tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/10/2014 : KRONOS QUARTET - A Thousand Thoughts

KRONOS QUARTET

A Thousand Thoughts

MusicCD
Avant-gardeClassical

[80/100]   

Nonesuch Records
14/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Active for the best part of 40 years, American quasi-classical stringsters Kronos Quartet have graced just about every music-store's genre filing system with a plethora of engaging recordings. From straight classical to soundtracks to blues, jazz and roots, the foursome founded by violinist David Harrington has explored beyond traditional music horizons more often than not.

A Thousand Thoughts compiles fifteen tracks from around the world, ten of which haven't seen the light of day before. In a little over an hour, the key Kronos players visit Vietnam, India, Sweden, Eastern Europe and Gaelic climes with considerable ease and more than the occasional nod to their earliest influences.

Tusen Tanker opens proceedings, a traditional and sorrowful lament derived from North Norway that ranks as a highlight of this varied and enticing collection. Similar triumphs include Far East piece Luu Thuy Truong and the pretty Irish folk tune An Buachaillin Ban, while more vibrant pieces such as The Round Sun And Crescent Moon In The Sky and La Sidounak Sayyada display the Kronos ethos of staying true to tradition without Americanizing everything. It's also great to hear vocalists Asha Bhosle and Le Mystere De Voix Bulgares present - the former delivers a beautiful vocal over Mera Kuchh Saaman, the latter calm the waters still further on Terry Riley's Cry Of A Lady.

Overall, despite a few grating pieces here and there, A Thousand Thoughts is a worthy and colourful travelogue through this important ensemble's kaleidoscopic career thus far. Kudos to Kronos indeed.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
14/10/2014


 

Next reviews
THE DRUMS • Encyclopedia
FAUST • Just Us
BIG COUNTRY • All Lay Down
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
JOY DIVISION • He wasn't just the fifth member of Joy Division
JEROME SALLE • Anthony Zimmer
ROBERT RODRIGUEZ • Machete Kills
BIG COUNTRY • CLASSICS : The Sheer
ED SHEERAN • X

 

Same combination of genres: AVANT-GARDE + CLASSICAL
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
DIODATI • Susurrus Lake

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten