tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

08/12/2016 : VICTORIENT - The Old Curiosity Shop

VICTORIENT

The Old Curiosity Shop

MusicMP3/Download
DoomGothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two men, one with a doom metal background and one with an ethereal background, find each other and decide to make music together. The result is music that includes goth, doom and post-punk influences. At times you hear music reminiscent of Faith & The Muse or Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is exactly what the title says. A dark ode to the festival of darkness, topped with synths. The whispering voice of Tansy Dunham Carter completes the picture. In Camden, the music takes on an Sisters of Mercy/Cure attitude (especially during the intro). The mixing of the vocals could be better, but it remains an enjoyable song. Croydon Beckenham Zombies and Vampires is their favorite theme, should you still have doubts, with an attractive goth/post-punk guitar sound. The alternation between the voices of Sam and Tamsy works well. Flower of Pain is an uptempo track with fun elements: guitar, drums... Siren is a nice poppy song that starts slowly and sounds familiar. The guitar at the end sounds pretty doomy. Storm Within and Boleyn were singles. Both are delicious goth rock tracks. Voodoo Girl is slow and toe-curling and could be omitted. I feel that I know that song, but I can not remember where from.

The Old Curiosity Shop contains some beautiful tracks (Storm Within, Boleyn, a celebration of Halloween, Camden...), but could be better with a decent production and mix. Lovers of dark, occult music will find their liking here. Available from March through Bandcamp (you decide at what price). The single can be downloaded free of charge.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Twee mensen, eentje met een doommetalachtergrond en eentje met een etherische achtergrond, vinden elkaar en besluiten om samen muziek te maken. Het resultaat is muziek die gothic, doom- en postpunkinvloeden bevat. Bij momenten hoor je muziek die doet denken aan Faith & The Muse of Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is precies wat de titel zegt. Een donkere ode aan het feest van de duisternis,overgoten met synths. De fluisterende stem van Tansy Dunham-Carter maakt het plaatje compleet. Op Camden meet de muziek zich een Sisters of Mercy/Cure-attitude aan (vooral tijdens de intro). De zang kon beslist beter worden gemixt, maar het blijft wel een genietbare song. Croydon Zombies and Beckenham Vampires is hun lievelingsthema, mocht je nog twijfelen, met een aantrekkelijke goth/postpunkgitaarsound. De afwisseling tussen de stemmen van Sam en Tamsy werkt hier goed. Flower of Pain is een uptempotrack die leuke elementen bevat: gitaar, drumpartijtjes… Siren is een leuke poppy song die langzaam op gang komt en herkenbaar klinkt. De gitaar op het einde klinkt vrij doomy. Storm Within was net als Boleyn een single. Beide zijn heerlijke gothrocktracks. Voodoo Girl is traag en tenenkrommend en was beter weggegooid. Ik heb het idee dat ik die song van ergens ken, maar ik kan me niet meteen herinneren van waar.

The Old Curiosity Shop bevat enkele mooie tracks ( Storm Within, Boleyn, An Ode to Halloween, Camden…), maar kon met een fatsoenlijke productie en mix nog beter uit verf komen. Liefhebbers van donkere, occulte muziek zullen hier wel hun gading vinden. Vanaf maart via Bandcamp tegen een zelfgekozen bedrag. De single kan je al gratis downloaden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BAABA MAAL • The Traveller
DESTIN FRAGILE • Halfway To Nowhere
VUDUVOX • Vaudou Electrique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science

Music reviews

20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night
29
08
CEPHALGY
Gott Maschine Vaterland

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs
11
09
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Rose gardens are beautiful but they die too…you might as well dance in that garden during the last night.

PHOTOS

13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
DER REST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
24
08
RABIA SORDA
GDW Festival Tilloloy
24
08
DAS FLUFF
GDW Festival Tilloloy

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
16
09
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
16
09
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
16
09
JO QUAIL
Laurus