tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL - Split album

EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL

Split album

MusicCD
DroneExperimental

[80/100]   

Wool-E Discs
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Ghent and record labels were always a perfect combination. N.E.W.S., Kinky Star, R&S or (K-RAA-K) 3 are just a few examples. Two labels that need to be added to this list are Consouling Sounds (today the home of everything that’s experimental) and Wool-E Tapes (the label that realized Whispering Sons had a future). 



The two labels like each other a lot, and their love for experimental and underground music obviously will be a very important reason for this. Therefore, the collaboration between the two labels was written in the stars. Every year in July, Ghent hosts “the Gentse Feesten” – The Ghent city festival. For some it’s an excuse for being drunk for ten days, but many music lovers consider it as an opportunity to discover new talent. Some even find a perfect way to combine both. Jokes aside, the two labels always worked together during the Gentse Feesten, and this year is no exception.

This year it’s even more than just selling some records together, as the two labels will release a split-CD with Empusae and Klankdal. This also means the first Wool-E CD ever will be born. Mike of Consouling Sounds asked Nicolas 'Sal Ocin' Van Meirhaege to write a couple of tracks. This wonder boy recently featured on the new Ordo Equilibrio Rosarius album, and we hardly have to introduce him on our pages. 


Labelling Empusae is virtually impossible, as he brings a mix of ritual, dark electro, electro-acoustic, ambient, industrial and neoclassical. Or in other words: wonderful music that sounds delicious. The most notable song is Smell Of Drones; a track with a title like that doesn’t need a lot of explanation. It’s a composition that sounds full of danger, and of course filled with drones, but all composed by a master who most definitely knows what he’s doing. The Woods Have Eyes is probably the most atypical Empusae-song Nicolas ever made. It’s a beauty that makes you cry: a neoclassical composition that comes close to Erik Satie.Reciprocité du Melange (talking about difficult tracks) is the familiar Empusae-sound: it all starts with a quiet guitar, while ominous drones invade the song second by second. It’s truly music that takes you to a deserted place. 



For the Wool-E section, label boss Dimitri opted for Klankdal. A little less known than Empusae, but surely as captivating. Sebastian Crusener and Glenn Dick already released the cassette Nachtkarkassen on his label. It’s a collage of guitar drones and field recordings. It surely is music that forces you to listen to it preferably with headphones on so you can hear all the details, because a lot of noises are invading your eardrums. We even think we heard someone coughing! Experimental it is for sure, but intriguing and yet another good example of how broad-minded the concept of Wool-E Tapes is. Well, Wool-E Discs!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Gent en platenlabels, het klikte altijd met elkaar. N.E.W.S., Kinky Star, R&S of (K-RAA-K)3 zijn maar een paar voorbeelden. Twee labels die in korte tijd bij dit lijstje zijn bijgekomen: Consouling Sounds (tegenwoordig de thuishaven van alles wat experimenteel is) en Wool-E Tapes (het label dat besefte dat er heel wat toekomst in Whispering Sons zat). De twee kunnen het ontzettend goed met elkaar vinden, zonder twijfel zal de liefde voor de muziek daar een zeer belangrijke reden voor zijn, een samenwerking dus die in de sterren stond geschreven.

De Gentse Feesten is voor de ene mens een zuippartij zonder grenzen, voor heel wat muziekliefhebbers een ontdekkingstocht, wat niet wil zeggen dat je de twee niet met elkaar kan combineren. Grapjes terzijde, werkten de twee platenbonzen tijdens deze feestactiviteiten met elkaar samen, en ook dit jaar is dat het geval. Het gaat echter om meer dan louter wat plaatjes verkopen, de twee labels hebben ook beslist om een prestigieuze split-cd uit te brengen waardoor deze release van Empusae en Klankdal meteen ook de allereerste Wool-E-cd is.

Mike van Consouling Sounds vroeg Nicolas ‘Sal Ocin’ Van Meirhaege om een paar tracks te schrijven. Deze wonderjongen schitterde onlangs nog op de nieuwe Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, en op onze pagina’s hoeven we hem nog nauwelijks voor te stellen. Een naam plakken op Empusae is zo goed als onmogelijk. Een mengeling van ritual, dark electro, electro-acoustic, ambient, industrial en neoklassiek. Of gewoon kortweg: wonderbaarlijke muziek die heerlijk klinkt.

De meest opmerkelijke song is Smell Of Drones, een song met zo’n titel hoeft geen uitleg. Een track vol gevaar, en natuurlijk ook vol met drones, maar wel door een grootmeester gecomponeerd. The Woods Have Eyes is waarschijnlijk het meest atypische Empusae-nummer dat Nicolas ooit maakt. Het is schoonheid die je doet huilen, neoklassiek die bijna als Erik Satie klinkt. Reciprocité du Melange (over moeilijke titels gesproken!) is dan weer de vertrouwde Empusae: het begint allemaal met rustige gitaar, terwijl langzaam aan allerlei onheilspellende drones de song binnendringen. Muzikale klanken die je naar een verlaten plek voeren.

Voor het Wool-E gedeelte zocht bezieler Dimitri de kant van Klankdal op. Iets minder bekend dan Empusae, maar daarom niet minder beklijvend. Sebastian Crusener en Glenn Dick brachten reeds eerder Nachtkarkassen op zijn tapelabel uit. De collage van gitaardrones en field recordings is zonder meer luistermuziek, het liefst met de hoofdtelefoon op zodat je alle details kan horen, want er passeren heel wat geluiden de revue. Zelfs, ten minste dat denken we toch, gekuch kan je horen. Experimenteel is het vast en zeker, maar vooral intrigerend en alweer een mooi bewijs van hoe ruimdenkend het concept van Wool-E Tapes (nou ja, Wool-E Discs) wel is.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy
TRACY HOWE (RATIONAL YOUTH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
PALE THORNS • Somberland
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
NIMON • Fear of Change
GRØN • Indland
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
MONNIK • Vondeling

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
43 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks