tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl

DAVID FINCHER

Gone Girl

Movie
Thriller
20th Century Fox
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a recent interview the controversial author Bret Easton Ellis told that he’s convinced that one day film will disappear and that there will be no directors around. A frightening statement that might be true, but as long as there are cinematographers around like David Fincher I guess we’re in a safe zone. The maker from Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac, The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and House Of Cards has come up with another blast: Gone Girl. Some critics already claimed this old fashioned classy thriller is the best film of the year, some even think that this Gillian Flynn-adaption will be the Oscar-beast from 2015.

Great words, but is Gone Girl that good? Absolutely yes, even if Fincher made a genius copycat from 80’s-classics like Basic Instinct or Fatal Attraction. The movie has some great performances. Ben Affleck is born to play the guy with the fake smile you don’t trust and Rosamund Pike is definitely THE discovery.

The bar owner Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) and writer Amy (Rosamund Pike) have a happy married life, but that’s a false image as the two hate each other. One day Nicky comes home and finds out that his wife is kidnapped. He doesn’t burst out in tears, he’s even relieved. The media discover this too and in no time he’s condemned as the guilty.

Gone Girl is a thriller full of suspense, but there’s more. Fincher criticizes the media and its power. Just like in his other movies, Fincher is the master in fooling the audience: what you see is not what happens! Added with a genius soundtrack by Trent Reznor and you know that this is the Hollywood must see from 2014.

In the top 10? Might be!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

In een recent interview merkte de controversiële auteur Bret Easton Ellis cynisch op dat er een weldra een tijd zal aanbreken waarin er van regisseurs of films geen sprake meer zal zijn. Wie zijn wij om de auteur van American Psycho tegen te spreken, maar toch zijn we er rotsvast van overtuigd dat dit niet zal gebeuren zolang er cineasten zoals David Fincher rondlopen. Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac, The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo of in de seriewereld met House Of Cards: het zijn maar enkele voorbeelden uit de rijk gevulde filmografie van de man uit Denver. Je kan daar nu ook Gone Girl aan toevoegen: een ouderwetse thriller die volgens sommige recensenten het beste is van wat je dit jaar in het Hollywood-aanbod kan vinden, er wordt zelfs al volop gespeculeerd dat deze Gillian Flynn-verfilming garant zal staan voor een massa Oscar-beeldjes.

En is Gone Girl nu echt zo goed? Jawel, ofschoon Fincher niet meer doet dan de thriller uit de jaren 80 (Basic Instinct, Fatal Attraction) heropvissen, maar mede door de briljante vertolkingen (Ben Affleck als domoor is altijd een goede zet en Rosamund Pike is DE ontdekking!) alsook de onverwachte plots wordt Gone Girl een ijzingwekkende thriller die je twee en een half uur aan het puntje van je stoel kluistert.

De bareigenaar Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) en schrijfster Amy (Rosamund Pike) leiden op het eerste gezicht een leventje waar ieder mens van droomt, maar dat is niet meer dan schijn. Op een dag komt Nick thuis en merkt dat zijn vrouw is ontvoerd. Het mag wel niet, maar eigenlijk is hij opgelucht dat hij van de bitch verlost is. Dat heeft ook de media gezien en in geen tijd wordt hij als de schuldige aan het kruis genageld.

Gone Girl is niet alleen een spannende thriller, Fincher hekelt ook de media die zelf maar al te graag rechtertje speelt. De cineast is een meester om de kijker steeds op het verkeerde been te zetten en het blijft verdomd moeilijk om partij te kiezen! Tel daar nog eens de verbluffende score van Trent Reznor bovenop en je weet dat de critici het bij het juiste eind hebben: verplichte Hollywoodkost!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline