tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/01/2018 : BLUTENGEL - Black

BLUTENGEL

Black

MusicCD (EP)
Dark Pop

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
27/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Pohl, founder, body and soul of Berlin's dark pop band Blutengel, cannot be idle and keeps on creating music faster than a pit crew. The song Black was taken from their previous full album Leitbild. The song was much appreciated by fans so Chris chose to thank those loyal fans with this mini-album, on which we, besides the title track, can also find a number of previously unreleased songs.

On Black, which is a rather upbeat track, we can hear Pohl sing: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir sounds very similar, slightly more up-tempo and with the typical Blutengel sound, vocally enriched by Ulrike.

We dive a little deeper into the dark with There's No Place. A little more quiet but with a very ethereal and diverse melody line. Then its time for a classical music intro presented by the song Seele, only to morph into a beautiful dark-wave song after a minute or so. A bombastic sound carousel, epic female background vocals, tempo changes, and deep melancholy.

We have known for a long time now, Chris Pohl can create incredible things with his machinery. In the next song, Blood Rain, this becomes very clear again and it can not be summarised in one style. We also get to enjoy some guitar play, something that personally sounds great to me. This guitar play is something we tend to hear more often on the recent releases and on stage. Der Letzte Kampf is another 'classic' Blutengel song: danceable Dark Pop with a strong tempo.

As a bonus we get two remixes of Black, the Alternative Mix and the Trensity Mix. The latter sounds really good, with firm guitar work and some will hear a little Sisters Of mercy in it.

Without doubt this is a Blutengel release on which their typical Dark-Pop gets some extra depth by carefully added guitars, so it might sound slightly different.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


NL

Chris Pohl, grond, ziel en belichaming van de Berlijnse dark pop- band Blutengel, kan niet stilzitten. Hij maakt muziek aan een hels tempo. Black was een song van de langspeler Leitbild. De song was één van de heel erg gesmaakte nummer bij de fans en Chris bedankt die trouwe fans met een mini-album, waarop, naast dit nummer, ook een aantal niet eerder uitgebrachte songs te horen zijn.

Black stond op Leitbild. Een vrij uptempo song die klinkt zoals Pohl zingt: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black are the things, that I have never told, Black are my thoughts, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir is van hetzelfde allooi, iets meer uptempo en heeft het typische geluid dat we van Blutengel kennen, vocaal versterkt door Ulrike.

En we duiken weer iets dieper en donkerder met There’s No Place. Iets rustiger, met een heel aanstelijke en diverse melodielijn. Hoogtijd voor een stukje klassieke intro. Seele doet het ons cadeau. Om na een kleine minuut te ontpoppen tot een mooie darkwave -song. Een bombastische klankcarrousel, epische vrouwelijke achtergrondzang, tempowisselingen, en diepe melancholie.
We weten al langer dat Chris Pohl ongelooflijke dingen aankan met zijn machinerie. In Blood Rain wordt dat nog eens duidelijk, het is niet in één stijl te vatten. En we krijgen de geneugtes van gitaarwerk extra. Iets wat ik persoonlijk geweldig vind klinken. Het is iets wat we in het laatste werk meer en meer horen en ook live komen gitaren op het podium…Der Letzte Kampf is weer een ‘klassiek’ Blutengel-song: dansbare Dark Pop met een stevig tempo.

Als toemaatje krijgen we twee remixes: de Alternative Mix van Black en de Trensity Mix. Deze laatste een echt echt goéde, met steviger gitaarwerk en je ontwaart er Sisters in…

Het is en blijft Blutengel. De darkpop krijgt toch extra diepgang door voorzichtig gitaarwerk, waardoor de sound net iets anders is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31
10
01
20 years 'Into The Void'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'
10
01
EVA - X
An Interview With Synthpop Act EVA - X

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start