tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

MEG BAIRD

Don' t Weight Down the Light

MusicCD
americanaFolk

[80/100]   

Wichita Recordings
10/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Colourful hills, outstretched plains and evenings by the fire… that's what I imagine at hearing this music. Fingerpicking guitar play decorated with some subtle electrical guitar accompanies the silent, etherical and mysterious vocals. An album with psychelic, folky and dreamy elements. You could call it Americana. The electric guitar work sometimes contains long melody lines and emphasizes the psychedelic parts of the album.

‘I don’ t Mind’ has a nice lyric and is a good balanced song. ‘Back to You’ is a nice track, too. The beautiful combination of acoustic and electrical guitar in the intro and at the end. Tin-like vocals that sometimes sound a bit Irish. ‘Good Directions’ interrupts the slow flow and brings schwung to the album. A pleasant song. The title song is a fragile and atmospheric piece of music.

You can argue about taste... Some people will love this fragile and tin-like vocals. it is difficult for me to listen to an entire album of such vocals. But, I must admit that there’ s nothing wrong and that they fit nicely with the music.

Music, reduced to its essence: guitar and vocals. Music that has an impact if you take some time and space to listen to. Lovers of folk and Americana will have a good time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


NL

Kleurrijke heuvels, uitgestrekte vlaktes en avonden bij het haardvuur… Deze beelden roept de muziek bij mij op. Fingerpicking gitaarspel met wat subtiele elektrisch gitaar ter versiering begeleiden deze rustige, soms etherische en mysterieuze zang. Zo krijgen we een album dat wat psychedelische, folky en wat dromerig elementen bevat. Je zou het ook Americana kunnen noemen. Het versterkte gitaarwerk, dat soms lange melodielijnen uitspuwt, zorgt voor de psychedelische invalshoek.

‘I don’ t Mind’ heeft een mooie tekst en is een heel mooi uitgebalanceerd nummer. Ook ‘Back to You’ is een heel aardig nummer. Mooi samenspel tussen akoestische en semi-akoestische gitaar in de intro en op het einde van de song. Hoog gezongen vocals die wat Iers aandoen bij momenten. Op ‘Good Directions’ wordt de trage flow van het album wat onderbroken en krijgen we wat schwung. Een heel leuk nummer. Het titelnummer is een breekbare en atmosferische song geworden.

Over smaken valt te discussiëren… Sommigen zullen weg zijn van haar ijle stem en anderen dan weer niet. Zelf vind ik het wat te ijl om een hele cd naar te luisteren. Maar er valt niets aan te merken op haar zangkwaliteiten, die goed passen bij de muziek.

Muziek teruggebracht tot haar essentie: gitaar en zang. Muziek die impact heeft als je de tijd en ruimte neemt om ze te beluisteren. Folk- en Americanaliefhebbers zullen hier zeker plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light 10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside