tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/01/2018 : BLUTENGEL - Black

BLUTENGEL

Black

MusicCD (EP)
Dark Pop

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
27/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Pohl, founder, body and soul of Berlin's dark pop band Blutengel, cannot be idle and keeps on creating music faster than a pit crew. The song Black was taken from their previous full album Leitbild. The song was much appreciated by fans so Chris chose to thank those loyal fans with this mini-album, on which we, besides the title track, can also find a number of previously unreleased songs.

On Black, which is a rather upbeat track, we can hear Pohl sing: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir sounds very similar, slightly more up-tempo and with the typical Blutengel sound, vocally enriched by Ulrike.

We dive a little deeper into the dark with There's No Place. A little more quiet but with a very ethereal and diverse melody line. Then its time for a classical music intro presented by the song Seele, only to morph into a beautiful dark-wave song after a minute or so. A bombastic sound carousel, epic female background vocals, tempo changes, and deep melancholy.

We have known for a long time now, Chris Pohl can create incredible things with his machinery. In the next song, Blood Rain, this becomes very clear again and it can not be summarised in one style. We also get to enjoy some guitar play, something that personally sounds great to me. This guitar play is something we tend to hear more often on the recent releases and on stage. Der Letzte Kampf is another 'classic' Blutengel song: danceable Dark Pop with a strong tempo.

As a bonus we get two remixes of Black, the Alternative Mix and the Trensity Mix. The latter sounds really good, with firm guitar work and some will hear a little Sisters Of mercy in it.

Without doubt this is a Blutengel release on which their typical Dark-Pop gets some extra depth by carefully added guitars, so it might sound slightly different.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


NL

Chris Pohl, grond, ziel en belichaming van de Berlijnse dark pop- band Blutengel, kan niet stilzitten. Hij maakt muziek aan een hels tempo. Black was een song van de langspeler Leitbild. De song was één van de heel erg gesmaakte nummer bij de fans en Chris bedankt die trouwe fans met een mini-album, waarop, naast dit nummer, ook een aantal niet eerder uitgebrachte songs te horen zijn.

Black stond op Leitbild. Een vrij uptempo song die klinkt zoals Pohl zingt: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black are the things, that I have never told, Black are my thoughts, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir is van hetzelfde allooi, iets meer uptempo en heeft het typische geluid dat we van Blutengel kennen, vocaal versterkt door Ulrike.

En we duiken weer iets dieper en donkerder met There’s No Place. Iets rustiger, met een heel aanstelijke en diverse melodielijn. Hoogtijd voor een stukje klassieke intro. Seele doet het ons cadeau. Om na een kleine minuut te ontpoppen tot een mooie darkwave -song. Een bombastische klankcarrousel, epische vrouwelijke achtergrondzang, tempowisselingen, en diepe melancholie.
We weten al langer dat Chris Pohl ongelooflijke dingen aankan met zijn machinerie. In Blood Rain wordt dat nog eens duidelijk, het is niet in één stijl te vatten. En we krijgen de geneugtes van gitaarwerk extra. Iets wat ik persoonlijk geweldig vind klinken. Het is iets wat we in het laatste werk meer en meer horen en ook live komen gitaren op het podium…Der Letzte Kampf is weer een ‘klassiek’ Blutengel-song: dansbare Dark Pop met een stevig tempo.

Als toemaatje krijgen we twee remixes: de Alternative Mix van Black en de Trensity Mix. Deze laatste een echt echt goéde, met steviger gitaarwerk en je ontwaart er Sisters in…

Het is en blijft Blutengel. De darkpop krijgt toch extra diepgang door voorzichtig gitaarwerk, waardoor de sound net iets anders is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless