tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

ISRAEL HOROVITZ

My Old Lady

Movie
Comedy

[60/100]   

Imagine Films
23/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A film that did quite well in theatres is My Old Lady by Israel Horovitz, who also wrote the eponymous play. Although this is a feelgood films, it is better than most films of the genre and that is mainly due to both the beautiful scenery and great performances.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) travels from New York to Paris. The man has not had an easy life. He hs had a drinking problem and the usual financial problems. Perhaps the solution liesin Paris? From his recently deceased father he inherits a watch, some books and an apartment in the Marais. The bummer thinks that a golden future is waiting for him, but a woman (Maggie Smith) of 92 is living in the flat and she seems to be alive and kicking. The bad news is that his father's apartment has been purchased in the viager-way, an old French system through which one can only gain possession of the residence if the occupant is deceased. Mathias also discovers that Mathilde is more than just the tenant, and what role plays the handsome daughter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

A scenario with a lot of clichés and some predictability. Nevertheless, My Old Lady is a pleasant, thrilling movie. Perhaps Kevin Kline does the same as twenty years ago with Meg Ryan in French Kiss, but he still is a great actor. This also applies for Kristin Scott Thomas, though it is hard not to associate her with the vengeful mother in Only God Forgives, and then there is Maggie Smith... who is just Maggie Smith! Where is that bottle of Beaujolais?

My Old Lady is now out on Imagine Films on DVD.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


NL

Een film die het niet onaardig deed in de bioscopen is My Old Lady van Israël Horovitz, die tevens het gelijknamige toneelstuk schreef. Ofschoon de schrijver-cineast zich met dit flauwe verhaaltje op het te mijden pad van de feelgoodfilms begeeft, is zijn prent beter dan de rest en dat komt vooral door de prachtige decors en vooral door de degelijke vertolkingen.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) reist van New York naar Parijs. Meteen wordt het duidelijk dat de man geen gemakkelijk leven heeft gehad. Hij heeft een drankprobleem achter de rug en ook financieel zit het hem niet mee. Maar misschien brengt Parijs wel soelaas. Zijn net overleden vader heeft hem een horloge, wat boeken en een appartement in de Marais nagelaten. De klaploper denkt dat zijn broodje is gebakken, maar in de flat woont nog een stokoude vrouw (Maggie Smith) van 92, die springlevend lijkt te zijn. Het slechte nieuws is dat zijn vader het appartement op de viager-wijze heeft gekocht, een oud Frans systeem waarbij iemand pas in bezit kan komen van de woonst als de bewoonster overleden is. Mathias ontdekt ook dat de bejaarde Mathilde meer is dan zo maar de huurster, en welke rol speelt die knappe dochter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

Een scenario met flink wat clichés dus en heel wat voorspelbaarheid. Desalniettemin is My Old Lady een aangename, sprankelende film waaraan je misschien geen meerwaarde overhoudt, maar je hebt wel 90 minuten bruisende cinema gezien en dat is toch ook iets, niet? Kevin Kline doet misschien net hetzelfde als wat hij twintig jaar geleden met Meg Ryan in French Kiss deed, maar blijft desalniettemin een heerlijke acteur. Dat geldt dat ook voor Kristin Scott Thomas, al blijft zij voor ons voor altijd die wraaklustige moeder uit Only God Forgives en Maggie Smith...wel die is gewoon Maggie Smith! Waar is die fles Beaujolais nu weer gebleven?

My Old Lady is nu via Imagine Films uit op dvd.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence