tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BAABA MAAL - The Traveller

BAABA MAAL

The Traveller

MusicCD


[65/100]   

Marathon Artists
08/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Album number eleven for the Senegalese superstar of the sun-drenched Sahel naturally brings forth tales of travelling but, as its title suggests, doesn't just concern itself with endless wandering and nomadic experiences - Maal the journeyman has experiences and messages to share and a whole populous to share it with.

The Traveller kicks off with the uplifting and buoyant Fulani Rock, a fist-pumping call for hope that stars Maal's electric fretwork as well as 'a message for the people'. I hate the vocoder vocalising but I'm a big fan of the energy and busy intensity so full marks for lighting the touchpaper early on. Gilli Men builds into something really quite resplendent with elements of dub, cyclical rhythms and charged atmospherics that recall arid lands and windswept plains, while the gently undulating One Day and exquisite Kalaajo continue with the more expressive and somewhat calming approach that Maal is perhaps best known for. His style on the latter reminds me of the splendid Ugandan singer and musician Geoffrey Oryema, in particular his Realworld releases of the '90s.

And so the themes of hope, peace and war ('language as a weapon', says Maal) continue with Lampenda sounding somewhat Mumford-ish in its big epic build-up - Marshall appears on the album after meeting Maal at the annual Senegalese music festival Blues Du Fleuve and there is definitely some lineage from both acts on this album. Olympic poet Lemn Sissay adds his linguistic gymnastics to the closing 'War' and 'Peace' tracks.

Don't be put off though - if the Mumfords aren't your thing, Maal certainly should be with his intricate guitar work that so often befits African music-makers and Sissay's colourful tongue paints a descriptive picture. He's been actively spreading the word since the late '80s and deserves something more than a cursory mention in the sunday supplements and the monthlies' review pages. The Traveller is by turns a journey and a homecoming that brings sunshine to a musical genre long overdue for a revisit.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


NL

Het elfde album van de Senegalese superster uit de zonovergoten Sahel brengt uiteraard weer verhalen over reizen, maar zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is hij niet alleen bezig met het eindeloos zwerven en met nomadische ervaringen, reiziger Maal wil graag ervaringen en boodschappen delen.

The Traveller gaat van start met opzwepende en uitbundige Fulani-rock, een luide oproep tot hoop op de tonen van Maals elektrische gitaarspel, gecombineerd met 'een boodschap voor het volk'. Ik haat de stemvervorming, maar ik ben een grote fan van de energie en de drukke intensiteit van deze muziek. Gilli Men wordt mooi opgebouwd met elementen uit dub en roept met cyclische ritmes en een beladen atmosfeer de droge gronden en winderige vlaktes op, terwijl het zacht golvende One Day en het exquise Kalaajo meer in de lijn liggen van de expressievere en enigszins kalmerende stijl waarvoor Maal misschien beter bekend is. Op die laatste track doet z'n stijl me denken aan de prachtige Oegandese zanger en muzikant Geoffrey Oryema, in het bijzonder aan zijn Realworld-releases uit de jaren 90.

De thema's hoop, vrede en oorlog ('taal als wapen', zegt Maal) komen opnieuw aan bod in Lampenda, dat door de epische opbouw Mumfordachtig klinkt - Marshall medewerking aan het album kwam er na een ontmoeting met Maal op het jaarlijkse Senegalese muziekfestival Blues Du Fleuve en er is zeker sprake van een kruisbestuiving op dit album. De olympische dichter Lemn Sissay voegt zijn taalkundige kunstjes toe aan de tracks War en Peace.

Laat je niet afschrikken als de Mumfords niet je ding zijn. Luister vooral naar Baaba Maals ingewikkelde gitaarwerk waarmee hij een grote invloed heeft op Afrikaanse muzikanten en naar Sissy's kleurrijke en beschrijvende beeldtaal. Baaba Maal is sinds de jaren 80 actief als verspreider van het woord en hij verdient beter dan een vluchtige vermelding in zondagsupplementen, maandbladen en reviewpagina's. The Traveller is een reis en een thuiskomst die zon brengen in een muzikaal genre dat we te lang hebben verwaarloosd.

Deze review verscheen eerder op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil