tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/02/2014 : GEORGE SARAH - Timelapse

GEORGE SARAH

Timelapse

MusicCD
AmbientExperimentalIndustrial

[90/100]   
11/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

George Shimeall, known professionally by his stage name as George Sarah, is a Los Angeles, California based composer. Sarah was commissioned to compose the music for some productions at the Beijing Olympics in August 2008. Also lots of film soundtracks came from his hand. Now Flat Field records of Seattle will release Sarah’s new cd entitled ‘Timelaps’. The album is really special, and Sarah is back to form in the style of industrial ambient. Comparisons to Laibach, Coil or Massive Attack can be made, but still in his own unique brand of a mix between industrial and electronic chamber music.

Opening track 'Golden Mean', has a slow start, but speeds up with scary synths, and could easily be on a soundtrack of a triller.He has collaborated with bands like Bauhaus, and even toured as bass guitarist for ‘My life with the thrill kill kult'. This influences can be heard on tracks like : 'The star we spin around' and 'Mojave Sundown'. The track ' Flower of life', is back to the industrial roots, with a ferm beat, and a rollercoster of sounds. Like I said, this album is very variating, 'Mesh', seems to come from another galaxy, with spacy sounds all over. My favorite track is ' Shine', the most catchy song from the album, reminds me a bit of early Clock DVA, it has powerfull sounds and is purely electronics.

Timelaps is a gorgeously extrapolative collection of music based in depths of Sarah’s own personal beliefs and experiences, expressed in the vocabulary of music purely made and brilliantly played. No wonder this guy makes music for the discovery channel ; his is a world of wonder and possibility

1. Golden Mean
2. The Star We Spin Around
3. Unanchored
4. Flower Of Life
5. Mojave Sundown
6. Three And The Triangle
7. Mesh
8. Natural Forms
9. Shine
10. Rejected

Peter HESELMANS
11/02/2014


 

Next reviews
TRAFFICJAM • Lonely Happy
THE DEATH NOTES • Lost And Found
STUPID BITCH REJECT • Stupid Bitch Reject
CYNICAL EXISTENCE • Erase me EP
GEORGE R. R. MARTIN • Comic : A Game Of Thrones - Boek 1
• JOHAN FALK - SEASON 2
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
PSY'AVIAH FEAT. KYOKO BAERTSOEN • Our Common Future EP
VOLKOVA • Silent Howl
LITHOS SARCOPHAGOS • Myself

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty