat is muziek die gothic, doom- en postpunkinvloeden bevat. Bij momenten hoor je muziek die doet denken aan Faith & The Muse of Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is precies wat de titel zegt. Een donkere ode aan het feest van de duisternis,overgoten met synths. De fluisterende stem van Tansy Dunham-Carter maakt het plaatje compleet. Op Camden meet de muziek zich een Sisters of Mercy/Cure-attitude aan (vooral tijdens de intro). De zang kon beslist beter worden gemixt, maar het blijft wel een genietbare song. Croydon Zombies and Beckenham Vampires is hun lievelingsthema, mocht je nog twijfelen, met een aantrekkelijke goth/postpunkgitaarsound. De afwisseling tussen de stemmen van Sam en Tamsy werkt hier goed. Flower of Pain is een uptempotrack die leuke elementen bevat: gitaar, drumpartijtjes… Siren is een leuke poppy song die langzaam op gang komt en herkenbaar klinkt. De gitaar op het einde klinkt vrij doomy. Storm Within was net als Boleyn een single. Beide zijn heerlijke gothrocktracks. Voodoo Girl is traag en tenenkrommend en was beter weggegooid. Ik heb het idee dat ik die song van ergens ken, maar ik kan me niet meteen herinneren van waar.

The Old Curiosity Shop bevat enkele mooie tracks ( Storm Within, Boleyn, An Ode to Halloween, Camden…), maar kon met een fatsoenlijke productie en mix nog beter uit verf komen. Liefhebbers van donkere, occulte muziek zullen hier wel hun gading vinden. Vanaf maart via Bandcamp tegen een zelfgekozen bedrag. De single kan je al gratis downloaden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BAABA MAAL • The Traveller
DESTIN FRAGILE • Halfway To Nowhere
VUDUVOX • Vaudou Electrique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper