tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL - Split album

EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL

Split album

MusicCD
DroneExperimental

[80/100]   

Wool-E Discs
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Ghent and record labels were always a perfect combination. N.E.W.S., Kinky Star, R&S or (K-RAA-K) 3 are just a few examples. Two labels that need to be added to this list are Consouling Sounds (today the home of everything that’s experimental) and Wool-E Tapes (the label that realized Whispering Sons had a future). 



The two labels like each other a lot, and their love for experimental and underground music obviously will be a very important reason for this. Therefore, the collaboration between the two labels was written in the stars. Every year in July, Ghent hosts “the Gentse Feesten” – The Ghent city festival. For some it’s an excuse for being drunk for ten days, but many music lovers consider it as an opportunity to discover new talent. Some even find a perfect way to combine both. Jokes aside, the two labels always worked together during the Gentse Feesten, and this year is no exception.

This year it’s even more than just selling some records together, as the two labels will release a split-CD with Empusae and Klankdal. This also means the first Wool-E CD ever will be born. Mike of Consouling Sounds asked Nicolas 'Sal Ocin' Van Meirhaege to write a couple of tracks. This wonder boy recently featured on the new Ordo Equilibrio Rosarius album, and we hardly have to introduce him on our pages. 


Labelling Empusae is virtually impossible, as he brings a mix of ritual, dark electro, electro-acoustic, ambient, industrial and neoclassical. Or in other words: wonderful music that sounds delicious. The most notable song is Smell Of Drones; a track with a title like that doesn’t need a lot of explanation. It’s a composition that sounds full of danger, and of course filled with drones, but all composed by a master who most definitely knows what he’s doing. The Woods Have Eyes is probably the most atypical Empusae-song Nicolas ever made. It’s a beauty that makes you cry: a neoclassical composition that comes close to Erik Satie.Reciprocité du Melange (talking about difficult tracks) is the familiar Empusae-sound: it all starts with a quiet guitar, while ominous drones invade the song second by second. It’s truly music that takes you to a deserted place. 



For the Wool-E section, label boss Dimitri opted for Klankdal. A little less known than Empusae, but surely as captivating. Sebastian Crusener and Glenn Dick already released the cassette Nachtkarkassen on his label. It’s a collage of guitar drones and field recordings. It surely is music that forces you to listen to it preferably with headphones on so you can hear all the details, because a lot of noises are invading your eardrums. We even think we heard someone coughing! Experimental it is for sure, but intriguing and yet another good example of how broad-minded the concept of Wool-E Tapes is. Well, Wool-E Discs!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Gent en platenlabels, het klikte altijd met elkaar. N.E.W.S., Kinky Star, R&S of (K-RAA-K)3 zijn maar een paar voorbeelden. Twee labels die in korte tijd bij dit lijstje zijn bijgekomen: Consouling Sounds (tegenwoordig de thuishaven van alles wat experimenteel is) en Wool-E Tapes (het label dat besefte dat er heel wat toekomst in Whispering Sons zat). De twee kunnen het ontzettend goed met elkaar vinden, zonder twijfel zal de liefde voor de muziek daar een zeer belangrijke reden voor zijn, een samenwerking dus die in de sterren stond geschreven.

De Gentse Feesten is voor de ene mens een zuippartij zonder grenzen, voor heel wat muziekliefhebbers een ontdekkingstocht, wat niet wil zeggen dat je de twee niet met elkaar kan combineren. Grapjes terzijde, werkten de twee platenbonzen tijdens deze feestactiviteiten met elkaar samen, en ook dit jaar is dat het geval. Het gaat echter om meer dan louter wat plaatjes verkopen, de twee labels hebben ook beslist om een prestigieuze split-cd uit te brengen waardoor deze release van Empusae en Klankdal meteen ook de allereerste Wool-E-cd is.

Mike van Consouling Sounds vroeg Nicolas ‘Sal Ocin’ Van Meirhaege om een paar tracks te schrijven. Deze wonderjongen schitterde onlangs nog op de nieuwe Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, en op onze pagina’s hoeven we hem nog nauwelijks voor te stellen. Een naam plakken op Empusae is zo goed als onmogelijk. Een mengeling van ritual, dark electro, electro-acoustic, ambient, industrial en neoklassiek. Of gewoon kortweg: wonderbaarlijke muziek die heerlijk klinkt.

De meest opmerkelijke song is Smell Of Drones, een song met zo’n titel hoeft geen uitleg. Een track vol gevaar, en natuurlijk ook vol met drones, maar wel door een grootmeester gecomponeerd. The Woods Have Eyes is waarschijnlijk het meest atypische Empusae-nummer dat Nicolas ooit maakt. Het is schoonheid die je doet huilen, neoklassiek die bijna als Erik Satie klinkt. Reciprocité du Melange (over moeilijke titels gesproken!) is dan weer de vertrouwde Empusae: het begint allemaal met rustige gitaar, terwijl langzaam aan allerlei onheilspellende drones de song binnendringen. Muzikale klanken die je naar een verlaten plek voeren.

Voor het Wool-E gedeelte zocht bezieler Dimitri de kant van Klankdal op. Iets minder bekend dan Empusae, maar daarom niet minder beklijvend. Sebastian Crusener en Glenn Dick brachten reeds eerder Nachtkarkassen op zijn tapelabel uit. De collage van gitaardrones en field recordings is zonder meer luistermuziek, het liefst met de hoofdtelefoon op zodat je alle details kan horen, want er passeren heel wat geluiden de revue. Zelfs, ten minste dat denken we toch, gekuch kan je horen. Experimenteel is het vast en zeker, maar vooral intrigerend en alweer een mooi bewijs van hoe ruimdenkend het concept van Wool-E Tapes (nou ja, Wool-E Discs) wel is.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy
TRACY HOWE (RATIONAL YOUTH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
PALE THORNS • Somberland
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
NIMON • Fear of Change
GRØN • Indland
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
MONNIK • Vondeling

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness