tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

WE DESERVE THIS

Pacific

MusicCD
Post RockPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Fluttery Records
12/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Behind We Deserve This hides the German multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. He plays all the instruments himself and he describes Pacific as the darkest album of his discography. The press release of Fluttery Records used terms like post-rock and post-metal to describe the sound of Dirk Platek, but the eight compositions on the album sound especially as post-rock, albeit of a very dangerous, melodious and atmospheric kind.

As usual in this genre, we hear repetitive melodies, introduced on electric guitar and complemented with percussion and distorted bass sounds over time. As a result of his choice to limit the number of instruments, the album Pacific sounds pretty homogeneous, but with little variation due to the restrictions on compositional structure, resulting in tracks that all sound a bit alike.

Our favorites? Title track Pacific with the beautiful solo guitar riff and the broad stream of warm bass sound, the impressive and dark A Cloud and A Memory; Caution Pre / Pro Action due to the stunning intro passage and the subsequent atmospheric guitar sounds, the beautiful bass parts in 12/13/13, the very beautiful acoustic guitar that initiates the storm in I Quit and the stunning The Serious Ending.

What did you say? Six favorites and only eight tracks??? Well, it all sounds excellent...

Tracklist:
1. The Moon, The Stars And Everything Else 
2. Pacific 
3. Atlantic 
4. A Cloud And A Memory 
5. Pre Caution / Post Action 
6. 12/13/13 
7. I Quit 
8. The Serious Ending

www.flutteryrecords.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uqfe5p56FMw

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


NL

Achter We Deserve This verschuilt zich de Duitse multi-instrumentalist Jan-Dirk Platek. Hij speelt alle instrumenten zelf en hij omschrijft Pacific als het donkerste album uit zijn discografie. Het persbericht van Fluttery Records gebruikt termen als post-rock en post-metal om het geluid van IDirk Plateks te omschrijven, maar de 8 composities op Pacific klinken vooral als post-rock, zij het van het zeer ongevaarlijke, welluidende en atmosferische soort. 

Zoals gebruikelijk in dit genre is er sprake van repetitieve melodieën die tijdens het intro meestal op elektrische sologitaar worden geïntroduceerd, waaraan na verloop van tijd percussie en stevig distorted basgeluid wordt toegevoegd voor een stomend vervolg. Als gevolg van de keuze voor een beperkt aantal instrumenten, klinkt Pacific vrij homogeen, anderzijds is er weinig sprake van variatie als gevolg van de beperkingen inzake compositiestructuur, waardoor de tracks allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken.

Als we er toch een paar favorieten uit mogen pikken, dan kiezen we titeltrack Pacific, met de prachtige sologitaarriff en de brede stroom van warm basgeluid, het impressionante en donkere A Cloud and A Memory, Pre Caution/Pro Action wegens de bloedmooie intropassage en het daaropvolgend atmosferische gitaargeluid, de prachtige baspartij in 12/13/13, de heel erg mooie akoestische gitaar die de storm in I Quit inleidt, en The Serious Ending, dat we zonder meer aan de borst drukken.

Wat zei je? Hebben we 6 van de 8 composities op Pacific als favorieten aangeduid??? Tja…, dus toch een perfect album… maar inderdaad, het klinkt allemaal uitstekend.

William LIÉNARD
12/11/2015


12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific 12/11/2015 : WE DESERVE THIS - Pacific

Music reviews

15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO