tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

ISRAEL HOROVITZ

My Old Lady

Movie
Comedy

[60/100]   

Imagine Films
23/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A film that did quite well in theatres is My Old Lady by Israel Horovitz, who also wrote the eponymous play. Although this is a feelgood films, it is better than most films of the genre and that is mainly due to both the beautiful scenery and great performances.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) travels from New York to Paris. The man has not had an easy life. He hs had a drinking problem and the usual financial problems. Perhaps the solution liesin Paris? From his recently deceased father he inherits a watch, some books and an apartment in the Marais. The bummer thinks that a golden future is waiting for him, but a woman (Maggie Smith) of 92 is living in the flat and she seems to be alive and kicking. The bad news is that his father's apartment has been purchased in the viager-way, an old French system through which one can only gain possession of the residence if the occupant is deceased. Mathias also discovers that Mathilde is more than just the tenant, and what role plays the handsome daughter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

A scenario with a lot of clichés and some predictability. Nevertheless, My Old Lady is a pleasant, thrilling movie. Perhaps Kevin Kline does the same as twenty years ago with Meg Ryan in French Kiss, but he still is a great actor. This also applies for Kristin Scott Thomas, though it is hard not to associate her with the vengeful mother in Only God Forgives, and then there is Maggie Smith... who is just Maggie Smith! Where is that bottle of Beaujolais?

My Old Lady is now out on Imagine Films on DVD.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


NL

Een film die het niet onaardig deed in de bioscopen is My Old Lady van Israël Horovitz, die tevens het gelijknamige toneelstuk schreef. Ofschoon de schrijver-cineast zich met dit flauwe verhaaltje op het te mijden pad van de feelgoodfilms begeeft, is zijn prent beter dan de rest en dat komt vooral door de prachtige decors en vooral door de degelijke vertolkingen.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) reist van New York naar Parijs. Meteen wordt het duidelijk dat de man geen gemakkelijk leven heeft gehad. Hij heeft een drankprobleem achter de rug en ook financieel zit het hem niet mee. Maar misschien brengt Parijs wel soelaas. Zijn net overleden vader heeft hem een horloge, wat boeken en een appartement in de Marais nagelaten. De klaploper denkt dat zijn broodje is gebakken, maar in de flat woont nog een stokoude vrouw (Maggie Smith) van 92, die springlevend lijkt te zijn. Het slechte nieuws is dat zijn vader het appartement op de viager-wijze heeft gekocht, een oud Frans systeem waarbij iemand pas in bezit kan komen van de woonst als de bewoonster overleden is. Mathias ontdekt ook dat de bejaarde Mathilde meer is dan zo maar de huurster, en welke rol speelt die knappe dochter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

Een scenario met flink wat clichés dus en heel wat voorspelbaarheid. Desalniettemin is My Old Lady een aangename, sprankelende film waaraan je misschien geen meerwaarde overhoudt, maar je hebt wel 90 minuten bruisende cinema gezien en dat is toch ook iets, niet? Kevin Kline doet misschien net hetzelfde als wat hij twintig jaar geleden met Meg Ryan in French Kiss deed, maar blijft desalniettemin een heerlijke acteur. Dat geldt dat ook voor Kristin Scott Thomas, al blijft zij voor ons voor altijd die wraaklustige moeder uit Only God Forgives en Maggie Smith...wel die is gewoon Maggie Smith! Waar is die fles Beaujolais nu weer gebleven?

My Old Lady is nu via Imagine Films uit op dvd.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission