tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

MEG BAIRD

Don' t Weight Down the Light

MusicCD
americanaFolk

[80/100]   

Wichita Recordings
10/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Colourful hills, outstretched plains and evenings by the fire… that's what I imagine at hearing this music. Fingerpicking guitar play decorated with some subtle electrical guitar accompanies the silent, etherical and mysterious vocals. An album with psychelic, folky and dreamy elements. You could call it Americana. The electric guitar work sometimes contains long melody lines and emphasizes the psychedelic parts of the album.

‘I don’ t Mind’ has a nice lyric and is a good balanced song. ‘Back to You’ is a nice track, too. The beautiful combination of acoustic and electrical guitar in the intro and at the end. Tin-like vocals that sometimes sound a bit Irish. ‘Good Directions’ interrupts the slow flow and brings schwung to the album. A pleasant song. The title song is a fragile and atmospheric piece of music.

You can argue about taste... Some people will love this fragile and tin-like vocals. it is difficult for me to listen to an entire album of such vocals. But, I must admit that there’ s nothing wrong and that they fit nicely with the music.

Music, reduced to its essence: guitar and vocals. Music that has an impact if you take some time and space to listen to. Lovers of folk and Americana will have a good time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


NL

Kleurrijke heuvels, uitgestrekte vlaktes en avonden bij het haardvuur… Deze beelden roept de muziek bij mij op. Fingerpicking gitaarspel met wat subtiele elektrisch gitaar ter versiering begeleiden deze rustige, soms etherische en mysterieuze zang. Zo krijgen we een album dat wat psychedelische, folky en wat dromerig elementen bevat. Je zou het ook Americana kunnen noemen. Het versterkte gitaarwerk, dat soms lange melodielijnen uitspuwt, zorgt voor de psychedelische invalshoek.

‘I don’ t Mind’ heeft een mooie tekst en is een heel mooi uitgebalanceerd nummer. Ook ‘Back to You’ is een heel aardig nummer. Mooi samenspel tussen akoestische en semi-akoestische gitaar in de intro en op het einde van de song. Hoog gezongen vocals die wat Iers aandoen bij momenten. Op ‘Good Directions’ wordt de trage flow van het album wat onderbroken en krijgen we wat schwung. Een heel leuk nummer. Het titelnummer is een breekbare en atmosferische song geworden.

Over smaken valt te discussiëren… Sommigen zullen weg zijn van haar ijle stem en anderen dan weer niet. Zelf vind ik het wat te ijl om een hele cd naar te luisteren. Maar er valt niets aan te merken op haar zangkwaliteiten, die goed passen bij de muziek.

Muziek teruggebracht tot haar essentie: gitaar en zang. Muziek die impact heeft als je de tijd en ruimte neemt om ze te beluisteren. Folk- en Americanaliefhebbers zullen hier zeker plezier aan beleven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/06/2015


10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light 10/06/2015 : MEG BAIRD - Don' t Weight Down the Light

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains