tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EUROPEAN GHOST - Pale And Sick

EUROPEAN GHOST

Pale And Sick

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectronicsGothicPost Punk

[81/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

The older I get, the more I associate Italy with dark music. No longer sunny beaches or other clichés come up in my mind when someone mentions Italy. The amount of Italian bands you absolutely have to discover grows day by day. European Ghost is the next one. With the death of Europe coming closer every minute, the band’s name is perfectly chosen. But also musically it feels like a ghost that is touching your shoulder. Pale And Sick is the band’s debut, released on the very fine French Unknown Pleasures Records. Ten songs that make the world (or at least yours) stop for a while.

The CD opens with Trip On Mars which can be best described as mysterious dark pop. It’s the sort of music David Lynch would make if he had been a post-punk fan. Preset is something completely different. The music is dominated by a heavy bass that goes straight through your body. It has nothing to do with the fact that both bands come from Italy, but this track comes close to the superb sound of Ash Code. Post-punk at its best.

European Ghost really makes it difficult for those who like to pigeonhole music, as the title track Pale And Sick is a bizarre combination of EBM and electro punk in the style of Chrome and Suicide. A repetitive sound, and a drum machine that sounds as a drill.

European Ghost has been compared with Clan Of Xymox and once Lost Highway begins (oh, they like David Lynch too!) it’s clear why, as this song has the same dark synth pattern and that sort of atmosphere, a tune which leads you to a place named melancholy.

Also in The Spiral you can hear those typical new wave guitars that made Medusa or Pornography great classics, but again you’re facing a different side of this Italian band. It’s contemporary post-punk with a Factory spirit.

August In Winter is the perfect example that European Ghost doesn’t dwell in the past. The macabre post-punk is as good as say She Past Away. Not that European Ghost sounds like the famous Turkish duo. It’s just that not many people know what European Ghost stands for, so you have to start somewhere, not? Anyway, you could compare the band with hundreds of bands, the only factor that stays the same is that you always have to compare it with other brilliant acts.

Sex In Kepler is another excellent example. The song begins with a deafening drum machine, while in the background you hear an alarming wave guitar by Mario Dada d’Anelli, then comes the bass by Giuseppe Taibi and finally the sombre voice of Cristiano Bionde drops in. Perfect.

Trip In The Night has a perfect title as this is enigmatic arty post-punk. Perhaps this track needs some extra spins before it gets a definite place in your head, but it gets there nonetheless. The final track European Ghost flirts with the early sound of Cabaret Voltaire and Mute.

Pale And Sick is a very diverse album, but always dark! Recommended, absolutely!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from EUROPEAN GHOST
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh