tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

ILLUMINATA

Where Stories Unfold

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
25/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I must admit that I’m charmed by some good symphonic metal that can be used as a soundtrack. This band from Austria makes such music. The hype of female fronted bands is over, as after the breakthrough from bands as Within Temptation and Nightwish there was just an oversupply. This band convinced me because it is no rip off of earlier mentioned bands.

They were founded in 2006 and this is their fifth self-released album. You hear a lot of music that could be used as a soundtrack for a blockbuster like eg. The Pirates of the Caribbean. A mixture of an excessive orchestration and metal/gothicrock. Katarzyna, who does the vocals, has a high and fine voice, typical for the genre. I suspect she is classically trained. They worked for this album with a Czech choir and orchestra.

Violets Compass is a well build up song with nice singing. Arbitrary Asylum begins like a Vangelis tune, but a metal guitar riff breaks the atmosphere. The atmosphere of fairy tales is found in both the lyrics and the music: Twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Sometimes you think you listen to a Disney soundtrack or a musica as in The Brass Ring.

With the symphonic and cinematic elements this band makes the difference. The guitars and the metal elements are here only to support the songs. The pure metal fans probably won’t like this album, but with an open mind you will discover a bunch of descent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


NL

Symfonische metal of filmische gitaarmuziek kunnen mij wel bekoren. Deze Oostenrijkse band maakt dergelijke muziek. Female fronted metal bands zijn een beetje uit het beeld verdwenen, ofschoon we er na de doorbraak van Within Temptation en Nightwish mee om de oren werden geslagen. Deze band weet mij wel te overtuigen omdat hij geen doorslagje van eerder genoemde bands is.

Ontstaan in 2006, is dit hun vijfde release, en opnieuw volledig in eigen beheer gemaakt. Je hoort op het album veel muziek die in een grote blockbuster zoals Pirates of the Caribbean (om maar iets te noemen) kan worden gebruikt. Een overdaad aan orchestratie, vermengd met metal en gotich rock. Katarzyna, die de vocals doet, heeft een hoge, fijne stem, wat ook wel een beetje typisch is voor het genre. Ik vermoed, gezien haar manier van zingen, dat ze klassiek geschoold is.

Violets Compass is een mooi opgebouwde en gezongen song. Arbitrary Asylum begint als een Vangelis-nummer, maar breekt dan de opgebouwde sfeer met een zware metalriff. Een heel sterke song. De sprookjessfeer wordt hier en daar opgewekt in zowel de tekst als de muziek: twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Soms denk je aan een Disney-soundtrack of een musical, zoals in The Brass Ring.

Het symfonische en filmische aspect onderscheidt ze van de rest. De gitaren en de metal zijn hier eerder ter ondersteuning en staan in dienst van de song. Bij veel symfonisch metal bands is het net andersom. De pure metalfans gaan waarschijnlijk moeite hebben met dit album omdat de orchestratie overheerst, maar wie wat meer gewoon is, zal hier een aantal mooie songs ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold 25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp