tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

MEG BAIRD

Don' t Weight Down the Light

MusicCD
americanaFolk

[80/100]   

Wichita Recordings
10/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Colourful hills, outstretched plains and evenings by the fire… that's what I imagine at hearing this music. Fingerpicking guitar play decorated with some subtle electrical guitar accompanies the silent, etherical and mysterious vocals. An album with psychelic, folky and dreamy elements. You could call it Americana. The electric guitar work sometimes contains long melody lines and emphasizes the psychedelic parts of the album.

‘I don’ t Mind’ has a nice lyric and is a good balanced song. ‘Back to You’ is a nice track, too. The beautiful combination of acoustic and electrical guitar in the intro and at the end. Tin-like vocals that sometimes sound a bit Irish. ‘Good Directions’ interrupts the slow flow and brings schwung to the album. A pleasant song. The title song is a fragile and atmospheric piece of music.

You can argue about taste... Some people will love this fragile and tin-like vocals. it is difficult for me to listen to an entire album of such vocals. But, I must admit that there’ s nothing wrong and that they fit nicely with the music.

Music, reduced to its essence: guitar and vocals. Music that has an impact if you take some time and space to listen to. Lovers of folk and Americana will have a good time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


NL

Kleurrijke heuvels, uitgestrekte vlaktes en avonden bij het haardvuur… Deze beelden roept de muziek bij mij op. Fingerpicking gitaarspel met wat subtiele elektrisch gitaar ter versiering begeleiden deze rustige, soms etherische en mysterieuze zang. Zo krijgen we een album dat wat psychedelische, folky en wat dromerig elementen bevat. Je zou het ook Americana kunnen noemen. Het versterkte gitaarwerk, dat soms lange melodielijnen uitspuwt, zorgt voor de psychedelische invalshoek.

‘I don’ t Mind’ heeft een mooie tekst en is een heel mooi uitgebalanceerd nummer. Ook ‘Back to You’ is een heel aardig nummer. Mooi samenspel tussen akoestische en semi-akoestische gitaar in de intro en op het einde van de song. Hoog gezongen vocals die wat Iers aandoen bij momenten. Op ‘Good Directions’ wordt de trage flow van het album wat onderbroken en krijgen we wat schwung. Een heel leuk nummer. Het titelnummer is een breekbare en atmosferische song geworden.

Over smaken valt te discussiëren… Sommigen zullen weg zijn van haar ijle stem en anderen dan weer niet. Zelf vind ik het wat te ijl om een hele cd naar te luisteren. Maar er valt niets aan te merken op haar zangkwaliteiten, die goed passen bij de muziek.

Muziek teruggebracht tot haar essentie: gitaar en zang. Muziek die impact heeft als je de tijd en ruimte neemt om ze te beluisteren. Folk- en Americanaliefhebbers zullen hier zeker plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light 10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)