tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

12/06/2015 : MARINO GIROLAMI - Zombi Holocaust

MARINO GIROLAMI

Zombi Holocaust

MovieCult movies
Horror

[60/100]   
12/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is always confusing when you’re watching obscure cult films, but the Zombi Holocaust that we are talking about is the Italian production from 1980 by Marino Girolam, also known as Zombie 3 and Doctor Butcher, MD. Producer Fabrizio De Angelis didn’t care how the film was named, as long as people came to the cinema. In 1980, the public was still wild about exploitation movies in which scientists go to deserted islands to seek for cannibals. De Angelis thought it would be a good idea to combine this genre with a zombie movie. Girolami was the kind of director who made 2 or 3 films per year, and so the ideal person for such a job because without much prodding he always did what was asked of him. You can hardly say that Zombi Holocaust is a good movie, but thanks to the many horrific scenes, it has become a classic in the genre.

The tiny story is almost a blueprint of Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato. The antropologist Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is the assistant of Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, and no, he’s not the Bunnymen singer!). Strange things happen in the morgue where she works. A stranger pulls limbs from corpses. In less than ten minutes we are told that the cannibal is the Asian assistant. All clues point to a small island in the Pacific and of course the two want to know the details. They are joined during the journey by the handsome journalist Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), Molotto (Dakar) and three guides. In no time, the group is attacked by bloodthirsty cannibals who are also zombies!

Girolami can’t direct at all and you can see that in almost every scene. Just like Ed Wood, the Italian thought it was exceptable to put night in day scenes, but fortunately that does not spoil the fun. You simply watch Zombi Holocaust because you are keen on pictures with skulls that are sawn in half or intestines that are torn from the body of a young virgin. It doesn’t matter that suddenly Ian McCulloch grabs his phone in the jungle to report "Help, help, we are attacked by the cannibals". Cult classic!

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


NL

Het blijft opletten geblazen als je het over obscure cultfilms hebt, maar de Zombi Holocaust waar wij het over hebben, is de Italiaanse productie uit 1980 van Marino Girolami, die ook als Zombie 3 en Doctor Butcher, M.D. is uitgebracht. Het kon producer Fabrizio De Angelis geen moer schelen hoe de film aan de man werd gebracht, zolang er maar volk naar de bioscoop kwam. In 1980 was het publiek nog volop wild van exploitatiefilms waarin wetenschappers naar verlaten eilanden trekken om er kannibalen op te speuren. De Angelis dacht dat het een goed idee zou zijn om dit genre met een zombiefilm te combineren. Girolami was het soort regisseur dat films aan de lopende band maakt en dus de ideale persoon voor zo’n job, omdat die zonder veel porren doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Je kan moeilijk zeggen dat Zombi Holocaust een goede film is, maar dankzij de vele weerzinwekkende scènes is hij uitgegroeid tot een klassieker in het genre.

Het verhaal is bijna een blauwdruk van Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato. De antropologiste Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is de assistente van Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, neen niet de Bunnymen-zanger). Er gebeuren vreemde dingen in het lijkenhuisje waar ze werkt. Een onbekende rukt allerlei ledematen van de lijken. In minder dan tien minuten komen we te weten dat de kannibaal de Aziatische assistent is. Alle sporen leiden naar een eilandje in de Stille Oceaan en natuurlijk willen de twee daar het fijne van weten. Ze krijgen het gezelschap van de knappe journaliste Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), de schipper Molotto (Dakar) en drie gidsen. Binnen de kortste keren wordt de groep aangevallen door bloeddorstige kannibalen die op de koop toe ook nog zombies zijn!

Girolami kan in de verste verte niet regisseren en dat merk je in bijna iedere scène. Net zoals Ed Wood, vindt ook de Italiaan dat het moet kunnen om nachtscènes in dagscènes in te lassen, maar zoiets mag de pret niet drukken. Zombi Holocaust bekijk je nu eenmaal omdat je verlekkerd bent op beelden van schedels die doormidden worden gezaagd of darmen die uit het lichaam van een jonge maagd (dat denken we toch!) worden gerukt. Dat Ian McCulloch in de jungle plots zijn telefoon grijpt om te melden “Help, help we are attacked by the cannibals!” neem je er graag bij.

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)