tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/06/2015 : THOMAS BRINKMANN - What You Hear (is what you hear)

THOMAS BRINKMANN

What You Hear (is what you hear)

MusicCD
AmbientExperimental
Editions Mego
03/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Thomas Brinkmann is known for making music that floats between techno, ambient and minimalism. Maybe youl know him from his pioneering albums 'Klick' and 'Variations' or 'The Mortimer Trap', a collaboration with Oren Ambarchi. On this album, he goes a step further because he strips the music of any kind of emotion and feeling.The artwork is also a good example of it. His 11 tracks are sound and song compositions that have little in common with regural and traditional songs structures

This is not a mainstream, not even alternative album.It's really a matter of looking beyond all the limits of prevailing values. So, you get new impressions by listenng to this music. To me, it's only interesting to discover the new sounds he develops. For the rest it's not easy to listen to. Therefor it's difficult to give a score to his work. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


NL

Thomas Brinkmann staat erom bekend muziek te maken die zweeft tussen techno, ambient en minimalisme. Misschien zijn zijn baanbrekende werken 'Klick' en ' Variations' of 'The Mortimer Trap' (een samenwerking met Oren Ambrachi) je wel bekend. Op dit album gaat hij nog een stapje verder en ontdoet als het ware de muziek van elke vorm van emotie en gevoel. Zijn 11 tracks bestaan uit klankcomposities die ver afstaan van traditonele geluid- en songstructuren.

Het is geen mainstream en zelfs geen alternatief album geworden. Het is echt een kwestie van het opzoeken van de limieten voorbij alle heersende waarden. Zo moet je als luisteraar nieuwe indrukken opdoen tijdens het beluisteren. Voor mij gaat het iets te ver om beluisterbaar te blijven, zeker in vergelijking met zijn vroeger werk. Wat ik vooral interssant vind zijn de geluiden die hij uit zijn instrumenten weet te puren. Daarom heb ik ook geen score gegeven aan dit album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


 

Next reviews
POKEY LAFARGE • Something In The Water
FABRICE DU WELZ • Alleluia
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET • We Break the Silence
ANNE THERESA DE KEERSMAEKER & ROSAS • Golden Hours (As you like it), Antwerpen, deSingel, 28/05/2015
ROEL REINE • The Man With The Iron Fists 2
ALAN WHITE • Reclaim
SILENTLIE • Layers of Nothing
MICHAEL HEAD & THE RED ELASTIC BAND • Velvets In The Dark
XAVIER BEAUVOIS • La Rançon De La Gloire

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible