tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS - Skeleton Tree

NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS

Skeleton Tree

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark AmbientDark Pop

[94/100]   

Bad Seeds Ltd
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Nick Cave was working on his 16th album for sometime time when his 15-year old twin son Arthur died after falling off a cliff near Brighton in July 2015. This life-altering tragedy had an impact on this record. Skeleton Tree is a mournful record, filled with grief. The omnipresent sadness pervades each of the eight songs.

The album kicks of with the lines You fell from the sky, crash-landed in a field near the river Adur. In Jesus Alone, The Bad Seeds paint a desolate landscape. Drones and a haunting flute create a disquieting, dreary atmosphere. It is almost like dark ambient. You believe in God, but you get no special dispensation for that belief now, Cave orates with a wounded voice.

In the pretty Rings Of Saturn and in Girl In Amber, The Bad Seeds support Cave with subtle backing vocals. Musically the record is uniformly sparse, dwelling in deep bassy tones. The Bad Seeds don't shine seperately, each instrument serves the greater whole. In the avant garde jazz track Anthrocene for instance, the nervous drums are barely audible. All the things we love, we lose, Cave warns.

In the rather experimental Magneto, the spectral industrial noise never sounds harsh and it entertwines smoothly with the music, Nick Cave sings about the physical (vomiting in the bathroom sink) and the psychic pains of a mourning father. The urge to kill someone was basically overwhelming, I had such hard blues in the supermarket queues. Another heart breaking supermarket scene in I Need You. Nick barely recognizes his wife who walks pointless in the supermarket with an empty shopping cart. Nothing realy matters when the one you love is gone, he sings with an emotive voice on the verge of breaking down in tears.

The ethereal Distant Sky with its celestial orchestrations, is a duet with the Danish soprano Else Torp.

The album ends with the title track, a song with gorgeous piano leads. Just as in Death Is Not The End, the closing track of Murder Ballads, an album with multiple fictional casualties, we hear some hope in Skeleton Tree. It's allright now, it sounds in the last line of the album, as if Nick Cave has accepted what he has to endure. Acceptance, the first step to move forward.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Nick Cave was al enige tijd aan het werken aan zijn 16e album toen één van zijn tweelingen in de zomer van 2015 nabij hun huidige woonplaats Brighton van een klip viel. De 15 jarige Arthur viel de dood tegemoet. Begrijpelijkerwijs heeft zo een ijngrijpende gebeurtennis een grote impact. Het sombere Skeleton Tree is volgestouwd met verdriet. De 8 songs op het album zijn stuk voor stuk van droefheid doordrongen.

Het album begint met de woorden: "you fell from the sky, crash-landed in a field near the river Adur." In Jesus Alone schilderen The Bad Seeds een desolaat landschap. Drones en een dreigende fluittoon creëren een nare verontrustende sfeer. Het klinkt bijna als dark ambient. "You believe in God, but you get no special dispensation for that belief now" oreert Cave met vermoeide stem.

In het mooie Rings Of Saturn en Girl In Amber ondersteunen The Bad Seeds met subtiele backing vocals. Muzikaal is het album eerder karig. Diepe bastonen nemen de bovenhand. Geen enkele Bad Seed blinkt uit, elk instrument dient het grotere geheel. In de avantgarde jazz track Anthrocene hoor je de nerveuze drums enkel in de verte. "All the things we love, we lose." waarschuwt Cave.

In het eerder experimentele Magneto hoor je een spookachtig industrial geluid. Het wordt nooit hard maar wordt mooi verweefd met de muziek. Cave zingt over de fysieke (kotsen in de lavabo) en psychische pijnen van een rouwende vader. "The urge to kill somebody was basically overwhelming, I had such hard blues down in the supermarket queues." Een ander pakkend supermarkttafereel in I Need You. Cave beschrijft hoe hij amper zijn vrouw herkent als ze doelloos ronddwaalt met een leeg winkelkarretje. "Nothing really matters when te one you love is gone" zingt Cave met brekende stem. Net alsof hij op het punt staat in tranen uit te barsten.

Het etherische Distant Sky is een duet met de Deense sopraan Else Torp. Je hoort er hemelse arrangementen.

Het album eindigt met de titelsong. Een song met een heerlijke pianomelodie. Net zoals in Death Is Not The End dat Murder Ballads - een album met tientallen fictive slachtoffers - afsloot, hoor je in Skeleton Tree een sprankeltje hoop. "It's allright now" klinkt de laatste lijn van het album. Alsof Cave de beproevingen aanvaardt. Aanvaarding is de eerste stap van elk herstelproces.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS - Skeleton Tree 11/12/2016 : NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS - Skeleton Tree

 

Next reviews
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
DARKHER • Realms
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
SPHYXION • Sphyxion
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DAGHRAVEN • #1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On