tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EUROPEAN GHOST - Pale And Sick

EUROPEAN GHOST

Pale And Sick

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectronicsGothicPost Punk

[81/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

The older I get, the more I associate Italy with dark music. No longer sunny beaches or other clichés come up in my mind when someone mentions Italy. The amount of Italian bands you absolutely have to discover grows day by day. European Ghost is the next one. With the death of Europe coming closer every minute, the band’s name is perfectly chosen. But also musically it feels like a ghost that is touching your shoulder. Pale And Sick is the band’s debut, released on the very fine French Unknown Pleasures Records. Ten songs that make the world (or at least yours) stop for a while.

The CD opens with Trip On Mars which can be best described as mysterious dark pop. It’s the sort of music David Lynch would make if he had been a post-punk fan. Preset is something completely different. The music is dominated by a heavy bass that goes straight through your body. It has nothing to do with the fact that both bands come from Italy, but this track comes close to the superb sound of Ash Code. Post-punk at its best.

European Ghost really makes it difficult for those who like to pigeonhole music, as the title track Pale And Sick is a bizarre combination of EBM and electro punk in the style of Chrome and Suicide. A repetitive sound, and a drum machine that sounds as a drill.

European Ghost has been compared with Clan Of Xymox and once Lost Highway begins (oh, they like David Lynch too!) it’s clear why, as this song has the same dark synth pattern and that sort of atmosphere, a tune which leads you to a place named melancholy.

Also in The Spiral you can hear those typical new wave guitars that made Medusa or Pornography great classics, but again you’re facing a different side of this Italian band. It’s contemporary post-punk with a Factory spirit.

August In Winter is the perfect example that European Ghost doesn’t dwell in the past. The macabre post-punk is as good as say She Past Away. Not that European Ghost sounds like the famous Turkish duo. It’s just that not many people know what European Ghost stands for, so you have to start somewhere, not? Anyway, you could compare the band with hundreds of bands, the only factor that stays the same is that you always have to compare it with other brilliant acts.

Sex In Kepler is another excellent example. The song begins with a deafening drum machine, while in the background you hear an alarming wave guitar by Mario Dada d’Anelli, then comes the bass by Giuseppe Taibi and finally the sombre voice of Cristiano Bionde drops in. Perfect.

Trip In The Night has a perfect title as this is enigmatic arty post-punk. Perhaps this track needs some extra spins before it gets a definite place in your head, but it gets there nonetheless. The final track European Ghost flirts with the early sound of Cabaret Voltaire and Mute.

Pale And Sick is a very diverse album, but always dark! Recommended, absolutely!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from EUROPEAN GHOST
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain