tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/10/2015 : SOFAR - SOFAR

SOFAR

SOFAR

MusicVinyl
AmericanaIndiePost Rock

[77/100]   

Icarus Records
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the city of Ghent, there is a record store named Vynilla Vinyl and it is a Mecca for every record collector who searchs his gadget, but since a few years, record store owner Bob also is a label boss. And with success, because one of the first names on Vinylla Vinyl is now very successful, we are indeed talking about Amatorski. This record is released on their own Icarus Records, with the help of Vynilla Vinyl.

And who knows, maybe Sofar will go the same way as this Ghent based group, previously known as Little Elmo, has enough talent to please the listener with the better ear (what a pathetic expression, not?). During ten songs, this five-piece band invites you to a musical landscape that consists of many genres, and even though Sofar is not what you’d call a homogeneous concept, it nevertheless pickes up the best of any musical direction and that results in a stunner.

In opener Spiderweb, it feels like an orchestra walks into your living room. It's just an appetizer for what will follow, because thanks to the voice of Selien Hoessen, Ten is a beautiful song e between Krautrock and the most sensual of Mazzy Star. But only for a while, simply because this record (which you can get on colored vinyl) is a stew of lots of delicious ingredients. It sounds strange, but if you listen to Hunt, it seems that Sofar makes music like John Barry. Longing is Low, even though we probably say this because this track is so slow (but oh so compelling). If record charts would still exist, then Boy would end up high.

Sofar certainly hasn't made the most original album, but its beauty ensures you that you’ll be beaten senseless, and that means something! Recommended for anyone who is interested in indie with post-rock influences.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

In de Gentse binnenstad is er sinds mensenheugenis een platenwinkel(tje), Vynilla Vinyl genaamd. De platenzaak is al decennia lang het Mekka voor iedere platenverzamelaar die op zoek is naar zijn hebbeding, maar sinds een paar jaar is platenboer Bob ook nog eens de eigenaar van een label. En met succes, want één van de eerste namen die Vinylla Vinyl oppikte, is ondertussen een succes geworden. We hebben het inderdaad over Amatorski. De nieuwste cd van Sofar is een release die op hun eigen Icarus Records is uitgebracht, in samenwerking met Vynilla.

En wie weet gaat Sofar wel dezelfde weg op, want deze Gentse groep, die eerder z'n ding deed als Little Elmo, heeft alles om de luisteraar met het betere oor (wat een lullige uitdrukking, niet?) voor zich te winnen. Deze vijfkoppige band voert je met tien nummers naar een muzikaal landschap dat raakpunten heeft met heel wat genres, en ook al is Sofar geen homogeen concept, heeft het toch uit iedere muzikale richting het beste geplukt en dat resulteert in een prachtplaat.

Moeite noch kosten zijn gespaard in opener Spiderweb, want het lijkt wel alsof er een heus huisorkest je woonkamer binnenwandelt. Het is maar een voorproefje van wat volgt, want dankzij de stem van Selien Hoessen wordt Ten een prachtig lied dat zich ergens tussen Krautrock en het meest sensuele van Mazzy Star situeert. Maar ook dat is maar voor eventjes, gewoonweg omdat deze plaat (die je trouwens op gekleurd vinyl kan krijgen) een stoofpotje is van allerlei heerlijke ingrediënten. Het klinkt vreemd, maar als je naar Hunt luistert, dan weet je ook dat ze in Gent muziek kunnen maken die naar John Barry neigt. Longing is dan weer Low, ook al zeggen we dit wellicht omdat dit nummer zo traag (maar oh zo meeslepend) is. Mochten er nog hitparades bestaan, dan zou Boy daar wel eens hoog in kunnen eindigen.

Sofar is zeker niet de plaat die je van je stoel zal laten donderen door zijn originaliteit, maar zijn schoonheid heeft er wel voor gezorgd dat je murw wordt geslagen, en dat betekent ook wat! Verplicht voer voor iedereen die zich interesseert voor indie met postrockinvloeden. 

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked