tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE WEBB - In A Dark Place

THE WEBB

In A Dark Place

MusicCD
ElectronicsGothic

[75/100]   

Gothic World Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Webb is an unknown duo, but after listening to the debut album In A Dark Place, this definitely should change.

It certainly is no coincidence that Marc and Becki have a common love for Siouxsie & The Banshees and Gary Numan. Not only because Becki physically resembles the goth queen a little, but also because of the music which is described by The Webb as goth-electronica-punk space rock. To us, it sounds as a clever combination of electronics and theatrical goth rock.

Marc, who previously was in the punk band Mere Dead Men, is responsible for the electronics, but it is especially the bizarre voice of Becki that stands out (think of Nina Hagen and of course Siouxsie Sioux). Although you hear a lot of electronic sounds, you also recognize lots of batcave influences, especially the name of Skeletal Family springs to mind.

Sometimes it's just nice punk (Social Media), sometimes avant-garde (Kill Someone), sometimes very danceable (Black Window) or simply jet black (In A Dark Place). In A Dark Place is a very varied CD of a duo that dares to do something different. That makes it not only original, it also sounds good!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

The Webb is een nog niet zo bekend duo, maar na het beluisteren van de debuut-cd In A Dark Place, mag daar wat ons betreft verandering in komen. Het is zeker geen toeval dat Marc en Becki een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor Siouxsie & The Banshees en Gary Numan hebben. Niet alleen omdat Becki fysiek een heel klein beetje op de gothkoningin lijkt, ook omdat de muziek (die ze zelf als goth-electronica-punk-spacerock omschrijven) een leuke combinatie is van vreemde elektronica en theatrale gothrock.

Marc, die eerder bij de punkband Mere Dead Men zat, bekommert zich om de elektronische spielerei, maar het is vooral de bizarre stem van Becki die opvalt (denk aan Nina Hagen en natuurlijk aan Siouxsie Sioux).

Ofschoon je heel wat elektronische geluiden hoort, kan je in In A Dark Place sowieso ook batcave herkennen, vooral de naam van Skeletal Family schiet ons te binnen. Soms is het gewoon lekker punky (Social Media), soms wat avant-gardistisch (Kill Someone), dan weer zeer dansbaar (Black Window) of gewoon gitzwart (In A Dark Place).

In A Dark Place is een zeer gevarieerde cd van een duo dat durft. Dat maakt het niet alleen origineel, het klinkt ook goed!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
CARNERA • Strategia Della Tensione

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + GOTHIC
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
• REWIND EASTER festival DAY 1 with Project Pitchfork, Clan Of Xymox, Chameleons Vox,...
DANCE OR DIE • Nostradamnation

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween