tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

WE DESERVE THIS

Pacific

MusicCD
Post RockPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Fluttery Records
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Behind We Deserve This hides the German multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. He plays all the instruments himself and he describes Pacific as the darkest album of his discography. The press release of Fluttery Records used terms like post-rock and post-metal to describe the sound of Dirk Platek, but the eight compositions on the album sound especially as post-rock, albeit of a very dangerous, melodious and atmospheric kind.

As usual in this genre, we hear repetitive melodies, introduced on electric guitar and complemented with percussion and distorted bass sounds over time. As a result of his choice to limit the number of instruments, the album Pacific sounds pretty homogeneous, but with little variation due to the restrictions on compositional structure, resulting in tracks that all sound a bit alike.

Our favorites? Title track Pacific with the beautiful solo guitar riff and the broad stream of warm bass sound, the impressive and dark A Cloud and A Memory; Caution Pre / Pro Action due to the stunning intro passage and the subsequent atmospheric guitar sounds, the beautiful bass parts in 12/13/13, the very beautiful acoustic guitar that initiates the storm in I Quit and the stunning The Serious Ending.

What did you say? Six favorites and only eight tracks??? Well, it all sounds excellent...

Tracklist:
1. The Moon, The Stars And Everything Else 
2. Pacific 
3. Atlantic 
4. A Cloud And A Memory 
5. Pre Caution / Post Action 
6. 12/13/13 
7. I Quit 
8. The Serious Ending

www.flutteryrecords.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uqfe5p56FMw

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

Achter We Deserve This verschuilt zich de Duitse multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. Hij speelt alle instrumenten zelf en hij omschrijft Pacific als het donkerste album uit zijn discografie. Het persbericht van Fluttery Records gebruikt termen als post-rock en post-metal om het geluid van IDirk Plateks te omschrijven, maar de 8 composities op Pacific klinken vooral als post-rock, zij het van het zeer ongevaarlijke, welluidende en atmosferische soort. 

Zoals gebruikelijk in dit genre is er sprake van repetitieve melodieën die tijdens het intro meestal op elektrische sologitaar worden geïntroduceerd, waaraan na verloop van tijd percussie en stevig distorted basgeluid wordt toegevoegd voor een stomend vervolg. Als gevolg van de keuze voor een beperkt aantal instrumenten, klinkt Pacific vrij homogeen, anderzijds is er weinig sprake van variatie als gevolg van de beperkingen inzake compositiestructuur, waardoor de tracks allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken.

Als we er toch een paar favorieten uit mogen pikken, dan kiezen we titeltrack Pacific, met de prachtige sologitaarriff en de brede stroom van warm basgeluid, het impressionante en donkere A Cloud and A Memory, Pre Caution/Pro Action wegens de bloedmooie intropassage en het daaropvolgend atmosferische gitaargeluid, de prachtige baspartij in 12/13/13, de heel erg mooie akoestische gitaar die de storm in I Quit inleidt, en The Serious Ending, dat we zonder meer aan de borst drukken.

Wat zei je? Hebben we 6 van de 8 composities op Pacific als favorieten aangeduid??? Tja…, dus toch een perfect album… maar inderdaad, het klinkt allemaal uitstekend.

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky