tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck

BRETT MORGEN

Cobain: Montage Of Heck

MovieDocumentary
Documentary

[86/100]   

Universal Pictures
08/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It was 1991, Pukkelpop was still a pretty small little music festival. At ten o'clock in the morning I watched a small band. The name? Nirvana. Nobody knew them, no one was interested in this bunch of noisemakers who were summoned at the last minute because Limbomaniacs had canceled. The set lasted 25 minutes. Their music was OK, but sounded just like any other grunge band from the Subpop-stable. Barely a month later it happened. When Smells Like Teen Spirit was released and the labile Kurt Cobain was sucked into the media circus that crowned him as the newest rock god. His fame lasted only three years, which is all in all more than those 15 minutes you get from Warhol. Unfortunately, the price was heavy, because during a second suicide attempt in one month, the singer shot a bullet through his head. Nirvana has never been the best band in the world, but Kurt Cobain may rightly say that he was a überrockgod, perhaps the last one ever.

One day there will be film about Cobain's life, but more interesting is the documentary Cobain: Montage Of Heck in which director Brett Morgen (also maker of the outrageously underrated The Kid Stays In The Picture) shows us a portrait we have never seen before. Through the use of old private recordings we see Cobain as hyperactive (and uncontrollable) child. His dream world is shot to pieces when his parents divorce. At school he was a bully and refuses to do anything. He seeks the music and together with Krist Novoselic and Dave Grohl he forms Nirvana. No one has ears for their deafening, chaotic punk rock that smells like (ha!) Steve Albini. When they eventually are signed to Subpop no one (except the English press, which this documentary doesn’t mention) believes in their debut album Bleach.

We see great clips from little concerts in their home town Aberdeen, but the interviews with his first fiancée Tracy already show the first dark sides of his personality, and especially his desire for drugs. When each person buys a copy of Nevermind, it gets worse when he crosses the path of Courtney Love. Once a concert organizer with decades of experience told me that Courtney Love was the worst hell that he has ever witnessed, and there is nothing that makes me doubt those words. While Nevermind became the best selling album of the 90’s, Cobain should normally tour around the world and grab tons of money. He did not, but locked himself up during six months with the Hole singer (the images you see speak for themselves).

You don’t have to be a fan of Cobain (I am not at all) to see that Cobain: Montage Of Heck is a brilliant documentary. Not that you get new information about the singer (after all everyone knows that Cobain was a junkie), but it shows an intriguing portrait of a pop star who was caught between the dark side of glamor and his own paranoid soul. Must.

Didier BECU
08/06/2015


NL

Het was 1991, op Pukkelpop dat toen nog een vrij klein festivalletje was. Om tien uur ’s morgens keek ik naar een bandje. De naam? Nirvana. Niemand kende het, niemand was geïnteresseerd in de bende lawaaimakers die op het laatste nippertje werd opgetrommeld omdat (godbetert) de Limbomaniacs hadden afgezegd. De set duurde 25 minuten. Hun muziek was OK, maar klonk gewoon als de zoveelste grungeband uit de Subpop-stal. Amper een maand later gebeurde het. Plotseling werd Smells Like Teen Spirit als single uitgebracht en binnen een paar weken werd de labiele Kurt Cobain meegezogen in een mediacircus dat hem tot de nieuwste rockgod kroonde. Zijn roem duurde welgeteld drie jaar, wat al bij al meer is dan de 15 minuten die je van Warhol krijgt. Helaas was de tol loodzwaar, want tijdens een tweede zelfmoordpoging in één maand tijd schoot de zanger zich een kogel door het hoofd. Nirvana is en zal nooit de beste groep ter wereld zijn, maar Kurt Cobain mag met recht en reden zeggen dat hij een überrockgod was, misschien wel de allerlaatste die de muziek heeft voortgebracht.

Ooit zal er wel (en waarschijnlijke barslechte) verfilming komen over Cobains leven, maar veel interessanter is de documentaire Cobain: Montage Of Heck waarin regisseur Brett Morgen (ook maker van de schandalig onderschatte The Kid Stays In The Picture) ons een portret toont dat we nog nooit eerder van de ster zagen. Door het gebruik van allerlei privéopnames zien we Cobain als hyperactieve (en oncontroleerbare) kleuter. Zijn droomwereld wordt aan flarden geschoten als zijn ouders scheiden. Op school is hij een pestkop en weigert steevast om ook maar één poot uit te steken. Hij zoekt de muziek op en samen met Krist Novoselic en Dave Grohl richten ze Nirvana op. Niemand heeft oren naar hun loeiharde, rommelige punkrock dat naar Steve Albini ruikt. Als ze uiteindelijk worden getekend door Subpop, wil geen kat (behalve de Engelse pers waarover trouwens met geen woord in deze documentaire wordt gerept) weten van hun debuut Bleach.

We zien leuke fragmenten uit concertjes, maar de interviews met zijn eerste verloofde Tracy tonen al de eerste donkere kantjes van zijn persoonlijkheid, en vooral zijn drang naar drugs. Als ieder mens een exemplaar van Nevermind koopt, wordt het nog erger wanneer Courtney Love zijn pad kruist. Ooit vertelde een concertorganisator - die een decennia lange ervaring heeft - dat Courtney Love de ergste hel was die hij ooit heeft meegemaakt, en er is niks dat mij aan die woorden doet twijfelen. Terwijl Nevermind als de belangrijkste plaat uit de jaren 90 wordt beschouwd, zou Cobain normaliter de wereld rondtoeren en pakken geld verdienen. Hij deed dat niet, maar sloot zich zes maanden met de Hole-zangeres op (de beelden die je daarvan ziet spreken voor zich).

Je moet helemaal geen fan zijn van Cobain (want dat ben ik helemaal niet) om Cobain: Montage Of Heck een geniale documentaire te vinden. Niet dat je veel meer info over de zanger te weten komt (iedereen weet dat Cobain een junk was), maar de film toont op intrigerende wijze het relaas van een popster die gevangen zit tussen de donkere kant van de glamour en het branden van zijn eigen paranoïde ziel. Must.

Didier BECU
08/06/2015


08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck 08/06/2015 : BRETT MORGEN - Cobain: Montage Of Heck

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness