tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/03/2015 : THE LAST HOUR - Deadline

THE LAST HOUR

Deadline

MusicCD
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Seventh Crow Records/The White Room
24/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Last Hour is a project of Roberto Del vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ ex Gotica).

The album is mostly made with synths and has a panoramic and cinematic sound. The music contains a rich array of sounds and layers, this in combination with tonal and emotionless vocals. Maybe a little odd to say, but the voice reminds me a little bit of Amanda Lear. It provides the album a strange and desolate atmosphere.

The music is well composed and you will discover new things every time you listen to it. When hearing it first, you might think that there is a lack of chorus, but that changes when you listen more. I mostly recommend Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia and Eveything Fades Away.

Winning (a song by The Sound) is also included. This classic was reworked and appeared on the tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory. Personally, I think the song doesn’t fit on the album, and it is not such a good cover. Del Vecchio's vocals are best when he sings without emotion (almost mumbling), but when he tries
 to insert passion in his music, then it sounds less intriguing.

For the rest a good CD that deserves (a bit of) attention!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


NL

The Last Hour is het project van Roberto Del Vecchio (Les Jumeaux Discordants/ex Gothica).

Dit album is voornamelijk met synthesizers gemaakt en klinkt heel filmisch. De muziek bevat een rijk scala aan klanken en lagen, in combinatie met een haast toon- en emotieloze zang. Het is misschien een vreemde vergelijking, maar zijn zangstem in het openingsnummer doet mij wat aan Amanda Lear denken. Dat zorgt voor een vreemde en desolate sfeer. Niet echt opbeurende muziek dus.

Bij een eerste beluistering lijkt het alsof er geen refreinen in de nummers zitten, maar daarvoor moet je het album meerdere keren beluisteren. Ik onthoud vooral: Heartbeat, Falling Away, Utopia en Everything Fades Away.

Winning, het nummer van The Sound, dat voor het tribute album Their Must Be A Hole In Your Memory heropnamen is, staat ook op de plaat. Persoonlijk zou ik dat niet hebben gedaan. Het past niet echt bij de andere nummers en is ook niet zo geslaagd als cover. Del Vecchio is vooral sterk als hij emotieloos zingt (bijna monotoon prevelt). Als hij, zoals in Winning, bezieling en hartstocht in zijn songs stopt, dan vind ik het minder geslaagd.

Voor de rest een goede cd die (een beetje) aandacht verdient!

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/03/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still