tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

MEG BAIRD

Don' t Weight Down the Light

MusicCD
americanaFolk

[80/100]   

Wichita Recordings
10/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Colourful hills, outstretched plains and evenings by the fire… that's what I imagine at hearing this music. Fingerpicking guitar play decorated with some subtle electrical guitar accompanies the silent, etherical and mysterious vocals. An album with psychelic, folky and dreamy elements. You could call it Americana. The electric guitar work sometimes contains long melody lines and emphasizes the psychedelic parts of the album.

‘I don’ t Mind’ has a nice lyric and is a good balanced song. ‘Back to You’ is a nice track, too. The beautiful combination of acoustic and electrical guitar in the intro and at the end. Tin-like vocals that sometimes sound a bit Irish. ‘Good Directions’ interrupts the slow flow and brings schwung to the album. A pleasant song. The title song is a fragile and atmospheric piece of music.

You can argue about taste... Some people will love this fragile and tin-like vocals. it is difficult for me to listen to an entire album of such vocals. But, I must admit that there’ s nothing wrong and that they fit nicely with the music.

Music, reduced to its essence: guitar and vocals. Music that has an impact if you take some time and space to listen to. Lovers of folk and Americana will have a good time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


NL

Kleurrijke heuvels, uitgestrekte vlaktes en avonden bij het haardvuur… Deze beelden roept de muziek bij mij op. Fingerpicking gitaarspel met wat subtiele elektrisch gitaar ter versiering begeleiden deze rustige, soms etherische en mysterieuze zang. Zo krijgen we een album dat wat psychedelische, folky en wat dromerig elementen bevat. Je zou het ook Americana kunnen noemen. Het versterkte gitaarwerk, dat soms lange melodielijnen uitspuwt, zorgt voor de psychedelische invalshoek.

‘I don’ t Mind’ heeft een mooie tekst en is een heel mooi uitgebalanceerd nummer. Ook ‘Back to You’ is een heel aardig nummer. Mooi samenspel tussen akoestische en semi-akoestische gitaar in de intro en op het einde van de song. Hoog gezongen vocals die wat Iers aandoen bij momenten. Op ‘Good Directions’ wordt de trage flow van het album wat onderbroken en krijgen we wat schwung. Een heel leuk nummer. Het titelnummer is een breekbare en atmosferische song geworden.

Over smaken valt te discussiëren… Sommigen zullen weg zijn van haar ijle stem en anderen dan weer niet. Zelf vind ik het wat te ijl om een hele cd naar te luisteren. Maar er valt niets aan te merken op haar zangkwaliteiten, die goed passen bij de muziek.

Muziek teruggebracht tot haar essentie: gitaar en zang. Muziek die impact heeft als je de tijd en ruimte neemt om ze te beluisteren. Folk- en Americanaliefhebbers zullen hier zeker plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light 10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper