tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/10/2015 : SOFAR - SOFAR

SOFAR

SOFAR

MusicVinyl
AmericanaIndiePost Rock

[77/100]   

Icarus Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the city of Ghent, there is a record store named Vynilla Vinyl and it is a Mecca for every record collector who searchs his gadget, but since a few years, record store owner Bob also is a label boss. And with success, because one of the first names on Vinylla Vinyl is now very successful, we are indeed talking about Amatorski. This record is released on their own Icarus Records, with the help of Vynilla Vinyl.

And who knows, maybe Sofar will go the same way as this Ghent based group, previously known as Little Elmo, has enough talent to please the listener with the better ear (what a pathetic expression, not?). During ten songs, this five-piece band invites you to a musical landscape that consists of many genres, and even though Sofar is not what you’d call a homogeneous concept, it nevertheless pickes up the best of any musical direction and that results in a stunner.

In opener Spiderweb, it feels like an orchestra walks into your living room. It's just an appetizer for what will follow, because thanks to the voice of Selien Hoessen, Ten is a beautiful song e between Krautrock and the most sensual of Mazzy Star. But only for a while, simply because this record (which you can get on colored vinyl) is a stew of lots of delicious ingredients. It sounds strange, but if you listen to Hunt, it seems that Sofar makes music like John Barry. Longing is Low, even though we probably say this because this track is so slow (but oh so compelling). If record charts would still exist, then Boy would end up high.

Sofar certainly hasn't made the most original album, but its beauty ensures you that you’ll be beaten senseless, and that means something! Recommended for anyone who is interested in indie with post-rock influences.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

In de Gentse binnenstad is er sinds mensenheugenis een platenwinkel(tje), Vynilla Vinyl genaamd. De platenzaak is al decennia lang het Mekka voor iedere platenverzamelaar die op zoek is naar zijn hebbeding, maar sinds een paar jaar is platenboer Bob ook nog eens de eigenaar van een label. En met succes, want één van de eerste namen die Vinylla Vinyl oppikte, is ondertussen een succes geworden. We hebben het inderdaad over Amatorski. De nieuwste cd van Sofar is een release die op hun eigen Icarus Records is uitgebracht, in samenwerking met Vynilla.

En wie weet gaat Sofar wel dezelfde weg op, want deze Gentse groep, die eerder z'n ding deed als Little Elmo, heeft alles om de luisteraar met het betere oor (wat een lullige uitdrukking, niet?) voor zich te winnen. Deze vijfkoppige band voert je met tien nummers naar een muzikaal landschap dat raakpunten heeft met heel wat genres, en ook al is Sofar geen homogeen concept, heeft het toch uit iedere muzikale richting het beste geplukt en dat resulteert in een prachtplaat.

Moeite noch kosten zijn gespaard in opener Spiderweb, want het lijkt wel alsof er een heus huisorkest je woonkamer binnenwandelt. Het is maar een voorproefje van wat volgt, want dankzij de stem van Selien Hoessen wordt Ten een prachtig lied dat zich ergens tussen Krautrock en het meest sensuele van Mazzy Star situeert. Maar ook dat is maar voor eventjes, gewoonweg omdat deze plaat (die je trouwens op gekleurd vinyl kan krijgen) een stoofpotje is van allerlei heerlijke ingrediënten. Het klinkt vreemd, maar als je naar Hunt luistert, dan weet je ook dat ze in Gent muziek kunnen maken die naar John Barry neigt. Longing is dan weer Low, ook al zeggen we dit wellicht omdat dit nummer zo traag (maar oh zo meeslepend) is. Mochten er nog hitparades bestaan, dan zou Boy daar wel eens hoog in kunnen eindigen.

Sofar is zeker niet de plaat die je van je stoel zal laten donderen door zijn originaliteit, maar zijn schoonheid heeft er wel voor gezorgd dat je murw wordt geslagen, en dat betekent ook wat! Verplicht voer voor iedereen die zich interesseert voor indie met postrockinvloeden. 

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string