tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

WE DESERVE THIS

Pacific

MusicCD
Post RockPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Fluttery Records
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Behind We Deserve This hides the German multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. He plays all the instruments himself and he describes Pacific as the darkest album of his discography. The press release of Fluttery Records used terms like post-rock and post-metal to describe the sound of Dirk Platek, but the eight compositions on the album sound especially as post-rock, albeit of a very dangerous, melodious and atmospheric kind.

As usual in this genre, we hear repetitive melodies, introduced on electric guitar and complemented with percussion and distorted bass sounds over time. As a result of his choice to limit the number of instruments, the album Pacific sounds pretty homogeneous, but with little variation due to the restrictions on compositional structure, resulting in tracks that all sound a bit alike.

Our favorites? Title track Pacific with the beautiful solo guitar riff and the broad stream of warm bass sound, the impressive and dark A Cloud and A Memory; Caution Pre / Pro Action due to the stunning intro passage and the subsequent atmospheric guitar sounds, the beautiful bass parts in 12/13/13, the very beautiful acoustic guitar that initiates the storm in I Quit and the stunning The Serious Ending.

What did you say? Six favorites and only eight tracks??? Well, it all sounds excellent...

Tracklist:
1. The Moon, The Stars And Everything Else 
2. Pacific 
3. Atlantic 
4. A Cloud And A Memory 
5. Pre Caution / Post Action 
6. 12/13/13 
7. I Quit 
8. The Serious Ending

www.flutteryrecords.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uqfe5p56FMw

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

Achter We Deserve This verschuilt zich de Duitse multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. Hij speelt alle instrumenten zelf en hij omschrijft Pacific als het donkerste album uit zijn discografie. Het persbericht van Fluttery Records gebruikt termen als post-rock en post-metal om het geluid van IDirk Plateks te omschrijven, maar de 8 composities op Pacific klinken vooral als post-rock, zij het van het zeer ongevaarlijke, welluidende en atmosferische soort. 

Zoals gebruikelijk in dit genre is er sprake van repetitieve melodieën die tijdens het intro meestal op elektrische sologitaar worden geïntroduceerd, waaraan na verloop van tijd percussie en stevig distorted basgeluid wordt toegevoegd voor een stomend vervolg. Als gevolg van de keuze voor een beperkt aantal instrumenten, klinkt Pacific vrij homogeen, anderzijds is er weinig sprake van variatie als gevolg van de beperkingen inzake compositiestructuur, waardoor de tracks allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken.

Als we er toch een paar favorieten uit mogen pikken, dan kiezen we titeltrack Pacific, met de prachtige sologitaarriff en de brede stroom van warm basgeluid, het impressionante en donkere A Cloud and A Memory, Pre Caution/Pro Action wegens de bloedmooie intropassage en het daaropvolgend atmosferische gitaargeluid, de prachtige baspartij in 12/13/13, de heel erg mooie akoestische gitaar die de storm in I Quit inleidt, en The Serious Ending, dat we zonder meer aan de borst drukken.

Wat zei je? Hebben we 6 van de 8 composities op Pacific als favorieten aangeduid??? Tja…, dus toch een perfect album… maar inderdaad, het klinkt allemaal uitstekend.

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

Music reviews

17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses