tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/06/2015 : THOMAS BRINKMANN - What You Hear (is what you hear)

THOMAS BRINKMANN

What You Hear (is what you hear)

MusicCD
AmbientExperimental
Editions Mego
03/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Thomas Brinkmann is known for making music that floats between techno, ambient and minimalism. Maybe youl know him from his pioneering albums 'Klick' and 'Variations' or 'The Mortimer Trap', a collaboration with Oren Ambarchi. On this album, he goes a step further because he strips the music of any kind of emotion and feeling.The artwork is also a good example of it. His 11 tracks are sound and song compositions that have little in common with regural and traditional songs structures

This is not a mainstream, not even alternative album.It's really a matter of looking beyond all the limits of prevailing values. So, you get new impressions by listenng to this music. To me, it's only interesting to discover the new sounds he develops. For the rest it's not easy to listen to. Therefor it's difficult to give a score to his work. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


NL

Thomas Brinkmann staat erom bekend muziek te maken die zweeft tussen techno, ambient en minimalisme. Misschien zijn zijn baanbrekende werken 'Klick' en ' Variations' of 'The Mortimer Trap' (een samenwerking met Oren Ambrachi) je wel bekend. Op dit album gaat hij nog een stapje verder en ontdoet als het ware de muziek van elke vorm van emotie en gevoel. Zijn 11 tracks bestaan uit klankcomposities die ver afstaan van traditonele geluid- en songstructuren.

Het is geen mainstream en zelfs geen alternatief album geworden. Het is echt een kwestie van het opzoeken van de limieten voorbij alle heersende waarden. Zo moet je als luisteraar nieuwe indrukken opdoen tijdens het beluisteren. Voor mij gaat het iets te ver om beluisterbaar te blijven, zeker in vergelijking met zijn vroeger werk. Wat ik vooral interssant vind zijn de geluiden die hij uit zijn instrumenten weet te puren. Daarom heb ik ook geen score gegeven aan dit album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


 

Next reviews
POKEY LAFARGE • Something In The Water
FABRICE DU WELZ • Alleluia
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET • We Break the Silence
ANNE THERESA DE KEERSMAEKER & ROSAS • Golden Hours (As you like it), Antwerpen, deSingel, 28/05/2015
ROEL REINE • The Man With The Iron Fists 2
ALAN WHITE • Reclaim
SILENTLIE • Layers of Nothing
MICHAEL HEAD & THE RED ELASTIC BAND • Velvets In The Dark
XAVIER BEAUVOIS • La Rançon De La Gloire

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses