tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/01/2018 : BLUTENGEL - Black

BLUTENGEL

Black

MusicCD (EP)
Dark Pop

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
27/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Pohl, founder, body and soul of Berlin's dark pop band Blutengel, cannot be idle and keeps on creating music faster than a pit crew. The song Black was taken from their previous full album Leitbild. The song was much appreciated by fans so Chris chose to thank those loyal fans with this mini-album, on which we, besides the title track, can also find a number of previously unreleased songs.

On Black, which is a rather upbeat track, we can hear Pohl sing: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir sounds very similar, slightly more up-tempo and with the typical Blutengel sound, vocally enriched by Ulrike.

We dive a little deeper into the dark with There's No Place. A little more quiet but with a very ethereal and diverse melody line. Then its time for a classical music intro presented by the song Seele, only to morph into a beautiful dark-wave song after a minute or so. A bombastic sound carousel, epic female background vocals, tempo changes, and deep melancholy.

We have known for a long time now, Chris Pohl can create incredible things with his machinery. In the next song, Blood Rain, this becomes very clear again and it can not be summarised in one style. We also get to enjoy some guitar play, something that personally sounds great to me. This guitar play is something we tend to hear more often on the recent releases and on stage. Der Letzte Kampf is another 'classic' Blutengel song: danceable Dark Pop with a strong tempo.

As a bonus we get two remixes of Black, the Alternative Mix and the Trensity Mix. The latter sounds really good, with firm guitar work and some will hear a little Sisters Of mercy in it.

Without doubt this is a Blutengel release on which their typical Dark-Pop gets some extra depth by carefully added guitars, so it might sound slightly different.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


NL

Chris Pohl, grond, ziel en belichaming van de Berlijnse dark pop- band Blutengel, kan niet stilzitten. Hij maakt muziek aan een hels tempo. Black was een song van de langspeler Leitbild. De song was één van de heel erg gesmaakte nummer bij de fans en Chris bedankt die trouwe fans met een mini-album, waarop, naast dit nummer, ook een aantal niet eerder uitgebrachte songs te horen zijn.

Black stond op Leitbild. Een vrij uptempo song die klinkt zoals Pohl zingt: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black are the things, that I have never told, Black are my thoughts, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir is van hetzelfde allooi, iets meer uptempo en heeft het typische geluid dat we van Blutengel kennen, vocaal versterkt door Ulrike.

En we duiken weer iets dieper en donkerder met There’s No Place. Iets rustiger, met een heel aanstelijke en diverse melodielijn. Hoogtijd voor een stukje klassieke intro. Seele doet het ons cadeau. Om na een kleine minuut te ontpoppen tot een mooie darkwave -song. Een bombastische klankcarrousel, epische vrouwelijke achtergrondzang, tempowisselingen, en diepe melancholie.
We weten al langer dat Chris Pohl ongelooflijke dingen aankan met zijn machinerie. In Blood Rain wordt dat nog eens duidelijk, het is niet in één stijl te vatten. En we krijgen de geneugtes van gitaarwerk extra. Iets wat ik persoonlijk geweldig vind klinken. Het is iets wat we in het laatste werk meer en meer horen en ook live komen gitaren op het podium…Der Letzte Kampf is weer een ‘klassiek’ Blutengel-song: dansbare Dark Pop met een stevig tempo.

Als toemaatje krijgen we twee remixes: de Alternative Mix van Black en de Trensity Mix. Deze laatste een echt echt goéde, met steviger gitaarwerk en je ontwaart er Sisters in…

Het is en blijft Blutengel. De darkpop krijgt toch extra diepgang door voorzichtig gitaarwerk, waardoor de sound net iets anders is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


Music reviews

16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses