tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death)

JOSH LAWSON

Sex Actually (The Little Death)

Movie
Comedy

[64/100]   

Remain In Light
09/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

De gustibus non est disputandum, to say it in Latin, and the same goes for sex. "To each his own fetish" is therefore the focus point of this comedy by debutant Josh Lawson, who came in the spotlight during several film festivals like the one from Toronto. In the Benelux this film is named Sex Actually instead of the original The Little Death-title. Perhaps strange, but anyone who read Tess of the D'Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy knows that this is slang for orgasm. God knows why they chose this title over here, but in this comedy we follow 90 minutes long four couples who can’t manage to get an orgasm together. At least not if they try the old (for them boring) method.

We didn’t know, but there is something like dacryphilia. It refers to people who get excited when they see someone crying. Or how about somnofilia? People whose heart is pounding faster when they see someone sleeping. Maeve (Bojana Novakovic) dreams of being raped by her own husband, while her husband Paul (Lawson also acting) prefers to suck her toes. The sexual relationship between Phil (Alan Dukes) and Maureen (Lisa McCune) does not really go smoothly because her husband only gets excited when his wife takes a nap (and therefore he gives her sleeping pills). Evie (Kate Mulvany) and Dane (Damon Herriman) can only come together if they do role-playing games. Nothing unusual, perhaps, but what do you do when he wants to be a doctor while his wife has to play a patient with hepatitis?

We can go on for a while. Although Sex Actually is no big film (it's not even a good one) there are sketches included (a true story missing) that are quite comical. It might all be just a little too polished, nevertheless everyone (including even the biggest sourpuss) will die from laughter with some scenes. Especially the slot in which Monica (Erin James) must translate phone sex with sign language, is hilarious. No, it's not a masterpiece, but much better than the average weekly comedy we get punched in the stomach.

Didier BECU
09/06/2015


NL

De gustibus non est disputandum om het op zijn Latijns te zeggen, en dat geldt ook voor seks. “Ieder zijn fetish” is dan ook het uitgangspunt van deze leuke komedie van debutant Josh Lawson, die daarmee aardig in de kijker liep op diverse filmfestivals, zoals bijv. in Toronto. In de Benelux draagt deze film wel de titel Sex Actually in plaats van de originele The Little Death. Misschien vreemd, maar wie ooit Tess of the D'Urbervilles van Thomas Hardy las, weet dat dit gewoon een ander woord is voor orgasme. God weet waarom men bij ons voor deze titel koos, maar in deze komedie volgen we 90 minuten vier koppels die er maar niet in slagen om samen een orgasme te krijgen. Ten minste niet als ze het volgens de oude (voor hun saaie) methode doen.

Zelf wisten we het ook niet, maar er bestaat zoiets als dacryfilie. Je vindt het niet in Hardys roman hoor, maar het zou om mensen gaan die opgewonden raken als ze iemand zien huilen. Of wat dacht je van somnofilie? Dat zijn mensen wiens hart sneller bonkt als ze iemand zien slapen. Over dit soort afwijkingen gaat het dus, en viespeuken die iets meer gewaagd willen, kunnen maar beter iets anders in de dvd-lader stoppen. Nou ja gewoon, Maeve (Bojana Novakovic) droomt ervan om door haar eigen man te worden verkracht, terwijl haar man Paul (Lawson die dus ook acteert) het liefst aan haar tenen sabbelt. Ook de seksrelatie tussen Phil (Alan Dukes) en Maureen (Lisa McCune) loopt niet echt op wieltjes, haar man raakt alleen maar opgewonden als zijn vrouw een dutje doet (en stopt haar daarom maar daarom vol met slaappillen). Evie (Kate Mulvany) en Dane (Damon Herriman) kunnen alleen maar aan hun seksuele trekken komen als ze een rollenspel spellen. Niets ongewoons misschien, maar wat doe je als het een fantasie van manlief is om dokter te spelen en zijn vrouw een patiënte met hepatitis?

We kunnen nog wel een tijdje zo doorgaan. Alhoewel Sex Actually geen grote film is (het is zelfs geen goede) zijn de sketches (een echt verhaal ontbreekt) toch best komisch. Het is misschien allemaal wel net iets te gepolijst, desalniettemin zal iedereen (inclusief de grootste zuurpruim) schaterlachen met sommige stukken. Vooral het slot waarin Monica (Erin James) via Skype telefoonseks met gebarentaal moet vertalen, is hilarisch. Neen, een meesterwerk is het niet, wel veel beter dan de doorsnee komedie die we wekelijks in de maag gestompt krijgen.

Didier BECU
09/06/2015


09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death) 09/06/2015 : JOSH LAWSON - Sex Actually (The Little Death)

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted