tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

ILLUMINATA

Where Stories Unfold

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
25/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I must admit that I’m charmed by some good symphonic metal that can be used as a soundtrack. This band from Austria makes such music. The hype of female fronted bands is over, as after the breakthrough from bands as Within Temptation and Nightwish there was just an oversupply. This band convinced me because it is no rip off of earlier mentioned bands.

They were founded in 2006 and this is their fifth self-released album. You hear a lot of music that could be used as a soundtrack for a blockbuster like eg. The Pirates of the Caribbean. A mixture of an excessive orchestration and metal/gothicrock. Katarzyna, who does the vocals, has a high and fine voice, typical for the genre. I suspect she is classically trained. They worked for this album with a Czech choir and orchestra.

Violets Compass is a well build up song with nice singing. Arbitrary Asylum begins like a Vangelis tune, but a metal guitar riff breaks the atmosphere. The atmosphere of fairy tales is found in both the lyrics and the music: Twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Sometimes you think you listen to a Disney soundtrack or a musica as in The Brass Ring.

With the symphonic and cinematic elements this band makes the difference. The guitars and the metal elements are here only to support the songs. The pure metal fans probably won’t like this album, but with an open mind you will discover a bunch of descent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


NL

Symfonische metal of filmische gitaarmuziek kunnen mij wel bekoren. Deze Oostenrijkse band maakt dergelijke muziek. Female fronted metal bands zijn een beetje uit het beeld verdwenen, ofschoon we er na de doorbraak van Within Temptation en Nightwish mee om de oren werden geslagen. Deze band weet mij wel te overtuigen omdat hij geen doorslagje van eerder genoemde bands is.

Ontstaan in 2006, is dit hun vijfde release, en opnieuw volledig in eigen beheer gemaakt. Je hoort op het album veel muziek die in een grote blockbuster zoals Pirates of the Caribbean (om maar iets te noemen) kan worden gebruikt. Een overdaad aan orchestratie, vermengd met metal en gotich rock. Katarzyna, die de vocals doet, heeft een hoge, fijne stem, wat ook wel een beetje typisch is voor het genre. Ik vermoed, gezien haar manier van zingen, dat ze klassiek geschoold is.

Violets Compass is een mooi opgebouwde en gezongen song. Arbitrary Asylum begint als een Vangelis-nummer, maar breekt dan de opgebouwde sfeer met een zware metalriff. Een heel sterke song. De sprookjessfeer wordt hier en daar opgewekt in zowel de tekst als de muziek: twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Soms denk je aan een Disney-soundtrack of een musical, zoals in The Brass Ring.

Het symfonische en filmische aspect onderscheidt ze van de rest. De gitaren en de metal zijn hier eerder ter ondersteuning en staan in dienst van de song. Bij veel symfonisch metal bands is het net andersom. De pure metalfans gaan waarschijnlijk moeite hebben met dit album omdat de orchestratie overheerst, maar wie wat meer gewoon is, zal hier een aantal mooie songs ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold 25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain