tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/03/2015 : KRAKOW - Amaran

KRAKOW

Amaran

MusicCD
ExperimentalPost RockPost-MetalProg

[88/100]   

Dark Essence Records
29/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With Amarna, this Norwegian band delivers an album, that in addition to post rock/metal influences, also shows their atmospheric qualities. Just listen to Luminauts. A song with a long intro and a repeated theme. When they reached the climax, we hear distorted guitars and a primal scream from the singer. Then they return to the atmospheric part of the album with a great opener of seven minutes with a progressive song structure, sensitive and with a dark atmosphere in the song.

Atom is an uptempo post rock/stoner song. A very fine song that is reminiscent to Queens of the Stone Age. Genesis is a sledgehammer with some evil in the singing. Vitriol starts with a melancholic guitar and in the following guitar solo, we hear some drone elements. The background noises are well done and they give the song a strange atmosphere. Pendulum and Of Earth are soundscapes. You can hear them searching for new musical ways. The singing is minimal and exists of growls and grunting. Ten Silent Circles begins with a sweet sounding guitar theme and is build up like the first song.

Krakow delivers a great album: a lot of variation, experimental, a personal style and interesting. Absolute top are Luminauts and Ten Silent Circles. This album is one of the strongest that I heard this year.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/03/2015


NL

Deze band uit Noorwegen heeft met Amaran een album afgeleverd dat, naast postrock- en metalinvloeden, vooral hun atmosferische kwaliteiten in de verf zet. Luister maar eens naar de opener Luminauts. Deze song heeft een lang intro met een steeds herhaald thema waarmee ze een flinke dosis postrock leveren met een korte climax vol distortion gitaren en een oerschreeuw van de zanger. Daarna zoeken ze sfeer op in een geweldige opener van ruim 7 minuten: een progressieve songstructuur, gevoelig en atmosferisch met een donkere sfeer in de song.

Atom is een uptempo postrock-/stonernummer. Een heel lekkere song die qua stijl ook wat aan Queens of The Stone Age doet denken. Genesis is een mokerslag. De zang straalt het kwade uit. Vitriol begint met een melancholisch klinkende gitaar. De gitaarsolo die even later voorbijkomt bevat wat drone-elementen: lang aangehouden noten. Ook de achtergrondgeluiden zijn goed gelukt en dragen bij tot de vreemde sfeer in het nummer. Pendulum en Of Earth zijn eerder soundscapes die uit overstuurde klanken bestaan met lang aangehouden gitaarnoten die naar een melodielijn toewerken. Hier hoor je ze zoeken naar nieuwe wegen in de muziek. Ten Silent Circles begint met een lieflijk klinkend gitaarthema, dat wordt opgebouwd zoals ze dat in de openingsnummer deden. Mooie zang!

Krakow heeft een geweldig album afgeleverd: afwisselend, experimenteel, eigen stijl en boeiend. Voor mij mochten nummers als Pendulum en Of Earth wat meer zang bevatten, want de zanger heeft een heel aangename stem, maar dat is eerder detailkritiek. Absolute top zijn opener Luminauts en afsluiter Ten Silent Circles. Deze Amaran behoort zeker tot het betere werk dat ik in 2015 al heb gehoord.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/03/2015


 

Next reviews
ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH • Image
SECTION 25 • Always Now
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant
VERA CHYTILOVA • Pasti, Pasti, Pasticky (Traps)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Jump-Up:
ISAO TAKAHATA • The Tale Of The Princess Kaguya
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard
LIV ULLMANN • Miss Julie
JON FAVREAU • Chef
ILLUMINATA • Where Stories Unfold

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu