tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah

Movie
Comedy

[48/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

With films like Good Morning Vietnam, Rain Man and various other (bad) titles to his name, Barry Levinson is still one of Hollywood's most prolific directors. Rock the Kasbah is his last throw and even though this comedy begins pretty nice, after 90 minutes it is clear that Levinson has failed and that Rock The Kashbah could be the Ishtar of the decade.

Bill Murray plays the role of Richie Vance, a music manager from Van Nuys, who claims having discovered Madonna. He us sed the lie to extort money from brave souls who believe his words. On the advice of a drunken soldier, he travels to Afghanistan with a rock singer who can’t sing a note (Zooey Deschanel), so that she finally can play for a large audience. Once they arrived, the music dream is smashed to pieces, because Afghanistan is hell and the soldiers have no ear for her talent. After numerous (foolish) adventures, the talent scout discovers an Afghan girl with the voice of an angel, and of course he wants to make her a pop star, but that is not so easy in the conservative Afghanistan.

American Idol in an Afghan way, all the imaginable clichés includes and that make these 90 minutes an eternity. Fortunately, there is Bill Murray who even in the biggest trash can show that he is one of America's finest actors. Too bad for his time, but Rock The Kashbah is crap cinema!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Met films als Good Morning Vietnam, Rain Man en talrijke andere (flauwe) titels, mag Barry Levinson zich nog altijd tot één van Hollywoods meest productieve geesten rekenen. Met Rock the Kasbah probeert hij het opnieuw, en ook al begint deze komedie vrij aardig, blijkt na anderhalf uur dat Levinson (alweer) de bal compleet misslaat en dat Rock The Kashbah wel eens de Ishtar van dit decennium zou kunnen worden.

Bill Murray vertolkt de rol van Richie Vance, een muziekmanager uit Van Nuys, die naar eigen zeggen Madonna ontdekte en allerlei brave zieltjes met deze leugen geld probeert af te troggelen. Op aanraden van een dronken soldaat vertrekt hij samen met een rockzangeres die geen noot kan zingen (Zooey Deschanel) naar Afghanistan zodat ze eindelijk voor een groot publiek kan optreden. Meteen bij de aankomst is er van de muziekdroom niet veel sprake meer, want Afghanistan is de hel en de soldaten hebben helemaal geen oor naar haar talent. Na talrijke (dwaze) avonturen, botst de talentenjager op een Afghaans meisje dat als geen ander kan zingen. Richie wil van de jonge vrouw een popster maken, maar dat is allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend in het oerconservatieve Afghanistan.

American Idol op zijn Afghaans dus, inclusief alle denkbare platgetreden clichés waardoor deze 90 minuten wel een eeuwigheid duren. Gelukkig is er Bill Murray die zelfs in de grootste rommel met het grootste gemak kan tonen dat hij één van Amerikas beste acteurs is. Jammer voor zijn tijd, maar Rock The Kashbah blijft zeer slechte cinema!

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)