tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum

BRAD ANDERSON

Stonehearst Asylum

Movie
HorrorThriller

[59/100]   

E1
08/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is no longer a guarantee for success, but almost all the writings (both short and long) by Edgar Allan Poe are transferred to film. The writer from Boston, who died at 40, is still considered as one of pioneers of the horror genre. With his name on the cover, the viewer knows that he will tremble and shake. The latest in the series of Poe films is the adaptation of the short story The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether. Indeed, not a very known title, and therefore the producers named it Stonehearst Asylum, and in some countries it even became Eliza Graves.

It is never a good sign when movies get a new title, and even though Stonehearst Asylum is a nice psychological thriller (it is not horror!), the film was not screened over here. Surprising when you consider the cast, as filmmaker Brad Anderson, who you definitely know from his very underrated The Machinist, could count on lots of stars: Ben Kingsley, Michael Caine, Jim Sturgess and Underworld-star Kate Beckinsale. As the title suggests it is about a madhouse. When Poe wrote his story, lunatics were just crazy weird people who had to be locked up. They were the victim of torture techniques that would amaze even Josef Mengele. We follow Edward Newgate (Jim Sturges) after his arrival in the madhouse (we can not really use the word mental institution), where he is fascinated by Eliza Grayes (Kate Beckinsale), who suffers from hysteria.From the moment he enters the gates of the building, he is greeted by Dr. Lamb (Ben Kingsley, once Gandhi, but nowadays always a vilain). Newgate notes that something strange is going on: the lunatics have taken over the asylum!

The script, especially the silly end, could be better, but thanks to the outstanding performances, you feel like you are watching a superior B-movie. Kate Beckinsale is the weak link, because her performance is not exactly what you would call mindblowing. Fortunately, she remains one of the most beautiful ladies on the silver screen, so you can forgive her, or at least in some way. Stonehearst Asylum is now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/03/2015


NL

Het is al lang geen garantie meer voor succes, toch zijn zowat alle schrijfsels (kort en lang) van Edgard Allan Poe verfilmd. De schrijver uit Boston die slechts 40 werd, staat nog altijd geboekstaafd als de vaandeldrager van het horrorgenre en daarom moet ieder verhaal van hem eraan geloven, al is het maar om de kijker erop te wijzen dat hij zal bibberen eens die aan een film begint. De nieuwste in het rijtje is de filmbewerking van het kortverhaal The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether. Inderdaad, geen bekende titel en daarom doopten de makers de titel maar om tot Stonehearst Asylum, en in sommige landen werd het zelfs Eliza Graves.

Het is nooit een goed teken als films om de haverklap een nieuwe titel krijgen en ook al is Stonehearst Asylum een aardige psychologische thriller (want horror wordt het nooit), is de film niet in onze zalen vertoond. Vreemd als je de cast bekijkt, want filmmaker Brad Anderson, die je beslist kent van zijn zeer ondergewaardeerde The Machinist, kon op heel wat sterren rekenen: Ben Kingsley, Michael Caine, Jim Sturgess en (alhoewel zij de zwakke schakel is) Underworld-ster Kate Beckinsale. Zoals de titel laat vermoeden, speelt alles zich in een gekkenhuis af. Toen Poe zijn verhalen schreef, waren gekken gewoon rare kwieten die men moest opsluiten, en die vaak werden overgeleverd aan martelpraktijken waar zelfs Josef Mengele van zou opkijken. We volgen de aankomst van Edward Newgate (Jim Sturges), die naar het gekkenhuis (het woord psychiatrisch instituut kunnen we echt niet gebruiken) reist nadat hij gefascineerd is geraakt door Eliza Grayes (Kate Beckinsale) die aan hysteria lijdt. Vanaf het moment dat hij de poorten van het gebouw binnenstapt en wordt begroet door Dr. Lamb (Ben Kingsley, ooit Gandhi maar tegenwoordig altijd de slechterik), begrijpt Newgate dat er iets vreemds aan de hand is: de gekken hebben zich meester gemaakt over hun verzorgers!

Het script, en dan vooral het sullige einde, kon gerust beter, maar dankzij de uitmuntende vertolkingen heb je toch het gevoel dat je naar een B-film van het betere soort zit te kijken. Alleen Kate Beckinsale gooit roet in het eten, want haar vertolking is op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt tenenkrommend. Gelukkig blijft ze één van de mooiste dames op het witte doek, waardoor je haar gestuntel na een uurtje niet langer merkt. Stonehearst Asylum is vanaf nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/03/2015


08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum 08/03/2015 : BRAD ANDERSON - Stonehearst Asylum

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...
06
04
KISS IS KILL Reveals An Anatomy Of Fear With Their New Album
06
04
FLEISCHKRIEG Unveils New Single & Video, 'I Believe In Gnomes'
05
04
Cathedral In Flames Tells A Dark Western Tale With New Single
05
04
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2025 - SOLAR FAKE, ROTERSAND, EMPATHY TEST & MORE BANDS CONFIRMED!

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

10
04
GHOST DANCE
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
THE MISTRESS OF JERSEY
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
AZYLUM
Black Spring Festival Engis
01
04
MERCIFUL NUNS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten
01
04
RHOMBUS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
11
04
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear v2K18 (12' Mix)
11
04
D.A.F.
Brothers (Live @ BodyFest 2023)
11
04
SCHICKSAL
24 Hours
11
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
(the) rûach (of god) ccf - live 2011
11
04
LIFELESS PAST
A Safer Place (music video)