tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/10/2015 : SOFAR - SOFAR

SOFAR

SOFAR

MusicVinyl
AmericanaIndiePost Rock

[77/100]   

Icarus Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the city of Ghent, there is a record store named Vynilla Vinyl and it is a Mecca for every record collector who searchs his gadget, but since a few years, record store owner Bob also is a label boss. And with success, because one of the first names on Vinylla Vinyl is now very successful, we are indeed talking about Amatorski. This record is released on their own Icarus Records, with the help of Vynilla Vinyl.

And who knows, maybe Sofar will go the same way as this Ghent based group, previously known as Little Elmo, has enough talent to please the listener with the better ear (what a pathetic expression, not?). During ten songs, this five-piece band invites you to a musical landscape that consists of many genres, and even though Sofar is not what you’d call a homogeneous concept, it nevertheless pickes up the best of any musical direction and that results in a stunner.

In opener Spiderweb, it feels like an orchestra walks into your living room. It's just an appetizer for what will follow, because thanks to the voice of Selien Hoessen, Ten is a beautiful song e between Krautrock and the most sensual of Mazzy Star. But only for a while, simply because this record (which you can get on colored vinyl) is a stew of lots of delicious ingredients. It sounds strange, but if you listen to Hunt, it seems that Sofar makes music like John Barry. Longing is Low, even though we probably say this because this track is so slow (but oh so compelling). If record charts would still exist, then Boy would end up high.

Sofar certainly hasn't made the most original album, but its beauty ensures you that you’ll be beaten senseless, and that means something! Recommended for anyone who is interested in indie with post-rock influences.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

In de Gentse binnenstad is er sinds mensenheugenis een platenwinkel(tje), Vynilla Vinyl genaamd. De platenzaak is al decennia lang het Mekka voor iedere platenverzamelaar die op zoek is naar zijn hebbeding, maar sinds een paar jaar is platenboer Bob ook nog eens de eigenaar van een label. En met succes, want één van de eerste namen die Vinylla Vinyl oppikte, is ondertussen een succes geworden. We hebben het inderdaad over Amatorski. De nieuwste cd van Sofar is een release die op hun eigen Icarus Records is uitgebracht, in samenwerking met Vynilla.

En wie weet gaat Sofar wel dezelfde weg op, want deze Gentse groep, die eerder z'n ding deed als Little Elmo, heeft alles om de luisteraar met het betere oor (wat een lullige uitdrukking, niet?) voor zich te winnen. Deze vijfkoppige band voert je met tien nummers naar een muzikaal landschap dat raakpunten heeft met heel wat genres, en ook al is Sofar geen homogeen concept, heeft het toch uit iedere muzikale richting het beste geplukt en dat resulteert in een prachtplaat.

Moeite noch kosten zijn gespaard in opener Spiderweb, want het lijkt wel alsof er een heus huisorkest je woonkamer binnenwandelt. Het is maar een voorproefje van wat volgt, want dankzij de stem van Selien Hoessen wordt Ten een prachtig lied dat zich ergens tussen Krautrock en het meest sensuele van Mazzy Star situeert. Maar ook dat is maar voor eventjes, gewoonweg omdat deze plaat (die je trouwens op gekleurd vinyl kan krijgen) een stoofpotje is van allerlei heerlijke ingrediënten. Het klinkt vreemd, maar als je naar Hunt luistert, dan weet je ook dat ze in Gent muziek kunnen maken die naar John Barry neigt. Longing is dan weer Low, ook al zeggen we dit wellicht omdat dit nummer zo traag (maar oh zo meeslepend) is. Mochten er nog hitparades bestaan, dan zou Boy daar wel eens hoog in kunnen eindigen.

Sofar is zeker niet de plaat die je van je stoel zal laten donderen door zijn originaliteit, maar zijn schoonheid heeft er wel voor gezorgd dat je murw wordt geslagen, en dat betekent ook wat! Verplicht voer voor iedereen die zich interesseert voor indie met postrockinvloeden. 

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil