tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/07/2015 : MICHAEL IDEHALL - Deep Code Sol

MICHAEL IDEHALL

Deep Code Sol

MusicCD
AbstractDroneExperimentalNoiseRhythmic Industrial

[70/100]   

Ant-Zen
22/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Swedish centipede Michael Idehall is a composer, sound artist, painter, writer and he worked for radio and theater. He recorded and released some EPs and three albums, including the album The House of Flames (2015) on the American label The Ajna Offensive. We listened to Deep Code Sol, the album that was released in 2014 on the Ant-Zen label. It contains 18 (!) tracks.

Michael Idehall makes noise and dark Industrial, though we should add that his repetitive compositions often sound quite good and that they are more accessible than you think at first hearing. Tusked sounds very noisy and hectic, with deep growling drones, abrasive synths and electro noise, while the machine-like drones in Omphalos are accompanied by a deep and nether voice à la Rammstein. Slow Spiral initially sounds very different, with buzzing synths, dark electro beats and the same ghostly voice in the background, over time supplemented by humming drones that create a dreamy and otherworldly atmosphere. Lucifer continues at the same pace, but it is quieter, and the buzzing synths and drones, in combination with metallic percussion, sound like an invitation for a cozy chat with the devil.

Beast Mask gets whistling drones and what appear to be humming voices, with occasionally some noise underneath, repetitive and undefined, while in Feline the voice sounds like Peter Hammill's, but Idehall rather prefers monotony and does not use guitars or drums. Noisy drones take the lead in Spider Woman, in which the metallic and slightly distorted male voice declaims the vocals: the soundtrack for a bizarre science fiction movie. We are halfway through when Tusked reappears, a wild carousel of buzzing synths, drones and electro noise with the vocals as an echo in the background. Horsemen begins with the cautious sound of distorted strings and noise, and then floats upon merely repetitive noise that sounds like the gallop of rusty metal horses through an apocalyptic landscape, with an equally rusty voice in the background. Perhaps the best track so far. In The Language of the Birds, the minimalist and repetitive electronic sound suggests the flight of a flock of feathered beasts and an almost normal sounding voice tells the story. Halfway, sucking synths and dark industrial drones break through the background, but a noisy finale remains off. With a running time of over 10 minutes this it is the longest track on the album.

Lakwa begins with what sounds like a distored choir, but then evolves into a nervous track due to the hectic and repetitive vocals and the sucking effect of the synths. Sneak Messiah is a similar track to the tune of other repetitive sounds, while Serpent Wand sounds like a voodoo spell, with lots of echo on the voice, popping synths and quiet growling drones. Meanwhile, the initial high pace of the album has completely gone. Roots is again louder, with emphatic dark drones and noise, while Seantronique Solar and Wind are Peter Hammill clones. Vril-ja gets pounding percussion and aha-vocals. It is a track that conjures images of Buddhist monks in a monastery in the Himalayas. The final track Zann Window is an invitation for a trip above the clouds: the layered synths are humming softly and they call for introspection and wonder.

Not a bad album, but there are some unnecessary reps between the 18 tracks and the second half is much less strong. Musically the approach is original, but we have serious doubts about the Rammstein-like and Peter Hammill-like vocals.

Tracklisting:
1. Tusked
2. Omphalos
3. Slow Spiralo
4. Lucifer
5. Beast Mask
6. Feline
7. Spider Woman
8. Tusked
9. Horsemen
0. Language of the Birds
1. Lakwa
2. Sneak Messiah
3. Serpent Wand
4. Roots
5. Seantronique Solar
6. Wind
7. Vril-ja
8. Zann Window

https://mailorder.ant-zen.com/product/id/2624

William LIÉNARD
22/07/2015


NL

De Zweedse duizendpoot Michael Idehall heeft al een indrukwekkend parcours afgelegd. Hij is componist, geluidsartiest, schilder, schrijver en hij maakte onder andere werk voor radio en theater. Hij heeft een drietal album opgenomen en uitgebracht, waaronder het uit januari 2015 daterende The House of Flames op het Amerikaanse label The Ajna Offensive. Wij luisterden naar Deep Code Sol, het album in 2014 is uitbracht op het label Ant-Zen. Het bevat 18 (!) tracks.

Michael Idehall maakt noise en donkere Industrial, al moeten we daaraan toevoegen dat z’n repetitieve composities desondanks vaak vrij goed in het oor liggen en toegankelijker zijn dan je op het eerste gehoor verwacht. Tusked klinkt bijv. heel erg noisy en hectisch, met diep brommende drones, schurende synths en elektronoise, terwijl de machineachtige drones in Omphalos het gezelschap krijgen van een diepe en ondermaanse stem à la Rammstein. Slow Spiral klinkt aanvankelijk heel anders, met zoemende synths, donkere elektrobeats en dezelfde spookachtige stem in de achtergrond, na verloop van tijd aangevuld met brommende drones, waarmee een dromerige en onaardse sfeer wordt gecreëerd. Lucifer gaat op hetzelfde tempo voort, maar het is rustiger, waarbij de zoemende synths en de brommende drones in combinatie met metaalachtige percussie, je vergasten op een gezellig onderonsje met de duivel.

Beast Mask krijgt fluitende drones en wat lijkt op zoemende stemmen met af en toe een streepje noise onderaan, repetitief en ongedefinieerd, terwijl we Feline qua stemgeluid eerder in de buurt van Peter Hammill situeren, met dit verschil dat Idehall voor monotonie kiest en geen gebruik maakt van gitaren en drums. Noisy drones nemen het voortouw in Spiderwoman, waarin de metaalachtige en lichtjes distorted mannenstem de vocals voor z’n rekening neemt. De soundtrack voor een bizarre sciencefictionfilm. We zijn halfweg als Tusked opnieuw de kop opsteekt, een wilde carrousel van zoemende synths, drones en eleckronoise, met de vocalen deze keer in de echo op de achtergrond. Horsemen begint met het voorzichtige geluid van distorted snaarinstrumenten en noise, dobbert voort op alleen maar repetitieve noise die klinkt als het galop van roestige metalen paarden door een apocalyptisch landschap, met op de achtergrond een al even verroeste stem. Misschien wel de beste track tot nog toe. In Language of the Birds suggereert het minimalistische en repetitieve elektronisch geluid het opvliegen van een zwerm gevederde beesten en vertelt een bijna normaal klinkende stem het verhaal. Halfweg breken af en toe zuigende synths en donkere industrial drones door de achtergrond, maar een noisy finale blijft uit. Met een speelduur van ruim 10 minuten is dit de langste track op het album.

Lakwa begint met wat lijkt op distored koorgeluiden, maar evolueert vervolgens tot een zenuwachtige track met jachtige en repetitieve vocalen en het zuigende effect van synths. Sneak Messiah is een gelijksoortige track op de tonen van weer andere repetitieve geluiden, terwijl Serpent Wand klinkt als een voodoo-bezwering, met veel echo op de stem, ploffende synths en rustig grommende drones, waarbij het opvalt dat het aanvankelijke hoge tempo ondertussen helemaal is verdwenen. Roots klinkt opnieuw luider, met nadrukkelijke donkere drones en noise, Seantronique en Solar Wind hebben opnieuw een hoog Peter Hammill-gehalte. Vril-ja krijgt hakkende percussie en aha-vocalen, een track die beelden oproept van boeddhistische monniken in een hoog klooster in de Himalaya, terwijl Zann Window je vervolgens meeneemt voor een uitstapje boven de wolken: de gelaagde synths zoemen zachtjes en manen tot introspectie en verwondering.

Geen slecht album, maar er zitten nogal wat overbodige herhalingen tussen de 18 tracks en de tweede helft is duidelijk minder sterk. Muzikaal is er sprake van een originele aanpak, over de vocale bijdragen à la Rammstein en Peter Hammill hebben we serieuze twijfels.

William LIÉNARD
22/07/2015


 

Next reviews
TORBEN SCHMIDT (INFACTED RECORDS, SUICIDE COMMANDO, LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LAST DAYS OF APRIL • Sea Of Clouds
FRED ABBOTT • Serious Poke
AUTOPSIE D’UNE OMBRE • “Premier EP Éponyme”
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
EYES OF A BLUE DOG • Eyes Of A Blue Dog
JORGE (C-LEKKTOR & DISTURBED FICTION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOHN LANDIS • Into the Night
ROLANDO SIMMONS • Magical Crystal
SOME KIND OF ILLNESS • Some Kind Of Illness

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis
INCITE • Light Spin

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song