tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/03/2015 : KRAKOW - Amaran

KRAKOW

Amaran

MusicCD
ExperimentalPost RockPost-MetalProg

[88/100]   

Dark Essence Records
29/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With Amarna, this Norwegian band delivers an album, that in addition to post rock/metal influences, also shows their atmospheric qualities. Just listen to Luminauts. A song with a long intro and a repeated theme. When they reached the climax, we hear distorted guitars and a primal scream from the singer. Then they return to the atmospheric part of the album with a great opener of seven minutes with a progressive song structure, sensitive and with a dark atmosphere in the song.

Atom is an uptempo post rock/stoner song. A very fine song that is reminiscent to Queens of the Stone Age. Genesis is a sledgehammer with some evil in the singing. Vitriol starts with a melancholic guitar and in the following guitar solo, we hear some drone elements. The background noises are well done and they give the song a strange atmosphere. Pendulum and Of Earth are soundscapes. You can hear them searching for new musical ways. The singing is minimal and exists of growls and grunting. Ten Silent Circles begins with a sweet sounding guitar theme and is build up like the first song.

Krakow delivers a great album: a lot of variation, experimental, a personal style and interesting. Absolute top are Luminauts and Ten Silent Circles. This album is one of the strongest that I heard this year.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/03/2015


NL

Deze band uit Noorwegen heeft met Amaran een album afgeleverd dat, naast postrock- en metalinvloeden, vooral hun atmosferische kwaliteiten in de verf zet. Luister maar eens naar de opener Luminauts. Deze song heeft een lang intro met een steeds herhaald thema waarmee ze een flinke dosis postrock leveren met een korte climax vol distortion gitaren en een oerschreeuw van de zanger. Daarna zoeken ze sfeer op in een geweldige opener van ruim 7 minuten: een progressieve songstructuur, gevoelig en atmosferisch met een donkere sfeer in de song.

Atom is een uptempo postrock-/stonernummer. Een heel lekkere song die qua stijl ook wat aan Queens of The Stone Age doet denken. Genesis is een mokerslag. De zang straalt het kwade uit. Vitriol begint met een melancholisch klinkende gitaar. De gitaarsolo die even later voorbijkomt bevat wat drone-elementen: lang aangehouden noten. Ook de achtergrondgeluiden zijn goed gelukt en dragen bij tot de vreemde sfeer in het nummer. Pendulum en Of Earth zijn eerder soundscapes die uit overstuurde klanken bestaan met lang aangehouden gitaarnoten die naar een melodielijn toewerken. Hier hoor je ze zoeken naar nieuwe wegen in de muziek. Ten Silent Circles begint met een lieflijk klinkend gitaarthema, dat wordt opgebouwd zoals ze dat in de openingsnummer deden. Mooie zang!

Krakow heeft een geweldig album afgeleverd: afwisselend, experimenteel, eigen stijl en boeiend. Voor mij mochten nummers als Pendulum en Of Earth wat meer zang bevatten, want de zanger heeft een heel aangename stem, maar dat is eerder detailkritiek. Absolute top zijn opener Luminauts en afsluiter Ten Silent Circles. Deze Amaran behoort zeker tot het betere werk dat ik in 2015 al heb gehoord.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/03/2015


 

Next reviews
ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH • Image
SECTION 25 • Always Now
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant
VERA CHYTILOVA • Pasti, Pasti, Pasticky (Traps)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Jump-Up:
ISAO TAKAHATA • The Tale Of The Princess Kaguya
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard
LIV ULLMANN • Miss Julie
JON FAVREAU • Chef
ILLUMINATA • Where Stories Unfold

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down