tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : MY OWN SORROW - Entity

MY OWN SORROW

Entity

MusicDigital
EBMGothicHorrorIndustrial

[80/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This Swedish act was formed in 2014 and The Entity is the third release. The man behind this project is Patrik Sandermo, founder and DJ (including WGT and Amphi) and the goth club Bat Night. The lyrics on this third album are inspired by the work of Edgar Allan Poe and HP Lovecraft. The classics of the genre.

You can describe the music as EBM, darkwave/electro. The whole has a cinematic feel. Some songs would do well as the soundtrack for a horror movie. Opener No Escape includes vampire-like vocals and has a cinematic monologue: an ambient and EBM sounding song. In Succubus, the emphasis is on industrial dark tinted electro: a strong track for the club circuit. The vocals sound like a sinister whisper that evokes spirits.

The Entity is a soundtrack-like song with a rather sinister intro: the female background chants reinforce the oppressive atmosphere. The recurring melody also adds to the suspense. Posses The Machine seems to be the victim of chaos, partly because of the added noise. Brooding is less strong, but Rats in the Wall, with dark EBM influences, is simply splendid.

Apart from two lesser moments, the songs are strong enough to convince. Those who love dark darkwave and industrial sounding electro, will certainly like this!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Zweedse act is ontstaan in 2014 en The Entity is al de derde release. De man achter dit project is Patrik Sandermo, oprichter en DJ (ook o.a. op WGT en Amphi) van de gothclub Bat Night. De teksten op dit derde album zijn geïnspireerd op het werk van Edgar Allan Poe en HP Lovecraft. De klassiekers van het genre dus.

Je kan de muziek omschrijven als EBM, darkwave-elektro… Het geheel heeft een filmisch karakter. Een aantal songs doen het beslist goed als soundtrack van een horrorfilm. Opener No Escape bevat bijv. vampierachtige zang en een filmische monoloog: een ambient en EBM-aandoende song. In Succubus ligt de nadruk eerder op donkere industrial getinte elektro: een sterke track voor het clubcircuit. De vocals klinken als sinister gefluister alsof ze geesten oproepen.

Ook titeltrack The Entity is een soundtrackachtige song met een vrij duistere intro: de vrouwelijke achtergrondgezangen versterken het beklemmende sfeertje. Het terugkerende melodietje draagt ook bij aan de suspense. Posses The Machine lijkt dan wat in chaos ten onder te gaan, mede door het toegevoegde geruis. Brooding is eerder begeleidingsmuziek en als song daarom minder sterk. Rats in the Wall is sterk en donker en voorzien van EBM-invloeden.

Behalve twee mindere momentjes, is de rest van de songs sterk genoeg om te overtuigen. Wie van donkere darkwave en industrial klinkende elektro houdt, zal hier zeker zijn gading vinden, vooral omdat Sandermo een niche opzoekt die zich wat verder van de platgetreden paden bevindt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MY OWN SORROW - Entity 10/12/2016 : MY OWN SORROW - Entity

 

Next reviews
SAVA.GEO • Zeitgeist
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo
WAVE-GOTIK-TREFFEN 2016 • Leipzig (Germany)
INTENT:OUTTAKE • Neustart
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: HORROR
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ORGAN • Tetro
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
MICHAEL WADLEIGH • Wolfen
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad