tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/10/2014 : HUMAN LEAGUE - Classics: Dare

HUMAN LEAGUE

Classics: Dare

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Virgin Records
16/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

For music-fans, 1982 represented something of a crossroads. With so many genres all vying for attention and the subsequent parting of hard-earned cash, there wasn't a better time to change your allegiances to leave punk and new-wave behind in order to soak up some simplistic synth-pop, minus the angst, impurities and sloganeering. And if you were in a band or one of those creative like-minded admirers of machines, rather than old-hat four and six-stringed guitars and you had a creative imaginative bent, it was time to head off in a totally new direction.

That is precisely what The Human League chose to do some 30 years ago. After issuing credible but non-commercial electronica for a few years, then splitting into well-documented factions of Ware and Marsh on the one side (Heaven 17) and Oakey facing the tricky task of rejigging The Human League into something like a band, all looked lost. In retrospect, it all turned out for the best. Heaven 17 went on to create a few successful albums, notch up a handful of hits and experiment with pop, politics and 'playing to win' and The Human League created Dare, arguably one of the decade's most important and globally-recognized albums, not only for its intricately-manicured music or Martin Rushent's slick yet humanized production-work, but also for the sleeve.

Legend has it that Oakey and the band rejected 50,000 copies of the sleeve on the basis that the record-company had chosen the wrong gloss-finish - Virgin Records must have more than made up for it afterwards, given the enormity of Dare's success and the hits contained within. You get Sound Of The Crowd, a comparatively big hit when compared to the lack-lustre performance of Boys & Girls, the first single featuring the new line-up of Oakey, Wright, Sulley and Catherall (notably not included on the album). You get "Love Action" and "Open Your Heart", two ridiculously memorable breakthrough tunes that shone on radio and fired up a few school-discos.

 

You also get, as a parting shot and perversely, Dare's concluding song, a certain Don't You Want Me. Originally, Oakey hated the song, declaring it as 'filler' and 'substandard', hence its 'relegation' to being the last song on side 2 (of the original vinyl version). Whatever possessed him to despise it, Don't You Want Me went on to ship 1.5 million copies and make The Human League more revered than reviled. Extra band-member Ian Burden had clearly provided a new dimension.

But what of the remainder of Dare, as well as the extras on this delayed reissue (Rushent was part of the team archiving this package before sadly passing away last year)? Arguably, the other six songs are where Dare truly excels, from the sad-eyed melancholy of Darkness, the brash near-dub club workout Do Or Die, the twee snippet of the Get Carter theme, the moody I Am The Law to the opening classic The Things That Dreams Are Made Of. But nothing beats the insistent motorik grandeur of Seconds, a masterpiece fusion of dark subject matter (the Kennedy assassination) and killer pop hooks. If Oakey was right about one thing - seeing a song of this quality being relegated to Don't You Want Me's B-side might well have justifiably tipped the singer over the edge.

As for the extras, it seems a strange idea splitting the 15 tracks up across two discs. 5 of them, including two versions of Sound Of The Crowd, two of Don't You Want Me and instrumentals of Open Your Heart/Non-Stop, have been glued to the end of the Dare disc, while the second CD gathers up tracks from Mirror Man and (Keep Feeling) Fascination, as well as instrumentals of Love Action/Hard Times. As music, most of the songs stand up, in particularly You Remind Me Of Gold (recently covered by Darkstar) and Fascination, but I'm at a loss as to why these were separated this way - perhaps a third-disc with all the Love and Dancing tracks might have made this perfection (as with the 2002 reissue). It's a small niggle though - the box-set with accompanying postcards and informative booklet is an absolute stone-cold must-have.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
16/10/2014


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque