tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

12/06/2015 : MARINO GIROLAMI - Zombi Holocaust

MARINO GIROLAMI

Zombi Holocaust

MovieCult movies
Horror

[60/100]   
12/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is always confusing when you’re watching obscure cult films, but the Zombi Holocaust that we are talking about is the Italian production from 1980 by Marino Girolam, also known as Zombie 3 and Doctor Butcher, MD. Producer Fabrizio De Angelis didn’t care how the film was named, as long as people came to the cinema. In 1980, the public was still wild about exploitation movies in which scientists go to deserted islands to seek for cannibals. De Angelis thought it would be a good idea to combine this genre with a zombie movie. Girolami was the kind of director who made 2 or 3 films per year, and so the ideal person for such a job because without much prodding he always did what was asked of him. You can hardly say that Zombi Holocaust is a good movie, but thanks to the many horrific scenes, it has become a classic in the genre.

The tiny story is almost a blueprint of Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato. The antropologist Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is the assistant of Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, and no, he’s not the Bunnymen singer!). Strange things happen in the morgue where she works. A stranger pulls limbs from corpses. In less than ten minutes we are told that the cannibal is the Asian assistant. All clues point to a small island in the Pacific and of course the two want to know the details. They are joined during the journey by the handsome journalist Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), Molotto (Dakar) and three guides. In no time, the group is attacked by bloodthirsty cannibals who are also zombies!

Girolami can’t direct at all and you can see that in almost every scene. Just like Ed Wood, the Italian thought it was exceptable to put night in day scenes, but fortunately that does not spoil the fun. You simply watch Zombi Holocaust because you are keen on pictures with skulls that are sawn in half or intestines that are torn from the body of a young virgin. It doesn’t matter that suddenly Ian McCulloch grabs his phone in the jungle to report "Help, help, we are attacked by the cannibals". Cult classic!

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


NL

Het blijft opletten geblazen als je het over obscure cultfilms hebt, maar de Zombi Holocaust waar wij het over hebben, is de Italiaanse productie uit 1980 van Marino Girolami, die ook als Zombie 3 en Doctor Butcher, M.D. is uitgebracht. Het kon producer Fabrizio De Angelis geen moer schelen hoe de film aan de man werd gebracht, zolang er maar volk naar de bioscoop kwam. In 1980 was het publiek nog volop wild van exploitatiefilms waarin wetenschappers naar verlaten eilanden trekken om er kannibalen op te speuren. De Angelis dacht dat het een goed idee zou zijn om dit genre met een zombiefilm te combineren. Girolami was het soort regisseur dat films aan de lopende band maakt en dus de ideale persoon voor zo’n job, omdat die zonder veel porren doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Je kan moeilijk zeggen dat Zombi Holocaust een goede film is, maar dankzij de vele weerzinwekkende scènes is hij uitgegroeid tot een klassieker in het genre.

Het verhaal is bijna een blauwdruk van Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato. De antropologiste Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is de assistente van Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, neen niet de Bunnymen-zanger). Er gebeuren vreemde dingen in het lijkenhuisje waar ze werkt. Een onbekende rukt allerlei ledematen van de lijken. In minder dan tien minuten komen we te weten dat de kannibaal de Aziatische assistent is. Alle sporen leiden naar een eilandje in de Stille Oceaan en natuurlijk willen de twee daar het fijne van weten. Ze krijgen het gezelschap van de knappe journaliste Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), de schipper Molotto (Dakar) en drie gidsen. Binnen de kortste keren wordt de groep aangevallen door bloeddorstige kannibalen die op de koop toe ook nog zombies zijn!

Girolami kan in de verste verte niet regisseren en dat merk je in bijna iedere scène. Net zoals Ed Wood, vindt ook de Italiaan dat het moet kunnen om nachtscènes in dagscènes in te lassen, maar zoiets mag de pret niet drukken. Zombi Holocaust bekijk je nu eenmaal omdat je verlekkerd bent op beelden van schedels die doormidden worden gezaagd of darmen die uit het lichaam van een jonge maagd (dat denken we toch!) worden gerukt. Dat Ian McCulloch in de jungle plots zijn telefoon grijpt om te melden “Help, help we are attacked by the cannibals!” neem je er graag bij.

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus