tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

10/12/2016 : KATE RYAN - Comment Te Dire Adieu

KATE RYAN

Comment Te Dire Adieu

MusicCD single
Pop

[75/100]   

CNR
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In most European countries Kate needs no introduction: the disco queen who is best known for giving a new twist to popular (often French) tracks. Although we have a soft spot for her own written material, the Belgian once again selected a cover. The choice was this time Comment Te Dire Adieu, the famous song that is written by Serge Gainsbourg and made Françoise Hardy a superstar at the end of the 60's.

In 1989, it became a hit again by the adaption of Bronski Beat’s frontman Jimmy Sommerville, and now Kate is trying to do it for a third time (although it is actually the fourth time if you also count the Vera Lynn version).

And yes , Kate knows how to make a pop hit: three minutes and a tune which stays in your head. She did it again. Not by imitating Françoise Hardy, but with her own Euro disco-style, although the beats are a bit lesser now. Conclusion? Pure pop!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

In de meeste Europese landen hoef je Kate Ryan niet meer voor te stellen: de disco queen die vooral bekend is door populaire (vaak Franse) tracks een nieuwe draai te geven. Ofschoon we een boontje hebben voor het eigen geschreven materiaal, kiest de Belgische deze keer opnieuw voor een cover.

De keuze viel op Comment Te Dire Adieu, het door Serge Gainsbourg geschreven lied dat van Françoise Hardy op het einde van de jaren 60 een superster maakte. In 1989 werd het opnieuw een wereldhit door de bewerking van Bronski Beat-frontman Jimmy Sommerville, en Kate probeert dit voor een derde keer te doen (ofschoon het eigenlijk de vierde keer is als je ook de Vera Lynn-versie meetelt).

Tot spijt van wie het benijdt, Kate weet hoe een pophit moet klinken: drie minuten en het moet in je hoofd blijven hangen, en dat doet ze opnieuw. Niet door Françoise Hardy te imiteren, wel door haar eigen Eurodisco-stijl, ofschoon de beats wat achterwege zijn gebleven op deze single.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible