tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

WE DESERVE THIS

Pacific

MusicCD
Post RockPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Fluttery Records
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Behind We Deserve This hides the German multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. He plays all the instruments himself and he describes Pacific as the darkest album of his discography. The press release of Fluttery Records used terms like post-rock and post-metal to describe the sound of Dirk Platek, but the eight compositions on the album sound especially as post-rock, albeit of a very dangerous, melodious and atmospheric kind.

As usual in this genre, we hear repetitive melodies, introduced on electric guitar and complemented with percussion and distorted bass sounds over time. As a result of his choice to limit the number of instruments, the album Pacific sounds pretty homogeneous, but with little variation due to the restrictions on compositional structure, resulting in tracks that all sound a bit alike.

Our favorites? Title track Pacific with the beautiful solo guitar riff and the broad stream of warm bass sound, the impressive and dark A Cloud and A Memory; Caution Pre / Pro Action due to the stunning intro passage and the subsequent atmospheric guitar sounds, the beautiful bass parts in 12/13/13, the very beautiful acoustic guitar that initiates the storm in I Quit and the stunning The Serious Ending.

What did you say? Six favorites and only eight tracks??? Well, it all sounds excellent...

Tracklist:
1. The Moon, The Stars And Everything Else 
2. Pacific 
3. Atlantic 
4. A Cloud And A Memory 
5. Pre Caution / Post Action 
6. 12/13/13 
7. I Quit 
8. The Serious Ending

www.flutteryrecords.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uqfe5p56FMw

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

Achter We Deserve This verschuilt zich de Duitse multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. Hij speelt alle instrumenten zelf en hij omschrijft Pacific als het donkerste album uit zijn discografie. Het persbericht van Fluttery Records gebruikt termen als post-rock en post-metal om het geluid van IDirk Plateks te omschrijven, maar de 8 composities op Pacific klinken vooral als post-rock, zij het van het zeer ongevaarlijke, welluidende en atmosferische soort. 

Zoals gebruikelijk in dit genre is er sprake van repetitieve melodieën die tijdens het intro meestal op elektrische sologitaar worden geïntroduceerd, waaraan na verloop van tijd percussie en stevig distorted basgeluid wordt toegevoegd voor een stomend vervolg. Als gevolg van de keuze voor een beperkt aantal instrumenten, klinkt Pacific vrij homogeen, anderzijds is er weinig sprake van variatie als gevolg van de beperkingen inzake compositiestructuur, waardoor de tracks allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken.

Als we er toch een paar favorieten uit mogen pikken, dan kiezen we titeltrack Pacific, met de prachtige sologitaarriff en de brede stroom van warm basgeluid, het impressionante en donkere A Cloud and A Memory, Pre Caution/Pro Action wegens de bloedmooie intropassage en het daaropvolgend atmosferische gitaargeluid, de prachtige baspartij in 12/13/13, de heel erg mooie akoestische gitaar die de storm in I Quit inleidt, en The Serious Ending, dat we zonder meer aan de borst drukken.

Wat zei je? Hebben we 6 van de 8 composities op Pacific als favorieten aangeduid??? Tja…, dus toch een perfect album… maar inderdaad, het klinkt allemaal uitstekend.

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela