tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum

BRAD ANDERSON

Stonehearst Asylum

Movie
HorrorThriller

[59/100]   

E1
08/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is no longer a guarantee for success, but almost all the writings (both short and long) by Edgar Allan Poe are transferred to film. The writer from Boston, who died at 40, is still considered as one of pioneers of the horror genre. With his name on the cover, the viewer knows that he will tremble and shake. The latest in the series of Poe films is the adaptation of the short story The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether. Indeed, not a very known title, and therefore the producers named it Stonehearst Asylum, and in some countries it even became Eliza Graves.

It is never a good sign when movies get a new title, and even though Stonehearst Asylum is a nice psychological thriller (it is not horror!), the film was not screened over here. Surprising when you consider the cast, as filmmaker Brad Anderson, who you definitely know from his very underrated The Machinist, could count on lots of stars: Ben Kingsley, Michael Caine, Jim Sturgess and Underworld-star Kate Beckinsale. As the title suggests it is about a madhouse. When Poe wrote his story, lunatics were just crazy weird people who had to be locked up. They were the victim of torture techniques that would amaze even Josef Mengele. We follow Edward Newgate (Jim Sturges) after his arrival in the madhouse (we can not really use the word mental institution), where he is fascinated by Eliza Grayes (Kate Beckinsale), who suffers from hysteria.From the moment he enters the gates of the building, he is greeted by Dr. Lamb (Ben Kingsley, once Gandhi, but nowadays always a vilain). Newgate notes that something strange is going on: the lunatics have taken over the asylum!

The script, especially the silly end, could be better, but thanks to the outstanding performances, you feel like you are watching a superior B-movie. Kate Beckinsale is the weak link, because her performance is not exactly what you would call mindblowing. Fortunately, she remains one of the most beautiful ladies on the silver screen, so you can forgive her, or at least in some way. Stonehearst Asylum is now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/03/2015


NL

Het is al lang geen garantie meer voor succes, toch zijn zowat alle schrijfsels (kort en lang) van Edgard Allan Poe verfilmd. De schrijver uit Boston die slechts 40 werd, staat nog altijd geboekstaafd als de vaandeldrager van het horrorgenre en daarom moet ieder verhaal van hem eraan geloven, al is het maar om de kijker erop te wijzen dat hij zal bibberen eens die aan een film begint. De nieuwste in het rijtje is de filmbewerking van het kortverhaal The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether. Inderdaad, geen bekende titel en daarom doopten de makers de titel maar om tot Stonehearst Asylum, en in sommige landen werd het zelfs Eliza Graves.

Het is nooit een goed teken als films om de haverklap een nieuwe titel krijgen en ook al is Stonehearst Asylum een aardige psychologische thriller (want horror wordt het nooit), is de film niet in onze zalen vertoond. Vreemd als je de cast bekijkt, want filmmaker Brad Anderson, die je beslist kent van zijn zeer ondergewaardeerde The Machinist, kon op heel wat sterren rekenen: Ben Kingsley, Michael Caine, Jim Sturgess en (alhoewel zij de zwakke schakel is) Underworld-ster Kate Beckinsale. Zoals de titel laat vermoeden, speelt alles zich in een gekkenhuis af. Toen Poe zijn verhalen schreef, waren gekken gewoon rare kwieten die men moest opsluiten, en die vaak werden overgeleverd aan martelpraktijken waar zelfs Josef Mengele van zou opkijken. We volgen de aankomst van Edward Newgate (Jim Sturges), die naar het gekkenhuis (het woord psychiatrisch instituut kunnen we echt niet gebruiken) reist nadat hij gefascineerd is geraakt door Eliza Grayes (Kate Beckinsale) die aan hysteria lijdt. Vanaf het moment dat hij de poorten van het gebouw binnenstapt en wordt begroet door Dr. Lamb (Ben Kingsley, ooit Gandhi maar tegenwoordig altijd de slechterik), begrijpt Newgate dat er iets vreemds aan de hand is: de gekken hebben zich meester gemaakt over hun verzorgers!

Het script, en dan vooral het sullige einde, kon gerust beter, maar dankzij de uitmuntende vertolkingen heb je toch het gevoel dat je naar een B-film van het betere soort zit te kijken. Alleen Kate Beckinsale gooit roet in het eten, want haar vertolking is op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt tenenkrommend. Gelukkig blijft ze één van de mooiste dames op het witte doek, waardoor je haar gestuntel na een uurtje niet langer merkt. Stonehearst Asylum is vanaf nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/03/2015


08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)