tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/03/2015 : THE LAST HOUR - Deadline

THE LAST HOUR

Deadline

MusicCD
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Seventh Crow Records/The White Room
24/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Last Hour is a project of Roberto Del vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ ex Gotica).

The album is mostly made with synths and has a panoramic and cinematic sound. The music contains a rich array of sounds and layers, this in combination with tonal and emotionless vocals. Maybe a little odd to say, but the voice reminds me a little bit of Amanda Lear. It provides the album a strange and desolate atmosphere.

The music is well composed and you will discover new things every time you listen to it. When hearing it first, you might think that there is a lack of chorus, but that changes when you listen more. I mostly recommend Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia and Eveything Fades Away.

Winning (a song by The Sound) is also included. This classic was reworked and appeared on the tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory. Personally, I think the song doesn’t fit on the album, and it is not such a good cover. Del Vecchio's vocals are best when he sings without emotion (almost mumbling), but when he tries
 to insert passion in his music, then it sounds less intriguing.

For the rest a good CD that deserves (a bit of) attention!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


NL

The Last Hour is het project van Roberto Del Vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ex Gothica).

Dit album is voornamelijk met synthesizers gemaakt en klinkt heel filmisch. De muziek bevat een rijk scala aan klanken en lagen, in combinatie met een haast toon- en emotieloze zang. Het is misschien een vreemde vergelijking, maar zijn zangstem in het openingsnummer doet mij wat aan Amanda Lear denken. Dat zorgt voor een vreemde en desolate sfeer. Niet echt opbeurende muziek dus.

Bij een eerste beluistering lijkt het alsof er geen refreinen in de nummers zitten, maar daarvoor moet je het album meerdere keren beluisteren. Ik onthoud vooral: Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia en Everything Fades Away.

Winning, het nummer van The Sound, dat voor het tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory heropnamen is, staat ook op de plaat. Persoonlijk zou ik dat niet hebben gedaan. Het past niet echt bij de andere nummers en is ook niet zo geslaagd als cover. Del Vecchio is vooral sterk als hij emotieloos zingt (bijna monotoon prevelt). Als hij, zoals in Winning, bezieling en hartstocht in zijn songs stopt, dan vind ik het minder geslaagd.

Voor de rest een goede cd die (een beetje) aandacht verdient!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible