tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Underground Wave 7”s

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Underground Wave 7”s

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Walhalla Records
29/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Walhalla Records in Antwerp has released a brand new compilation of new wave and synth-pop gems. Some names will sound familiar to Belgian readers, but the collection also includes rare cult singles from the early eighties that only were released on 7". The album contains 14 songs and is one long nostalgic ride through the new wave and synth-pop universe.

Claustrophobian (7", 1981) by Tipical Me brings you in the right mood with solid drumming and bell-like guitars over which a sultry voice is spread. The first few seconds sound frightening, but apart from a distorted voice, this is a brave and eloquent track. Recalling You (7", 1983) by Solid State sounds a lot more dangerous. It is a quite oversized electro track that we would like to call a classic in the genre because the composition sounds like vintage new wave. The Riot by Vanlukas sounds more commercial. It is a pure synth-pop track with an arsenal of beautiful synths, a tight rhythm and enticing vocals. Not bad at all! Fast Poker (7", 1982) by Karman is a very catchy tune that we couldn’t get out of our head for the rest of the day! The difference could not be bigger, because Karman uses electro and synthetic voices too, but it sounds completely different, with a magnificent canvas of shimmering electro tones and chunky drums over which the French vocals are spread without much fuss, but in a perfect way. It is a perfect track.

Number One (7", 1982) by Silent Corner can also tempt us with its careful and never intrusive electro sound, the shrill guitars and the fragile saxophone sound on top of the attractive and the quietly murmuring voice of one of the two female singers, with beautiful and layered percussion, also in the instrumental interlude. Very nice. Kidnapping (7", 1982) is technically nothing less than a tour de force, with a very diverse and layered sound pattern of buzzing, humming and whistling synths, noisy saxophones, and the feline vocals of Bene Gesserit on top. Synth-pop, yes, but the weird yet interesting kind! L'Europe (1982) by Kloot Per W goes back to the basics. Eliminate the synths from the tune and what’s left is probably a typical French pop song. Mind you, it sounds great, but the composition doesn’t provide musical surprises, because in terms of composition, this is a rather conventional pop tune.

Tipical Me returns once more on side B of the LP. Pope No Hope (7", 1982) sounds excellent with a basis of intense percussion and stunning synths, rumbling noise and beautiful harmonies. We forget the naïve text and mark this track as an excellent synth-pop composition with a full and convincing sound. Very nice. And Friends are Friends (7", 1984) by Rive Gauche, has lost none of its original momentum, not even after all this time! What a wonderful voice that woman has! Viktor Hublot's J'ai perdu mon Oiseau is an outsider that we categorize as electro-punk, a violent track with dominating vocals, in which the honky-tonk electro synths stand their ground. We spontaneously think of Plastic Bertrand, but Viktor Hublot is rougher and his soundscape is undoubtedly unique. The Break of Day by Kaa Antilope lacks the playfulness of most synth and electro compositions in this collection and creates a very special, almost romantic atmosphere with bongo-like percussion, humming electro synths and striking saxophone sounds. Fragile and wonderful. A favorite.

The trio that closes the compilation is only indirectly with the rest of the material, except Esther (by Triangles) , that leans very much against a band like The Cure and already announces a new period. Football Knees (lp Air Castles, 1982) by Ton Lebbink is the only English track in this compilation. Very different, very Dutch, very Henny Vrienten-like at times! With a text that reminds us of the recently deceased Drs. P. Beautiful. I'm a Swinger (1979) by The Marina Swingers is an equally odd composition with the advanced vocals, the musical atmosphere and the theatrical approach of a band like The Residents. Esther (7 ", 1985) by Triangles already announces a new period in the new wave music and points in the direction of mainstream rock music.

14 tracks and not a single miss. A valuable historical document which certainly evokes nostalgic feelings, because it was over too soon, or because we were too young to be part of it. Final conclusion: an outstanding release.

Track list:
1 Tipical Me - Claustrofobian
2 Solid State - Recalling You
3 Vanlukas - The Riot
4 Karman - Poker
5 Silent Corner - Number One
6 Bene Gesserit - Kidnapping
7 Kloot Per W - L'Europe

1 Tipical Me - Pope No Hope
2 Rive Gauche - Friends Are Friends
3 Vitor Hublot - J'ai Perdu Mon Oiseau
4 Kaa Antilope - The Break Of Day
5 Ton Lebbink - Voetbalknieën
6 The Marina Swingers - I'm A Swinger
7 Triangles – Esther

William LIÉNARD
29/09/2015


NL

Op Walhalla Records (Antwerpen) is een gloednieuwe compilatie van new wave- en synthpoppareltjes verschenen. Sommige namen zullen u bekend in de oren klinken, maar de collectie bevat ook zeldzame cultsingles die ergens in het begin van de jaren tachtig alleen op 7” zijn uitgebracht. Het album bevat 14 songs en het is één lange nostalgische rit door het new wave- en synthpopuniversum.

Claustrophobian (7”, 1981) van Tipical Me bijt de spits af en brengt u meteen in de sfeer met stevig drumwerk en belachtig gitaren waarover een zwoele stem wordt uitgesmeerd. De eerste seconden klinken vervaarlijk, maar op een distorted stem na, is dit een brave en welluidende track. Recalling You (7”, 1983) van Solid State klinkt een stuk gevaarlijker en is een flink uit de kluiten gewassen electrotrack die we bijna de vermelding classic zouden willen toekennen, want de compositie klinkt als vintage new wave. The Riot van Vanlukas klinkt een stuk commerciëler en is en electrotrack die we definitief in de synthpophoek situeren. Moeilijk om slechte vinden met het arsenaal van prachtige synths die door de luidsprekers gestuurd worden, het strakke ritme en de verleidelijke vocale lijnen. Snel naar Poker (7”, 1982) van Karman vooraleer we de aanstekelijke melodie niet meer uit ons hoofd krijgen voor de rest van de dag! Het verschil kon niet groter zijn, want ook Karman grossiert in elektro en synthetische stemmetjes, maar het klinkt totaal anders, met een prachtig canvas van flikkerende elektrotonen en bonkig slagwerk waarover de Franstalige vocalen zonder veel poeha, maar op een perfecte manier zijn uitgesmeerd. Perfecte track, zonder meer.

Number One (7”, 1982) van Silent Corner kan ons eveneens bekoren met het zorgvuldig en nooit opdringerig elektrogeluid, de soms snerpende gitaren, het kleine streepje saxofoon en bovenop de aantrekkelijke en rustig voortkabbelende stem van één van de beide Hildes. Prachtig en gelaagd slagwerk, ook in het instrumentaal intermezzo. Heel erg mooi. Kidnapping (7”, 1982) is technisch niet minder dan een tour de force met een zeer divers en gelaagd geluidspatroon van zoemende, brommende en fluitende synths, noisy saxofoongeluid, herrie alom en bovenop de katachtige vocalen van Bene Gesserit. Synthpop, jawel, maar van het weirde en toch interessante soort! In L’Europe (1982) keert Kloot Per W terug naar de basics. Denk de synths weg en je houdt een doorsnee Frans popdeuntje over. Let wel, het klinkt uitstekend, maar de compositie biedt geen muzikale verrassingen, want qua compositie is dit eerder een zeer conventionele popsong.

Tipical Me mag ook de spits afbijten op kant B van deze lp. Pope No Hope (7”, 1982) klinkt uitstekend met een basis van heftig slagwerk en bloedmooie synths, galmende noise en prachtige harmonieën. We vergeten even de naïeve tekst en brandmerken deze track als een uitstekende synthpopcompositie met een vol en overtuigend geluid. Heel erg mooi. En ook Friends are Friends (7”, 1984) van Rive Gauche heeft na al die tijd niets van z’n oorspronkelijke dynamiek verloren. Prachtig die vrouwenstem! Viktor Hublot’s J’ai Perdu mon Oiseau is een buitenbeentje dat we als elektropunk categoriseren, een heftige track waarin de vocalen domineren, maar waarin de noisy tingeltangel elektrosynths toch standhouden. We denken spontaan aan Plastic Bertrand, maar Viktor Hublot is een flink stuk onstuimiger en zijn soundscape is zonder meer uniek. The Break of Day van Kaa Antilope mist de speelsheid van de meeste synth- en elektrocomposities in deze collectie en creëert met bongoachtige percussie, zoemende elektosynths en opvallend saxofoongeluid een heel aparte, bijna romantische sfeer. Breekbaar en wondermooi. Een favoriet.

Het trio dat de compilatie afsluit is een vreemd gezelschap dat maar zijdelings met de rest van het materiaal verwant is, behalve dan misschien de afsluiter Esther (7”, 1985) van Triangles, die heel erg tegen een band als The Cure aanleunt en al de evolutie van de new wave-muziek in de richting van de reguliere rockmuziek aanwijst. Voetbalknieën (lp Luchtkastelen, 1982) van Ton Lebbink is de enige Nederlandstalige track in deze compilatie. Heel anders, heel Nederlands, heel erg Henny Vrienten-achtig bij momenten! Met een afteltekst die van de hand van Drs. P kon zijn. Mooi. I’m a Swinger (1979) van The Marina Swingers is een al even vreemde eend in de bijt met het vooruitgeschoven parlando, de musicalachtige sfeer en de theatrale aanpak van een band als The Residents

14 tracks en eigenlijk niet één misser. Een waardevol tijdsdocument over een periode waarop velen onder ons terugkijken met een gevoel van nostalgie, omdat het zo gauw voorbij was, of omdat we het niet mee hebben mogen maken. Slotconclusie: een uitstekende release.

William LIÉNARD
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque