tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2015 : BALTIMORE - Baltimore

BALTIMORE

Baltimore

MusicCD
GaragerockPopPsychedelic

[95/100]   

Self-released
07/06/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

After Daktari and Candle Bags, there is again a Flemish debut CD in our player. The quartet calls itself Baltimore and the eponymous EP contains 6 songs. With such a name one indicates of course that the ambitions go further than the Flemish soil, but on this first ep the four guys make the kind of music that should be able to score effortless beyond the Belgian borders.

The most striking feature of the ep Baltimore is the fact that the repertoire does not sound like a debut, because the material is not only melodic, in terms of vocals and instruments it is also very well put together. Without wishing to create too great expectations by comparing this young band with major international acts, we can confirm that the sound of Baltimore
is very much akin to that of British college bands, because the compositions sound firm, but at the same time friendly and poppy, with beautiful, sometimes slightly melancholic vocals and occasionally a solid guitar intervention as evidence of the fact that the band does have balls.

Bumblebees, for which a music video was made which you can watch on YouTube, is a strong business card for Baltimore, with gentle guitars, woody percussion and seductive vocals that immediately put you in a good mood. The song is bathed in a slightly psychedelic and natural atmosphere, with butterflies and blue clouds sliding past. She Believes starts with emphatic guitars which also dominate the rest of the composition, but as soon as the soft humming vocals are added, the song effortlessly finds the right track. Halfway through gorgeous synth-like guitar playing is added. Monotony begins dark
and then gets clock-like guitars and Housemartins-like vocals: relaxed and contagious, a thoroughbred ballad that we brand as our favorite.

Going Home chooses a similar path, again with wonderful vocal work, singing guitars and precisely timed drums, a song Michael Stipe worthy. Easing My Mind sounds a lot darker, with buzzing guitars and varied percussion. We have already mentioned The Smiths? The Moon closes the album in beauty. It has something of a nursery rhyme, but it also sounds like Morrissey in an optimistic mood. The guitars sound loud in the coda: singing, whistling and yet always melodic. Not dangerous enough? Maybe not, but very beautiful.

Note the beautiful esoteric cover. Very strong debut. Give it a chance, it deserves one!

Playlist:
1. Bumblebees
2. She Believed
3. Monotony
4. Going Home
5. Easing My Mind
6. The Moon

Bumblebees
baltimore.official@gmail.com

William LIÉNARD
07/06/2015


NL

Na Daktari en Candle Bags zit er opnieuw een Vlaams debuut uit Limburg in onze cd-speler. Het viermangezelschap noemt zich Baltimore en de gelijknamige ep bevat 6 songs. Met zo’n naam geef je aan dat je ambities verder liggen dan het Noord-Limburgse platteland en Vlaanderen tout court, maar de vier Limburgers maken op deze eersteling dan ook het soort muziek dat moeiteloos over de eigen grenzen kan scoren.

Het opvallendste kenmerk van de ep Baltimore is wellicht het feit dat het repertoire niet klinkt als een debuut, want het materiaal is niet alleen melodieus, het zit ook qua vocalen en instrumentarium heel erg goed ineen. Zonder al te grote verwachtingen te willen scheppen door deze jonge band met grote internationale acts te vergelijken – daar wordt hij op termijn toch maar vlijmscherp op afgerekend met alle negatieve gevolgen van dien – willen we wel kwijt dat het geluid van Baltimore heel erg verwant is met dat van Engelse collegebands, want de composities klinken stevig, maar tegelijk ook vriendelijke en poppy, met een prachtige, soms een beetje melancholische zangpartij en af en toe een stevige gitaarinterventie als bewijs dat het gezelschap wel degelijk ballen heeft.

Bumblebees, waarvoor een videoclip is gemaakt die u op YouTube kan bekijken, is zondermeer een sterk visitekaartje, met lieflijke gitaren, houtachtig slagwerk en verleidelijke vocalen die je meteen in de goede sfeer brengen. De song baadt in een lichtjes psychedelische en vooral ongedwongen sfeer, waarin je als luisteraar de vlinders en de blauwe wolken moeiteloos aan je interne oog voorbij ziet schuiven. She Believes begint met nadrukkelijke gitaren die ook de rest van de song domineren, maar van zodra de zacht zoemende vocalen worden toegevoegd, vindt de song moeiteloos de vertrouwde bedding. Halfweg wordt prachtig synthachtig gitaarspel toegevoegd. Monotony begint donker en krijgt dan klokachtige gitaarspel en Housemartins-achtige vocalen: relaxed en aanstekelijk, een volbloed ballade die we vanaf de eerste beluistering als favoriet brandmerken.

Going Home kiest een gelijksoortig pad, met opnieuw prachtig vocaalwerk, zingende gitaren en precies getimede drums, een song Michael Stipe waardig. Easing My Mind klinkt opnieuw een flink stuk donkerder, met zoemende gitaren en gevarieerd slagwerk. Hadden we The Smiths al vermeld? The Moon sluit het album in schoonheid af. Het heeft iets van een kinderliedje, maar het klinkt ook als Morrissey in een optimistische bui. De gitaren nemen de coda voor hun rekening, zingend, fluitend en toch altijd melodisch. Te ongevaarlijk? Misschien, maar wel heel erg mooi.

Let ook op de prachtige esoterische hoes. Heel sterk debuut. Zeker luisteren.

Bumblebees
baltimore.official@gmail.com

William LIÉNARD
07/06/2015


 

Next reviews
THE CHURCH • Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15
RIDLEY SCOTT • Blade Runner
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT • So This Is Permanence
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist
REICH • A Mexican Punk band to discover
GEOFFREY SAX • Frankie & Alice
MICHAEL ALMEREYDA • Cymbeline
LAKKER • Tundra
ANDY THE KID • Linchpin
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl