tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BAABA MAAL - The Traveller

BAABA MAAL

The Traveller

MusicCD


[65/100]   

Marathon Artists
08/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Album number eleven for the Senegalese superstar of the sun-drenched Sahel naturally brings forth tales of travelling but, as its title suggests, doesn't just concern itself with endless wandering and nomadic experiences - Maal the journeyman has experiences and messages to share and a whole populous to share it with.

The Traveller kicks off with the uplifting and buoyant Fulani Rock, a fist-pumping call for hope that stars Maal's electric fretwork as well as 'a message for the people'. I hate the vocoder vocalising but I'm a big fan of the energy and busy intensity so full marks for lighting the touchpaper early on. Gilli Men builds into something really quite resplendent with elements of dub, cyclical rhythms and charged atmospherics that recall arid lands and windswept plains, while the gently undulating One Day and exquisite Kalaajo continue with the more expressive and somewhat calming approach that Maal is perhaps best known for. His style on the latter reminds me of the splendid Ugandan singer and musician Geoffrey Oryema, in particular his Realworld releases of the '90s.

And so the themes of hope, peace and war ('language as a weapon', says Maal) continue with Lampenda sounding somewhat Mumford-ish in its big epic build-up - Marshall appears on the album after meeting Maal at the annual Senegalese music festival Blues Du Fleuve and there is definitely some lineage from both acts on this album. Olympic poet Lemn Sissay adds his linguistic gymnastics to the closing 'War' and 'Peace' tracks.

Don't be put off though - if the Mumfords aren't your thing, Maal certainly should be with his intricate guitar work that so often befits African music-makers and Sissay's colourful tongue paints a descriptive picture. He's been actively spreading the word since the late '80s and deserves something more than a cursory mention in the sunday supplements and the monthlies' review pages. The Traveller is by turns a journey and a homecoming that brings sunshine to a musical genre long overdue for a revisit.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


NL

Het elfde album van de Senegalese superster uit de zonovergoten Sahel brengt uiteraard weer verhalen over reizen, maar zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is hij niet alleen bezig met het eindeloos zwerven en met nomadische ervaringen, reiziger Maal wil graag ervaringen en boodschappen delen.

The Traveller gaat van start met opzwepende en uitbundige Fulani-rock, een luide oproep tot hoop op de tonen van Maals elektrische gitaarspel, gecombineerd met 'een boodschap voor het volk'. Ik haat de stemvervorming, maar ik ben een grote fan van de energie en de drukke intensiteit van deze muziek. Gilli Men wordt mooi opgebouwd met elementen uit dub en roept met cyclische ritmes en een beladen atmosfeer de droge gronden en winderige vlaktes op, terwijl het zacht golvende One Day en het exquise Kalaajo meer in de lijn liggen van de expressievere en enigszins kalmerende stijl waarvoor Maal misschien beter bekend is. Op die laatste track doet z'n stijl me denken aan de prachtige Oegandese zanger en muzikant Geoffrey Oryema, in het bijzonder aan zijn Realworld-releases uit de jaren 90.

De thema's hoop, vrede en oorlog ('taal als wapen', zegt Maal) komen opnieuw aan bod in Lampenda, dat door de epische opbouw Mumfordachtig klinkt - Marshall medewerking aan het album kwam er na een ontmoeting met Maal op het jaarlijkse Senegalese muziekfestival Blues Du Fleuve en er is zeker sprake van een kruisbestuiving op dit album. De olympische dichter Lemn Sissay voegt zijn taalkundige kunstjes toe aan de tracks War en Peace.

Laat je niet afschrikken als de Mumfords niet je ding zijn. Luister vooral naar Baaba Maals ingewikkelde gitaarwerk waarmee hij een grote invloed heeft op Afrikaanse muzikanten en naar Sissy's kleurrijke en beschrijvende beeldtaal. Baaba Maal is sinds de jaren 80 actief als verspreider van het woord en hij verdient beter dan een vluchtige vermelding in zondagsupplementen, maandbladen en reviewpagina's. The Traveller is een reis en een thuiskomst die zon brengen in een muzikaal genre dat we te lang hebben verwaarloosd.

Deze review verscheen eerder op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover