tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2015 : BALTIMORE - Baltimore

BALTIMORE

Baltimore

MusicCD
GaragerockPopPsychedelic

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/06/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

After Daktari and Candle Bags, there is again a Flemish debut CD in our player. The quartet calls itself Baltimore and the eponymous EP contains 6 songs. With such a name one indicates of course that the ambitions go further than the Flemish soil, but on this first ep the four guys make the kind of music that should be able to score effortless beyond the Belgian borders.

The most striking feature of the ep Baltimore is the fact that the repertoire does not sound like a debut, because the material is not only melodic, in terms of vocals and instruments it is also very well put together. Without wishing to create too great expectations by comparing this young band with major international acts, we can confirm that the sound of Baltimore
is very much akin to that of British college bands, because the compositions sound firm, but at the same time friendly and poppy, with beautiful, sometimes slightly melancholic vocals and occasionally a solid guitar intervention as evidence of the fact that the band does have balls.

Bumblebees, for which a music video was made which you can watch on YouTube, is a strong business card for Baltimore, with gentle guitars, woody percussion and seductive vocals that immediately put you in a good mood. The song is bathed in a slightly psychedelic and natural atmosphere, with butterflies and blue clouds sliding past. She Believes starts with emphatic guitars which also dominate the rest of the composition, but as soon as the soft humming vocals are added, the song effortlessly finds the right track. Halfway through gorgeous synth-like guitar playing is added. Monotony begins dark
and then gets clock-like guitars and Housemartins-like vocals: relaxed and contagious, a thoroughbred ballad that we brand as our favorite.

Going Home chooses a similar path, again with wonderful vocal work, singing guitars and precisely timed drums, a song Michael Stipe worthy. Easing My Mind sounds a lot darker, with buzzing guitars and varied percussion. We have already mentioned The Smiths? The Moon closes the album in beauty. It has something of a nursery rhyme, but it also sounds like Morrissey in an optimistic mood. The guitars sound loud in the coda: singing, whistling and yet always melodic. Not dangerous enough? Maybe not, but very beautiful.

Note the beautiful esoteric cover. Very strong debut. Give it a chance, it deserves one!

Playlist:
1. Bumblebees
2. She Believed
3. Monotony
4. Going Home
5. Easing My Mind
6. The Moon

Bumblebees
baltimore.official@gmail.com

William LIÉNARD
07/06/2015


NL

Na Daktari en Candle Bags zit er opnieuw een Vlaams debuut uit Limburg in onze cd-speler. Het viermangezelschap noemt zich Baltimore en de gelijknamige ep bevat 6 songs. Met zo’n naam geef je aan dat je ambities verder liggen dan het Noord-Limburgse platteland en Vlaanderen tout court, maar de vier Limburgers maken op deze eersteling dan ook het soort muziek dat moeiteloos over de eigen grenzen kan scoren.

Het opvallendste kenmerk van de ep Baltimore is wellicht het feit dat het repertoire niet klinkt als een debuut, want het materiaal is niet alleen melodieus, het zit ook qua vocalen en instrumentarium heel erg goed ineen. Zonder al te grote verwachtingen te willen scheppen door deze jonge band met grote internationale acts te vergelijken – daar wordt hij op termijn toch maar vlijmscherp op afgerekend met alle negatieve gevolgen van dien – willen we wel kwijt dat het geluid van Baltimore heel erg verwant is met dat van Engelse collegebands, want de composities klinken stevig, maar tegelijk ook vriendelijke en poppy, met een prachtige, soms een beetje melancholische zangpartij en af en toe een stevige gitaarinterventie als bewijs dat het gezelschap wel degelijk ballen heeft.

Bumblebees, waarvoor een videoclip is gemaakt die u op YouTube kan bekijken, is zondermeer een sterk visitekaartje, met lieflijke gitaren, houtachtig slagwerk en verleidelijke vocalen die je meteen in de goede sfeer brengen. De song baadt in een lichtjes psychedelische en vooral ongedwongen sfeer, waarin je als luisteraar de vlinders en de blauwe wolken moeiteloos aan je interne oog voorbij ziet schuiven. She Believes begint met nadrukkelijke gitaren die ook de rest van de song domineren, maar van zodra de zacht zoemende vocalen worden toegevoegd, vindt de song moeiteloos de vertrouwde bedding. Halfweg wordt prachtig synthachtig gitaarspel toegevoegd. Monotony begint donker en krijgt dan klokachtige gitaarspel en Housemartins-achtige vocalen: relaxed en aanstekelijk, een volbloed ballade die we vanaf de eerste beluistering als favoriet brandmerken.

Going Home kiest een gelijksoortig pad, met opnieuw prachtig vocaalwerk, zingende gitaren en precies getimede drums, een song Michael Stipe waardig. Easing My Mind klinkt opnieuw een flink stuk donkerder, met zoemende gitaren en gevarieerd slagwerk. Hadden we The Smiths al vermeld? The Moon sluit het album in schoonheid af. Het heeft iets van een kinderliedje, maar het klinkt ook als Morrissey in een optimistische bui. De gitaren nemen de coda voor hun rekening, zingend, fluitend en toch altijd melodisch. Te ongevaarlijk? Misschien, maar wel heel erg mooi.

Let ook op de prachtige esoterische hoes. Heel sterk debuut. Zeker luisteren.

Bumblebees
baltimore.official@gmail.com

William LIÉNARD
07/06/2015


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed