tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE WEBB - In A Dark Place

THE WEBB

In A Dark Place

MusicCD
ElectronicsGothic

[75/100]   

Gothic World Records
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Webb is an unknown duo, but after listening to the debut album In A Dark Place, this definitely should change.

It certainly is no coincidence that Marc and Becki have a common love for Siouxsie & The Banshees and Gary Numan. Not only because Becki physically resembles the goth queen a little, but also because of the music which is described by The Webb as goth-electronica-punk space rock. To us, it sounds as a clever combination of electronics and theatrical goth rock.

Marc, who previously was in the punk band Mere Dead Men, is responsible for the electronics, but it is especially the bizarre voice of Becki that stands out (think of Nina Hagen and of course Siouxsie Sioux). Although you hear a lot of electronic sounds, you also recognize lots of batcave influences, especially the name of Skeletal Family springs to mind.

Sometimes it's just nice punk (Social Media), sometimes avant-garde (Kill Someone), sometimes very danceable (Black Window) or simply jet black (In A Dark Place). In A Dark Place is a very varied CD of a duo that dares to do something different. That makes it not only original, it also sounds good!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

The Webb is een nog niet zo bekend duo, maar na het beluisteren van de debuut-cd In A Dark Place, mag daar wat ons betreft verandering in komen. Het is zeker geen toeval dat Marc en Becki een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor Siouxsie & The Banshees en Gary Numan hebben. Niet alleen omdat Becki fysiek een heel klein beetje op de gothkoningin lijkt, ook omdat de muziek (die ze zelf als goth-electronica-punk-spacerock omschrijven) een leuke combinatie is van vreemde elektronica en theatrale gothrock.

Marc, die eerder bij de punkband Mere Dead Men zat, bekommert zich om de elektronische spielerei, maar het is vooral de bizarre stem van Becki die opvalt (denk aan Nina Hagen en natuurlijk aan Siouxsie Sioux).

Ofschoon je heel wat elektronische geluiden hoort, kan je in In A Dark Place sowieso ook batcave herkennen, vooral de naam van Skeletal Family schiet ons te binnen. Soms is het gewoon lekker punky (Social Media), soms wat avant-gardistisch (Kill Someone), dan weer zeer dansbaar (Black Window) of gewoon gitzwart (In A Dark Place).

In A Dark Place is een zeer gevarieerde cd van een duo dat durft. Dat maakt het niet alleen origineel, het klinkt ook goed!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
CARNERA • Strategia Della Tensione

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + GOTHIC
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
• REWIND EASTER festival DAY 1 with Project Pitchfork, Clan Of Xymox, Chameleons Vox,...
DANCE OR DIE • Nostradamnation

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)