tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

WE DESERVE THIS

Pacific

MusicCD
Post RockPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Fluttery Records
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Behind We Deserve This hides the German multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. He plays all the instruments himself and he describes Pacific as the darkest album of his discography. The press release of Fluttery Records used terms like post-rock and post-metal to describe the sound of Dirk Platek, but the eight compositions on the album sound especially as post-rock, albeit of a very dangerous, melodious and atmospheric kind.

As usual in this genre, we hear repetitive melodies, introduced on electric guitar and complemented with percussion and distorted bass sounds over time. As a result of his choice to limit the number of instruments, the album Pacific sounds pretty homogeneous, but with little variation due to the restrictions on compositional structure, resulting in tracks that all sound a bit alike.

Our favorites? Title track Pacific with the beautiful solo guitar riff and the broad stream of warm bass sound, the impressive and dark A Cloud and A Memory; Caution Pre / Pro Action due to the stunning intro passage and the subsequent atmospheric guitar sounds, the beautiful bass parts in 12/13/13, the very beautiful acoustic guitar that initiates the storm in I Quit and the stunning The Serious Ending.

What did you say? Six favorites and only eight tracks??? Well, it all sounds excellent...

Tracklist:
1. The Moon, The Stars And Everything Else 
2. Pacific 
3. Atlantic 
4. A Cloud And A Memory 
5. Pre Caution / Post Action 
6. 12/13/13 
7. I Quit 
8. The Serious Ending

www.flutteryrecords.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uqfe5p56FMw

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

Achter We Deserve This verschuilt zich de Duitse multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. Hij speelt alle instrumenten zelf en hij omschrijft Pacific als het donkerste album uit zijn discografie. Het persbericht van Fluttery Records gebruikt termen als post-rock en post-metal om het geluid van IDirk Plateks te omschrijven, maar de 8 composities op Pacific klinken vooral als post-rock, zij het van het zeer ongevaarlijke, welluidende en atmosferische soort. 

Zoals gebruikelijk in dit genre is er sprake van repetitieve melodieën die tijdens het intro meestal op elektrische sologitaar worden geïntroduceerd, waaraan na verloop van tijd percussie en stevig distorted basgeluid wordt toegevoegd voor een stomend vervolg. Als gevolg van de keuze voor een beperkt aantal instrumenten, klinkt Pacific vrij homogeen, anderzijds is er weinig sprake van variatie als gevolg van de beperkingen inzake compositiestructuur, waardoor de tracks allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken.

Als we er toch een paar favorieten uit mogen pikken, dan kiezen we titeltrack Pacific, met de prachtige sologitaarriff en de brede stroom van warm basgeluid, het impressionante en donkere A Cloud and A Memory, Pre Caution/Pro Action wegens de bloedmooie intropassage en het daaropvolgend atmosferische gitaargeluid, de prachtige baspartij in 12/13/13, de heel erg mooie akoestische gitaar die de storm in I Quit inleidt, en The Serious Ending, dat we zonder meer aan de borst drukken.

Wat zei je? Hebben we 6 van de 8 composities op Pacific als favorieten aangeduid??? Tja…, dus toch een perfect album… maar inderdaad, het klinkt allemaal uitstekend.

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic