tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BAABA MAAL - The Traveller

BAABA MAAL

The Traveller

MusicCD


[65/100]   

Marathon Artists
08/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Album number eleven for the Senegalese superstar of the sun-drenched Sahel naturally brings forth tales of travelling but, as its title suggests, doesn't just concern itself with endless wandering and nomadic experiences - Maal the journeyman has experiences and messages to share and a whole populous to share it with.

The Traveller kicks off with the uplifting and buoyant Fulani Rock, a fist-pumping call for hope that stars Maal's electric fretwork as well as 'a message for the people'. I hate the vocoder vocalising but I'm a big fan of the energy and busy intensity so full marks for lighting the touchpaper early on. Gilli Men builds into something really quite resplendent with elements of dub, cyclical rhythms and charged atmospherics that recall arid lands and windswept plains, while the gently undulating One Day and exquisite Kalaajo continue with the more expressive and somewhat calming approach that Maal is perhaps best known for. His style on the latter reminds me of the splendid Ugandan singer and musician Geoffrey Oryema, in particular his Realworld releases of the '90s.

And so the themes of hope, peace and war ('language as a weapon', says Maal) continue with Lampenda sounding somewhat Mumford-ish in its big epic build-up - Marshall appears on the album after meeting Maal at the annual Senegalese music festival Blues Du Fleuve and there is definitely some lineage from both acts on this album. Olympic poet Lemn Sissay adds his linguistic gymnastics to the closing 'War' and 'Peace' tracks.

Don't be put off though - if the Mumfords aren't your thing, Maal certainly should be with his intricate guitar work that so often befits African music-makers and Sissay's colourful tongue paints a descriptive picture. He's been actively spreading the word since the late '80s and deserves something more than a cursory mention in the sunday supplements and the monthlies' review pages. The Traveller is by turns a journey and a homecoming that brings sunshine to a musical genre long overdue for a revisit.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


NL

Het elfde album van de Senegalese superster uit de zonovergoten Sahel brengt uiteraard weer verhalen over reizen, maar zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is hij niet alleen bezig met het eindeloos zwerven en met nomadische ervaringen, reiziger Maal wil graag ervaringen en boodschappen delen.

The Traveller gaat van start met opzwepende en uitbundige Fulani-rock, een luide oproep tot hoop op de tonen van Maals elektrische gitaarspel, gecombineerd met 'een boodschap voor het volk'. Ik haat de stemvervorming, maar ik ben een grote fan van de energie en de drukke intensiteit van deze muziek. Gilli Men wordt mooi opgebouwd met elementen uit dub en roept met cyclische ritmes en een beladen atmosfeer de droge gronden en winderige vlaktes op, terwijl het zacht golvende One Day en het exquise Kalaajo meer in de lijn liggen van de expressievere en enigszins kalmerende stijl waarvoor Maal misschien beter bekend is. Op die laatste track doet z'n stijl me denken aan de prachtige Oegandese zanger en muzikant Geoffrey Oryema, in het bijzonder aan zijn Realworld-releases uit de jaren 90.

De thema's hoop, vrede en oorlog ('taal als wapen', zegt Maal) komen opnieuw aan bod in Lampenda, dat door de epische opbouw Mumfordachtig klinkt - Marshall medewerking aan het album kwam er na een ontmoeting met Maal op het jaarlijkse Senegalese muziekfestival Blues Du Fleuve en er is zeker sprake van een kruisbestuiving op dit album. De olympische dichter Lemn Sissay voegt zijn taalkundige kunstjes toe aan de tracks War en Peace.

Laat je niet afschrikken als de Mumfords niet je ding zijn. Luister vooral naar Baaba Maals ingewikkelde gitaarwerk waarmee hij een grote invloed heeft op Afrikaanse muzikanten en naar Sissy's kleurrijke en beschrijvende beeldtaal. Baaba Maal is sinds de jaren 80 actief als verspreider van het woord en hij verdient beter dan een vluchtige vermelding in zondagsupplementen, maandbladen en reviewpagina's. The Traveller is een reis en een thuiskomst die zon brengen in een muzikaal genre dat we te lang hebben verwaarloosd.

Deze review verscheen eerder op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)