tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ONEIROGEN - Convivium

ONEIROGEN

Convivium

MusicCD
AmbientDroneElectronicsNoise

[75/100]   

Denovali Records
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

In September 2015, we presented the EP Plenitude of the American band Oneirogen (the solo project of Mario Diaz de Leon) on the Peek-A-Boo site. Meanwhile, a full album is released on Denovali. It includes seven brand new compositions.

Convivium is Mario Diaz de Leon's third album as Oneirogen, but as a musical centipede, he has a lot of other projects: earlier this year he wrote a modern classical composition, commissioned by the LA Philharmonic Orchestra, and nowadays he is the frontman of the newly established death metal band Lumious Vault. But Oneirogen is clearly the most personal side of his work. It is just me producing everything, and of course I perform it alone as well, he says about the new album, each album is a kind of personal trial or rite of passage. As someone who also works in the classical tradition, I think of them as my symphonies. It is a project where I am open to all my influences, and I am entering into mystery and the unknown, battling to carve essences out of formlessness.

For Convivium, Oneirogen again comes up with an impressive array of instruments, ranging from synthesizers and percussion to deranged vocals and noise, and he builds a selection of loud electronic compositions in which dark drones, melodic synths, heavy percussion and sporadic noise are melted together in an interesting way. Opener Siege contains all the elements that were previously available on the EP Plenitude, but we cannot escape the impression that Oneirogen has shifted toward more melodic compositions, despite the throbbing drones, the machinegun-like percussion and the sporadic flurries of crackling noise. Sacrum start quietly, with gentle synths and short outbursts of abrasive noise, while the track retains a certain melodic quality as the drones and the twittering synths hurtle through the soundscape and aggressive voices resound in the background. Later, Sacrum is complemented with atmospheric elements, dark synths, whip-like percussion, death march-like drones and an emphatic pace: an 8 minute long, dark, sometimes metal-like electro track that never bores.

Rapture begins with layered synths, lively and nervous, short trumpet-like synth shocks in-between, later supported by quiet, but jet black drones, languid percussion and again trumpet-like synths, which pave the way for a provisional crescendo. Halfway, noise that sounds like a firefight is added, with distorted vocals that are barely recognizable as human voices. Again, a fairly melodic track with a fairly normal structure, quiet in tone for a while, with more noise and distortion at the end. Title track Convivium gets silent drones and oriental bells, barely audible synths, short flurries of various types of noise that sound like a violent encounter, an earthquake, a nuclear explosion even, and then bells again and another kind of noise: the soundtrack for a movie without images... With its sucking drones, fierce drums, abrasive synths and hysterical vocals, Engulfment is the most industrial track of the album, in which no space is left for silence or interruptions, nor for melody: a surly electro track for lovers of the harder work.

Cordium ties in with the start of the album: an atmospheric soundscape in which a battery of good sounding synths takes the lead against a sometimes dark and noisy background. The melody returns, the reverberating percussion makes a lot of noise, vocal lines that give the track a searing and dangerous feeling are added, with noisy synths and drones in their wake. With a babbling brook and breezy synths, followed by silence, loud running water and a small waterfall, thus begins Hero, quiet and repetitive, melodic and harmless, slightly more emphatic afterwards, but minimalist and atmospheric to the end: an almost religious parting with organ like synths and silence.

Lots of noise, a lot of fuss, but also a lot of melodic fragments and a surprisingly quiet final as a nod to Mario Diaz de Leon's neoclassical work. Not for everyone, but fans will appreciate this album.

Tracklist:
1 Siege
2 Sacrum
3 Rapture
4 Convivium
5 engulfment
6 Cordium
7 Hero

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

In September 2015 stelden we u op Peek-A-Boo de recente ep Plenitude van de Amerikaanse band Oneirogen (het soloproject van Mario Diaz de Leon) voor, en ondertussen is het aangekondigde full album gereleaset door Denovali. Het bevat 7 gloednieuwe composities.

Convivium is Mario Diaz de Leons derde album onder z’n pseudoniem Oneirogen. Maar als muzikale duizendpoot heeft hij nog andere projecten: eerder dit jaar schreef hij een modern-klassieke compositie in opdracht van het LA Philharmonic Orchestra en sinds kort is hij de frontman van de onlangs opgerichte deathmetalband Lumious Vault. Hij beschouwt Oneirogen evenwel als de meest persoonlijke kant van zijn werk. Ik produce en speel alles zelf, zegt hij over het nieuwe album, het is telkens een soort van persoonlijke proef of initiatieritueel. Als iemand die ook met de klassieke traditie bezig is, zie ik mijn albums als mijn symfonieën. Het is een project waarbij ik opensta voor al mijn invloeden; ik geef me over aan het mysterieuze en het onbekende, vechtend om de essentie uit de vormeloosheid te hakken.

Voor Convivium brengt Oneirogen opnieuw een indrukwekkend instrumentarium in positie, gaande van synthesizers en percussie tot gestoorde vocalen en noise, waarmee hij opnieuw een selectie luide elektronische composities bouwt waarin donkere drones, melodieuze synths, heftige percussie en sporadische noise op een interessante manier samensmelten. Opener Siege bevat alle elementen die ook op Plenitude aan bod kwamen, maar we kunnen ons niet van de indruk ontdoen dat Oneirogen opgeschoven is in de richting van meer melodieuze compositie, ondanks de ronkende drones, de machinegeweer-achtige percussie en de regelmatige vlagen van knetterende noise. Sacrum begin rustig, met lieflijke synths en korte vlagen van schurende noise, terwijl de track ook een zekere melodieuze kwaliteit behoudt als de drones en de kwetterende synths door het soundscape donderen en op de achtergrond agressief stemgeluid weerklinkt. Later wordt Sacrum aangevuld met atmosferische elementen, donkere synths, zweepachtige percussie, dodenmars-achtige drones en een nadrukkelijke tempo: met zijn 8 minuten een dijk van een donkere, soms metal-achtige electrotrack die geen moment verveelt.

Rupture begint met gelaagde synths, zoemend en zenuwachtig, korte trompetachtige stoten tussendoor, later gesteund door rustige maar gitzwarte drones, doffe percussie en opnieuw trompetachtige synths die de track naar een voorlopig crescendo voeren. Halverwege wordt noise toegevoegd die klinkt als een vuurgevecht, en distorted vocalen die nog nauwelijks als menselijke stemmen herkenbaar zijn. Opnieuw een redelijk melodieuze track met een vrij normale structuur, lange tijd rustig van toon met alleen tegen het einde meer noise en distortie. Titeltrack Convivium krijgt stille drones en oosterse belletjes, nauwelijks hoorbare synths tussendoor, korte vlagen van verschillende soorten noise die opnieuw klinkt als een gewelddadig treffen, een aardbeving, een atoomontploffing zelfs, en dan opnieuw de belletjes en andere noise: de soundtrack voor een film zonder beelden… Met zijn zuigende drones, heftig slagwerk, schurende synths en hysterische vocalen, is Engulfment de meest industriële track van het album, waarin geen ruimte is voor stilte of onderbrekingen, maar waarin ook nauwelijks ruimte is voor melodie: een stugge electrotrack voor de liefhebbers van het hardere werk.

Cordium sluit opnieuw aan bij het begin van het album: een atmosferisch soundscape waarin een batterij van goed klinkende synths het voortouw neemt tegen een soms donkere en soms noisy achtergrond. De melodie keert terug, de galmende percussie legt mooie maar spaarzame accenten, vocalen worden naderhand toegevoegd en geven de track een iets hitsigere en gevaarlijke feel, met in hun kielzog lawaaierige drones en synths ter afsluiting. Een kabbelend beekje en winderige synths gevolgd door stilte en luider stromend water als van een kleine waterval, zo begint en evolueert Held, rustig en repetitief, melodisch en ongevaarlijk, ietsjes nadrukkelijker nadien, maar minimalistisch en atmosferisch tot op het einde: een bijna religieus afscheid met orgelachtige synths en stilte.

Veel lawaai, veel herrie, maar ook redelijk wat melodieuze fragmenten en een verrassend rustige finale als een knipoog naar Mario Diaz de Leons neoklassieke werk. Niet geschikt voor iedereen, maar de fans zullen het beslist op prijs stellen.

Tracklist:
1 Siege
2 Sacrum
3 Rapture
4 Convivium
5 engulfment
6 Cordium
7 Hero

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ONEIROGEN - Convivium 10/12/2016 : ONEIROGEN - Convivium 10/12/2016 : ONEIROGEN - Convivium 10/12/2016 : ONEIROGEN - Convivium

 

Next reviews
SAHONA • SAHONA
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
NOIR • The Burning Bridge EP
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)

 

Other reviews from ONEIROGEN
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + ELECTRONICS + NOISE
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
EKCA LIENA • Graduals

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation