tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BAABA MAAL - The Traveller

BAABA MAAL

The Traveller

MusicCD


[65/100]   

Marathon Artists
08/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Album number eleven for the Senegalese superstar of the sun-drenched Sahel naturally brings forth tales of travelling but, as its title suggests, doesn't just concern itself with endless wandering and nomadic experiences - Maal the journeyman has experiences and messages to share and a whole populous to share it with.

The Traveller kicks off with the uplifting and buoyant Fulani Rock, a fist-pumping call for hope that stars Maal's electric fretwork as well as 'a message for the people'. I hate the vocoder vocalising but I'm a big fan of the energy and busy intensity so full marks for lighting the touchpaper early on. Gilli Men builds into something really quite resplendent with elements of dub, cyclical rhythms and charged atmospherics that recall arid lands and windswept plains, while the gently undulating One Day and exquisite Kalaajo continue with the more expressive and somewhat calming approach that Maal is perhaps best known for. His style on the latter reminds me of the splendid Ugandan singer and musician Geoffrey Oryema, in particular his Realworld releases of the '90s.

And so the themes of hope, peace and war ('language as a weapon', says Maal) continue with Lampenda sounding somewhat Mumford-ish in its big epic build-up - Marshall appears on the album after meeting Maal at the annual Senegalese music festival Blues Du Fleuve and there is definitely some lineage from both acts on this album. Olympic poet Lemn Sissay adds his linguistic gymnastics to the closing 'War' and 'Peace' tracks.

Don't be put off though - if the Mumfords aren't your thing, Maal certainly should be with his intricate guitar work that so often befits African music-makers and Sissay's colourful tongue paints a descriptive picture. He's been actively spreading the word since the late '80s and deserves something more than a cursory mention in the sunday supplements and the monthlies' review pages. The Traveller is by turns a journey and a homecoming that brings sunshine to a musical genre long overdue for a revisit.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


NL

Het elfde album van de Senegalese superster uit de zonovergoten Sahel brengt uiteraard weer verhalen over reizen, maar zoals de titel al laat vermoeden is hij niet alleen bezig met het eindeloos zwerven en met nomadische ervaringen, reiziger Maal wil graag ervaringen en boodschappen delen.

The Traveller gaat van start met opzwepende en uitbundige Fulani-rock, een luide oproep tot hoop op de tonen van Maals elektrische gitaarspel, gecombineerd met 'een boodschap voor het volk'. Ik haat de stemvervorming, maar ik ben een grote fan van de energie en de drukke intensiteit van deze muziek. Gilli Men wordt mooi opgebouwd met elementen uit dub en roept met cyclische ritmes en een beladen atmosfeer de droge gronden en winderige vlaktes op, terwijl het zacht golvende One Day en het exquise Kalaajo meer in de lijn liggen van de expressievere en enigszins kalmerende stijl waarvoor Maal misschien beter bekend is. Op die laatste track doet z'n stijl me denken aan de prachtige Oegandese zanger en muzikant Geoffrey Oryema, in het bijzonder aan zijn Realworld-releases uit de jaren 90.

De thema's hoop, vrede en oorlog ('taal als wapen', zegt Maal) komen opnieuw aan bod in Lampenda, dat door de epische opbouw Mumfordachtig klinkt - Marshall medewerking aan het album kwam er na een ontmoeting met Maal op het jaarlijkse Senegalese muziekfestival Blues Du Fleuve en er is zeker sprake van een kruisbestuiving op dit album. De olympische dichter Lemn Sissay voegt zijn taalkundige kunstjes toe aan de tracks War en Peace.

Laat je niet afschrikken als de Mumfords niet je ding zijn. Luister vooral naar Baaba Maals ingewikkelde gitaarwerk waarmee hij een grote invloed heeft op Afrikaanse muzikanten en naar Sissy's kleurrijke en beschrijvende beeldtaal. Baaba Maal is sinds de jaren 80 actief als verspreider van het woord en hij verdient beter dan een vluchtige vermelding in zondagsupplementen, maandbladen en reviewpagina's. The Traveller is een reis en een thuiskomst die zon brengen in een muzikaal genre dat we te lang hebben verwaarloosd.

Deze review verscheen eerder op Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)