tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

12/06/2015 : MARINO GIROLAMI - Zombi Holocaust

MARINO GIROLAMI

Zombi Holocaust

MovieCult movies
Horror

[60/100]   
12/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is always confusing when you’re watching obscure cult films, but the Zombi Holocaust that we are talking about is the Italian production from 1980 by Marino Girolam, also known as Zombie 3 and Doctor Butcher, MD. Producer Fabrizio De Angelis didn’t care how the film was named, as long as people came to the cinema. In 1980, the public was still wild about exploitation movies in which scientists go to deserted islands to seek for cannibals. De Angelis thought it would be a good idea to combine this genre with a zombie movie. Girolami was the kind of director who made 2 or 3 films per year, and so the ideal person for such a job because without much prodding he always did what was asked of him. You can hardly say that Zombi Holocaust is a good movie, but thanks to the many horrific scenes, it has become a classic in the genre.

The tiny story is almost a blueprint of Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato. The antropologist Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is the assistant of Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, and no, he’s not the Bunnymen singer!). Strange things happen in the morgue where she works. A stranger pulls limbs from corpses. In less than ten minutes we are told that the cannibal is the Asian assistant. All clues point to a small island in the Pacific and of course the two want to know the details. They are joined during the journey by the handsome journalist Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), Molotto (Dakar) and three guides. In no time, the group is attacked by bloodthirsty cannibals who are also zombies!

Girolami can’t direct at all and you can see that in almost every scene. Just like Ed Wood, the Italian thought it was exceptable to put night in day scenes, but fortunately that does not spoil the fun. You simply watch Zombi Holocaust because you are keen on pictures with skulls that are sawn in half or intestines that are torn from the body of a young virgin. It doesn’t matter that suddenly Ian McCulloch grabs his phone in the jungle to report "Help, help, we are attacked by the cannibals". Cult classic!

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


NL

Het blijft opletten geblazen als je het over obscure cultfilms hebt, maar de Zombi Holocaust waar wij het over hebben, is de Italiaanse productie uit 1980 van Marino Girolami, die ook als Zombie 3 en Doctor Butcher, M.D. is uitgebracht. Het kon producer Fabrizio De Angelis geen moer schelen hoe de film aan de man werd gebracht, zolang er maar volk naar de bioscoop kwam. In 1980 was het publiek nog volop wild van exploitatiefilms waarin wetenschappers naar verlaten eilanden trekken om er kannibalen op te speuren. De Angelis dacht dat het een goed idee zou zijn om dit genre met een zombiefilm te combineren. Girolami was het soort regisseur dat films aan de lopende band maakt en dus de ideale persoon voor zo’n job, omdat die zonder veel porren doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Je kan moeilijk zeggen dat Zombi Holocaust een goede film is, maar dankzij de vele weerzinwekkende scènes is hij uitgegroeid tot een klassieker in het genre.

Het verhaal is bijna een blauwdruk van Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato. De antropologiste Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is de assistente van Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, neen niet de Bunnymen-zanger). Er gebeuren vreemde dingen in het lijkenhuisje waar ze werkt. Een onbekende rukt allerlei ledematen van de lijken. In minder dan tien minuten komen we te weten dat de kannibaal de Aziatische assistent is. Alle sporen leiden naar een eilandje in de Stille Oceaan en natuurlijk willen de twee daar het fijne van weten. Ze krijgen het gezelschap van de knappe journaliste Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), de schipper Molotto (Dakar) en drie gidsen. Binnen de kortste keren wordt de groep aangevallen door bloeddorstige kannibalen die op de koop toe ook nog zombies zijn!

Girolami kan in de verste verte niet regisseren en dat merk je in bijna iedere scène. Net zoals Ed Wood, vindt ook de Italiaan dat het moet kunnen om nachtscènes in dagscènes in te lassen, maar zoiets mag de pret niet drukken. Zombi Holocaust bekijk je nu eenmaal omdat je verlekkerd bent op beelden van schedels die doormidden worden gezaagd of darmen die uit het lichaam van een jonge maagd (dat denken we toch!) worden gerukt. Dat Ian McCulloch in de jungle plots zijn telefoon grijpt om te melden “Help, help we are attacked by the cannibals!” neem je er graag bij.

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate