tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

MEG BAIRD

Don' t Weight Down the Light

MusicCD
americanaFolk

[80/100]   

Wichita Recordings
10/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Colourful hills, outstretched plains and evenings by the fire… that's what I imagine at hearing this music. Fingerpicking guitar play decorated with some subtle electrical guitar accompanies the silent, etherical and mysterious vocals. An album with psychelic, folky and dreamy elements. You could call it Americana. The electric guitar work sometimes contains long melody lines and emphasizes the psychedelic parts of the album.

‘I don’ t Mind’ has a nice lyric and is a good balanced song. ‘Back to You’ is a nice track, too. The beautiful combination of acoustic and electrical guitar in the intro and at the end. Tin-like vocals that sometimes sound a bit Irish. ‘Good Directions’ interrupts the slow flow and brings schwung to the album. A pleasant song. The title song is a fragile and atmospheric piece of music.

You can argue about taste... Some people will love this fragile and tin-like vocals. it is difficult for me to listen to an entire album of such vocals. But, I must admit that there’ s nothing wrong and that they fit nicely with the music.

Music, reduced to its essence: guitar and vocals. Music that has an impact if you take some time and space to listen to. Lovers of folk and Americana will have a good time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


NL

Kleurrijke heuvels, uitgestrekte vlaktes en avonden bij het haardvuur… Deze beelden roept de muziek bij mij op. Fingerpicking gitaarspel met wat subtiele elektrisch gitaar ter versiering begeleiden deze rustige, soms etherische en mysterieuze zang. Zo krijgen we een album dat wat psychedelische, folky en wat dromerig elementen bevat. Je zou het ook Americana kunnen noemen. Het versterkte gitaarwerk, dat soms lange melodielijnen uitspuwt, zorgt voor de psychedelische invalshoek.

‘I don’ t Mind’ heeft een mooie tekst en is een heel mooi uitgebalanceerd nummer. Ook ‘Back to You’ is een heel aardig nummer. Mooi samenspel tussen akoestische en semi-akoestische gitaar in de intro en op het einde van de song. Hoog gezongen vocals die wat Iers aandoen bij momenten. Op ‘Good Directions’ wordt de trage flow van het album wat onderbroken en krijgen we wat schwung. Een heel leuk nummer. Het titelnummer is een breekbare en atmosferische song geworden.

Over smaken valt te discussiëren… Sommigen zullen weg zijn van haar ijle stem en anderen dan weer niet. Zelf vind ik het wat te ijl om een hele cd naar te luisteren. Maar er valt niets aan te merken op haar zangkwaliteiten, die goed passen bij de muziek.

Muziek teruggebracht tot haar essentie: gitaar en zang. Muziek die impact heeft als je de tijd en ruimte neemt om ze te beluisteren. Folk- en Americanaliefhebbers zullen hier zeker plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light 10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise