tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/02/2014 : LITHOS SARCOPHAGOS - Myself

LITHOS SARCOPHAGOS

Myself

MusicCD
DoomGothic RockPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
07/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Lithos Sarcophagos is a sideproject by Daniel Dante from Madness of the Night. Honestly: I don't know who they are, but I loved the music from the moment that I started listening to it... and after reading this info, I almost stumbled of my chair … Lithos Sarcophagos started 2013 with the idea to make something more dark, traditional Gothic Rock with a blend of Black/Doom Metal. 26th January 2014 was the date of their first release, the ep Myself - MMXIV. It includes four track done from scratch by DIY-method. The same goes for the artwork for this album and release...

This is nice Swedish Goth Metal with a Latin name. Sounds a bit like a mix between The Elusive, Fields of the Nephilim and the voice of The Sisters of Mercy or Nephilim (depending on the song). It's for sure nice melodic music, well worked out. I love the dramatic vibe, it feels real and that is something that is hard to realize in this genre!

'Myself' is a real epic slow song, one over 8 minutes long! I'm completely sucked into this song and the dramatic scenery! I'm pretty sure that this song has a nice vibe on stage! I also love the piano (synth) in it!

'Between heaven and the Sky' has a higher tempo and feels a bit more like a sing a long song with a great chorus! In this song I feel a more 'Suspiria' and 'Nightbreed' influence, the kind I love!

'The Circle' is a slower one, with nice retro guitars (from the 80's), a nice melancholic & almost hypnotic sound where the synths and the vocals play a very important influence!

'Strangers' has a higher tempo, sounds more like as if werewolves are coming to attack us! At least that's how I feel whilst listening to it. I can feel and sense the danger! It's a nice end, very dense and a very intense feel!

I hope that my review gets Lithos Sarcophagos more fans and more likes... The guy really deserves it!

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/lithossarcophagos

Bandcamp:
https://lithossarcophagos.bandcamp.com/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/02/2014


 

Next reviews
KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI • Illumination
STEVE ROACH & KELLY DAVID • The Long Night
HERMAN YAU • IP MAN - FINAL FIGHT
VIGILANTE • It's our time
LAVVI EBBEL • VICTORIA (2014 BUSCEMI REMIX)
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • Escape Plan
AVSKYDD • Avskydd The new Fredrik Croona´s project
PAULINA CASSIDY • Sugar Wingshiver
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
SANG-SOO IM • The taste of money

 

Same combination of genres: DOOM + GOTHIC ROCK + POST-METAL
STILL PATIENT? • Selective Perception EP

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
INDOCHINE
Tes Yeux Noirs
21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O