tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/01/2018 : BLUTENGEL - Black

BLUTENGEL

Black

MusicCD (EP)
Dark Pop

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
27/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Pohl, founder, body and soul of Berlin's dark pop band Blutengel, cannot be idle and keeps on creating music faster than a pit crew. The song Black was taken from their previous full album Leitbild. The song was much appreciated by fans so Chris chose to thank those loyal fans with this mini-album, on which we, besides the title track, can also find a number of previously unreleased songs.

On Black, which is a rather upbeat track, we can hear Pohl sing: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir sounds very similar, slightly more up-tempo and with the typical Blutengel sound, vocally enriched by Ulrike.

We dive a little deeper into the dark with There's No Place. A little more quiet but with a very ethereal and diverse melody line. Then its time for a classical music intro presented by the song Seele, only to morph into a beautiful dark-wave song after a minute or so. A bombastic sound carousel, epic female background vocals, tempo changes, and deep melancholy.

We have known for a long time now, Chris Pohl can create incredible things with his machinery. In the next song, Blood Rain, this becomes very clear again and it can not be summarised in one style. We also get to enjoy some guitar play, something that personally sounds great to me. This guitar play is something we tend to hear more often on the recent releases and on stage. Der Letzte Kampf is another 'classic' Blutengel song: danceable Dark Pop with a strong tempo.

As a bonus we get two remixes of Black, the Alternative Mix and the Trensity Mix. The latter sounds really good, with firm guitar work and some will hear a little Sisters Of mercy in it.

Without doubt this is a Blutengel release on which their typical Dark-Pop gets some extra depth by carefully added guitars, so it might sound slightly different.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


NL

Chris Pohl, grond, ziel en belichaming van de Berlijnse dark pop- band Blutengel, kan niet stilzitten. Hij maakt muziek aan een hels tempo. Black was een song van de langspeler Leitbild. De song was één van de heel erg gesmaakte nummer bij de fans en Chris bedankt die trouwe fans met een mini-album, waarop, naast dit nummer, ook een aantal niet eerder uitgebrachte songs te horen zijn.

Black stond op Leitbild. Een vrij uptempo song die klinkt zoals Pohl zingt: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black are the things, that I have never told, Black are my thoughts, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir is van hetzelfde allooi, iets meer uptempo en heeft het typische geluid dat we van Blutengel kennen, vocaal versterkt door Ulrike.

En we duiken weer iets dieper en donkerder met There’s No Place. Iets rustiger, met een heel aanstelijke en diverse melodielijn. Hoogtijd voor een stukje klassieke intro. Seele doet het ons cadeau. Om na een kleine minuut te ontpoppen tot een mooie darkwave -song. Een bombastische klankcarrousel, epische vrouwelijke achtergrondzang, tempowisselingen, en diepe melancholie.
We weten al langer dat Chris Pohl ongelooflijke dingen aankan met zijn machinerie. In Blood Rain wordt dat nog eens duidelijk, het is niet in één stijl te vatten. En we krijgen de geneugtes van gitaarwerk extra. Iets wat ik persoonlijk geweldig vind klinken. Het is iets wat we in het laatste werk meer en meer horen en ook live komen gitaren op het podium…Der Letzte Kampf is weer een ‘klassiek’ Blutengel-song: dansbare Dark Pop met een stevig tempo.

Als toemaatje krijgen we twee remixes: de Alternative Mix van Black en de Trensity Mix. Deze laatste een echt echt goéde, met steviger gitaarwerk en je ontwaart er Sisters in…

Het is en blijft Blutengel. De darkpop krijgt toch extra diepgang door voorzichtig gitaarwerk, waardoor de sound net iets anders is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


Music reviews

22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
INDOCHINE
Tes Yeux Noirs
21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O