tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

12/06/2015 : MARINO GIROLAMI - Zombi Holocaust

MARINO GIROLAMI

Zombi Holocaust

MovieCult movies
Horror

[60/100]   
12/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is always confusing when you’re watching obscure cult films, but the Zombi Holocaust that we are talking about is the Italian production from 1980 by Marino Girolam, also known as Zombie 3 and Doctor Butcher, MD. Producer Fabrizio De Angelis didn’t care how the film was named, as long as people came to the cinema. In 1980, the public was still wild about exploitation movies in which scientists go to deserted islands to seek for cannibals. De Angelis thought it would be a good idea to combine this genre with a zombie movie. Girolami was the kind of director who made 2 or 3 films per year, and so the ideal person for such a job because without much prodding he always did what was asked of him. You can hardly say that Zombi Holocaust is a good movie, but thanks to the many horrific scenes, it has become a classic in the genre.

The tiny story is almost a blueprint of Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato. The antropologist Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is the assistant of Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, and no, he’s not the Bunnymen singer!). Strange things happen in the morgue where she works. A stranger pulls limbs from corpses. In less than ten minutes we are told that the cannibal is the Asian assistant. All clues point to a small island in the Pacific and of course the two want to know the details. They are joined during the journey by the handsome journalist Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), Molotto (Dakar) and three guides. In no time, the group is attacked by bloodthirsty cannibals who are also zombies!

Girolami can’t direct at all and you can see that in almost every scene. Just like Ed Wood, the Italian thought it was exceptable to put night in day scenes, but fortunately that does not spoil the fun. You simply watch Zombi Holocaust because you are keen on pictures with skulls that are sawn in half or intestines that are torn from the body of a young virgin. It doesn’t matter that suddenly Ian McCulloch grabs his phone in the jungle to report "Help, help, we are attacked by the cannibals". Cult classic!

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


NL

Het blijft opletten geblazen als je het over obscure cultfilms hebt, maar de Zombi Holocaust waar wij het over hebben, is de Italiaanse productie uit 1980 van Marino Girolami, die ook als Zombie 3 en Doctor Butcher, M.D. is uitgebracht. Het kon producer Fabrizio De Angelis geen moer schelen hoe de film aan de man werd gebracht, zolang er maar volk naar de bioscoop kwam. In 1980 was het publiek nog volop wild van exploitatiefilms waarin wetenschappers naar verlaten eilanden trekken om er kannibalen op te speuren. De Angelis dacht dat het een goed idee zou zijn om dit genre met een zombiefilm te combineren. Girolami was het soort regisseur dat films aan de lopende band maakt en dus de ideale persoon voor zo’n job, omdat die zonder veel porren doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Je kan moeilijk zeggen dat Zombi Holocaust een goede film is, maar dankzij de vele weerzinwekkende scènes is hij uitgegroeid tot een klassieker in het genre.

Het verhaal is bijna een blauwdruk van Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato. De antropologiste Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli) is de assistente van Dr. Peter Chandler (Ian McCulloch, neen niet de Bunnymen-zanger). Er gebeuren vreemde dingen in het lijkenhuisje waar ze werkt. Een onbekende rukt allerlei ledematen van de lijken. In minder dan tien minuten komen we te weten dat de kannibaal de Aziatische assistent is. Alle sporen leiden naar een eilandje in de Stille Oceaan en natuurlijk willen de twee daar het fijne van weten. Ze krijgen het gezelschap van de knappe journaliste Susan (Sherry Buchanan), Lori (Alexandra Delli Colli), de schipper Molotto (Dakar) en drie gidsen. Binnen de kortste keren wordt de groep aangevallen door bloeddorstige kannibalen die op de koop toe ook nog zombies zijn!

Girolami kan in de verste verte niet regisseren en dat merk je in bijna iedere scène. Net zoals Ed Wood, vindt ook de Italiaan dat het moet kunnen om nachtscènes in dagscènes in te lassen, maar zoiets mag de pret niet drukken. Zombi Holocaust bekijk je nu eenmaal omdat je verlekkerd bent op beelden van schedels die doormidden worden gezaagd of darmen die uit het lichaam van een jonge maagd (dat denken we toch!) worden gerukt. Dat Ian McCulloch in de jungle plots zijn telefoon grijpt om te melden “Help, help we are attacked by the cannibals!” neem je er graag bij.

Didier BECU
12/06/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)