tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/01/2018 : BLUTENGEL - Black

BLUTENGEL

Black

MusicCD (EP)
Dark Pop

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
27/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Chris Pohl, founder, body and soul of Berlin's dark pop band Blutengel, cannot be idle and keeps on creating music faster than a pit crew. The song Black was taken from their previous full album Leitbild. The song was much appreciated by fans so Chris chose to thank those loyal fans with this mini-album, on which we, besides the title track, can also find a number of previously unreleased songs.

On Black, which is a rather upbeat track, we can hear Pohl sing: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir sounds very similar, slightly more up-tempo and with the typical Blutengel sound, vocally enriched by Ulrike.

We dive a little deeper into the dark with There's No Place. A little more quiet but with a very ethereal and diverse melody line. Then its time for a classical music intro presented by the song Seele, only to morph into a beautiful dark-wave song after a minute or so. A bombastic sound carousel, epic female background vocals, tempo changes, and deep melancholy.

We have known for a long time now, Chris Pohl can create incredible things with his machinery. In the next song, Blood Rain, this becomes very clear again and it can not be summarised in one style. We also get to enjoy some guitar play, something that personally sounds great to me. This guitar play is something we tend to hear more often on the recent releases and on stage. Der Letzte Kampf is another 'classic' Blutengel song: danceable Dark Pop with a strong tempo.

As a bonus we get two remixes of Black, the Alternative Mix and the Trensity Mix. The latter sounds really good, with firm guitar work and some will hear a little Sisters Of mercy in it.

Without doubt this is a Blutengel release on which their typical Dark-Pop gets some extra depth by carefully added guitars, so it might sound slightly different.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


NL

Chris Pohl, grond, ziel en belichaming van de Berlijnse dark pop- band Blutengel, kan niet stilzitten. Hij maakt muziek aan een hels tempo. Black was een song van de langspeler Leitbild. De song was één van de heel erg gesmaakte nummer bij de fans en Chris bedankt die trouwe fans met een mini-album, waarop, naast dit nummer, ook een aantal niet eerder uitgebrachte songs te horen zijn.

Black stond op Leitbild. Een vrij uptempo song die klinkt zoals Pohl zingt: Everything is black, Everything is black, Black is my life, Black is my soul, Black are the things, that I have never told, Black are my thoughts, Black is my heart, Black is the love, that tears us apart again!

Komm Zu Mir is van hetzelfde allooi, iets meer uptempo en heeft het typische geluid dat we van Blutengel kennen, vocaal versterkt door Ulrike.

En we duiken weer iets dieper en donkerder met There’s No Place. Iets rustiger, met een heel aanstelijke en diverse melodielijn. Hoogtijd voor een stukje klassieke intro. Seele doet het ons cadeau. Om na een kleine minuut te ontpoppen tot een mooie darkwave -song. Een bombastische klankcarrousel, epische vrouwelijke achtergrondzang, tempowisselingen, en diepe melancholie.
We weten al langer dat Chris Pohl ongelooflijke dingen aankan met zijn machinerie. In Blood Rain wordt dat nog eens duidelijk, het is niet in één stijl te vatten. En we krijgen de geneugtes van gitaarwerk extra. Iets wat ik persoonlijk geweldig vind klinken. Het is iets wat we in het laatste werk meer en meer horen en ook live komen gitaren op het podium…Der Letzte Kampf is weer een ‘klassiek’ Blutengel-song: dansbare Dark Pop met een stevig tempo.

Als toemaatje krijgen we twee remixes: de Alternative Mix van Black en de Trensity Mix. Deze laatste een echt echt goéde, met steviger gitaarwerk en je ontwaart er Sisters in…

Het is en blijft Blutengel. De darkpop krijgt toch extra diepgang door voorzichtig gitaarwerk, waardoor de sound net iets anders is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
27/01/2018


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched