tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/10/2015 : SOFAR - SOFAR

SOFAR

SOFAR

MusicVinyl
AmericanaIndiePost Rock

[77/100]   

Icarus Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the city of Ghent, there is a record store named Vynilla Vinyl and it is a Mecca for every record collector who searchs his gadget, but since a few years, record store owner Bob also is a label boss. And with success, because one of the first names on Vinylla Vinyl is now very successful, we are indeed talking about Amatorski. This record is released on their own Icarus Records, with the help of Vynilla Vinyl.

And who knows, maybe Sofar will go the same way as this Ghent based group, previously known as Little Elmo, has enough talent to please the listener with the better ear (what a pathetic expression, not?). During ten songs, this five-piece band invites you to a musical landscape that consists of many genres, and even though Sofar is not what you’d call a homogeneous concept, it nevertheless pickes up the best of any musical direction and that results in a stunner.

In opener Spiderweb, it feels like an orchestra walks into your living room. It's just an appetizer for what will follow, because thanks to the voice of Selien Hoessen, Ten is a beautiful song e between Krautrock and the most sensual of Mazzy Star. But only for a while, simply because this record (which you can get on colored vinyl) is a stew of lots of delicious ingredients. It sounds strange, but if you listen to Hunt, it seems that Sofar makes music like John Barry. Longing is Low, even though we probably say this because this track is so slow (but oh so compelling). If record charts would still exist, then Boy would end up high.

Sofar certainly hasn't made the most original album, but its beauty ensures you that you’ll be beaten senseless, and that means something! Recommended for anyone who is interested in indie with post-rock influences.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

In de Gentse binnenstad is er sinds mensenheugenis een platenwinkel(tje), Vynilla Vinyl genaamd. De platenzaak is al decennia lang het Mekka voor iedere platenverzamelaar die op zoek is naar zijn hebbeding, maar sinds een paar jaar is platenboer Bob ook nog eens de eigenaar van een label. En met succes, want één van de eerste namen die Vinylla Vinyl oppikte, is ondertussen een succes geworden. We hebben het inderdaad over Amatorski. De nieuwste cd van Sofar is een release die op hun eigen Icarus Records is uitgebracht, in samenwerking met Vynilla.

En wie weet gaat Sofar wel dezelfde weg op, want deze Gentse groep, die eerder z'n ding deed als Little Elmo, heeft alles om de luisteraar met het betere oor (wat een lullige uitdrukking, niet?) voor zich te winnen. Deze vijfkoppige band voert je met tien nummers naar een muzikaal landschap dat raakpunten heeft met heel wat genres, en ook al is Sofar geen homogeen concept, heeft het toch uit iedere muzikale richting het beste geplukt en dat resulteert in een prachtplaat.

Moeite noch kosten zijn gespaard in opener Spiderweb, want het lijkt wel alsof er een heus huisorkest je woonkamer binnenwandelt. Het is maar een voorproefje van wat volgt, want dankzij de stem van Selien Hoessen wordt Ten een prachtig lied dat zich ergens tussen Krautrock en het meest sensuele van Mazzy Star situeert. Maar ook dat is maar voor eventjes, gewoonweg omdat deze plaat (die je trouwens op gekleurd vinyl kan krijgen) een stoofpotje is van allerlei heerlijke ingrediënten. Het klinkt vreemd, maar als je naar Hunt luistert, dan weet je ook dat ze in Gent muziek kunnen maken die naar John Barry neigt. Longing is dan weer Low, ook al zeggen we dit wellicht omdat dit nummer zo traag (maar oh zo meeslepend) is. Mochten er nog hitparades bestaan, dan zou Boy daar wel eens hoog in kunnen eindigen.

Sofar is zeker niet de plaat die je van je stoel zal laten donderen door zijn originaliteit, maar zijn schoonheid heeft er wel voor gezorgd dat je murw wordt geslagen, en dat betekent ook wat! Verplicht voer voor iedereen die zich interesseert voor indie met postrockinvloeden. 

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets