tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/03/2015 : THE LAST HOUR - Deadline

THE LAST HOUR

Deadline

MusicCD
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Seventh Crow Records/The White Room
24/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Last Hour is a project of Roberto Del vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ ex Gotica).

The album is mostly made with synths and has a panoramic and cinematic sound. The music contains a rich array of sounds and layers, this in combination with tonal and emotionless vocals. Maybe a little odd to say, but the voice reminds me a little bit of Amanda Lear. It provides the album a strange and desolate atmosphere.

The music is well composed and you will discover new things every time you listen to it. When hearing it first, you might think that there is a lack of chorus, but that changes when you listen more. I mostly recommend Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia and Eveything Fades Away.

Winning (a song by The Sound) is also included. This classic was reworked and appeared on the tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory. Personally, I think the song doesn’t fit on the album, and it is not such a good cover. Del Vecchio's vocals are best when he sings without emotion (almost mumbling), but when he tries
 to insert passion in his music, then it sounds less intriguing.

For the rest a good CD that deserves (a bit of) attention!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


NL

The Last Hour is het project van Roberto Del Vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ex Gothica).

Dit album is voornamelijk met synthesizers gemaakt en klinkt heel filmisch. De muziek bevat een rijk scala aan klanken en lagen, in combinatie met een haast toon- en emotieloze zang. Het is misschien een vreemde vergelijking, maar zijn zangstem in het openingsnummer doet mij wat aan Amanda Lear denken. Dat zorgt voor een vreemde en desolate sfeer. Niet echt opbeurende muziek dus.

Bij een eerste beluistering lijkt het alsof er geen refreinen in de nummers zitten, maar daarvoor moet je het album meerdere keren beluisteren. Ik onthoud vooral: Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia en Everything Fades Away.

Winning, het nummer van The Sound, dat voor het tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory heropnamen is, staat ook op de plaat. Persoonlijk zou ik dat niet hebben gedaan. Het past niet echt bij de andere nummers en is ook niet zo geslaagd als cover. Del Vecchio is vooral sterk als hij emotieloos zingt (bijna monotoon prevelt). Als hij, zoals in Winning, bezieling en hartstocht in zijn songs stopt, dan vind ik het minder geslaagd.

Voor de rest een goede cd die (een beetje) aandacht verdient!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real