tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

08/12/2016 : VICTORIENT - The Old Curiosity Shop

VICTORIENT

The Old Curiosity Shop

MusicMP3/Download
DoomGothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two men, one with a doom metal background and one with an ethereal background, find each other and decide to make music together. The result is music that includes goth, doom and post-punk influences. At times you hear music reminiscent of Faith & The Muse or Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is exactly what the title says. A dark ode to the festival of darkness, topped with synths. The whispering voice of Tansy Dunham Carter completes the picture. In Camden, the music takes on an Sisters of Mercy/Cure attitude (especially during the intro). The mixing of the vocals could be better, but it remains an enjoyable song. Croydon Beckenham Zombies and Vampires is their favorite theme, should you still have doubts, with an attractive goth/post-punk guitar sound. The alternation between the voices of Sam and Tamsy works well. Flower of Pain is an uptempo track with fun elements: guitar, drums... Siren is a nice poppy song that starts slowly and sounds familiar. The guitar at the end sounds pretty doomy. Storm Within and Boleyn were singles. Both are delicious goth rock tracks. Voodoo Girl is slow and toe-curling and could be omitted. I feel that I know that song, but I can not remember where from.

The Old Curiosity Shop contains some beautiful tracks (Storm Within, Boleyn, a celebration of Halloween, Camden...), but could be better with a decent production and mix. Lovers of dark, occult music will find their liking here. Available from March through Bandcamp (you decide at what price). The single can be downloaded free of charge.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Twee mensen, eentje met een doommetalachtergrond en eentje met een etherische achtergrond, vinden elkaar en besluiten om samen muziek te maken. Het resultaat is muziek die gothic, doom- en postpunkinvloeden bevat. Bij momenten hoor je muziek die doet denken aan Faith & The Muse of Voodoo Bible.

An Ode to Halloween is precies wat de titel zegt. Een donkere ode aan het feest van de duisternis,overgoten met synths. De fluisterende stem van Tansy Dunham-Carter maakt het plaatje compleet. Op Camden meet de muziek zich een Sisters of Mercy/Cure-attitude aan (vooral tijdens de intro). De zang kon beslist beter worden gemixt, maar het blijft wel een genietbare song. Croydon Zombies and Beckenham Vampires is hun lievelingsthema, mocht je nog twijfelen, met een aantrekkelijke goth/postpunkgitaarsound. De afwisseling tussen de stemmen van Sam en Tamsy werkt hier goed. Flower of Pain is een uptempotrack die leuke elementen bevat: gitaar, drumpartijtjes… Siren is een leuke poppy song die langzaam op gang komt en herkenbaar klinkt. De gitaar op het einde klinkt vrij doomy. Storm Within was net als Boleyn een single. Beide zijn heerlijke gothrocktracks. Voodoo Girl is traag en tenenkrommend en was beter weggegooid. Ik heb het idee dat ik die song van ergens ken, maar ik kan me niet meteen herinneren van waar.

The Old Curiosity Shop bevat enkele mooie tracks ( Storm Within, Boleyn, An Ode to Halloween, Camden…), maar kon met een fatsoenlijke productie en mix nog beter uit verf komen. Liefhebbers van donkere, occulte muziek zullen hier wel hun gading vinden. Vanaf maart via Bandcamp tegen een zelfgekozen bedrag. De single kan je al gratis downloaden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE PROGRAM • Path Of The Least Resistance
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux
BAABA MAAL • The Traveller
DESTIN FRAGILE • Halfway To Nowhere
VUDUVOX • Vaudou Electrique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)