tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/06/2015 : THOMAS BRINKMANN - What You Hear (is what you hear)

THOMAS BRINKMANN

What You Hear (is what you hear)

MusicCD
AmbientExperimental
Editions Mego
03/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Thomas Brinkmann is known for making music that floats between techno, ambient and minimalism. Maybe youl know him from his pioneering albums 'Klick' and 'Variations' or 'The Mortimer Trap', a collaboration with Oren Ambarchi. On this album, he goes a step further because he strips the music of any kind of emotion and feeling.The artwork is also a good example of it. His 11 tracks are sound and song compositions that have little in common with regural and traditional songs structures

This is not a mainstream, not even alternative album.It's really a matter of looking beyond all the limits of prevailing values. So, you get new impressions by listenng to this music. To me, it's only interesting to discover the new sounds he develops. For the rest it's not easy to listen to. Therefor it's difficult to give a score to his work. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


NL

Thomas Brinkmann staat erom bekend muziek te maken die zweeft tussen techno, ambient en minimalisme. Misschien zijn zijn baanbrekende werken 'Klick' en ' Variations' of 'The Mortimer Trap' (een samenwerking met Oren Ambrachi) je wel bekend. Op dit album gaat hij nog een stapje verder en ontdoet als het ware de muziek van elke vorm van emotie en gevoel. Zijn 11 tracks bestaan uit klankcomposities die ver afstaan van traditonele geluid- en songstructuren.

Het is geen mainstream en zelfs geen alternatief album geworden. Het is echt een kwestie van het opzoeken van de limieten voorbij alle heersende waarden. Zo moet je als luisteraar nieuwe indrukken opdoen tijdens het beluisteren. Voor mij gaat het iets te ver om beluisterbaar te blijven, zeker in vergelijking met zijn vroeger werk. Wat ik vooral interssant vind zijn de geluiden die hij uit zijn instrumenten weet te puren. Daarom heb ik ook geen score gegeven aan dit album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


 

Next reviews
POKEY LAFARGE • Something In The Water
FABRICE DU WELZ • Alleluia
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET • We Break the Silence
ANNE THERESA DE KEERSMAEKER & ROSAS • Golden Hours (As you like it), Antwerpen, deSingel, 28/05/2015
ROEL REINE • The Man With The Iron Fists 2
ALAN WHITE • Reclaim
SILENTLIE • Layers of Nothing
MICHAEL HEAD & THE RED ELASTIC BAND • Velvets In The Dark
XAVIER BEAUVOIS • La Rançon De La Gloire

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi