tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl

DAVID FINCHER

Gone Girl

Movie
Thriller
20th Century Fox
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a recent interview the controversial author Bret Easton Ellis told that he’s convinced that one day film will disappear and that there will be no directors around. A frightening statement that might be true, but as long as there are cinematographers around like David Fincher I guess we’re in a safe zone. The maker from Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac, The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and House Of Cards has come up with another blast: Gone Girl. Some critics already claimed this old fashioned classy thriller is the best film of the year, some even think that this Gillian Flynn-adaption will be the Oscar-beast from 2015.

Great words, but is Gone Girl that good? Absolutely yes, even if Fincher made a genius copycat from 80’s-classics like Basic Instinct or Fatal Attraction. The movie has some great performances. Ben Affleck is born to play the guy with the fake smile you don’t trust and Rosamund Pike is definitely THE discovery.

The bar owner Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) and writer Amy (Rosamund Pike) have a happy married life, but that’s a false image as the two hate each other. One day Nicky comes home and finds out that his wife is kidnapped. He doesn’t burst out in tears, he’s even relieved. The media discover this too and in no time he’s condemned as the guilty.

Gone Girl is a thriller full of suspense, but there’s more. Fincher criticizes the media and its power. Just like in his other movies, Fincher is the master in fooling the audience: what you see is not what happens! Added with a genius soundtrack by Trent Reznor and you know that this is the Hollywood must see from 2014.

In the top 10? Might be!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

In een recent interview merkte de controversiële auteur Bret Easton Ellis cynisch op dat er een weldra een tijd zal aanbreken waarin er van regisseurs of films geen sprake meer zal zijn. Wie zijn wij om de auteur van American Psycho tegen te spreken, maar toch zijn we er rotsvast van overtuigd dat dit niet zal gebeuren zolang er cineasten zoals David Fincher rondlopen. Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac, The Social Network, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo of in de seriewereld met House Of Cards: het zijn maar enkele voorbeelden uit de rijk gevulde filmografie van de man uit Denver. Je kan daar nu ook Gone Girl aan toevoegen: een ouderwetse thriller die volgens sommige recensenten het beste is van wat je dit jaar in het Hollywood-aanbod kan vinden, er wordt zelfs al volop gespeculeerd dat deze Gillian Flynn-verfilming garant zal staan voor een massa Oscar-beeldjes.

En is Gone Girl nu echt zo goed? Jawel, ofschoon Fincher niet meer doet dan de thriller uit de jaren 80 (Basic Instinct, Fatal Attraction) heropvissen, maar mede door de briljante vertolkingen (Ben Affleck als domoor is altijd een goede zet en Rosamund Pike is DE ontdekking!) alsook de onverwachte plots wordt Gone Girl een ijzingwekkende thriller die je twee en een half uur aan het puntje van je stoel kluistert.

De bareigenaar Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) en schrijfster Amy (Rosamund Pike) leiden op het eerste gezicht een leventje waar ieder mens van droomt, maar dat is niet meer dan schijn. Op een dag komt Nick thuis en merkt dat zijn vrouw is ontvoerd. Het mag wel niet, maar eigenlijk is hij opgelucht dat hij van de bitch verlost is. Dat heeft ook de media gezien en in geen tijd wordt hij als de schuldige aan het kruis genageld.

Gone Girl is niet alleen een spannende thriller, Fincher hekelt ook de media die zelf maar al te graag rechtertje speelt. De cineast is een meester om de kijker steeds op het verkeerde been te zetten en het blijft verdomd moeilijk om partij te kiezen! Tel daar nog eens de verbluffende score van Trent Reznor bovenop en je weet dat de critici het bij het juiste eind hebben: verplichte Hollywoodkost!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl 15/10/2014 : DAVID FINCHER - Gone Girl

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design