tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

ILLUMINATA

Where Stories Unfold

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
25/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I must admit that I’m charmed by some good symphonic metal that can be used as a soundtrack. This band from Austria makes such music. The hype of female fronted bands is over, as after the breakthrough from bands as Within Temptation and Nightwish there was just an oversupply. This band convinced me because it is no rip off of earlier mentioned bands.

They were founded in 2006 and this is their fifth self-released album. You hear a lot of music that could be used as a soundtrack for a blockbuster like eg. The Pirates of the Caribbean. A mixture of an excessive orchestration and metal/gothicrock. Katarzyna, who does the vocals, has a high and fine voice, typical for the genre. I suspect she is classically trained. They worked for this album with a Czech choir and orchestra.

Violets Compass is a well build up song with nice singing. Arbitrary Asylum begins like a Vangelis tune, but a metal guitar riff breaks the atmosphere. The atmosphere of fairy tales is found in both the lyrics and the music: Twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Sometimes you think you listen to a Disney soundtrack or a musica as in The Brass Ring.

With the symphonic and cinematic elements this band makes the difference. The guitars and the metal elements are here only to support the songs. The pure metal fans probably won’t like this album, but with an open mind you will discover a bunch of descent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


NL

Symfonische metal of filmische gitaarmuziek kunnen mij wel bekoren. Deze Oostenrijkse band maakt dergelijke muziek. Female fronted metal bands zijn een beetje uit het beeld verdwenen, ofschoon we er na de doorbraak van Within Temptation en Nightwish mee om de oren werden geslagen. Deze band weet mij wel te overtuigen omdat hij geen doorslagje van eerder genoemde bands is.

Ontstaan in 2006, is dit hun vijfde release, en opnieuw volledig in eigen beheer gemaakt. Je hoort op het album veel muziek die in een grote blockbuster zoals Pirates of the Caribbean (om maar iets te noemen) kan worden gebruikt. Een overdaad aan orchestratie, vermengd met metal en gotich rock. Katarzyna, die de vocals doet, heeft een hoge, fijne stem, wat ook wel een beetje typisch is voor het genre. Ik vermoed, gezien haar manier van zingen, dat ze klassiek geschoold is.

Violets Compass is een mooi opgebouwde en gezongen song. Arbitrary Asylum begint als een Vangelis-nummer, maar breekt dan de opgebouwde sfeer met een zware metalriff. Een heel sterke song. De sprookjessfeer wordt hier en daar opgewekt in zowel de tekst als de muziek: twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Soms denk je aan een Disney-soundtrack of een musical, zoals in The Brass Ring.

Het symfonische en filmische aspect onderscheidt ze van de rest. De gitaren en de metal zijn hier eerder ter ondersteuning en staan in dienst van de song. Bij veel symfonisch metal bands is het net andersom. De pure metalfans gaan waarschijnlijk moeite hebben met dit album omdat de orchestratie overheerst, maar wie wat meer gewoon is, zal hier een aantal mooie songs ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold 25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask