tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/03/2015 : THE LAST HOUR - Deadline

THE LAST HOUR

Deadline

MusicCD
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Seventh Crow Records/The White Room
24/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Last Hour is a project of Roberto Del vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ ex Gotica).

The album is mostly made with synths and has a panoramic and cinematic sound. The music contains a rich array of sounds and layers, this in combination with tonal and emotionless vocals. Maybe a little odd to say, but the voice reminds me a little bit of Amanda Lear. It provides the album a strange and desolate atmosphere.

The music is well composed and you will discover new things every time you listen to it. When hearing it first, you might think that there is a lack of chorus, but that changes when you listen more. I mostly recommend Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia and Eveything Fades Away.

Winning (a song by The Sound) is also included. This classic was reworked and appeared on the tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory. Personally, I think the song doesn’t fit on the album, and it is not such a good cover. Del Vecchio's vocals are best when he sings without emotion (almost mumbling), but when he tries
 to insert passion in his music, then it sounds less intriguing.

For the rest a good CD that deserves (a bit of) attention!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


NL

The Last Hour is het project van Roberto Del Vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ex Gothica).

Dit album is voornamelijk met synthesizers gemaakt en klinkt heel filmisch. De muziek bevat een rijk scala aan klanken en lagen, in combinatie met een haast toon- en emotieloze zang. Het is misschien een vreemde vergelijking, maar zijn zangstem in het openingsnummer doet mij wat aan Amanda Lear denken. Dat zorgt voor een vreemde en desolate sfeer. Niet echt opbeurende muziek dus.

Bij een eerste beluistering lijkt het alsof er geen refreinen in de nummers zitten, maar daarvoor moet je het album meerdere keren beluisteren. Ik onthoud vooral: Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia en Everything Fades Away.

Winning, het nummer van The Sound, dat voor het tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory heropnamen is, staat ook op de plaat. Persoonlijk zou ik dat niet hebben gedaan. Het past niet echt bij de andere nummers en is ook niet zo geslaagd als cover. Del Vecchio is vooral sterk als hij emotieloos zingt (bijna monotoon prevelt). Als hij, zoals in Winning, bezieling en hartstocht in zijn songs stopt, dan vind ik het minder geslaagd.

Voor de rest een goede cd die (een beetje) aandacht verdient!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


 

Next reviews
JOHN SLATTERY • God's Pocket
SERGEI LOZNITSA • Maidan
IAN DURY • New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself
CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH • John Wick
THURISAZ • The Pulse Of Mourning
THE THE • Hyena
LASSE HALLSTROM • The Hundred-Foot Journey
ISRAEL HOROVITZ • My Old Lady
ANDREW KING • The First World War: For God And Country?
STUART MURDOCH • God Help The Girl

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARKWAVE + SYNTH WAVE
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
DARK • Nightmare
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain