tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/09/2015 : BILL AND MURRAY - A New Kind Of High

BILL AND MURRAY

A New Kind Of High

MusicCD
DreampopIndieNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[65/100]   

Other Voices Records
07/09/2015, Luki PUKI

Bill and Murray hail from Tel Aviv. If you didn’t guess from the ironic name they are a female fronted trio of hipsters complete with funny mustaches and beards. Thet play dreamy electronia drawing from New Wave, Indie and Synth Pop genres.

Songs like Bored put me in mind of misspent youth at the front row of Elastica concert. However while the girl I spilt my beer on at the Elastica concert and later ended up kissing forgave me, I imagine she probably wouldn’t have if it been a scalding cup of coffee at a hipster café.

The darker Synth numbers like Something to Fear play like Gary Numan (who the band supported in Toronto) and is a mauldling number about failing to act in time to support someone being oppressed for their beliefs. Obviously the hipster mustache police are particularly harsh in Isreal.

Sweet Sensation is the highlight of the album for me, a dreamy electro pop number about the expectation of a lovers embrace complete with a video shot at a wedding.

There were times when I wanted the band to play a little harder or at least mix up the soft dreamy atmosphere they create, but overall this is a good first release. Wait if I say I like a hipster album does that make me one?

Luki PUKI
07/09/2015


 

Next reviews
IT'S A SYNTH • Curiosity
• THE BLACKLIST SEASON 2
NOYCE TM • Fall Out
JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
MOTHER EMPIRE • The System
QUAL • Sable
FOALS • What Went Down
SLEEPER • Smart
JON RUSSELL (JONTEKNIK) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles