tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/10/2015 : SOFAR - SOFAR

SOFAR

SOFAR

MusicVinyl
AmericanaIndiePost Rock

[77/100]   

Icarus Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the city of Ghent, there is a record store named Vynilla Vinyl and it is a Mecca for every record collector who searchs his gadget, but since a few years, record store owner Bob also is a label boss. And with success, because one of the first names on Vinylla Vinyl is now very successful, we are indeed talking about Amatorski. This record is released on their own Icarus Records, with the help of Vynilla Vinyl.

And who knows, maybe Sofar will go the same way as this Ghent based group, previously known as Little Elmo, has enough talent to please the listener with the better ear (what a pathetic expression, not?). During ten songs, this five-piece band invites you to a musical landscape that consists of many genres, and even though Sofar is not what you’d call a homogeneous concept, it nevertheless pickes up the best of any musical direction and that results in a stunner.

In opener Spiderweb, it feels like an orchestra walks into your living room. It's just an appetizer for what will follow, because thanks to the voice of Selien Hoessen, Ten is a beautiful song e between Krautrock and the most sensual of Mazzy Star. But only for a while, simply because this record (which you can get on colored vinyl) is a stew of lots of delicious ingredients. It sounds strange, but if you listen to Hunt, it seems that Sofar makes music like John Barry. Longing is Low, even though we probably say this because this track is so slow (but oh so compelling). If record charts would still exist, then Boy would end up high.

Sofar certainly hasn't made the most original album, but its beauty ensures you that you’ll be beaten senseless, and that means something! Recommended for anyone who is interested in indie with post-rock influences.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

In de Gentse binnenstad is er sinds mensenheugenis een platenwinkel(tje), Vynilla Vinyl genaamd. De platenzaak is al decennia lang het Mekka voor iedere platenverzamelaar die op zoek is naar zijn hebbeding, maar sinds een paar jaar is platenboer Bob ook nog eens de eigenaar van een label. En met succes, want één van de eerste namen die Vinylla Vinyl oppikte, is ondertussen een succes geworden. We hebben het inderdaad over Amatorski. De nieuwste cd van Sofar is een release die op hun eigen Icarus Records is uitgebracht, in samenwerking met Vynilla.

En wie weet gaat Sofar wel dezelfde weg op, want deze Gentse groep, die eerder z'n ding deed als Little Elmo, heeft alles om de luisteraar met het betere oor (wat een lullige uitdrukking, niet?) voor zich te winnen. Deze vijfkoppige band voert je met tien nummers naar een muzikaal landschap dat raakpunten heeft met heel wat genres, en ook al is Sofar geen homogeen concept, heeft het toch uit iedere muzikale richting het beste geplukt en dat resulteert in een prachtplaat.

Moeite noch kosten zijn gespaard in opener Spiderweb, want het lijkt wel alsof er een heus huisorkest je woonkamer binnenwandelt. Het is maar een voorproefje van wat volgt, want dankzij de stem van Selien Hoessen wordt Ten een prachtig lied dat zich ergens tussen Krautrock en het meest sensuele van Mazzy Star situeert. Maar ook dat is maar voor eventjes, gewoonweg omdat deze plaat (die je trouwens op gekleurd vinyl kan krijgen) een stoofpotje is van allerlei heerlijke ingrediënten. Het klinkt vreemd, maar als je naar Hunt luistert, dan weet je ook dat ze in Gent muziek kunnen maken die naar John Barry neigt. Longing is dan weer Low, ook al zeggen we dit wellicht omdat dit nummer zo traag (maar oh zo meeslepend) is. Mochten er nog hitparades bestaan, dan zou Boy daar wel eens hoog in kunnen eindigen.

Sofar is zeker niet de plaat die je van je stoel zal laten donderen door zijn originaliteit, maar zijn schoonheid heeft er wel voor gezorgd dat je murw wordt geslagen, en dat betekent ook wat! Verplicht voer voor iedereen die zich interesseert voor indie met postrockinvloeden. 

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise