tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

30/09/2015 : ONEIROGEN - Plenitude

ONEIROGEN

Plenitude

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientDroneElectronicsNoise

[70/100]   

Denovali Records
30/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Oneirogen (o-NI-ro-jen) is the solo project of Mario Diaz de Leon, who previously attracted attention with Hypnos (2012) and with the follow-up album Kiasma (2013), in which the doom/black metal elements of the debut were reinforced. Pending a new Oneirogen full album, Denovali has released an EP with five compositions (22 min).

For Oneirogen it need not always sound loud and the best compositions on this album are perhaps those in which space is left for silence. Oxygen is a good example. You hear short drone punches, small noise, with silence and quietness in between. A too short track to our liking. Collapsing already sounds a bit bolder, but again there is space for silence between the popping drones. As a result, the soundscape is not clogged as is the case in the works of many of his colleagues. For the first time in his career, Oneirogen adds vocals to the tracks and that is perhaps not a good choice, because he opts for a doom metal approach with a loud and screaming voice. Apart from that, this is also an attractive track.

Vessel is a dark and hectic track in which the drones get competition from the electronic noise, and as a result of the collage-style approach of the track, there is little harmony in the composition. Title track Plenitude is little more than one long monotonous drone. Maybe there is a very ingenious and complicated philosophy behind the concept but we haven’t found it. The drone sound like gas as it flows through a metal pipe at a high speed, with soft voices in between. Emergence is again a real composition - if that word can be used in that sense in this genre[WL1] – with trembling and dark percussion drones and organ-like synths on the background, which create an ambient atmosphere (and carefully go crescendo). Again a favorite.

It's not easy to be original in this genre, but Oneirogen manages to sound different. That's a good omen for the forthcoming full album.

Oneirogen plays in Magasin 4 in Brussels on October 1, 2015.

Tracklist:
1 Oxygen
2 Collapsing
3 Vessel
4 Plenitude
5 Emergence

www.denovali.com/oneirogen
www.oneirogen.com

William LIÉNARD
30/09/2015


NL

Oneirogen (o-NI-ro-jen) is het eenmansproject van Mario Diaz de Leon, die eerder de aandacht trok met Hypnos (2012) en de opvolger Kiasma (2013), waarop hij de doom-/blackmetal-elementen uit z’n debuut nog sterker op de voorgrond liet treden. In afwachting van een nieuw full album, heeft Denovali alvast een ep gereleaset met 5 composities (22 min).

Voor Oneirogen hoeft het niet altijd loeiend hard te klinken en z’n beste composities zijn wellicht die waarin ook ruimte is voor stilte. Oxygen is een goed voorbeeld. Je hoort korte drone-stoten, maar voor de rest alleen maar ruis. Wat er tussen zit is leegte, rust. Een te korte track naar onze smaak. Collapsing klinkt al een flink stuk brutaler, maar ook in deze track is er tussen de ploffende drones ruimte voort stilte, waardoor het soundscape niet dicht spoelt zoals dat het geval is in het werk van velen van zijn collega’s. Voor het eerst voegt Oneirogen ook vocalen toe en dat is misschien niet echt een goede keuze, want hij kiest meteen voor een doommetal-aanpak, d.w.z. niet voor gesproken of gezongen, maar voor luide en geschreeuwde vocalen. Afgezien van die keuze, is ook dit een aantrekkelijke track.

Vessel is een donkere en jachtige track waarin de drones concurrentie krijgen van flink wat elektronische noise, en als gevolg van de collage-achtige aanpak van de track, is er niet meteen sprake van harmonie. Ook in deze track stopt Oneirogen een flinke portie schreeuwerige vocalen. Titeltrack Plenitude is nauwelijks meer dan één lange monotone drone. Misschien zit er een hele vernuftige en ingewikkelde filosofie achter het concept, maar dat is ons dan niet opgevallen. De drone klinkt als gas dat tegen hoge snelheid door een metalen leiding wordt gejaagd, met tussendoor zachte stemmen. Emergence is opnieuw een echte compositie – in zoverre je in dit genre het woord in die betekenis kan gebruiken - met trillende en donkere slagwerkdrones en orgelachtige synths op de achtergrond, die een ambiente sfeer creëren (en voorzichtig crescendo gaan). Opnieuw een favoriet.

Het is niet gemakkelijk om in dit genre (nog) op een originele manier uit de hoek te komen, maar daarin slaagt Oneirogen voorlopig (nog) wel. Dat voorspelt veel goeds voor het aangekondigde full album.

Oneirogen speelt op 1 oktober in Magasin 4 in Brussel.

William LIÉNARD
30/09/2015


 

Next reviews
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from ONEIROGEN
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + ELECTRONICS + NOISE
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
EKCA LIENA • Graduals

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain