tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

ILLUMINATA

Where Stories Unfold

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
25/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I must admit that I’m charmed by some good symphonic metal that can be used as a soundtrack. This band from Austria makes such music. The hype of female fronted bands is over, as after the breakthrough from bands as Within Temptation and Nightwish there was just an oversupply. This band convinced me because it is no rip off of earlier mentioned bands.

They were founded in 2006 and this is their fifth self-released album. You hear a lot of music that could be used as a soundtrack for a blockbuster like eg. The Pirates of the Caribbean. A mixture of an excessive orchestration and metal/gothicrock. Katarzyna, who does the vocals, has a high and fine voice, typical for the genre. I suspect she is classically trained. They worked for this album with a Czech choir and orchestra.

Violets Compass is a well build up song with nice singing. Arbitrary Asylum begins like a Vangelis tune, but a metal guitar riff breaks the atmosphere. The atmosphere of fairy tales is found in both the lyrics and the music: Twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Sometimes you think you listen to a Disney soundtrack or a musica as in The Brass Ring.

With the symphonic and cinematic elements this band makes the difference. The guitars and the metal elements are here only to support the songs. The pure metal fans probably won’t like this album, but with an open mind you will discover a bunch of descent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


NL

Symfonische metal of filmische gitaarmuziek kunnen mij wel bekoren. Deze Oostenrijkse band maakt dergelijke muziek. Female fronted metal bands zijn een beetje uit het beeld verdwenen, ofschoon we er na de doorbraak van Within Temptation en Nightwish mee om de oren werden geslagen. Deze band weet mij wel te overtuigen omdat hij geen doorslagje van eerder genoemde bands is.

Ontstaan in 2006, is dit hun vijfde release, en opnieuw volledig in eigen beheer gemaakt. Je hoort op het album veel muziek die in een grote blockbuster zoals Pirates of the Caribbean (om maar iets te noemen) kan worden gebruikt. Een overdaad aan orchestratie, vermengd met metal en gotich rock. Katarzyna, die de vocals doet, heeft een hoge, fijne stem, wat ook wel een beetje typisch is voor het genre. Ik vermoed, gezien haar manier van zingen, dat ze klassiek geschoold is.

Violets Compass is een mooi opgebouwde en gezongen song. Arbitrary Asylum begint als een Vangelis-nummer, maar breekt dan de opgebouwde sfeer met een zware metalriff. Een heel sterke song. De sprookjessfeer wordt hier en daar opgewekt in zowel de tekst als de muziek: twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Soms denk je aan een Disney-soundtrack of een musical, zoals in The Brass Ring.

Het symfonische en filmische aspect onderscheidt ze van de rest. De gitaren en de metal zijn hier eerder ter ondersteuning en staan in dienst van de song. Bij veel symfonisch metal bands is het net andersom. De pure metalfans gaan waarschijnlijk moeite hebben met dit album omdat de orchestratie overheerst, maar wie wat meer gewoon is, zal hier een aantal mooie songs ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold 25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)