tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/03/2015 : THE LAST HOUR - Deadline

THE LAST HOUR

Deadline

MusicCD
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Seventh Crow Records/The White Room
24/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Last Hour is a project of Roberto Del vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ ex Gotica).

The album is mostly made with synths and has a panoramic and cinematic sound. The music contains a rich array of sounds and layers, this in combination with tonal and emotionless vocals. Maybe a little odd to say, but the voice reminds me a little bit of Amanda Lear. It provides the album a strange and desolate atmosphere.

The music is well composed and you will discover new things every time you listen to it. When hearing it first, you might think that there is a lack of chorus, but that changes when you listen more. I mostly recommend Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia and Eveything Fades Away.

Winning (a song by The Sound) is also included. This classic was reworked and appeared on the tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory. Personally, I think the song doesn’t fit on the album, and it is not such a good cover. Del Vecchio's vocals are best when he sings without emotion (almost mumbling), but when he tries
 to insert passion in his music, then it sounds less intriguing.

For the rest a good CD that deserves (a bit of) attention!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


NL

The Last Hour is het project van Roberto Del Vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ex Gothica).

Dit album is voornamelijk met synthesizers gemaakt en klinkt heel filmisch. De muziek bevat een rijk scala aan klanken en lagen, in combinatie met een haast toon- en emotieloze zang. Het is misschien een vreemde vergelijking, maar zijn zangstem in het openingsnummer doet mij wat aan Amanda Lear denken. Dat zorgt voor een vreemde en desolate sfeer. Niet echt opbeurende muziek dus.

Bij een eerste beluistering lijkt het alsof er geen refreinen in de nummers zitten, maar daarvoor moet je het album meerdere keren beluisteren. Ik onthoud vooral: Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia en Everything Fades Away.

Winning, het nummer van The Sound, dat voor het tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory heropnamen is, staat ook op de plaat. Persoonlijk zou ik dat niet hebben gedaan. Het past niet echt bij de andere nummers en is ook niet zo geslaagd als cover. Del Vecchio is vooral sterk als hij emotieloos zingt (bijna monotoon prevelt). Als hij, zoals in Winning, bezieling en hartstocht in zijn songs stopt, dan vind ik het minder geslaagd.

Voor de rest een goede cd die (een beetje) aandacht verdient!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection